Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mission Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 500-6328 Fax: (858) 546-7637 5785 Oberlin Dr #333, San Diego, CA 92121 https://www.missionfed.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mission Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mission Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mission Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 1996 Business started: 05/21/1961 in CA Business started locally: 05/21/1961 Business incorporated 05/21/1961 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debra Schwartz, CEO Mr. Ron Araujo, CFO Mr. Gary Devan, CIO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Schwartz, CEO
Number of Employees

450

Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Services Banking Services

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 10768 Westview Pkwy

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 117 S Las Posas Rd

    San Marcos, CA 92078

  • 11868 Rancho Bernardo Rd # #B

    San Diego, CA 92128

  • 125 Old Grove Rd #1

    Oceanside, CA 92057

  • 13465 Poway Rd

    Poway, CA 92064

  • 1500 E Valley Pkwy #B

    Escondido, CA 92027

  • 2020 Camino Del Rio N #100

    San Diego, CA 92108

  • 245 Town Center Pkwy

    Santee, CA 92071

  • 258 N El Camino Real #C

    Encinitas, CA 92024

  • 269 W Washington St

    San Diego, CA 92103

  • 294 N El Camino Real

    Encinitas, CA 92024

  • 354 E H St

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • 3815 Avocado Blvd

    La Mesa, CA 91941

  • 3885 Valley Centre Dr

    San Diego, CA 92130

  • 4250 Clairemont Mesa Blvd #B

    San Diego, CA 92117

  • 5375 Napa Street #101

    San Diego, CA 92110

  • 5394 Linda Vista Rd

    Poway, CA 92064

  • 5500 Grossmont Center Dr #113

    La Mesa, CA 91942

  • 5785 Oberlin Dr #333

    San Diego, CA 92121

  • 599 Telegraph Canyon

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • 675 Saturn Blvd #A

    San Diego, CA 92154

  • 710 Carlsbad Village Dr

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

  • 760 N Johnson Ave #102

    El Cajon, CA 92020

  • 8198 Mira Mesa Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 878 Eastlake Pkwy #1310

    Chula Vista, CA 91911

  • 953 Lomas Santa Fe Dr

    Solana Beach, CA 92075

  • 985 Civic Center Dr #106

    Vista, CA 92083

  • 985 Escondido Ave #106

    Vista, CA 92083

  • PO Box 919023

    San Diego, CA 92191 (800) 500-6328 (858) 524-2850

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/22/15, at approximately 4:24 pm, I called the Mission Federal toll free line (800-500-6328) to request assistance with online access to my two credit card accounts. The operator I spoke with was extremely condescending and would not allow me to fully explain my problem, instead talking over me and refusing to listen. She continually tried to tell me I had made an error in setting-up my security questions for accessing my credit card accounts online. I tried, at least twice, to tell her I had never set-up security questions for my credit card accounts. I knew that I had security questions for my checking account, but I was being asked a security question I did not recognize. She repeatedly told me I was the one who made a mistake setting up the security questions, again disregarding information I was trying to relay to her. Frustrated and dissatisfied, I ended the call and went to the Mission Federal web page. Using the "Contact Us" link, I filled out a general e-mail form explaining my disappointing experience over the phone. The e-mail form contained my contact information including my e-mail address, which I marked as a preferred method of contact, home telephone number and home address. After successfully submitting the form to Mission Federal, I received a confirmation message indicating someone would be contacting me within two business days. This form was completed and successfully submitted on the same day as the phone call (1/22/15); however, I have yet to receive an e-mail, phone call or mailed letter from anyone at Mission Federal addressing my complaint.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like to know my complaint has been acknowledged by Mission Federal. It has been more than two weeks since I submitted the complaint and a promise of two business days was made for a response time. Second, I want to know what steps are being taken to correct the patronizing attitude I was confronted with during my phone conversation with this operator. I am confident this is not the first occasion someone has complained about the service provided by this person. I have been banking with this credit union for more than 20 years, have multiple accounts with them and I refuse to be treated in such an abhorrent manner then subsequently ignored when I try to get a resolution for the problem. I also feel an apology from this operator is a reasonable request, given the circumstances.

Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  .  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns as of March 2, 2015.  In order to protect their consumer financial privacy a formal response on this complaint is not included.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened several new accounts with this bank: checking, savings, money market, 2 kids accounts, credit card, and auto loan. Generally when you deposit a check it clears the next day. I deposited (via ATM) a check on 6-30-14 for over a thousand dollars assuming it was cleared on 7-1-14. I went into the bank to deposit 3 more checks 7-3-14. I was asked if I needed it right away and send no, thinking it would clear by monday. When I checked my receipt it read checks were being held until 7-15-14. I immediately looked at my account and called the bank. I was charged a $4.00 fee for taking money from my savings to cover the bills I had paid with an overdrawn account due to them not processing my payroll check. I indicated I wanted an immediate release of my checks and the $4.00 fee credited. ****** ******* (supervisor) said she could not do that since it was a new account. A manager from the San Marcos Branch is going to contact me later. I have worked with North County Superior Court for over 14 years. This should have been told to me when I opened the account, hence I would not have opened an account there. A mutual friend opened an account there and received a similar problem with his car loan. He never got a bill and was being dinged (***** *******). **** ******* (also a member) was given another persons debit card (female) when he opend his account. We all had the same person open our account.

Desired Settlement: I would like all 4 of my checks deposited immediately and any and all fees waived for not having appropriate funds in my checking account.

Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  .  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns as of July 7, 2014.  In order to protect their consumer financial privacy a formal response on this complaint is not included.  Thank you.

7/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was hospitalized in febuary 2014 for two months and had a partial amputation of my foot since I was not working and had no income I contacted them and explained the situation they refused to work with me on the payments I have made a payment since being released from the hospital but I am aproxamatly 45 days behind and they have started repo process while I was in the hospital they called me almost everyday harassing me about the payments since leaving the hospital I have been to the bank in person and asked them again to work with me and they refused I am still unable to return to work and have exhausted my savings I have made payments on this loan for aprox. 6 years with only about one year left not vary good customer service in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to apply the late payments to the end of the loan for the next few months until im able to return to work I would even be willing to pay a higher intrest rate on the remander of the loan

Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  .  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns as of 6/12/2014.  In order to protect their consumer financial privacy, a formal response on this complaint is not included.  Thank you.

5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mission Fed this afternoon about my concern. I explained to the customer service rep I was charged a $25 *** * Courtesy fee 15 times over several days at the end of February equaling $375 in fees that I believe are excessive and punitive. She asked me to hold while she had someone look in to that matter. When she came back on the line she said they would only be able to refund two of the fees because *** * was explained to me 18 months ago. I thanked her for her help but told her that refunding two out of fifteen fees was not sufficient. I understand *** *. I feel Mission Federal was not acting in good faith when they allowed these 15 small Paypal transactions and fees to go through. Mission Federal had the option to deny the transactions placing me over the *** * max of 6 transaction per month, or they could have closed the account and notified me of the problem.

Desired Settlement: I am asking Mission Federal to refund all 15 Reg D fees I was charged in the month of February 2014 for a total of $375 and I would like the option to op- out of the " courtesy" of being allowed to make more than 6 transaction in one month.

Business Response: Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry.  We have researched this and responded directly via letter to the person who submitted the complaint in order to protect their consumer financial privacy.  The letter was mailed to them on 3/27/2014.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
Mission Federal Credit Union did not offer any solution in the letter I received. The letter explained that their policy is to charge its 'members' outrageous fees that do not appear to be in compliance with the Federal Reserve policy or rule that explains regulation D. 

I would like Mission Federal to supply me with their LEGAL business name for my court paperwork. I would also like the address of the location Mission Fed would like the court paperwork to be served by the SD county Sheriff sometime during the week of April 7-12 2014. 
 
******* *** 




Regards,

******* ***



Business Response:

Mission Fed appreciated that you let us know that our response to the complaint did not resolve the situation.  Mission Fed has contacted the person submitting the complaint and has resolved all outstanding concerns.  A formal response via email has been sent directly to the person submitting the complaint in order to protect their consumer financial privacy.  Thank you.  

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/22/2014 my credit was pulled without my authorization. When I contacted Mission Federal Credit Union after pulling my credit on the last week of February 2014, I was told that they would pull my credit if I was delinquent on a loan and when they could not get a hold of me. During that time I was in consistent contact with the collections department regarding the status of my loan. I had informed them of my medical expenses from the summer of 2013 and my job loss just a few months later. I had set up payment arrangements with them and told them how much I could pay and when. Mission Federal is claiming that they are able to pull my credit every 30 days in order to research why I am being delinquent. This is not the case. The FCRA rule states (3) Information regarding inquiries. Except as provided in section 609(a)(5) [§ 1681g], a consumer reporting agency shall not furnish to any person a record of inquiries in connection with a credit or insurance transaction that is not initiated by a consumer. I did not initiate any transaction and did my due diligence in staying in contact as well. I was unable to make payments due to not having any funds in my account. I have documentation of this. I informed Mission Federal Credit Union of this on MULTIPLE occasions. There was no reason to do a hard inquiry on my credit . Furthermore, I was told again that they could continue to pull my credit, for which I am taking a a threat. The representatives from Mission Federal Credit Union and I have consistently stated what I can pay and not and I have consistently abided by those payment they have allowed for me. I have done my due dilligence as a member of Mission Federal. They did not have, and do not have a legal right to continue pulling my credit as I am (and have) maintaining consistent communication as well as abiding by making the payments they have allowed for me to do.

Desired Settlement: Remove the credit inquiry from my report.

Business Response: Mission Fed appreciates that you let us know about this inquiry. We have researched this and responded directly via letter to the person who submitted the complaint in order to protect their consumer financial privacy. The letter was mailed to them on 3/25/2014.  Thank you.

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPAINT: AUTO LOAN DEPT REPRESENTATIVE: ****** @ ********* BRANCH.POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, FALSE INFORMATION, BAIT & SWITCH TACTICS.Initially I received a pre-approval letter to refi my vehicle back on Feb 2013. I have been in communication with ****** since Feb 28, 2013. Prior to ******, I briefly spoke to ****-*** regarding my decision to not refi my vehicle (******) but rather to apply for a second loan at which time she directed me to ****** at the ********* BRANCH. After providing all necessary documentation; I was congratulated by ****** that I was pre-approved for $14K. I reiterated to ****** that I elected to not refi my vehicle and SPECIFICALLY informed her that I was no longer interested in refinancing BUT RATHER IN THE MARKET FOR A SECOND VEHICLE. ****** reassured me that I was approved for $14K and that I could start looking for the 2nd vehicle of my choice. After almost two months of diligently searching, on 4/19/13 we finally found the vehicle that met our needs for only $9,000 ($5,000 less than my approval amount) and so immediately contacted ****** the following day. Since we were pre-approved as stated by ****** numerous times, we felt confident that putting $500 down would ensure our good faith on the vehicle towards the dealership. We were approved for $14K; this vehicle we would only be financing $9K. With ******s stamp of approval on being approved for $14K, this should go smoothly. ****** was not cordial in any way whatsoever towards my wife. The common customer service etiquette towards a member or nonmember or even simply put, any human being would say something like Good morning, how may I assist you. Instead there were no salutations, no handshakes, just an unprofessional, treat a customer like a number response from her dryly asking Whatcha got for me? 10 minutes later ****** calls back and tells us our loan wasn't approved for $9K! Keep in mind she reassured me that $14K was approved on a 2nd vehicle loan. Now I lost $500 deposit thanks to ******.

Desired Settlement: This financial institution needs to train employees thoroughly and to ensure these individuals LISTEN TO THEIR CUSTOMERS REQUEST! Its sad that Mission Federals motto states Your Success is Our Bottom Line.Shall we to assume yet another Bait and Switch tactic to get law abiding citizens to fall for their deceit? If this incident does not represent what they stand for, then perhaps they should not employ incompetent individuals that brand them as such.

Business Response:

