Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Platinum Professional Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 315-1772 Fax: (877) 317-9412 12340 Seal Beach Blvd #271-B, Seal Beach, CA 90740 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.PlatinumProStudies.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax and notary education services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Professional Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Platinum Professional Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 05/24/2001 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Lauren Zago, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lauren Zago, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Educational Consultants


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12340 Seal Beach Blvd #271-B

    Seal Beach, CA 90740 (877) 315-1772

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3020 Old Ranch Pkwy #300

    Seal Beach, CA 90740

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Provided a CC # to Platium on 13th for a Tax Preparer Training Course. On examination of the course, it is no training at all. They want you to read the IRS regulations then answer questions. That's it. They have a brief summary of the course element preceding the test and it tells you it is not complete and to refer to the regulations for detail understanding. None of this is disclosed up front. My situation is that I drive a school bus and have my phone on DO NOT DISTURB between the hours of 0600-1800. I called them at 1815 hours s on Friday the 16 and received a voice to leave a message and they will return the call. There was no way to contact them to ask questions or cancel the course. Saturday, I sent them an email to refund and cancel the course after trying to use it anyway. The owner, or rep on the phone, is dogmatic that there is a contract, and states that the testing elements have a live icon to take you to the IRS codes segment. She is correct but not entirely. Most of the questions in the test elements do not have a reference, and those that do point to an IRS code that is just too general to be of use. She also states that there is a 3 day refund policy and that my email was 4 days later. I never saw the 3 day statement, but it is probably buried there somewhere. I will be filing a claim with the CC company, and if that is not successful I will take it to Small Claims Court (SCC). In Oregon SCC is a court of equity so I have a good chance of being successful, but it just does not make sense that they would work so to alienate people, not use these instances to improve their courses. When I contacted them via Email last Saturday the 17th and yesterday on Monday the 19th, the transaction had not been processed yet for payment and I requested that they no do so. This apparently hurried them to do so.

Business Response: I am responding to complaint from a customer by the name of ***** *****.  He purchased our course on October 13th 2015.  Our website not only states our business hours but also states repeatedly throughout our website our three day refund policy from the time of purchase.  Here are just a few places our three day refund policy is mentioned. 1.  It is before the add to cart button on our website 2. Listed below this statement is right before entering the name to place the order.   3.   It is in our terms and conditions that the customer must check before placing their order. 2. Listed below this statement is right before entering the name to place the order.

Please enter the student information below. Items marked with an asterisk(*) are required. The address you enter below must be the address your credit card statement is mailed to. If you are not completely satisfied with our course, we will offer you a full refund within three days of purchasing. No refunds given for group orders.

We can not process a refund as we have explained to Mr. *****s because we abide by our three day refund policy.  He sent an email on Saturday October 17th, 2015 which was past our three day refund policy.

I will now respond to our office hours.  Again, this is listed on the front page of our home page among other places on our website as well.  Our office hours our 9-6pm Monday through Friday.  He sent in email to us on Saturday October 17th.  Listed below.

I am not allowed to have my cell phone during working hours nor do I have workable M-F during these hours. Accordingly, my phone is on "DO NOT DISTURB" during the hours of 0600 through 1700. I get a break during middle of day for several hours but the time is varied.

1. So, how do I get ahold of someone?
2. How do you contact me?
3. My email is good but I do not see it during the day.
3. My message function on the phone also works but there will be a delay when answering.

I cannot view the summary write up on the first segment. Can you fix that? If not, please refund my money and I will get another service.

Question 16 in the quiz test - I see not correct answer advise?

Even through we were closed, we responded to this email listed above as well as three other emails that day and in fact our instructor of the course sent him an email as well to directed him where the summary is on the course and answer his course questions.  The instructor even went out of his way (emailing him on Saturday and Sunday0 and told Mr. *****s that he can contact him off business hours to accommodate Mr. *****s schedule. 

