Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mission Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 500-6328 Fax: (858) 546-7637 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 919023, San Diego, CA 92191 https://www.missionfed.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mission Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mission Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mission Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 1996 Business started: 05/21/1961 in CA Business incorporated 07/01/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rob Miller, COO Ms. Debra Schwartz, CEO Mr. Doug Wright, CFO Mr. Gary Devan, CIO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Miller, COO
Principal: Ms. Debra Schwartz, CEO
Principal: Mr. Doug Wright, CFO
Number of Employees

500

Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Services Banking Services

Alternate Business Names
Mission Federal Services LLC
Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 10393 Spring Canyon Rd

    San Diego, CA 92131

  • 10768 Westview Pkwy

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 11650 Carmel Mountain Rd

    San Diego, CA 92128

  • 117 S Las Posas Rd

    San Marcos, CA 92078

  • 11868 Rancho Bernardo Rd # #B

    San Diego, CA 92128

  • 125 Old Grove Rd #1

    Oceanside, CA 92057

  • 1302 E Plaza Blvd

    National City, CA 91950

  • 13465 Poway Rd

    Poway, CA 92064

  • 1370 India St

    San Diego, CA 92101

  • 1500 E Valley Pkwy #B

    Escondido, CA 92027

  • 2020 Camino Del Rio N #100

    San Diego, CA 92108

  • 245 Town Ctr Pkwy

    Santee, CA 92071

  • 258 N El Camino Real #C

    Encinitas, CA 92024

  • 269 W Washington St

    San Diego, CA 92103

  • 294 N El Camino Real

    Encinitas, CA 92024

  • 3470 College Ave

    San Diego, CA 92115

  • 354 E H St

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • 3815 Avocado Blvd

    La Mesa, CA 91941

  • 3885 Valley Centre Dr

    San Diego, CA 92130

  • 4250 Clairemont Mesa Blvd #B

    San Diego, CA 92117

  • 47 Douglas Dr #100

    Oceanside, CA 92058

  • 5375 Napa St #101

    San Diego, CA 92110

  • 5394 Linda Vista Rd

    Poway, CA 92064

  • 5500 Grossmont Ctr Dr #113

    La Mesa, CA 91942

  • 5785 Oberlin Dr #333

    San Diego, CA 92121

  • 599 Telegraph Canyon

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • 675 Saturn Blvd #A

    San Diego, CA 92154

  • 6950 Navajo Rd

    San Diego, CA 92115

  • 710 Carlsbad Village Dr

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

  • 760 N Johnson Ave #102

    El Cajon, CA 92020

  • 8198 Mira Mesa Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 878 Eastlake Pkwy #1310

    Chula Vista, CA 91911

  • 884 Eastlake Pkwy #1619

    Chula Vista, CA 91911

  • 953 Lomas Santa Fe Dr

    Solana Beach, CA 92075

  • 985 Civic Ctr Dr #106

    Vista, CA 92083

  • 985 Escondido Ave #106

    Vista, CA 92083

  • PO Box 919023

    San Diego, CA 92191 (858) 524-2850 (800) 500-6328

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an auto loan through this company the associate added an additional monthly fee to the loan without explaining to me that it was not necessary. I was completely under the impression that this was a mandatory gap insurance required by the company. I found out online that this is a sales tactic for them to make a commission off of adding life/disability insurance on to the loan. I believe the sales associate took advantage of me because I am young. It may be that they had me sign the contract for my loan but it was very disturbing business practice 2 out on a monthly fee without explaining to the customer that it is completely voluntary. I am looking to have the last year of loan add ons for $35 a month remove from the loan. Going forward I will go into their office and have them take it off for future dates but I feel it is imperative that they remove the past 10 months that they have charged me this additional fee. This is not a better business nor something I would expect from mission federal.

Desired Settlement: I will go to the office and have them remove the add on for all future billing patterns. Moving forward it is necessary that they refund me for the past 10 months of the additional $35 loan add on, as I believe I was misinformed and taken advantage of.

