BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial products and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schools First Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schools First Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Schools First Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 05/19/1934 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409
The number is 24212.

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is 0707104.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bill Cheney , CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Cheney , CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Lori Garcia, VP of Member Experience
Number of Employees

1,400

Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Banks

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 1040 E Bustanchury

    Fullerton, CA 92835

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11300 Firestone Blvd

    Norwalk, CA 90650

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Rancho Vista Blvd #A

    City Ranch, CA 93551

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12831 Moreno Beach Dr #108

    Moreno Valley, CA 92555

  • 13008 Harbor Blvd

    Garden Grove, CA 92840

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13605 Bear Valley Rd #102

    Victorville, CA 92392

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15706 Crenshaw Blvd

    Gardena, CA 90249

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    161 E 40th St

    San Bernardino, CA 92404

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16904 Main St

    Hesperia, CA 92345

  • 1701 W Imperial Hwy #A

    La Habra, CA 90631

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17500 Bloomfield Ave

    Cerritos, CA 90703

  • 18561 Brookhurst St

    Fountain Valley, CA 92708

  • 2115 N Broadway

    Santa Ana, CA 92706 (714) 258-4000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    223 N Jackson #113

    Glendale, CA 91206

  • 2300 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2409 Arlington Ave

    Torrance, CA 90501

  • 26440 La Alameda

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691

  • 26892 La Paz Rd

    Aliso Viejo, CA 92656

  • 27825 Santa Margarita Pkwy #C

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691

  • 33122 Valle Rd

    San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

  • 377 E Chapman Ave #100

    Placentia, CA 92870

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4005 Grand Ave #D

    Chino, CA 91710

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40428 Murrieta Hot Springs Rd #101

    Murrieta, CA 92563

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    411 N 6th St

    Redlands, CA 92374

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4204 Riverwalk Pkwy

    Riverside, CA 92505

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    43816 15th St

    Lancaster, CA 93534

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4725 E 2nd St

    Long Beach, CA 90803

  • 5305 Alton Pkwy #C

    Irvine, CA 92604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    550 Hidden Valley Pkwy

    Corona, CA 92879

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 S Lake Ave

    Pasadena, CA 91101

  • 590 N Euclid St

    Anaheim, CA 92801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6501 E Spring St

    Long Beach, CA 90808

  • 6828 W Katella Ave

    Cypress, CA 90630

  • 7251 Warner Ave

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647

  • 800 N College Blvd

    Fullerton, CA 92834

  • 8160 E Santa Ana Canyon Rd

    Anaheim, CA 92808

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8865 Foothill Blvd #101

    Rch Cucamonga, CA 91730

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9125 Imperial Hwy #A

    Downey, CA 90242

  • UCI Irvine Campus G202C Student Center

    Irvine, CA 92697

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/8/12 I contacted ******* ******, Collection Department, regarding the letter dated 12/3/12 about terminating my visa card which I got from my individual accounts ******. This line of credit has good standing status with no late payment for the last 14 years. The reason that Ms. ****** gave me is the delinquent status of personal loan which is from joint account ****** with my former spouse, ******** * *****. This loan is my former spouse’s responsibility to pay after he tried to transfer this loan to his name only so he signed to take full responsibility at court. This loan has been charged off since 2008. Ms. ****** gave me ridiculous reason to terminate my line of credit. This line of credit is from my individual account 270865 since 1998. It got nothing to do with my joint account ****** at all. This line of credit is in good standing with no late payment and School First got a credit check for this account in 10/2012, even my auto loan is paid off in 2010. The auto loan and line of credit attaching to my individual account 270865 are in good standing. I did not sign anything to attach the personal loan to my individual account 27865 at all. After filing the complaint # ******** with BBB, I got contacted by ***** from School 1st. She told me that I will not be responsible for personal loan and credit card attached to joint account ****** with my former spouse. She also told me that she will send the request to the credit bureaus to remove these two accounts from my names so my credit score will be restored. My line of credit attaching to my individual account will be reinstated. These are three things that she told me and I requested a written letter to be sent to my home. I got no mail from School 1st. I called back and got promise again. I even sent out the letter to School First to remind ***** but no respond. I ran my credit and the account ****** is still on my report. Empty promise from School First.

Desired Settlement: Written letter from School First Credit Union explains that the account was requested to remove from my credit.

