This Business is not BBB accredited

Scuba.com

Phone: (949) 221-9300 View Additional Phone Numbers 1752 Langley Ave #A, Irvine, CA 92614 http://www.Scuba.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers scuba diving equipment for sale. 

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scuba.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scuba.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 05/06/1998 in CA Business incorporated: 06/19/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Herndon, Owner Mrs. Melinda Herndon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Herndon, Owner
Principal: Mrs. Melinda Herndon, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Divers Equipment & Supplies Diving Instruction Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Diver's Discount Supply DiversDiscount.com Scuba Diving Scuba.com Inc
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1752 Langley Ave #A

    Irvine, CA 92614 (800) 347-2822 (949) 221-9300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 347-2822(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November I purchased a pair of boots, shipping included in the price for $59.95. When I tried them on, they were one size smaller than the boots I was replacing, same exact boot brand and size. It was not an ordering mistake. I emailed them the issue and they said they would refund my shipping up to $20 if they found them DEFECTIVE. I paid for the order via PAYPAL. After I paid to ship them back, they did refund my shipping via Paypal for $13.38 because they found them "DEFECTIVE". Then I decided to cancel the replacement boots because they said I would not get them until late January as they were not in stock, which is unacceptable to me as it would be over another month of waiting and I would not need them for the cold weather. They then refunded the BALANCE within PayPal totaling the actual purchase price of $59.95. Basically, I am out of the shipping costs of $13.38. After confronting them about it via email, they simply say look at our policy for refunds. NO REFUNDS FOR SHIPPING. After trying to email back to try to get the shipping refunded again, they refused to answer my emails. PayPal cannot do anything about this because they basically "refunded me the purchase price" but they got away with not refunding me the actual return shipping. So, they got their boots back and I lost out. I would have never shipped them back if their customer service was honest and honored what they wrote in the first place. I would have rather had the opportunity to sell them on my own or trade them for something else with someone. So, if you buy ANYTHING from them that is "defective" you will lose out on shipping back "their problem" with this company even if they say they will give you a refund. This is fraudulent and poor business practices. I have all the email communications regarding this issue for proof. I also never received a copy of a receipt for the item ordered, only an email for tracking the shipping.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my return shipping refunded to PayPal of $13.38.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********,
             We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your boots.  We did make a one-time exception to refund you your return shipping costs because the boots were determined not to be defective by Henderson (manufacturer) and in our system it showed issued on 12/12/2014.  However upon digging in further to this issue it appears there was a glitch between our system and PayPal and you are correct you were shorted $13.38 via PayPal on December 23, 2014.  

Here is the breakdown of transactions:
November 18, 2014:  $59.95
December 12, 2014: $13.98 (REFUND)
December 23, 2014: $46.57 (REFUND) – Scuba.com  system showed a refunded $59.95
January 15, 2015: $13.38 (REFUND)

We apologize for the any inconvenience this has caused you and we will work to fix this bug with PayPal so that it does not happen to others. 

This is something that should have been handled by our customer service your first phone call to us when you told us about not receiving the refund.  We truly appreciate the effort you put in to show us that something was wrong and we are sorry you had to go to such lengths to get this corrected.

We have issued you a $20 gift certificate # ****************** that never expires.

Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

Best Regards,
****** *****

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I have been credited my return shipping and was given a $20 gift certificate (which will probably never be used). I do consider this complaint resolved. However, I would like to make it aware that their explanation of the situation is not true. They are trying to cover up the real problem which is within their customer service and business practices, not PayPal or the manufacturers fault. Buyer beware. 

Thank you for resolving it in such a quick manner. 

Regards,

******* ********

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/19/2014, I placed an online order for scuba gear in which I filled in a different shipping address because I was more comfortable with it being delivered where someone would be available to receive it. A couple hours later I received an email that the order was on hold because the credit card company did not have that address on file. The email said that for fast hassle free checkout I could click a link and checkout through Amazon. The link came up with an error twice so I called customer service and we decided I would cancel the order and resubmit it with Paypal as my payment method. When I tried to complete the order the second time, I found that 3 gift certificates ($575) that I had used on the first order attempt were no longer valid. I called and explained this to an instructor who said he would have them reactivated and I could use them in 2 hours. After 2, 3, and 4 hours, they were still invalid, so I started a live chat, with *******, on the Scuba.com website to explain the situation again. ******* told me that they'd be reactivated in about an hour and he'd call me to let me know. ******* didn't contact me and my gift certificates were still invalid so I sent an email to customer service to voice my disappointment. On 11/20, I received an email stating that the person with authorization to reactivate my gift certificates was at a conference but they would contact him and I should be able to use my gift certificates by the end of the day, they would call and email me when this was done. Once again I heard nothing. On 11/21, after not hearing from anyone, I replied to that email asking "what's today's story?' I received an email saying that they couldn't contact the person at the conference because of bad reception inside the convention center. On 11/22, I verified that the conference ended that day. On 11/24, I emailed asking if the person from the conference had reception yet, I got no reply. It is 11/26 and I have not been contacted for a resolution

Desired Settlement: The equipment I was trying to purchase is life sustaining equipment, I would no longer feel comfortable buying such equipment from Scuba.com, therefore, I would prefer that myself or the family and friends who bought the gift certificates for me, be refunded so that I can buy this important equipment through a more reputable company.