Business Response:

Greetings BBB:

Further to your email today, please find attached our response to complaint #********.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you,

 

******** *********

Dear Ms. ******* ****:

On behalf of the Executive Office of Mission Federal Credit Union, I am following up on a complaint that was filed by you and received by the San Diego Better Business Bureau on December 14, 2015, regarding your loan account with Mission Fed, and your dissatisfaction with the Credit Life and Credit Disability service protection package you received. I have attempted to contact you via phone and email; however, to date, have not received a response. I also understand that you contacted our Member Service Center on or around December 17", expressing the same concerns.

I would like to discuss the concerns you have and am confident we can come to a mutually acceptable conclusion. Please contact me at ***** ******** at your earliest opportunity. If I do not hear from you by January 8, 2016, I will assume that your concerns are resolved and that further assistance is not needed.

Sincerely,

******* ******

First Vice President

Mission Federal Credit Union

 

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/22/15, at approximately 4:24 pm, I called the Mission Federal toll free line (800-500-6328) to request assistance with online access to my two credit card accounts. The operator I spoke with was extremely condescending and would not allow me to fully explain my problem, instead talking over me and refusing to listen. She continually tried to tell me I had made an error in setting-up my security questions for accessing my credit card accounts online. I tried, at least twice, to tell her I had never set-up security questions for my credit card accounts. I knew that I had security questions for my checking account, but I was being asked a security question I did not recognize. She repeatedly told me I was the one who made a mistake setting up the security questions, again disregarding information I was trying to relay to her. Frustrated and dissatisfied, I ended the call and went to the Mission Federal web page. Using the "Contact Us" link, I filled out a general e-mail form explaining my disappointing experience over the phone. The e-mail form contained my contact information including my e-mail address, which I marked as a preferred method of contact, home telephone number and home address. After successfully submitting the form to Mission Federal, I received a confirmation message indicating someone would be contacting me within two business days. This form was completed and successfully submitted on the same day as the phone call (1/22/15); however, I have yet to receive an e-mail, phone call or mailed letter from anyone at Mission Federal addressing my complaint.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like to know my complaint has been acknowledged by Mission Federal. It has been more than two weeks since I submitted the complaint and a promise of two business days was made for a response time. Second, I want to know what steps are being taken to correct the patronizing attitude I was confronted with during my phone conversation with this operator. I am confident this is not the first occasion someone has complained about the service provided by this person. I have been banking with this credit union for more than 20 years, have multiple accounts with them and I refuse to be treated in such an abhorrent manner then subsequently ignored when I try to get a resolution for the problem. I also feel an apology from this operator is a reasonable request, given the circumstances.

Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  .  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns as of March 2, 2015.  In order to protect their consumer financial privacy a formal response on this complaint is not included.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened several new accounts with this bank: checking, savings, money market, 2 kids accounts, credit card, and auto loan. Generally when you deposit a check it clears the next day. I deposited (via ATM) a check on 6-30-14 for over a thousand dollars assuming it was cleared on 7-1-14. I went into the bank to deposit 3 more checks 7-3-14. I was asked if I needed it right away and send no, thinking it would clear by monday. When I checked my receipt it read checks were being held until 7-15-14. I immediately looked at my account and called the bank. I was charged a $4.00 fee for taking money from my savings to cover the bills I had paid with an overdrawn account due to them not processing my payroll check. I indicated I wanted an immediate release of my checks and the $4.00 fee credited. ****** ******* (supervisor) said she could not do that since it was a new account. A manager from the San Marcos Branch is going to contact me later. I have worked with North County Superior Court for over 14 years. This should have been told to me when I opened the account, hence I would not have opened an account there. A mutual friend opened an account there and received a similar problem with his car loan. He never got a bill and was being dinged (***** *******). **** ******* (also a member) was given another persons debit card (female) when he opend his account. We all had the same person open our account.

Desired Settlement: I would like all 4 of my checks deposited immediately and any and all fees waived for not having appropriate funds in my checking account.

Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  .  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns as of July 7, 2014.  In order to protect their consumer financial privacy a formal response on this complaint is not included.  Thank you.

7/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was hospitalized in febuary 2014 for two months and had a partial amputation of my foot since I was not working and had no income I contacted them and explained the situation they refused to work with me on the payments I have made a payment since being released from the hospital but I am aproxamatly 45 days behind and they have started repo process while I was in the hospital they called me almost everyday harassing me about the payments since leaving the hospital I have been to the bank in person and asked them again to work with me and they refused I am still unable to return to work and have exhausted my savings I have made payments on this loan for aprox. 6 years with only about one year left not vary good customer service in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to apply the late payments to the end of the loan for the next few months until im able to return to work I would even be willing to pay a higher intrest rate on the remander of the loan

Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  .  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns as of 6/12/2014.  In order to protect their consumer financial privacy, a formal response on this complaint is not included.  Thank you.

5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mission Fed this afternoon about my concern. I explained to the customer service rep I was charged a $25 *** * Courtesy fee 15 times over several days at the end of February equaling $375 in fees that I believe are excessive and punitive. She asked me to hold while she had someone look in to that matter. When she came back on the line she said they would only be able to refund two of the fees because *** * was explained to me 18 months ago. I thanked her for her help but told her that refunding two out of fifteen fees was not sufficient. I understand *** *. I feel Mission Federal was not acting in good faith when they allowed these 15 small Paypal transactions and fees to go through. Mission Federal had the option to deny the transactions placing me over the *** * max of 6 transaction per month, or they could have closed the account and notified me of the problem.

Desired Settlement: I am asking Mission Federal to refund all 15 Reg D fees I was charged in the month of February 2014 for a total of $375 and I would like the option to op- out of the " courtesy" of being allowed to make more than 6 transaction in one month.

Business Response: Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  We have researched this and responded directly via letter to the person who submitted the complaint in order to protect their consumer financial privacy.  The letter was mailed to them on 3/27/2014.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
Mission Federal Credit Union did not offer any solution in the letter I received. The letter explained that their policy is to charge its 'members' outrageous fees that do not appear to be in compliance with the Federal Reserve policy or rule that explains regulation D. 

I would like Mission Federal to supply me with their LEGAL business name for my court paperwork. I would also like the address of the location Mission Fed would like the court paperwork to be served by the SD county Sheriff sometime during the week of April 7-12 2014. 
 
******* *** 




Regards,

******* ***



Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciated that you let us know that our response to the complaint did not resolve the situation.  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns.  A formal response via email has been sent directly to the person submitting the complaint in order to protect their consumer financial privacy.  Thank you.  

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/22/2014 my credit was pulled without my authorization. When I contacted Mission Federal Credit Union after pulling my credit on the last week of February 2014, I was told that they would pull my credit if I was delinquent on a loan and when they could not get a hold of me. During that time I was in consistent contact with the collections department regarding the status of my loan. I had informed them of my medical expenses from the summer of 2013 and my job loss just a few months later. I had set up payment arrangements with them and told them how much I could pay and when. Mission Federal is claiming that they are able to pull my credit every 30 days in order to research why I am being delinquent. This is not the case. The FCRA rule states (3) Information regarding inquiries. Except as provided in section 609(a)(5) [§ 1681g], a consumer reporting agency shall not furnish to any person a record of inquiries in connection with a credit or insurance transaction that is not initiated by a consumer. I did not initiate any transaction and did my due diligence in staying in contact as well. I was unable to make payments due to not having any funds in my account. I have documentation of this. I informed Mission Federal Credit Union of this on MULTIPLE occasions. There was no reason to do a hard inquiry on my credit . Furthermore, I was told again that they could continue to pull my credit, for which I am taking a a threat. The representatives from Mission Federal Credit Union and I have consistently stated what I can pay and not and I have consistently abided by those payment they have allowed for me. I have done my due dilligence as a member of Mission Federal. They did not have, and do not have a legal right to continue pulling my credit as I am (and have) maintaining consistent communication as well as abiding by making the payments they have allowed for me to do.

Desired Settlement: Remove the credit inquiry from my report.

Business Response: Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry. We have researched this and responded directly via letter to the person who submitted the complaint in order to protect their consumer financial privacy. The letter was mailed to them on 3/25/2014.  Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mission Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart