BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

California Coast Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 495-1600 Fax: (858) 495-1693 9201 Spectrum Ctr Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123 http://www.calcoastcu.org

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Coast Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for California Coast Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on California Coast Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 24, 1999 Business started: 04/13/1929 in CA Business incorporated: 04/13/1929 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathy Cady, COO Mr. Todd Lane, President Ms. Rene McKee, Vice President Mr. Fred Mehlick, Board Member Ms. Marla Shepard, CEO Mr. Ken Horton, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Cady, COO
Principal: Mr. Todd Lane, President
Principal: Ms. Rene McKee, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Fred Mehlick, Board Member
Principal: Ms. Marla Shepard, CEO
Related Businesses
California Coast Credit Union
Number of Employees

420

Business Category

Credit Unions

Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 1060 University Ave #A101

    San Diego, CA 92103

  • 13616 Poway Rd #200

    Poway, CA 92064

  • 140 Knoll Rd

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • 1704 Sweetwater Rd

    National City, CA 91950

  • 3485 Marron Rd

    Oceanside, CA 92056

  • 386 E H St #213

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • 4265 Genesee Ave

    San Diego, CA 92117

  • 4285 Ruffin Rd

    San Diego, CA 92123

  • 440 Beech St

    San Diego, CA 92101 (858) 495-1693

  • 4470 Park Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92116

  • 5814 Van Allen Way #190

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

  • 8131 Allison Ave

    La Mesa, CA 91942

  • 8220 Mira Mesa Blvd #D

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 898 Jackman St

    El Cajon, CA 92020

  • 9201 Spectrum Ctr Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92123 (877) 495-1600

  • 962 W Valley Pkwy

    Escondido, CA 92025 (858) 495-1600

  • 9808 Mission Gorge Rd #A

    Santee, CA 92071

  • 9825 Mira Mesa Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92131

  • PO Box 502080

    San Diego, CA 92150

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint continued against CCCU: with no proof of purported debt demanded as formal request by notary CCCU has failed to provide Mandatory disclosureunder Title 5 *** *** and GAAP under Title 12 USC 248 & 347 therefore strict compliance with FAS 125,133,140,5,95 is required and all schedules of wet-ink signed promissory note, a copy of the Title ,all assignments of note, FR 2046 Balance sheet, 1099 OID,S3-A, 424 B-5 prospectus (security filing),Schedule RC-S, RC-B, FAS 125, FAS 133, FAS 140,FAS 5,FAS 95. 72 hours was given to CCCU to produce "Proof Of Purported Debt" and none has been provided and the title to our vehicle has not been mailed since June 11,2010 CCCU and their attorneys and all affliates have conspired in this financial fraud. This deception was hurled against us by CCCU upper management including VP of Collections ***** ******** "The Strategist" who combined several accounts together and used our Highline vehicles to secure the fraudulent debt they still have not proved we owe while still holding title on 1 of the vehicles and sending recovery people to home and office to collect on fraudulent debt. Ms.***** ******** President and accomplis to VP of collections. Also Mr.***** **** Investigator, Riteway Recovery Services, ABA Recovery, California Recovery, Roquemore & Roquemore, Systematic National Collections(*******) These are those whom systematically Harassed my wife whom was suffering from Congestive Heart Failure at our home and place of employment without ever verifying proof of purported "Debt" they just took CCCU's word for it, also included is *******, ******* & *********** the law firm that represents CCCU. The following information has been reported to the FBI case#***************************** the department of Financial Institutions (CN)25926 the State Bar of California, The Attorney Generals Office PIU-328261, The Federal Trade Commission, The Attorney Generals office Texas. This is Financial Fraud and we can prove it and our credit is ruined by "CROOKS"

Desired Settlement: We want the title to our vehicle the **** ******We want our vehicle returned or of equal value according to what they said we owe at the time of their Fraudulent recovery.We want all deragatories removed from our credit reports.We want the resignation of VP of collections ***** ********.We want $150,000.00 restitution for 7 years of harassment in our gated community " Police reports on file" this will provide redemption from character assassination with our employer by the Investigator.

