Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of LBS Financial Credit Union?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LBS Financial Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LBS Financial Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LBS Financial Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2013 Business started: 06/23/1999 in CA Business incorporated: 12/18/2000 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Reed Mr. Jeffrey Napper, President & CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeffrey Napper, President & CEO
Principal: Mr. Frank Reed
Number of Employees

250

Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Long Beach School Fed C/U Long Beach School's Employees Federal Credit Long Beach Schools Federal Credit Union
Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 5505 Garden Grove Blvd #500

    Westminster, CA 92683 (562) 598-9007 (714) 670-9325 (714) 893-5111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6417 E Spring St

    Long Beach, CA 90808

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 4860

    Long Beach, CA 90804

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account No. ******-3SUBJECT: Original Settlement Remain in Effect with LBS Financial Credit UnionThis letter is to confirm the fact neither ******* ** ***** nor ***** ** ***** came to a mutual agreement with LBS Financial Credit Union to pay a lump sum payment of $9,627.65. However, what ******* ** *****, ***** ** ***** and LBS Financial Credit Union agreed upon was a lump sum payment of $5000.00, and that LBS Financial Credit Union would report our loan as settle for less than full balance on our credit report. On Thursday, February 13, 2014, ******* ********** (LBS Financial Credit Union Recovery Specialist), **** ***** (Executive Loan Officer) and I (***** *****) reached a mutual agreement in the sum of $5000.00 to pay-off the loan. Ms. ********** stated she had to consult with management for approval. Ms. ******* called back the same day, February 13, 2014 indicating she had received management/supervisor (Mr. *** *********) approval to accept the $5000.00 to settle the debt. To my surprise I was notified Wednesday, February 26, 2014 by both Ms. ********** and Mr. ********* stating there has been an error on their part and LBS would like to rescind their offer. I totally disagreed and I refused to their new settlement. As a consumer I cannot renegotiate my offer once I agreed to it and endorsed the letter of agreement. Therefore, it is unfair due the fact LBS Financial Credit Union is a financial institution they have the right to rescind their offer to me. It is ludicrous for Ms. ********** and Mr. ********* both to ask me to agree to such a ridiculous agreement. I said NO I will not agree to a settlement of $9,627.65, when I agreed to settle in the sum of $5000.00. We had an agreement in which, Ms. **********, Mr. ***** and I signed the required document/letters to seal the agreement, how dare they ask me to rescind the agreement. ******* ** ***** filed bankruptcy in 2012 which relinquish him from this debt, so why is LBS Financial Credit Union requesting that he sign-off on any document. By law LSB Financial Credit Union is not to make contact with him at ALL. As for myself I agreed to pay $5000.00 to satisfy this debt and that is all I plan to pay, due the fact LBS Financial Credit Union accepted my offer. The balance of my loan according to my credit report $7791.00 not $9627.65. Nowhere in my loan documents does it stipulate this loan is to accrue additional interest, other than what has been access to the loan from the initial startup of the loan.

Desired Settlement: For LBS Financial to keep their original settlement agreement of $5000.00 and to file my account as settle/closed with the three credit bureaus.

Business Response:

March 22, 2014

Dear Ms. *****:

This email is in response to the Better Business Bureau Complaint (ID *******) that you filed with them regarding your loan with LBS Financial Credit Union.  Upon receiving your compliant, I personally investigated it by following up with our VP of Collections, ** ******, and his staff of *** ********** and *** *********.

I apologize on behalf of the credit union for not honoring the original settlement agreement amount of $ 5,000 in a letter mailed to you dated February 13, 2014.  We have agreed to honor this agreement and my understanding is that *** ********** was in contact with you by telephone yesterday to convey that message to you.  The February letter stated that you had until March 20, 2014 to pay us the agreed upon $ 5,000 in order to settle your debt with us.   Since we have not yet received this amount from you we are willing to extend this agreement until March 31, 2014 in order to allow you some additional time to pay this agreed upon amount.

Once we receive the $ 5,000 payment from you on or before March 31, 2014 we will then notify the credit bureaus that your loan with us was setttled for less than the full balance on your credit report.  We trust this response is satsifactory and resolves the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau.  We take seriously how we treat our members/customers and desire to provide the best service possible to all of our valued members.

We will look forward to receiving the agreed upon $ 5,000 from you by March 31, 2014 so that we can then update your credit report as mentioned above.

Sincerely,

******* ** ******

President/CEO

LBS Financial Credit Union

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues