Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers credit union services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Additional Locations

  • 7812 Edinger Ave #100

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647 (714) 375-8000 (800) 444-6327 (888) 994-3328 (714) 794-1930


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was involves in damaging hail during a storm in April. I got 3 estimates and sent them to the **** *** insurance company. **** *** issues a check to me my wife and NU Vision for everything related to the repairs. Nu Vision will not release any funds until the work is completed. I need a rental car in order to leave my vehicle at the auto body shop. NU Vision is not releasing any funds for the rental vehicle. or any other matter involving the repair of my vehicle until there is a final bill.

Desired Settlement: I want access to the insurance funds so I can get my vehicle repaired. It has been over 2 months that NU Vision has held over 7000 because they want me to pay out of pocket for repairs and rental vehicle.

Business Response:

In response to John M. ******** concerns regarding his insurance claim on vehicle held as
collateral by NuVision Federal Credit Union.

?? Release of Funds
?? Funds held for 2 months
?? Rental Car
?? Money out of Pocket

Mr. ******** contacted NuVision Federal Credit Union on or around April 28, 2015 requesting
that NuVision Federal Credit Union provide documentation to release our interest in a check
that had been deposited into his bank account, which had required our endorsement and
subsequently had not been endorsed by us, as we had no knowledge of the check until he
contacted us for this request. The check had been issued by Mr. ********’s insurance
company, Safeco, in response to the claim he had filed due to hail damage to his vehicle, the
same vehicle that NuVision Federal Credit Union holds as collateral on a loan. The 2 party
check issued by Safeco on 4/21/2015, check number 11374346 in the amount of $6984.02,
was payable to John ********/Stacey ******** and NuVision Federal Credit Union, and
without our endorsement the bank could not process with documentation from NuVision
Federal Credit Union releasing our interest in the check. Since the check was for repairs to a
vehicle in which NuVision Federal Credit Union was the Legal Owner and held as collateral for
a loan, we were not able to provide documentation releasing our interest in the check.
As it was explained to Mr. ******** at the time, any check issued for the purpose of repairs
on collateral that NuVision Federal Credit is the Legal Owner and/or holds as collateral for a
loan, this check would need to be deposited into his account with NuVision Federal Credit
Union with a hold until said time the repairs to the collateral were completed. Once the
repairs are completed, a copy of the invoice from the Licensed Repair shop would be
submitted to NuVision Federal Credit Union, along with a copy of the Insurance Settlement
Statement issued by Safeco, and then NuVision Federal Credit Union would issue a new 2-
party check payable to Mr. ******** and the Licensed Repair Shop.

Mr. ******** contacted NuVision Federal Credit Union on June 18, 2015, stating that he had a
check for the repairs to be completed to his vehicle and he wanted to send the check to us
and for us to endorsement and then return the endorsed check to him. It was explained to
Mr. ******** that the check would be deposited into his account with NuVision Federal Credit
Union with a hold, until such time that the repairs were completed and an Invoice from the
Licensed Repair Shop was received, along with a copy of the Settlement Statement issued by
Safeco, at which time NuVision Federal Credit Union would issue a new 2 party check payable
to Mr. ******** and the Licensed Repair Shop, and the check would be FedEx to him to give
to the repair shop, once he had inspected the vehicle and found the repairs to his
satisfaction, it was explained to him, that is the reason that NuVision Federal Credit Union
issues the check as a 2-party check, as it protects the Repair Shop, Mr. ******** and NuVision
Federal Credit Union. The repair shop is paid, the repairs are done to Mr. ********’s
satisfaction and NuVision Federal Credit Union’s collateral is made whole. Mr. ******** was
concerned about having to use funds out of his pocket, so it was then explained that anything
over and above the amount of the claim check would be his responsibility, which could
include his deductible, having taken the vehicle to a repair shop that charged higher rates
than the insurance estimate, or having additional work done to the vehicle. Safeco had
issued a check in the amount of $6984.02, which is the amount they estimated the repairs at,
minus his deductible, so any cost over the $6,984.02 would be his responsibility.
He then requested that he wanted us to send him part of the funds from the claim check, so
that he could pay for a rental car, it was explained to him that the funds from the claim
check were only for the repairs of the vehicle and not for a rental car, and he was advised to
contact his Insurance Company regarding the rental car. He then stated that he would mail
the check, and NuVision Federal Credit Union requested that he also include a copy of the
Insurance Settlement Statement issued by Safeco, he stated he did not have an Settlement
Statement issued by Safeco, but provide NuVision Federal Credit Union his claims agent
information so that NuVision Federal Credit Union could request a copy.

On June 23, 2015 check # 11560631 dated June 8, 2015 in the amount of $6,984.02 was
received and deposited to Mr. ********’s savings on hold until NuVision Federal Credit Union
has received an Invoice from a Licensed Repair Shop and a copy of the Insurance Settlement
Statement, at which time NuVision Federal Credit Union will issue a 2-party check payable to
the Repair Shop and Mr. ********.

On June 25, 2015, NuVision Federal Credit Union contacted Safeco, Mr. ********’s insurance
company and requested a copy of the Settlement Statement, we also advised Safeco of
Mr. ********’s concern regarding his rental car, at which time Safeco explained to NuVision
Federal Credit Union, that if the Safeco policy has rental car coverage, that Safeco has direct
billing set up with Enterprise Rental Car, which was the company that Mr. ******** said he
had been talking to. Since Mr. ******** had not yet contacted Safeco regarding the rental
car, Safeco contacted Mr. ********, and per email sent to NuVision Federal Credit Union by
Safeco, Safeco had contacted Mr. ******** and “clarified that the check issued to NuVision
does not cover rental, only the cost of repairs. I advised Mr. ******** that Enterprise
directly bills Safeco for rental costs”.

As of July 3, 2015, Mr. ******** has not contacted NuVision Federal Credit Union with the
status of the repairs to the vehicle.

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Mr. ********, have further explained the process and are working with him to satisfy the requirements in order to release the funds on hold for his vehicle repairs.  We look forward to resolving this matter with our member while providing him with the high level of service NuVision stands for.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Nu Vision has been in contact with me and they are trying to help me get the issues resolved, but there are many issues that need attention.  I was sent a letter in the mail saying that there would be a release of 3492.01 dollars to purchase replacement parts.  That is great but I need access to the money in the account, not just a check made out to 2 people.  I can make a list of the items needed and the prices and the online stores that have the required items and then Nu Vision can make the purchases if they need to be in control of the money.  I do not have a problem with that.  I also had a rental car lined up for the time the EM Collision shop was going to do the work.  I had to return the rental car and now I need money to pay for the rental because my policy is rental reimbursement at $15 a day.  I need access to the rental car money in order to have the shop do the body work.  

I can get a detailed list of parts and stores that carry the parts and Nu Vision can order the parts while we wait to see who is going to pay for the rental car.  
I do not think that Nu Vision understands what a cluster of a mess they have caused me here.


**** ********

5/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened an auto loan with Nu vision Federal credit union. The loan was processed over a few phone calls and the operator explained the loan and payment amount. While checking my first months bill I noticed an extra charge for life insurance in the amount of $12.57. After calling the company on 4/14/15, I was told it was insurance for the bank if I died and would cover the auto loan. Problem is I was never informed about the extra monthly fee. I was only told my monthly payment would be X amount, not X amount plus life insurance.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be charged life insurance. I did not agree.

Business Response:

***** *****,


I would like to provide an update to complaint #******** – ***** *****.  On 4/16/15 we contacted ***** ***** and requested an authorization to cancel the life insurance protection on his auto loan.  We received signed authorization to cancel the life insurance protection coverage.  His loan has been credited $25.33 as of 4/21/15.  Please let me know if you require any additional information.


Thank you,


*** *********

Retail Service Manager

NuVision Federal Credit Union

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service