Business Response:

November 17, 2014

Better Business Bureau
4747 Viewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

RE: Complaint# ********

To Whom It May Concern:

California Coast Credit Union values its members and takes member complaints very seriously. We are in
receipt of complaint ******** sent by the Better Business Bureau regarding our members vehicle loan
with California Coast. Unfortunately, with this particular member, we have tried multiple times to work
with him in the past to address his issues and reach a mutually agreeable resolution, including entering
into modification agreements to lower his monthly payments and reduce his interest rates. The fact
remains that, to date, the credit union still has a valid lien on the Mercedes referenced in his complaint.
The fact this member's debt was discharged in bankruptcy does not render the credit union's lien
valueless or unenforceable, as a creditor's security interests in property survives a bankruptcy discharge,
unless the bankruptcy court orders otherwise. In this case there is no basis for a court to void the credit
union's lien, so the lien remains intact. Because the credit union's lien has not been satisfied, the credit
union is unwilling to release title to the vehicle free and clear.

The credit union categorically denies that any employee or agent of California Coast has plotted or
conspired against this member as he suggests in his complaint. The credit union also denies that it has
deceived or harassed this member and/or his family as he claims. Any loan agreement or modification
agreement entered into by this member was done so by him willingly and in writing. Despite our
numerous attempts to work with him in the past and our various letters to him responding to his
complaints and explaining our position in writing, the credit union remains ready and willing to discuss
this member's accounts with him in detail.

Should you have any further questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to call me at 877-495-
1600.

Sincerely,

*** ********

Chief Lending Officer

California Coast Credit Union

Consumer Response:

Mr.********:

I call your attention to our document dated June 11,2010  Demand to Cease and Desist Collection Activities Prior to "Validation Of Purported Debt".  CCCU as well as *******, *******,& *********** was given 72 hours under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 U.S.C & 1601, 1692 et seq.  Including Mandatory disclosure requirements under Title 5 *** ***. GAAP required under Title 12 U.S.C. 248 & 347 in strict compliance with FAS 125, 133, 140,5, 95.   "Your 72 hours to disclose Mandatory accounting information by law has passed"  therefore your Lien is void.   As to categorically denying that Sr. VP ***** ******** constructed in cooperation with ***** ******* President, ***** ******* Vice President,  Investigator ***** **** in Collaboration with ******* ******** Services,  ********** ******** Company **** ******,  ********** ******** Collection Agency,  *** ******** Services *****, ** ************** * ******** LLC ****** ******,  ********* * ********* *****,   which by our own investigation we determined several of these firms were out of State once they received the Demand to Cease and Desist Collection Activities Prior to Validation of Purported Debt they acknowledge receipt and halted their recovery efforts this action alone confirms CCCU is well aware of  this document and is dated June 11, 2010    Therefore for the record let it be noted that as we have stated CCCU and it's Affiliates illegally harassed us day and night at our home and offices after receipt of the Demand to Cease and Desist while my wife was near death with CHF and we have documented your actions and can prove our case.

Also for the record and your "DENIAL" the following agencies have been contacted and advised pertaining to the activities while they were happening in "REAL TIME" of CCCU: 

The FBI, case *****************************

The Department of Financial Institutions (CN) *****

The Attorney Generals Office, ****** *****  case PIU ******  

The Attorney Generals Office, **** ******, Texas *******

Carlsbad PD. ********

Federal Trade Commission ref. ********

The State Bar of California,  Chief Trial Counsel Intake Unit "Rules of Professional Conduct Section" 110 Absent good-faith papertrail of Attorney during bad-faith papertrail of Attorney

Obviously by your reply Mr. ******** you have not had time to research the liabilities for CCCU in this case.   Your lien has been void since June 14th,2011 and the following agencies and your co-conspirators have verified their actions by up holding the "DEMAND" let the evidence show by CCCU's actions to hire and re hire recovery agents because their fraudulent collections efforts failed and we have proof this was all spearheaded by ***** ******** and the facts cannot be denied,   her resignation is at hand.

