Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schools First Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schools First Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Schools First Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 05/19/1934 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409
The number is 24212.

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 S Spring St, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is 0707104.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bill Cheney , CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Cheney , CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Lori Garcia, VP of Member Experience
Number of Employees

1,400

Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Banks

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 1040 E Bustanchury

    Fullerton, CA 92835

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11300 Firestone Blvd

    Norwalk, CA 90650

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Rancho Vista Blvd #A

    City Ranch, CA 93551

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12831 Moreno Beach Dr #108

    Moreno Valley, CA 92555

  • 13008 Harbor Blvd

    Garden Grove, CA 92840

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13605 Bear Valley Rd #102

    Victorville, CA 92392

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15706 Crenshaw Blvd

    Gardena, CA 90249

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    161 E 40th St

    San Bernardino, CA 92404

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16904 Main St

    Hesperia, CA 92345

  • 1701 W Imperial Hwy #A

    La Habra, CA 90631

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17500 Bloomfield Ave

    Cerritos, CA 90703

  • 18561 Brookhurst St

    Fountain Valley, CA 92708

  • 2115 N Broadway

    Santa Ana, CA 92706 (714) 258-4000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    223 N Jackson #113

    Glendale, CA 91206

  • 2300 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2409 Arlington Ave

    Torrance, CA 90501

  • 26440 La Alameda

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691

  • 26892 La Paz Rd

    Aliso Viejo, CA 92656

  • 27825 Santa Margarita Pkwy #C

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691

  • 33122 Valle Rd

    San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

  • 377 E Chapman Ave #100

    Placentia, CA 92870

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4005 Grand Ave #D

    Chino, CA 91710

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40428 Murrieta Hot Springs Rd #101

    Murrieta, CA 92563

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    411 N 6th St

    Redlands, CA 92374

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4204 Riverwalk Pkwy

    Riverside, CA 92505

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    43816 15th St

    Lancaster, CA 93534

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4725 E 2nd St

    Long Beach, CA 90803

  • 5305 Alton Pkwy #C

    Irvine, CA 92604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    550 Hidden Valley Pkwy

    Corona, CA 92879

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 S Lake Ave

    Pasadena, CA 91101

  • 590 N Euclid St

    Anaheim, CA 92801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6501 E Spring St

    Long Beach, CA 90808

  • 6828 W Katella Ave

    Cypress, CA 90630

  • 7251 Warner Ave

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647

  • 800 N College Blvd

    Fullerton, CA 92834

  • 8160 E Santa Ana Canyon Rd

    Anaheim, CA 92808

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8865 Foothill Blvd #101

    Rch Cucamonga, CA 91730

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9125 Imperial Hwy #A

    Downey, CA 90242

  • UCI Irvine Campus G202C Student Center

    Irvine, CA 92697

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schools First Federal Credit Union hired a third party repossession agency to repossess my vehicle. This agency did not adhere to California Repossession Code and broke California Business and Professions Code. I have made several attempts to have an issue with this company corrected. I have sent documentation and have saved all correspondence with this company. They have yet to correct this issue. The repossession agency *** ******** lost/stole possessions inside the vehicle at the time of repossession. They acknowledged this fact and took responsibility for the lost items. I need the repossession to be removed from my credit report as it did not adhere to California Repossession laws.

Desired Settlement: Delete the repossession of January 2015-April 2015 off my credit report from Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion.

Business Response:

October 14, 2015

Better Business Bureau

Re:         Better Business Bureau Complaint ID XXXXXXX

               Mr. ******** *********

**** ***** ******** *** **** *

******** ** *****

Membership ******

               Auto Loan ********* **** ***** ***

              

Dear Better Business Bureau,

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union (the “credit union” or “SchoolsFirst FCU”) has received the correspondence regarding Mr. ********* and we have researched his credit dispute request. We have determined that the credit union followed proper procedures in handling the repossession that Mr. ********* is referring to and our reporting of the repossession to the credit bureaus is accurate.