April 30, 2013
BBB of San Diego
4747 Viewridge Ave Suite 200
Attn: **** *****
San Diego, CA 92123
Dear Mr. *****:
L~MISSION
FEDERAL CREDIT UNION
This letter is in response to a complaint filed by ***** *****, which was sent to our office on
April 15, 2013, file# *******.
Complaint:
Mr. *****'s complaint involves customer service issues with a notice of an auto loan offer,
an initial request to refinance an existing loan from another lender which later changed to
purchasing and financing a different vehicle. The loan was denied based on the year and mileage
of the purchased vehicle. Mr. ***** believes that the loan representative at the ********* Branch
[gave] poor customer service and false information.
Overview of the Loan Process:
Mr. ***** received an Auto Loan Offer by mail to which he responded with his intention to
refinance his 2008 Mazda3 from another lender; however, he later changed his mind, deciding to
purchase a different vehicle believing he could use the same loan approval with different
collateral.
Results of Research:
A pre-approval is based on credit scores and other credit information in the beginning of the loan
process. While the loan may be credit approved, the final approval can't be given until income is
verified and the specific collateral is known and evaluated. In Mr. *****' s situation, underwriting
guidelines also limited financing options for an older vehicle with high mileage.
After reviewing the notes in the loan file, it appears this information was not clearly explained or
communicated to Mr. *****, which caused confusion and disappointment when the 2004 ******
****** did not meet underwriting specifications and the loan was ultimately denied.
********* **** *** ****** *** ***** ** ********** ************ * ************ * *** ********* ***
Mission Fed. com
BBB of San Diego
April 30, 2013
Page 2
Resolution:
Mr. ***** was contacted by telephone today and received an apology because we failed to
communicate more specific information and provide the service he should have received during
the processing of his loan. During our conversation, I mentioned to Mr. ***** that most sales
contracts have a five-day period to obtain financing and asked if he had already made other
arrangements to finance the vehicle.
He advised that he had an offer of a 7.9% interest rate and a 60-month contract through the
dealer for the 2004 ****** ******, compared to the loan contract of 8.54% interest rate and 36-
month term that Mission Federal could offer. After a brief discussion, he stated that the dealer's
financing was preferable as his monthly payment would be lower.
Mr. ***** advised that he would continue to work with the dealer and the conversation was
concluded amicably. We believe Mr. *****'s concerns have been successfully resolved.
Sincerely,
~~
**** ****** **
VP Member Relations
Executive Office
cc: ***** ********, President and CEO
****** ******** SVP Lending/Branch Network
***** ********, Internal Auditor

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[The information Lori provided was still inaccurate.  The vehicle was not a 2004, but rather a 2005 ****** ******.  This met the criteria.  Yet again, representative(s) ****** and now Lorie not paying attention to the customers request or submitted paperwork.   The mileage of the vehicle however was 111,000 which did not meet their guidelines.  HOWEVER The Loan officer ****** advised me that there are cases where a vehicle has been accepted such as (and I quote) "BMW's, MERCEDES, those of that nature."  Most mechanics and consumer reports will tell you that those vehicles have a lack luster longevity, or reliabity and that *******, and Hondas have proven high resale value and reliability.  That in mind, we submitted the documents for the 2005 ****** ******.  Their excuse that it was denied because of the year and mileage is false.  This is their way of finding an excuse to not admit that they gave a customer the wrong information and impression because they did not listen to the customer when I specifically advised that I wanted a second car loan, and them approving me for the 2nd vehicle loan.  I do not care to ever do business with MISSION FEDERAL nor do I ever want them to contact me.]

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

BBB of San Diego
Attn: **** *****
4747 Viewridge Ave., Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123
Dear Mr. *****:
This letter is in response to Mr. *****’s recent correspondence expressing his disagreement with
information in our April 30, 2013, letter to you.
Complaint:
The information **** provided was still inaccurate. The vehicle was not a 2004, but rather a 2005
****** ******. This met the criteria. Yet again, representative (s) ****** and now **** not paying
attention to the customers’ request or submitted paperwork. The mileage of the vehicle however, was
111,000 which did not meet their guidelines. HOWEVER, the loan officer ****** advised me that there
are cases where a vehicle has been accepted such as (and I quote) “BMWs, MERCEDES, those of that
nature.”
Reply:
Mr. ***** is correct, the vehicle was a 2005 ****** ******, rather than a 2004. I apologize for making
that error; however, 2006 is the oldest model year that would meet underwriting guidelines. The age and
mileage of the vehicle was considered and denied as explained in our response dated April 30, 2013. An
apology was given to Mr. ***** by telephone on April 30, 2013, and expressed again in our original
response.
Conclusion:
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to correct the error and again offer an apology for the service
gap in the loan process, as well as our failure to communicate the collateral requirements more clearly.
Sincerely,
**** ******
VP Member Relations
Executive Office
cc: ***** ********, President and CEO
****** *******, SVP Lending/Branch Network