******* *******

 

 

  








Business Response:

December 2, 2014

Better Business Bureau
4747 Viewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

RE: Complaint# ********

To Whom It May Concern:

California Coast Credit Union values its members and takes member complaints very seriously.
We are in receipt of our member's second complaint, number 1******* sent by the Better
Business Bureau regarding our member's vehicle loan with California Coast Credit Union. As
stated in our previous response with this particular member, we have tried multiple times to
work with him in the past to address his issues and reach a mutually agreeable resolution;
including entering into modification agreements to lower his monthly payments and reduce his
interest rates. The fact remains that, to date, the credit union still has a valid lien on the
Mercedes referenced in his complaint. California Coast Credit Union and its attorneys have
reviewed this account extensively and find no merit in our member's complaint. Because the
credit union's lien has not been satisfied, the Credit Union has no obligation to release title on
this vehicle.

Despite our numerous attempts to work with our member in the past and our various letters to
him responding to his complaints and explaining our position in writing, our member continues
to submit complaints. We regret that our member is dissatisfied with our previous responses,
however California Coast Credit Union has cooperated and responded to this member's
complaints on several occasions and would now like to consider this matter closed.

Should you have any further questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to call me at
877-495-1600.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Chief Lending Officer
California Coast Credit Union

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 

Gentlemen:

You are falling to address the number 1 issue,  did you or did you not receive the Cease and Desist document prior to Proof of "Purported Debt"?  

The document was sent and received by your attorney,   to this day you have "NO CLAIM"!   So let the record show that CCCU its Managers,  Attorneys,  Investigators, Recovery Agents and all those involved who understand the truth and are concealing  it are guilty under the Most high's Laws, Statutes, Commandments and  Covenants written in the book of Leviticus,  he will redeem us.  However the "Lawless"  and the "Liar's" those who oppose his Law will be dealt with one at a time.    CCCU has committed "Fraud" against me and my family if they will do it to me they will do it to you beware of the business practices of CCCU the "Lawless" one's those who oppose the Most high to his face with lies and misrepresentation.

Let the record show this case to every last Member of California Coast Credit Union that they will have the knowledge to protect themselves from those that will exploit them if the opportunity presents itself.    Soon the un righteous will be out of business under what is called the "GLOBAL CURRENCY RESET",  and after the G-20 meeting your useless dollar is now just a paper investment not even counted as currency,    as a result there is no more FDIC insurance or anything else because your dollar is dead,  your un righteous company will be the first to go out of business because Wall Street is now controlled by ******i and the Federal Reserve is insolvent,  and this broke government can't protect you because they are not the world reserve currency,  you will be the first to go,  remember these words those who lend money at usury. 

 

**** B

P.S   It's not over!

 







11/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/28 a deposit in the amount of $1,500 has been returned unpaid due to ISF. On 9/12 Cash has been deposited to cover all courtesy paid items. Since then, The bank has put a stop on my chance of depositing in my account WITHOUT notifying me. The action made even my CASH deposit in my account impossible. I have contacted the bank two times and I have been told that the hold will be removed in few minutes which never materialized.. Since I was working out of city of San Diego, the only chance to deposit was through ATM. on 9/22 I had to take a day off work and visit the branch and ask about the problem In the branch, the assistant manager informed me that not only check or cash deposit through ATM is suspended but check deposit in the branch is also blocked. and forced me to deposit CASH only. This is an insult to the customer . The decision of the bank to stop the chance of even making CASH deposit without notifying me, is an unfair act by itself. However, their unfair action has cost me $182 of fees that I beleive is unfair business service.

Desired Settlement: The total amount of fees ($184) has to be returned.

Business Response: October 31,2014

**** *********
***** ******* *** *** ****** ** *****

Dear Mr. *********;

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today. It helped me to understand the
situation regarding the returned deposited item and subsequent problems on the account.