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,
****** ****


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I visited their office in California and the office is now vacant. I consulted the Business License index for the state and find no record of their business license. A company with a similar name had its license revoked. There is not business owners name or address.

 

I have yet to see anything on the website that speaks to a 3 day period. I am discussing equity not contract at any rate.

My claim through my bank has been processed.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond in this space ONLY]

Regards,

***** *****s



Business Response: I would like to add a response to the prior complaint in regards to the format of our courses.  The format of our courses is clearly addressed prior to purchasing.  There is a complete course description before adding the course to your cart for purchase.

As far as us being in business, we have been in business since 1995 as indicated even with the Better Business Bureau.  Obviously Mr. *****s is not making accurate statements and even going as far as being threatening.  I will no longer respond and will await the chargeback and respond.  Below is one of the emails I received from Mr. *****s threatening our company saying he will file in Small Claims course and will add the cost of the filing etc. When in fact, the three day refund policy is listed several times even on the page where he entered his information.
I will be filing a claim with my bank to have the charge reversed and credited back. 
If this is not successful, I will then file in Small Claims Court (SCC) here in Oregon. Small Claims Court is a court of equity not contract. My chances of p?revaling in this formum is high. SCC will add on the cost of the filing, cost of the court and then cost of the Marshal to execute a writ of execution.

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2013, when I purchased the Enrolled ***** *** course, I was NOT limited to the course access. In January 2014, I purchased another course early with the intent to complete by the end of year, however today 10/14/14, I am unable to access the course and any of my past courses. I received the error message: "The course enrollment period has expired. Please contact Platinum Professional Services". I then contacted customer service to inquire about the blocked access. Soon after that, a lady named *****, responded back to me and refused to unblock to my paid course. She was rude and insisted me to repurchase the course. I told her that I was not aware that the course was only good for 6 months because this was not my 1st time using their site for continuing education. I feel that I am being ripped off. I asked them to unblock the course as one time courtesy, but they refused to compromise.

Desired Settlement: Since I purchased the course without even having the chance to use it, I am demanding a refund.

Business Response: I spoke with her directly.  We have a 6 month expiration which is listed on our website and in their actual course when they access it.  This has been our policy since we began. At Platinum, we are very considerate to our customers, but must remain firm with our extensions as this could create problems with our company. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Attached you will find the two orders emails that I placed with this business.  There was neither statement nor any message indicating that I could only access the course for 6 months in the context of both emails.  The 1st order I placed was in March 2013 and I was able to access the course  and completed it in January 2014, which lasted more than 10 months.   So I bought another course in January 2014 with the impression that I could complete it by December 2014.  I never received any notice or announcement from this business that they will limit the course access for 6 months only.  Should I have been aware of this fact, I would not purchase the course that early.

The owner of this business is totally rude.  She did not appreciate me as returning customer but she blocked the access into my account and expected me to pay again to access my paid course and my past course records.  She controls her own business website, therefore she arbitrarily changed the policy and expected customers to abide to her rules.  This is unfair and unethical practice and it needs to be stopped.  I hope my complaint will let public be aware of her deception and greediness.
 
Regards,

**** **



Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I am responding to the Rebuttal ID number ******** where the customer states
that our expirations of our courses are not stated on our website. I have provided
the following documents showing in fact throughout our main website and including
the courses website (where the student goes into to access their course) it clearly
states that the course is available for six months upon registration.

Document 1: The customer purchased an EA continuing Professional Education Tax
Courses under Effective it states that the course is available for six months upon
registration.

Document 2: The customer must click more information listed below on document
one to proceed to the next page (Document 2), which states once again the course is
available for six months upon registration. This is the page they add to cart

Document 3: Once they add to cart and finalize the purchase on Document 2, the
course then is placed in their account. They then login to access their course (see
document 3 'Welcome to your 2014 EA CPE ..... ") and once again it states the course
is available for six months upon registration.

Please let me know if any additional information is needed but this clearly states

Sincerely,

 

****** ****
Platinum Professional Services


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Platinum Professional Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)