Business Response: Our Member ******* ****** stated that the debt on her husband’s account was decreed in divorce as his responsibility.   Ms. ****** and her husband have joint responsibility of the debt at SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union.  The joint financial responsibility supersedes the divorce decree and is aligned to the standard business practices we have in place for our membership/customers.  Therefore, the debt remains both Ms. ****** and her spouse’s joint contractual responsibility.  The divorce decree does not excuse her financial responsibility for the joint debt.  We have contacted our Member to discuss this situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


One of three things that ***** called me is about removing the accounts from my credit.  I asked for a letter stating that. She said she would mail out soon. I waited and called back.  ***** kept promising that it will send out soon. I sent in a letter but never got a respond from School 1st.  The question I raised here is the morale of the business that School 1st employees and School 1st itself.  The empty promise is given out to keep me satisfied at that time.  It's a fraud.  Until now, School 1st actually keeps lying to BBB and me. For example, in the respond School 1st stated that School 1st has contacted me to discuss this situation.  No contact was ever made at all, except **** ****** sent me the email to confirm my complaint.  Please see below for the email.  The matter is to solve the question that I raised here.  School 1st never sent me the written notice that I asked but keeping saying it mailed, even calling your team is saying the same thing.  My matter was aware with your team at that point.  Why is School 1st never sent out a letter stating the outcome of my complaint at all during January 2013?

I prefer School 1st contact me by email only since the paper trail is needed.



On Wednesday, October 22, 2014 9:04 AM, **** ****** <l**************************> wrote:


Dear Ms. ******,

 

We have received the information filed with the Better Business Bureau on October 20, 2014.  Your complaint has been referred to our Vice President of Collections for handling.  A team member from the credit union will contact you shortly to begin resolution.

 

Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you in the meantime. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

Vice President, Member Service Experience

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

714.258.4000  x ****

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

On October 31, the following response was sent to our Member to the email supplied in this complaint.  As of today, November 6, 2014, Ms. ****** has not responded back to the credit union.

 

Dear Ms. ******* **** ******,

I wanted to first acknowledge your frustration in trying to resolve this issue.  I assure you our intention is to try to find a resolution for the complaint filed with the better business bureau. 

Typically in instances where a divorce decree is involved the financial responsibility supersedes the decree.  In efforts to help our Members resolve joint ownership separation through divorce we will typically have our Members apply to have the loan refinanced and ownership transferred if they qualify on their own. 

We have done extensive due-diligence to retrieve any documentation that reflects refinance information, divorce decree, or any other supporting information to substantiate your request to have this removed from your credit history.  Unfortunately we don’t have information to support this request. 

Through our research we found some information where on November 2012 through December 2012 you called in to offer repayment plans for these losses at a rate of $25 a month.  We in turn countered for 10% down and 2% of the balances but that was not something you were able to commit to at that time.

We did in fact make the exception to allow your credit card ending in 5281 to remain open as well as financial services for your own Membership, yet there are no records of removing the financial responsibility for that losses.

In good faith we would like to review this matter further but will ask that you please provide us with a copy of the divorce degree to the contact information listed below.  By sending this information does not guarantee that the trade line will be removed from your credit history but we will certainly review all information to take this request in consideration. 

You are welcome to reach us in any form that you’re most comfortable with we look forward to your response.

Hugo ******

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

Assistant Manager

Collections Department

Email h**************************

Ph. 714/258-4000 ext ****

Fax 714/258-4180

Serving School Employees as OCTFCU since 1934

NOTICE:  The information contained in this message is intended for the addressee(s) only and may be confidential, proprietary, or legally privileged.  If you have received this message in error or there are any problems with the transmission, please immediately notify us by return e-mail.  The unauthorized use, disclosure, copying, or alteration of this message is strictly forbidden.  The sender will not be liable for any damages arising from alteration of the contents of this message by a third-party or as a result of any virus being transmitted.  This notice is automatically appended to each e-mail message transmitted from the sender's e-mail domain.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted customer service nearly every month to have this problem resolved to no avail. I requested for the ceo to call me since the staff is not able to effectively resolve this issue. No call and my money is still being debited from both my checking and my savings acct. Please note this credit union is also making transactions to and from my us bank account and not resolving the issue. We are on month 3 or 4. This is not acceptable service.

Desired Settlement: I want my problem fixed immediately. As stated on the recordings, 1. stop moving money in or out of my us bank account immediately! 2. Stop charging me overdraft charges on my credit union savings acct immediately! These errors are the bank's errors. 3. Reimburse all overdraft fees since august as a result of these mistakes made by the bank. 4. Send an apology letter and acknowledge your mistakes.

Business Response:

Schoolsfirst Federal Credit Union contacted our Member on October 10, 2014.  The transfer of $250.00 to US Bank had been stopped as of October 2, 2014 and all fees returned to Ms. *****'s account.  We have responded via letter to our Member and attached a copy of response.  Understandably, Ms. ***** has stated she will verify this has been corrected to her satisfaction in November when this transfer does not happen.

The Credit Union will use this as a training opportunity with parties involved to ensure similar incidents do not happen to other Members.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

Vice President, Member Service Experience

714.258.4000, ext.****

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my Visa credit card payment with the attached detached portion of my statement in the envelope provided by Schools First. In checking my banking account with Farmers & Merchants bank and Schools First, the check for $250.00 cleared F&M but was not posted to my Visa account. The check for my Visa was written on August 1st and cleared on August 7th. Because it was not posted, I wrote another check for the minimum amount which did clear and was posted. In checking with Schools First, I had to go to F&M to get a picture of the front and back of said check. Then back to SF Credit Union to show the proof. Eventually, F&M researched the check to find out that SF Credit Union applied this check(without my permission) to my automatically deducted, on time mortgage payment. $250.00 is a lot of money for me as I am retired on a small fixed income. This careless, egregious action on the part of SFCredit Union is absurd and unacceptable. Looks like someone needs to monitor SF Credit Union. Thankful that I am not on the road traveling between my bank and credit union in order to fix their mistake.

Desired Settlement: It seems that some agency needs to monitor Schools First Federal Credit Union and their hiring, training process in addition to their management of their credit union members' money. And someone needs to contact me with the assurance that my investments, mortgage, credit card, checking and savings accounts are secure and PROPERLY managed. Thank you for your time.

Business Response:

We have contacted our Member regarding this complaint and provided the enclosed response by email on August 29, 2014.  We will continue to work with our Member regarding this issue:

 

Dear Ms. *****,

Once again, my sincere apologies for your VISA payment being misapplied to your mortgage and the lack of follow up that occurred.  While the mispost has been corrected, the larger issue of the cause is not yet determined.  As I shared on the phone, this is a priority since we want to ensure other Members do not experience a similar issue and want to reassure you that it will not happen to you again.   We take these issues very seriously since your trust, and that of all our Members, remains the foundation of the relationships we try to build.  I have shared your experience with the Long Beach branch manager and this will be a coaching opportunity for the teammember involved.

As discussed yesterday, I have researched the flow of payments for your VISA credit card and mortgage.  Here are my insights:

·         VISA credit card and mortgage payments go to different PO boxes in different cities.  When Members send in mortgage payments they go to: Payment Processing Center, PO Box 51301, Los Angeles, CA 90051-5601.  They are processed by Cenlar, our mortgage servicer, located in New Jersey.  VISA payments go to:  SFFCU, PO Box 11908, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1908.  They are processed by our Document Management team in Tustin.

·         Mortgage and VISA credit card statements are issued separately.  They each have coupons that are on the lower half of the statement.  These coupons have the preprinted return addresses above for the respective product.  The address for VISA appears on the lower left portion of the coupon, while the mortgage return address is on the lower right portion of the coupon.  The mortgage statement is on 8 ½ by 11 inch stock, while VISA, like many credit card statements, is only 8 ½ by 7 inches.  The return envelopes also reflect these different sizes.  The envelopes each have a “see through” window where the return address on the coupon will show through.  These “see through” windows are located differently on the envelope to accommodate the different position of the return address; VISA on the lower left and mortgage on the lower right.

·         Unfortunately, during payment processing at Cenlar and here in Tustin, the coupons are not retained, so I am unable to obtain a copy of the one that accompanied your payment.  If you keep your statements, you may want to confirm that the VISA  coupon was removed from the July 22nd statement.  I will email you  “blacked out” copies of your statements for July and August once you confirm receipt of this emai

I remain perplexed as to how the VISA payment ended up at the PO Box for our mortgage servicer given the different addresses, coupon sizes and addresses.  I have checked with our team and this particular set of circumstances appears unique. 

I had hoped I would be able to identify a weakness in our team or process that caused the error; however, I have not found it.  That being said, we fully accept responsibility for the problem and hope that we can earn back your trust and rebuild our relationship.   Please do not hesitate to call me at 714-466-8108 with any additional questions.

Sincerely,

**** ******

SVP, Lending

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SCHOOL FIRST CREDIT UNION ISSUSE A 1099C [Cancelation of Debt] FOR MY OLD CREDIT CARD AND MY AUTO LOAN DEBT. I AMENDED MY TAX RETURN PAYING OVER $3000 IN TAXES. AFTER THE CANCELATION OF DEBT, SCHOOL FIRST MADE ME PAY ALMOST $1000 ON MY CREDIT CARD DEBT THAT NO LONGER EXIT. SCHOOL FIRST CREDIT UNION CONTIUNE TO REPORT MY AUTO LOAN DEBT THAT HAS ALREADY BEEN FORGIVEN TO THE CREDIT BUREAU WITH A BALANCE OF OVER $9000 SCHOOL FIRST HAS CAUSED ME ALOT OF EMOTIONAL DISTRESS. THEY CONTINUE TO DISTROY MY CREDIT BY REPORTING AN INCORRECT BALANCE, FAILED TO UPDATE AND TRYING TO COLLECT ON A DEBT THAT DOES NOT LONGER EXIST.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE AUTO TRADE LINE DELETED FROM MY CREDIT PROFILE OR CHANGE THE BALANCE TO $0 BALANCE EFFECTIVE WHEN THE 1099C WAS FILED AND STOP REPORTING TO THE CREDIT BUREAU

Business Response:

July 15, 2014

******* ******* **** ******* ****** **** **** *** ******** ** *****

Re:         Better Business Bureau Complaint ID ********

                Credit Card ending in ****

                Auto Loan xxx******

               

Dear Ms. *******,

We received a complaint dated July 4, 2014 submitted through the Better Business Bureau in reference to the current credit reporting on your credit card and auto loan with the credit union.  Your complaint states that your credit lines are reporting incorrectly because you have received a cancelation of debt form (Form 1099-C) from the credit union for both the credit card and vehicle loan referenced above and therefore the reporting balances should reflect a zero balance.  You are also claiming that the credit union collected on your credit card debt illegally because you received a cancellation of debt for it.

The information below will address your concerns.

Issuance of a Form 1099-C simply indicates that the lender has cancelled the debt and that no further collection activity will take place.  On the other hand, credit reporting is a record of your payment and loan balance history with the lender.  The two items are not related and therefore we continue to report to the credit report agencies the outstanding balance of a loan even after we have issued a Form 1099-C to our Member.

Our records do not indicate that we have issued a Form 1099-C for your credit card.  If you have received one, please provide us a copy and we will update our records.  In December of 2013, you contacted the credit union to dispute the debt for the credit card. You claimed that during the time frame in which the charges were made, you were no longer residing in the state of California and instead were a resident of the state of Texas. During January and February of 2014, several conversations occurred with you and teammembers of ************ in which you claimed identity theft and therefore an Identity Theft Victims Complaint and Affidavit form was sent for you to fill out. At that time, you were informed that all information in the packet needed to be completed and a police report in reference to the incident would need to be attached.

On February 7, 2014, we spoke with you again and you acknowledged that you had received the Identity Theft Victims form but were now instead looking to improve your credit score and inquired about a settlement. Before we proceeded with this request and due to previous conversations in which you stated that the charges on the credit report were not yours, we requested a letter stating you were retracting your identity theft claim. A hand written letter from you withdrawing the identity theft claim and requesting to settle was received the same day (please see attached).  After the retraction letter was received, we issued a settlement letter agreeing to settle for 60% of the balance for the Visa.

On March 13, 2014, you called in and spoke with an assistant manager.  At this time you explained to our teammember that you were looking to improve your credit and did not want to settle as that would not reflect as well as a paid in full loan on your credit report.  Our teammember offered to waive $199.00 in finance charges to lower your payoff balance to $868.00. It was explained to you that if you paid that balance, your credit would be updated as paid in full. The payoff was agreed upon by both parties and on March 21, 2014, a cashier’s check for $868.00 was received from you at which point your credit was updated with all the credit bureaus as “Charge off Paid in Full,” with a zero balance.   The current credit reporting on your Visa is correct.

We did issue a Form 1099-C for your auto loan for the 2012 tax year and mailed it to the address on file at the time.  Your auto loan is charged-off with a remaining balance of $9,269 and is being reported as such to the credit bureaus.  The credit reporting on your auto loan is correct.

You also claim that we continued to attempt to collect on a debt that we had issued a Form 1099-C.  Our records indicate that the last attempt to collect on this auto loan was in April 2009 which is prior to the issuance of the Form 1099-C.  Our records also indicate that the payment on the credit card was a result of your desire to improve your credit report and initiated by you.

In reviewing your claim and our records, we do not see any errors in our servicing of your loans.  If you have any questions or would like any additional information, please contact ******* *******, Assistant Manager of Collections, at l*******@schoolsfirstfcu.org or at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Assistant Manager, Collections

###-###-####