2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WANT TO COMPLAIN ABOUT MISSION FEDERAL CREDIT UNION'S UNFAIR CREDIT PRACTICE. MY DAUGHTER AND I SHARED AN ACCOUNT AND, MFCU SENT HER AN OFFER FOR A $300 CREDIT LINE ON THE CHECKING AND WITH OUT EVEN DISCLOSING THAT EVERYTIME THAT LINE OF CREDIT IS BEING USED THERE IS AN INSUFFICIENT CHARGE OF $27 AND $33.00. THERE WAS ONE OCCASION THAT MY DAUGHTER USED HER DEBIT CARD IN THE AMOUNT OF $2 SOMETHING, AND WHEN WE GOT THE STATEMENT, THEY WERE CHARGING HER A FEE FOR $27.00 IF I AM NOT MISTAKEN. I FEEL LIKE THAT THEY TOOK ADVANTAGE OF MY DAUGHTER'S NAIVENESS ABOUT BANKING, AND I SPECIFICALLY ADVISED THEM THAT ALL MAILS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO ME.NOW THEY WANT ME TO PAY ALMOST $400.00, THAT IS ABSURD!!!! THE AMOUNT THAT WAS USED ONLY WAS $99.45. i BELIEVE THAT WE SHOULD ONLY PAY THAT AMOUNT MINUS ALL THE FEES THEY ARE CHARGING AS THOSE FEES WERE NOT DISCLOSED PROPERLY.I REPLIED TO THEIR LETTER AND TOLD THEM THAT I WILL SEND THEM THE PAYMENT OF $99.45 BUT THEN THE VICE PRESIDENT OF THIS LOCATION SENT ME A THREATENING LETTER STATING THAT SHE WILL SEND US TO COLLECTIONS OR SEND A NEGATIVE REPORT WITH THE CREDIT BUREAU, THAT IS SO UNFAIR!!! I REPLIED TO HER LETTER AND TOLD HER THAT I WILL SEND HER THE PAYMENT, AND THE LATEST WILL BE MIDDLE OF FEB. BUT FOR THE PRINCIPAL AMOUNT OF $99.45 ONLY AND NOT THE FEES THAT I AM DISPUTING, AND YET I RECEIVED THIS THREATENING LETTER, INAPPROPRIATE BEHAVIOR, SHE CAN DO THAT IF I NEVER REPLIED TO HER LETTER OR SOMETHING.ANYWAY, I BELIEVE THAT WE DON'T OWE THOSE FEES BEING CHARGED ON THE ACCOUNT AND WE ONLY OWE THAT $99.45 AND THAT'S IT. THOSE FEES WERE NEVER DISCLOSED PROPERLY. I NEED YOUR HELP TO RESLOVE THIS ISSUE AS I DON'T WANT MY DAUGHTER'S CREDIT TO BE RUINED BECAUSE OF MFCU'S STUPIDITY.THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME********* ******

Desired Settlement: I WANT ALL THOSE FEES REVERSED AS THEY WERE CHARGED TO THE ACCOUNT WITH OUT OUR KNOWLEDGE. FEES WERE NOT DISCLOSED PROPERLY. THAT I WILL ONLY PAY $99.45. AND NO NEGATIVE COMMENT TO THE CREDIT REPORTING AGENCY FOR MY DAUGHTER AS THIS IS NOT HER FAULT, MFCU MISLED MY DAUGHTER AND TOOK ADVANTAGE OF HER NAIVENESS REGARDING BANKING STUFF.

Consumer Response: See attached release form.

Business Response:

Please find attached our response to you regarding complaint #*******.

Thank you,

******** *********

Mission Federal Credit Union

This letter is in response to a complaint filed by ********* ******, which was sent to our office
on January 25,2013, file #*******.
Complaint:
The complaint states: I want to complain about Mission Federal Credit Union's unfair credit
practice. My daughter and I shared an account and MFCU sent her an offer for a $300 credit
line on the checking and without out even disclosing that every time that line of credit is being
used there is an insufficient charge of $27 and $33. There was one occasion that my daughter
used her debit card in the amount of $2 something, and when we got the statement, they were
charging her a fee for $27 if I am not mistaken. The complaint also stated: I believe that we don't
owe those fees being charged on the account and we only owe $99.45 and that's it. Those fees
were never disclosed properly.
Disclosure and Fee Schedules:
When an account is opened, our system prints the applicable disclosure information and the
information is disclosed during the opening process of the account. Fee schedules are provided to
members and are prominently displayed in our lobbies, posted at member transaction areas and
available on our website. Copies of the account disclosure and schedule of fees in effect when
the account was opened, as well as a current fee schedule, are enclosed for reference.
Overview of Mission Debit Card Privilege:
The overdraft protection the member mentions in the complaint is Mission Debit Card Privilege
(MDCP), a service that allows accounts, meeting certain eligibility requirements, to receive
authorization on PIN and signature Debit Card purchase transactions when there is not enough
money in the account to cover the charge. Accounts are not enrolled in MDCP automatically.
Members must Opt In to MDCP service and can do so over the phone, via mail, in person or
online through MissionLink. Members receive a confirmation notice in the mail when they have
chosen to Opt In. A fee is charged for the MDCP service as disclosed in the fee schedule. When
a member does not have sufficient available funds on deposit to cover the transaction, with 
MDCP, the transaction will be approved rather than declined at the merchant. If a charge is paid
using MDCP, the fee is noted on monthly statements as DBT PRIV Pay on the line following the
purchase charge.
Results of Research:
Our research revealed that Ms. ***** and Ms. ****** opened the joint checking account in
person at the Terra Nova branch. As requested, monthly statements detailing the account activity
were mailed to the address provided by Ms. ***** and Ms. ******. Our research determined that
Ms. ***** requested Mission Debit Card Privilege on July 3, 2012. A confirmation notice was
mailed to the address of record confirming the Opt In request.
Ms. ***** and Ms. ****** opened the account September 3, 2011; however, there were very few
transactions from that date until December 2012. On December 17 and December 18, although
there hadn't been any deposits to the account since October 2012, the card was used at various
merchants nine times during these two days. Because the account had a beginning balance of
only $7.55, as each purchase was initiated, a fee was assessed since Ms. ***** had elected to
Opt In for MDCP protection, so her transactions would be approved.
Resolution:
On January 15, 2013, Ms. ****** spoke with one of our representatives who agreed to refund
$137, or half of the fees incurred. We hope that this explanation addresses your concerns and
clarifies the issue raised by Ms. ******. We believe that we have done our best to assist
Ms. ***** and Ms. ****** in this situation, and respectfully decline their request for any
additional refund.

Sincerely,

**** ******
VP

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is a lie! I never spoke to anybody and no one has called me! I don't owe those fees as they did not disclose that to my daughter! They have taken advantage of my daughter nit knowing the ins and outs of banking business!

Regards,

********* ****** 

Business Response: This letter is our second response to Complaint ID #******* filed by ********* ******. Ms. ******
responded to our first letter on February 4, 2013, and again on February 6, 2013.
Our research reveals that the members logged into their online account on December 15, 2012, and
viewed the balances available for use in the accounts which, at the time, were $4.06 in savings and $7.55
in checking. However, the card was used nine times, between December 17 and 18, 2012, acquiring
merchandise and accruing the published fees for approving and paying the items per the request of the
account holder. The checking account was held in joint tenancy which allowed either person to access
available funds and assume shared responsibility for maintaining adequate balances in the account.
As explained in our response dated February 1, 2013, Mission Debit Card Privilege (MDCP) is not
automatically granted, but must be authorized by the accountholder(s). Ms. ***** authorized the service
on July 3, 2012, and a letter confirming that decision was addressed to both accountholders and sent to
the address of record.
Although we acknowledge receipt of Ms. ******’ two replies to the Better Business Bureau, our
decision remains unchanged.
Sincerely,
**** ******
VP Member Relations
Executive Office
cc: D**** ********, President and CEO
****** ********, COO
****** *******, SVP Lending/Branch Network
******* ******, 1st VP Branch Network

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is really sad for Mission Federal Credit Union to be lying about talking to me and stuff, it was not addressed to the both of us, the letter was just addressed to my daughter, and I was not even on the letter. I or my daughter do not owe this credit union anything. If they insist this and that, I will tell all my friends and family to close their accounts with this credit union, who takes advantage of people and also makes up stories. I never spoke to anybody, nobody had called me. Pls. MFCU, just be honest!!! you will lose business from people I know because of this incident.

Regards,

********* ******