On March 17, 2015 SchoolsFirst FCU received an impound notice dated March 6, 2015 from ********** ***** *** **. indicating that the 2002 Acura RSX had not been picked up by the registered owner. At the time the impound notice was received, Mr. *********’s payment on the vehicle loan was 25 days past due. The impounded vehicle was subject to a 30-day hold unless picked up by the lienholder. On March 17, 2015 we attempted to reach Mr. ********* via phone, email, and letter to advise him of the impound notice. We did not receive a response from Mr. *********. On March 25, 2015 we made the decision to pick up the vehicle as it was accruing storage fees of $40.00 per day. The impound repossession assignment was sent to * * * ********* and on March 26, 2015 *** ******** picked up the vehicle from the impound yard. On March 30, 2015 we received a call from Mr. ********* who advised us he was aware of the impound repossession. We discussed the terms of the repossession and advised Mr. ********* of the prerequisites needed in order for the credit union to release the vehicle back to him.

On April 8, 2015 Mr. ********* attempted to pick up his personal belongings from *** ******** and notified us that his personal belongings were missing. We engaged with *** ******** to initiate a claim to investigate the loss. *** ******** did not have a record of any personal belongings. A claim was then initiated with the impounding company, ********** ***** *** **., and they did not have record of any personal belongings either. Although both inquiries resulted in no record of personal belongings and it was not clear who was responsible for the loss, *** ******** in good faith took responsibility for the loss and engaged with Mr. ********* in itemizing the missing belongings and their value. As a result, *** ******** and Mr. ********* came to an agreement that a lump sum payment of $813.00 would satisfy his claim of missing personal belongings. This agreement also stated that SchoolsFirst FCU and *** ******** would be released from all future claims resulting from the March 30, 2015 repossession. This agreement is supported by a written document signed by Mr. ********* dated May 3, 2015.

Mr. *********’s concern regarding the credit reporting of the repossession was addressed several times. On July 1, 2015, Mr. ********* called us to request that we remove the repossession credit reporting on the basis that having possessions missing from his vehicle at the time of repossession made the repossession illegal.  We explained to Mr. ********* that having missing items does not make a repossession illegal. Further, the security agreement signed by Mr. ********* on 05/14/2014 for the vehicle loan in question states under paragraph 9: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU ARE IN DEFAULT indicates that:

‘We will not be responsible for any other property not covered by this Agreement that you leave inside the Property or that is attached to the Property.’

On September 3, 2015, Mr. ********* submitted a credit dispute. This investigation revealed that the credit reporting accurately reflects his payment history and repossession status.

In reviewing Mr. *********’s claim and our records, both SchoolsFirst FCU and *** ******** followed proper procedures and worked in conjunction to address his concerns. If you have any questions or would like any additional information, please contact me at 714-258-4000 *****.

Sincerely,

**** ** *********

Department Manager, Collections

714-258-4000 ext. ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I found that I did not agree with some of the items in this dispute. I was not given proper notice of the reposession. I didn't bring this up in this complaint but I feel it now needs further explanation. I had called Schools First before my vehicle was repossessed and explained that I had moved and I was being sent mail to the wrong address. Schools First did not believe that a call stating that I had moved and they were sending mail to the wrong address was a correct way to advised them that I had moved and that they were sending mail to the wrong address. I did not received proper notice and it actually took several phone calls to correct this simple problem.

I also think it is injust that even though I was 28 days past due I had just received my vehicle back from a redemption and was in a PAYMENT ARRAIGMENT WITH SCHOOLS FIRST. On top of that they sent the notices of repossession to the wrong address after not updating my address even after several phone calls with Schools First associates.  
Also, I never said that the repossession was illegal. I had stated that the repossession agency did not adhere to proper Califonia Repossession Law due to personal property missing. I even included a copy of my dispute that clears up the false claims as stated in the response. I only brought this dispute up because a Schools First associate from the collections department. I feel Schools First should keep their word and honor a removal of a repossession from my credit report.]

Regards,

******** *********



Business Response: Please see attached letter.