Business Response:

Complaint ID: ********
Last Name: ****

To Whom It May Concern:

 

******* **** had received 3 gift certificates from family members, and after placing an order, had a balance due remaining to be paid by credit card.  His order was being shipped to an alternate address requiring validation.  Unfortunately when he placed the order it “spent” the $575.00 in gift certificates and when he asked the order to be cancelled our customer service cancelled the order but did not realize the $575.00 had to be re-added back to the gift certificates and the gift certificates reactivated.  This was an internal training issue with our customer service and after this incident we have verified that this was an isolated incident.  The department has been trained on how to handle this in the future.  Mr. **** was correct that the head of customer service was at a convention out of town which further complicated the issue.  There were many things that went wrong and we have addressed this with all team members because this was an extremely easy request for Mr. **** and it should have been handled immediately.


Actions taken:

  1. Order#******** **** ******* purchased Mr. **** a $250 gift certificate on 10/1/2014 and **** ******* was issued a $250 refund on 12/9/2014 (Refund Order#********)

  2.  Order#11866941 **** ******* purchased Mr. **** a $250 gift certificate on 10/14/2014 and **** ******* was issued a $250 refund on 12/9/2014 (Refund Order#********)

  3. Order#1******* ***** **** purchased Mr. **** a $75 gift certificate on 10/14/2014 and ***** **** we accepted the chargeback of $75 and it was granted on 12/12/2014 (see chargeback details “Seller Accepts Liability”


Mr. ****’s family has been refunded in full.  We sincerely apologize for the aggravation and frustration we have caused Mr. ****.  On behalf of Scuba.com we apologize to Mr. **** and his family for making this a frustrating experience and not taking action to correct the issue sooner. 

 

Due to our mistake we issued Mr. **** a $50 gift certificate number ****************** on 12/19 that never expires.

 

We had been in contact with Mr. **** on 12/9 and this issue should be resolved.  If this is not resolved please let us know.

 

Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.




Best Regards,

****** *****



- Attached document contains order information with refunds issued.



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a scuba fin (Aeris Accel, $99.95) on 01/29/2014 which was in stock. Expectation of delivery was within 7-10 business days. On 02/05/2014 I receive notice that the item, already charged to my credit card, is on backorder. I called 02/17/2014 to inquire and they indicate early March as possible delivery date. As the item was needed earlier, I canceled the order and they agreed to issue full refund the same day. I called 02/18/2014 and they assured that refund would be completed on 02/18/2014, at the latest 02/19/2014. Today is 02/21/2014, more than 3 weeks after the initial transaction. It is less the monetary amount of the transaction that I am concerned about but the shady business practice of claiming a product to be in-stock, notifying belatedly when it is not, charging the customer for product not in stock, not providing adequate update to customer of delivery date (early March, if to be trusted), lying to customer about agreed upon refund date. Although I am but one customer, irresponsible business practices should have consequences. I have also called by credit card company to pursue formal actions.

Desired Settlement: Please get the refund issued as agreed.

Business Response: Complaint 10: *******
Last Name: ****

To Whom It May Concern:

We understand Mr. **** frustration and sincerely apologize for his inconvenience. He is a valued 
customer to Scuba.com.  We make every effort to get items out the door as fast as possible but 
unfortunately from time to time items do get back ordered by the manufacturer.   Mr. **** placed 
his order on 1/29 and on 2/5 we sent him a back order email letting him know he would expect to 
receive his item on 2/25.   Every step of the way we remained in contact with Mr. **** and when a 
refund was requested we issued the refund promptly.  This order was placed via our website and we 
have not made any false claims on the products stating they are in stock. Our website does not have 
the functionality of showing stock status.

As requested, Mr. **** received a full refund in the amount of $99.95 on February 19, 2014. Again 
we apologize for any inconvenience  this has caused Mr. ****.

Best Regards,

****** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

I wanted to make sure the concern I had as a customer was getting through, as the contact I had with the company prior did not indicate that. The response conveyed through BBB does.

Thanks to the people at BBB for your efforts and assistance.

Regards,

****** ****