Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Miramar Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 695-9494 Fax: (858) 271-1537 9494 Miramar Rd, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.miramarfcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Miramar Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Miramar Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 1996 Business started: 12/01/1952 in CA
Type of Entity

Charity/NonProfit

Business Management
Mr. Max Paul, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Max Paul, CEO
Number of Employees

33

Business Category

Credit Unions

Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9494 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 695-9494

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 261370

    San Diego, CA 92196

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of Miramar since I was a little girl and now I am almost 40 years old and to be treated like I am a new member just disappoints me. I purchased a cashiers check to pay off a 401K loan so that I could purchase a new vehicle on 6/6/14 and it hasn't been cashed or received by Charles Schwab till this day and the bank is telling me I have to wait 90 days before they will issue a refund and a new cashier check. I think that is crazy that I have to wait that long for a check that is lost from California to Ohio. The check was made out to a specific amount and the more time that goes by the amoung goes down so if Charles Schwab by some miracle gets it will cash it and I will have to wait for them to refund me the difference which makes me wait more time to get my money. I have stayed with this bank ever since day one even though I don't live any where near the branch. If I went to another bank like San Diego Credit Union they would of refunded the money in 30 days. I don't think this is how I should be treated on the 1st issue ever with a cashier's check. Makes me think that I need to take in consideration on a bank closer and more willing to help me get my money back.

Desired Settlement: Stop the cashier's check and re-issue refund so that I can send them a new cashier's check and get me a car.

Business Response:

August 21, 2014

Dear Ms. ********

Unfortunately, the normal business practice on a “Cashier’s Check” is that a stop payment is not allowed because the bank (Miramar Federal Credit Union) guarantees that the check is backed by good funds.  That's why people and businesses accept cashier's checks and why the 90 day statute is enforced. 

We did reply to your initial inquiry you made through our Home Banking system on June 23, 2014 to indicate the 90 day requirement.  We did not indicate to you that you could have obtained a surety bond.  The surety bond prevents the bank from the loss of both checks being cashed. If both checks are cashed than the bank can collect payment from the surety company.  However, there is a cost associated with it and you would have to contact your insurance agent about obtaining one.

If the check has not cleared after the 90 day period, we would be willing to do a wire transfer to Charles Swab for you with no fee for the wire transfer and your account will only be charged for the actual transfer to pay your loan. You would need to complete a wire transfer form which would provide us with the wire instructions or you can email the information through our secure Home Banking message system to provide us with the information for the loan payoff.   The original check amount would be credited back to your checking account at the same time.

The Delay in our response to your inquiry with the Better Business Bureau was because their inquiry was sent to our general mail address where their email address was filtered as junk mail. 

We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Sincerely,

**** ** ****
President/CEO
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********