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle with a loan from Schools First Federal Credit Union. I have had continual customer service issues with the dealership, ********** *** ***** of Culver City. Their Business Development Manager contacted my bank without my permission regarding their poor customer service and ***** ***** communicated with her without my permission and without informing me of their communication. However, not once did ***** ***** or the Credit Union intercede on my behalf offering to negotiate with ********** *** *****. Because of this, I informed them that the Credit Union that they could not speak to ********** *** ***** regarding previous sales transactions without my permission. I purchased the car April 30, 2015 and already a part needs to be replaced. I contacted Schools First Credit Union because I received horrible customer service from the sales team and Assistant Manager at ********** *** *****. I spoke with **** ****** and she stated that she was working on the issue and would follow up with me before the end of the business day on Tuesday, August 11, 2015. This was at approximately 2 p.m. I never heard from her that day or Wednesday, August 11, 2015. I finally contacted her at approximately 5 p.m. and she informed me that ********** had told her she could not talk to me about my business transaction. I then asked to speak to a manager. **** ****** and her manager ***** ***** never explained to me why they did not follow up with me regarding the customer service issues I experienced on August 11, 2015.

Desired Settlement: I want the car to be returned and I want Schools First Federal Credit Union to honor a loan so that I may purchase another vehicle. I would like to know why I was not contacted as was promised by **** ****** on August 11, 2015 regarding the car repair and poor customer service I received from ********** Car Sales. I would like to know why **** ****** did not contact me after ********** Car Sales (and not myself) told her she couldn't speak to them, even after I had explicitly contacted her and granted permission for her to speak and intercede on my behalf. I would like a letter of apology. I would like to know exactly what transpired in the conversation between herself and ****** ******* (the Business Development Manager) as she and her manager, ***** ***** are not sharing this information with me. This is concerning my account and they have no right to withhold information from me regarding my business transaction with a different party than Schools First Federal Credit Union.

Business Response:

August 27, 2015

We are responding to the complaint filed against SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union (“SchoolsFirst”) with the Better Business Bureau on August 13, 2015 by ****** *******.

Our records reflect that Ms. ******* has been a SchoolsFirst member since April 23, 2009.  On or about April 29, 2015, Ms. ******* purchased a car from ********** *** ****** (“**********”) and she financed her purchase with an auto loan from SchoolsFirst.  As of the date of this response, Ms. ******* is a SchoolsFirst member in good standing. 

On or about June 16, 2015, SchoolsFirst was contacted by ********** to inform us that Ms. ******* visited the ****** **** ********** dealership location on May 4, 2015 and due to her interaction with one of their employees wanted to provide a “heads up” that assistance may be needed in this matter.  ********** had been providing assistance to Ms. ******* in obtaining her vehicle’s license plates and had called to notify us that she had complaints about their customer service and several ********** employees. 

********** informed us that the delay in getting Ms. ******* her license plates was due to the DMV’s policy that license plates cannot be sent to a P.O Box, which is apparently what Ms. ******* had listed as her address.  According to **********, Ms. ******* refused to provide them with her physical address therefore causing further delays.  **********s’ Business Development Manager offered to meet Ms. ******* at a SchoolsFirst branch, her home, job or anywhere that was convenient for her to get this resolved.

SchoolsFirst records reflect several attempts on our part to address Ms. *******’ concerns, which are centered on her belief that she was receiving unsatisfactory customer service from **********.  For example, ***** *****, Assistant Manager of Consumer Loans for SchoolsFirst, contacted Ms. ******* on June 16, 2015 and spoke with her regarding her concerns with **********. Ms. ******* instructed Mr. ***** not to speak with ********** about her situation.  Mr. ***** has several email exchanges with Ms. ******* referencing this request.

From approximately June 16, 2015 to August 13, 2015, Ms. ******* had several conversations with Mr. ***** and **** *******, Assistant Manager of Consumer Loans for SchoolsFirst, regarding her concerns with **********.   Ms. ******* indicated she was not satisfied with Mr. ***** and Ms. *******’s responses, so she requested to speak to me on August 13, 2015.

I spoke with Ms. ******* by telephone on the afternoon of August 13, 2015, during which time she reiterated her complaints against ********** pertaining to their alleged poor customer service and a part on her vehicle that needed replacing.  Ms. ******* also stated that she did not believe calls she had placed to Mr. ***** and Ms. ******* were being returned quickly enough.   Later that same day, I had a follow-up conference call with Ms. ******* that included Mr. ***** and Ms. *******.  We wanted to be sure that we addressed her concerns relative to SchoolsFirst.   During this call with Ms. *******, we apologized for how she felt she was treated and we advised her that SchoolsFirst was not ignoring her messages.  We explained that we were in the process of investigating her complaints against ********** and had planned to call her with our findings, but she ended up contacting us first.

With the foregoing in mind, we note that the settlement desired by Ms. ******* involves returning the vehicle (and presumably unwinding the existing loan) and obtaining another loan with SchoolsFirst so that she may purchase a different vehicle.  We feel that we have appropriately addressed Ms. *******’ concerns relative to SchoolsFirst and as such, we respectfully we decline to comply with her request to unwind her loan transaction with us.  Ms. *******’ allegations are against ********** relative to their customer service and car repair issues she alleges she is experiencing.  Based on SchoolsFirst’s conversations with ********** representatives, it is our understanding that ********** has directly responded to Ms. *******’ complaints.  Accordingly, there is nothing further that SchoolsFirst can do for Ms. *******.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Manager, Consumer Loans

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

For the record, onMay 4 I did not go in to **********. I contacted the Rental location in Mid City on North La Brea inquiring as to why the rental car contract had not been closed out on April 29 when I returned it . I returned it to the sales associate who I purchased my car from (and returned the rental car to) on April 29. I made three 3 different phone calls and the car sales associate took 4 business days to process the paperwork. I waited 4 calendar days to get my refund because the car sales associate did not assist as he was supposed. He also told me to give my old mailing address for my application and license plates. Therefore, my license plates got sent to my old address. I called three times and was told my plates were on the way. I finally was able to communicate with the asst manager and he said my plates were mailed to an old a address. I was told to pay DMV fee to replace the plates and I'd be reimbursed, even though their sales associate made the mistake. I stated they could mail my plates to my new address which was not a post office box and they refused. They never offered to bring them to my home. They said I could get them at my bank but the banks are further away from my home and this conflicted with my work schedule. They refused to take my address again and said I had to come into the dealership on the day the plates arrived even when I said I felt uncomfortable coming in and even thoughI informed them this was the anniversary of my parent's death. 
I contacted **** regarding difficulties with the Asst Manager's poor customer service regarding finding getting my car repaired. **** stated she would call me back before the end of the day. She never did. The next day , 28 hours later I contacted her. She  told me an Rnterprise representative said she was forbidden from contacting me. I asked to speAk to her supervisor because she refused to contact ********** regarding my customer service issues. ***** contacted r and said he could not tell me what ********** had shared with them regarding my contract and repair. I contacted their manager ****** to assist me with getting my car repaired and find out the conversations  discussed  involving my contract with **********, the car repair and poor customer service ********** 's Asst Manager provided. 



Regards,

****** *******



Business Response:

We are responding to the complaint filed against SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union (“SchoolsFirst”) with the Better Business Bureau that we received on August 31, 2015 by ****** *******.

Our records indicate that Ms. ******* received her license plates on 6/16/2015 at the ********** Culver City location from Robert Chua, the manager of that location.

We understand that Ms. ******* is still covered under **********’s 12 month or 12,000 mile warranty for covered items. 

We once again extend our sincere apologies to Ms. ******* for any confusion and any issues she had with ********** and we feel that we have appropriately addressed Ms. *******’ concerns relative to SchoolsFirst and as such, any further issues will need to be resolved between Ms. ****** and **********.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Manager, Consumer Loans

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I disagree with this response. They provided poor customer service and I have closed my checking account with them, subsequently. I will not refer any further business to them. I do not appreciate their disrespectful and substandard customer service. 
Also, my name is Ms. *******, not Ms. ******. They should know that if I have a loan in that  name. This is just more evidence of their incompetency. 


Regards,

****** *******



3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a Auto loan with All valley federal credit union back in 2010/2011 the loan they had provided me with for the vehicle was paid off by there insurance and by my gap after my vehicle was involved in a accident and was claimed a total loss. Now the bank is stating it was a repossession and there is a balance owed when I ask them to provide me detail and where is the information the insurance provided and I with regards to the accident and the total loss claim. the bank told me they didn't have the information anymore and couldn't verify anything with me.... since 2010/2011 the bank name has changed to Schoolfirst

Desired Settlement: clear the repossession on my credit and debt owed.

Business Response:

Our Member contacted SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union on February 2, 2015 and a credit dispute of the tradeline was filed on this date.  The dispute falls under the Fair Credit Reporting Act under which we have thirty (30) days to complete, however we have expedited our research on this matter based on the urgency communicated by our Member.

Our research should be completed by February 18, 2015, and we will contact our Member once we have concluded the investigation.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

Vice President, Member Service Experience

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/8/12 I contacted ******* ******, Collection Department, regarding the letter dated 12/3/12 about terminating my visa card which I got from my individual accounts ******. This line of credit has good standing status with no late payment for the last 14 years. The reason that Ms. ****** gave me is the delinquent status of personal loan which is from joint account ****** with my former spouse, ******** * *****. This loan is my former spouse’s responsibility to pay after he tried to transfer this loan to his name only so he signed to take full responsibility at court. This loan has been charged off since 2008. Ms. ****** gave me ridiculous reason to terminate my line of credit. This line of credit is from my individual account 270865 since 1998. It got nothing to do with my joint account ****** at all. This line of credit is in good standing with no late payment and School First got a credit check for this account in 10/2012, even my auto loan is paid off in 2010. The auto loan and line of credit attaching to my individual account 270865 are in good standing. I did not sign anything to attach the personal loan to my individual account 27865 at all. After filing the complaint # ******** with BBB, I got contacted by ***** from School 1st. She told me that I will not be responsible for personal loan and credit card attached to joint account ****** with my former spouse. She also told me that she will send the request to the credit bureaus to remove these two accounts from my names so my credit score will be restored. My line of credit attaching to my individual account will be reinstated. These are three things that she told me and I requested a written letter to be sent to my home. I got no mail from School 1st. I called back and got promise again. I even sent out the letter to School First to remind ***** but no respond. I ran my credit and the account ****** is still on my report. Empty promise from School First.

Desired Settlement: Written letter from School First Credit Union explains that the account was requested to remove from my credit.

Business Response: Our Member ******* ****** stated that the debt on her husband’s account was decreed in divorce as his responsibility.   Ms. ****** and her husband have joint responsibility of the debt at SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union.  The joint financial responsibility supersedes the divorce decree and is aligned to the standard business practices we have in place for our membership/customers.  Therefore, the debt remains both Ms. ****** and her spouse’s joint contractual responsibility.  The divorce decree does not excuse her financial responsibility for the joint debt.  We have contacted our Member to discuss this situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


One of three things that ***** called me is about removing the accounts from my credit.  I asked for a letter stating that. She said she would mail out soon. I waited and called back.  ***** kept promising that it will send out soon. I sent in a letter but never got a respond from School 1st.  The question I raised here is the morale of the business that School 1st employees and School 1st itself.  The empty promise is given out to keep me satisfied at that time.  It's a fraud.  Until now, School 1st actually keeps lying to BBB and me. For example, in the respond School 1st stated that School 1st has contacted me to discuss this situation.  No contact was ever made at all, except **** ****** sent me the email to confirm my complaint.  Please see below for the email.  The matter is to solve the question that I raised here.  School 1st never sent me the written notice that I asked but keeping saying it mailed, even calling your team is saying the same thing.  My matter was aware with your team at that point.  Why is School 1st never sent out a letter stating the outcome of my complaint at all during January 2013?

I prefer School 1st contact me by email only since the paper trail is needed.



On Wednesday, October 22, 2014 9:04 AM, **** ****** <l**************************> wrote:


Dear Ms. ******,

 

We have received the information filed with the Better Business Bureau on October 20, 2014.  Your complaint has been referred to our Vice President of Collections for handling.  A team member from the credit union will contact you shortly to begin resolution.

 

Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you in the meantime. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

Vice President, Member Service Experience

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

714.258.4000  x ****

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

On October 31, the following response was sent to our Member to the email supplied in this complaint.  As of today, November 6, 2014, Ms. ****** has not responded back to the credit union.

 

Dear Ms. ******* **** ******,

I wanted to first acknowledge your frustration in trying to resolve this issue.  I assure you our intention is to try to find a resolution for the complaint filed with the better business bureau. 

Typically in instances where a divorce decree is involved the financial responsibility supersedes the decree.  In efforts to help our Members resolve joint ownership separation through divorce we will typically have our Members apply to have the loan refinanced and ownership transferred if they qualify on their own. 

We have done extensive due-diligence to retrieve any documentation that reflects refinance information, divorce decree, or any other supporting information to substantiate your request to have this removed from your credit history.  Unfortunately we don’t have information to support this request. 

Through our research we found some information where on November 2012 through December 2012 you called in to offer repayment plans for these losses at a rate of $25 a month.  We in turn countered for 10% down and 2% of the balances but that was not something you were able to commit to at that time.

We did in fact make the exception to allow your credit card ending in 5281 to remain open as well as financial services for your own Membership, yet there are no records of removing the financial responsibility for that losses.

In good faith we would like to review this matter further but will ask that you please provide us with a copy of the divorce degree to the contact information listed below.  By sending this information does not guarantee that the trade line will be removed from your credit history but we will certainly review all information to take this request in consideration. 

You are welcome to reach us in any form that you’re most comfortable with we look forward to your response.

Hugo ******

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

Assistant Manager

Collections Department

Email h**************************

Ph. 714/258-4000 ext ****

Fax 714/258-4180

Serving School Employees as OCTFCU since 1934

NOTICE:  The information contained in this message is intended for the addressee(s) only and may be confidential, proprietary, or legally privileged.  If you have received this message in error or there are any problems with the transmission, please immediately notify us by return e-mail.  The unauthorized use, disclosure, copying, or alteration of this message is strictly forbidden.  The sender will not be liable for any damages arising from alteration of the contents of this message by a third-party or as a result of any virus being transmitted.  This notice is automatically appended to each e-mail message transmitted from the sender's e-mail domain.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted customer service nearly every month to have this problem resolved to no avail. I requested for the ceo to call me since the staff is not able to effectively resolve this issue. No call and my money is still being debited from both my checking and my savings acct. Please note this credit union is also making transactions to and from my us bank account and not resolving the issue. We are on month 3 or 4. This is not acceptable service.

Desired Settlement: I want my problem fixed immediately. As stated on the recordings, 1. stop moving money in or out of my us bank account immediately! 2. Stop charging me overdraft charges on my credit union savings acct immediately! These errors are the bank's errors. 3. Reimburse all overdraft fees since august as a result of these mistakes made by the bank. 4. Send an apology letter and acknowledge your mistakes.

Business Response:

Schoolsfirst Federal Credit Union contacted our Member on October 10, 2014.  The transfer of $250.00 to US Bank had been stopped as of October 2, 2014 and all fees returned to Ms. *****'s account.  We have responded via letter to our Member and attached a copy of response.  Understandably, Ms. ***** has stated she will verify this has been corrected to her satisfaction in November when this transfer does not happen.

The Credit Union will use this as a training opportunity with parties involved to ensure similar incidents do not happen to other Members.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

Vice President, Member Service Experience

714.258.4000, ext.****

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my Visa credit card payment with the attached detached portion of my statement in the envelope provided by Schools First. In checking my banking account with Farmers & Merchants bank and Schools First, the check for $250.00 cleared F&M but was not posted to my Visa account. The check for my Visa was written on August 1st and cleared on August 7th. Because it was not posted, I wrote another check for the minimum amount which did clear and was posted. In checking with Schools First, I had to go to F&M to get a picture of the front and back of said check. Then back to SF Credit Union to show the proof. Eventually, F&M researched the check to find out that SF Credit Union applied this check(without my permission) to my automatically deducted, on time mortgage payment. $250.00 is a lot of money for me as I am retired on a small fixed income. This careless, egregious action on the part of SFCredit Union is absurd and unacceptable. Looks like someone needs to monitor SF Credit Union. Thankful that I am not on the road traveling between my bank and credit union in order to fix their mistake.

Desired Settlement: It seems that some agency needs to monitor Schools First Federal Credit Union and their hiring, training process in addition to their management of their credit union members' money. And someone needs to contact me with the assurance that my investments, mortgage, credit card, checking and savings accounts are secure and PROPERLY managed. Thank you for your time.

Business Response:

We have contacted our Member regarding this complaint and provided the enclosed response by email on August 29, 2014.  We will continue to work with our Member regarding this issue:

 

Dear Ms. *****,

Once again, my sincere apologies for your VISA payment being misapplied to your mortgage and the lack of follow up that occurred.  While the mispost has been corrected, the larger issue of the cause is not yet determined.  As I shared on the phone, this is a priority since we want to ensure other Members do not experience a similar issue and want to reassure you that it will not happen to you again.   We take these issues very seriously since your trust, and that of all our Members, remains the foundation of the relationships we try to build.  I have shared your experience with the Long Beach branch manager and this will be a coaching opportunity for the teammember involved.

As discussed yesterday, I have researched the flow of payments for your VISA credit card and mortgage.  Here are my insights:

·         VISA credit card and mortgage payments go to different PO boxes in different cities.  When Members send in mortgage payments they go to: Payment Processing Center, PO Box 51301, Los Angeles, CA 90051-5601.  They are processed by Cenlar, our mortgage servicer, located in New Jersey.  VISA payments go to:  SFFCU, PO Box 11908, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1908.  They are processed by our Document Management team in Tustin.

·         Mortgage and VISA credit card statements are issued separately.  They each have coupons that are on the lower half of the statement.  These coupons have the preprinted return addresses above for the respective product.  The address for VISA appears on the lower left portion of the coupon, while the mortgage return address is on the lower right portion of the coupon.  The mortgage statement is on 8 ½ by 11 inch stock, while VISA, like many credit card statements, is only 8 ½ by 7 inches.  The return envelopes also reflect these different sizes.  The envelopes each have a “see through” window where the return address on the coupon will show through.  These “see through” windows are located differently on the envelope to accommodate the different position of the return address; VISA on the lower left and mortgage on the lower right.

·         Unfortunately, during payment processing at Cenlar and here in Tustin, the coupons are not retained, so I am unable to obtain a copy of the one that accompanied your payment.  If you keep your statements, you may want to confirm that the VISA  coupon was removed from the July 22nd statement.  I will email you  “blacked out” copies of your statements for July and August once you confirm receipt of this emai

I remain perplexed as to how the VISA payment ended up at the PO Box for our mortgage servicer given the different addresses, coupon sizes and addresses.  I have checked with our team and this particular set of circumstances appears unique. 

I had hoped I would be able to identify a weakness in our team or process that caused the error; however, I have not found it.  That being said, we fully accept responsibility for the problem and hope that we can earn back your trust and rebuild our relationship.   Please do not hesitate to call me at 714-466-8108 with any additional questions.

Sincerely,

**** ******

SVP, Lending

SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SCHOOL FIRST CREDIT UNION ISSUSE A 1099C [Cancelation of Debt] FOR MY OLD CREDIT CARD AND MY AUTO LOAN DEBT. I AMENDED MY TAX RETURN PAYING OVER $3000 IN TAXES. AFTER THE CANCELATION OF DEBT, SCHOOL FIRST MADE ME PAY ALMOST $1000 ON MY CREDIT CARD DEBT THAT NO LONGER EXIT. SCHOOL FIRST CREDIT UNION CONTIUNE TO REPORT MY AUTO LOAN DEBT THAT HAS ALREADY BEEN FORGIVEN TO THE CREDIT BUREAU WITH A BALANCE OF OVER $9000 SCHOOL FIRST HAS CAUSED ME ALOT OF EMOTIONAL DISTRESS. THEY CONTINUE TO DISTROY MY CREDIT BY REPORTING AN INCORRECT BALANCE, FAILED TO UPDATE AND TRYING TO COLLECT ON A DEBT THAT DOES NOT LONGER EXIST.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE AUTO TRADE LINE DELETED FROM MY CREDIT PROFILE OR CHANGE THE BALANCE TO $0 BALANCE EFFECTIVE WHEN THE 1099C WAS FILED AND STOP REPORTING TO THE CREDIT BUREAU

Business Response:

July 15, 2014

******* ******* **** ******* ****** **** **** *** ******** ** *****

Re:         Better Business Bureau Complaint ID ********

                Credit Card ending in ****

                Auto Loan xxx******

               

Dear Ms. *******,

We received a complaint dated July 4, 2014 submitted through the Better Business Bureau in reference to the current credit reporting on your credit card and auto loan with the credit union.  Your complaint states that your credit lines are reporting incorrectly because you have received a cancelation of debt form (Form 1099-C) from the credit union for both the credit card and vehicle loan referenced above and therefore the reporting balances should reflect a zero balance.  You are also claiming that the credit union collected on your credit card debt illegally because you received a cancellation of debt for it.

The information below will address your concerns.

Issuance of a Form 1099-C simply indicates that the lender has cancelled the debt and that no further collection activity will take place.  On the other hand, credit reporting is a record of your payment and loan balance history with the lender.  The two items are not related and therefore we continue to report to the credit report agencies the outstanding balance of a loan even after we have issued a Form 1099-C to our Member.

Our records do not indicate that we have issued a Form 1099-C for your credit card.  If you have received one, please provide us a copy and we will update our records.  In December of 2013, you contacted the credit union to dispute the debt for the credit card. You claimed that during the time frame in which the charges were made, you were no longer residing in the state of California and instead were a resident of the state of Texas. During January and February of 2014, several conversations occurred with you and teammembers of ************ in which you claimed identity theft and therefore an Identity Theft Victims Complaint and Affidavit form was sent for you to fill out. At that time, you were informed that all information in the packet needed to be completed and a police report in reference to the incident would need to be attached.

On February 7, 2014, we spoke with you again and you acknowledged that you had received the Identity Theft Victims form but were now instead looking to improve your credit score and inquired about a settlement. Before we proceeded with this request and due to previous conversations in which you stated that the charges on the credit report were not yours, we requested a letter stating you were retracting your identity theft claim. A hand written letter from you withdrawing the identity theft claim and requesting to settle was received the same day (please see attached).  After the retraction letter was received, we issued a settlement letter agreeing to settle for 60% of the balance for the Visa.

On March 13, 2014, you called in and spoke with an assistant manager.  At this time you explained to our teammember that you were looking to improve your credit and did not want to settle as that would not reflect as well as a paid in full loan on your credit report.  Our teammember offered to waive $199.00 in finance charges to lower your payoff balance to $868.00. It was explained to you that if you paid that balance, your credit would be updated as paid in full. The payoff was agreed upon by both parties and on March 21, 2014, a cashier’s check for $868.00 was received from you at which point your credit was updated with all the credit bureaus as “Charge off Paid in Full,” with a zero balance.   The current credit reporting on your Visa is correct.

We did issue a Form 1099-C for your auto loan for the 2012 tax year and mailed it to the address on file at the time.  Your auto loan is charged-off with a remaining balance of $9,269 and is being reported as such to the credit bureaus.  The credit reporting on your auto loan is correct.

You also claim that we continued to attempt to collect on a debt that we had issued a Form 1099-C.  Our records indicate that the last attempt to collect on this auto loan was in April 2009 which is prior to the issuance of the Form 1099-C.  Our records also indicate that the payment on the credit card was a result of your desire to improve your credit report and initiated by you.

In reviewing your claim and our records, we do not see any errors in our servicing of your loans.  If you have any questions or would like any additional information, please contact ******* *******, Assistant Manager of Collections, at l*******@schoolsfirstfcu.org or at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Assistant Manager, Collections

###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Schools First Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)