Your card was revoked due to the deposit returned to us for non sufficient funds. You
explained that you were working out of town and couldn't make a deposit through the
ATM to take care ofthe negative balance on your account. Cash deposits were made at
our branch however with the fees deducted the balance was not sufficient to cover all of
the items that were presented. Although the fees are valid, we have credited $ 182.00 in
fees after our discussion today. We have reinstated the card and you are aware that
deposits made will have holds in accordance with regulations.

We look forward to continuing to service your future financial needs. Please call us at
(877) 495-1600 if you have further questions.

Very truly yours,

CALIFORNIA COAST CREDIT UNION

****** *******-D' ******
AVP, Support Services

4/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has placed multiple credit inquiries on my credit reports. I do not recall authorizing these inquiries.

Desired Settlement: I would like all credit inquiries removed from any of my reports they are currently reporting on.

Business Response:

Attached is our response Comoplaint - ID *******

***** ******

California Coast Credit Union

************

 

Dear Ms. *****,
This letter is written in response to the above-referenced complaint from Ms. **** regarding
multiple credit inquiries on her credit report.
On three occasions, between March 2012 and December 2013, Ms. **** applied for
membership with Calitomia Coast Credit Union. The credit union runs credit on all
applicants age 18 and above as part of the New Account opening process. This information
is included in credit union disclosures and is discussed with the applicant as part of the
interview process.
Sincerely,
California Coast Credit Union
****** ******
**** ****** ******* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not recall applying that many times. I was told that my chexystems would be checked because that was all that was being waited on falling off. Would there be a possibility of removing these derogatory marks as a gesture of good will?

Regards,
***** ****

Business Response:

Please see attached for our second response.

***** ******

California Coast Credit Union

Dear Ms. *****,
Ms. ***** **** first request for membership was on March 27, 2012. Credit inquires
remain on the credit report for 2 years. Since it has been past 2 years the credit inquire
should fall off ofthe credit report.
On December 17, 2014 an email was sent by ***** requesting the credit union run her
application again. She mentioned a previous application was pending with the Kearny
Mesa branch (Ruilin Rd).
Ms. **** can feel free to contact me if further assistance is needed at ***** *********
Sincerely,
CALIFORNIA COAST CREDIT UNION
****** ******
**** ****** ******* ******
SA/

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

12/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Calcoast failed to warn us of fraud committed on our checking account.It appears they do not have much security to automatically detect and warn customers regarding irregular activity on their accounts.The customer looking over a monthly statement sent out is about the only security they offer against fraudulent charges

Desired Settlement: have system in place to detect and warn customers of irregular activity on their bank accounts

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. ****'s concerns to our attention. We are working diligently to resolve the situation with mutual satisfaction.

Thank you,

California Coast Credit Union

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I have been told earlier from two different Cal.Coast employees that the credit union WOULD NOT reimburse us the $1172.85 that it allowed to be fraudulently taken from our checking account.I will not be able to accept any response other than when they are diligently reimbursing $1172.85 back into our checking account. Regards, **** ****


Business Response:

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding transactions on your checking account from December 2012.

Please have all of the signers on the account complete the enclosed Affidavit of Fraud or Unauthorized Activity form. Upon receipt we will credit your account $1,172.85.

Very truly yours,

CALIFORNIA COAST CREDIT UNION

***** *******
President/CEO

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been homeless and in and out of mental hospitals for over a year. My car was towed on October 11th I believe after I had the flu and couldn't move it for a couple of days. I called California Coast Right away about not having any other choice but to give up voluntarily. I only have a job that makes 8 dollars an hour and have often sacrificed eating to pay. I can't take this anymore. I have been suicidal for as long as I could remember and have already been through so much, I can't take it anymore. I need to work something out with California Coast so I can at least try to get my life back. This is the only way I'm able to communicate with California Coast, I sleep in a basement during the day because I work night shifts. My only contact with computer use is the Neil Good day center. I could have them write a letter confirming that I am in fact homeless. But I cannot take it anymore. I know back in August 2012, I constantly called CCCU to see if other arrangements can be made for my car, I did not want it to get this bad, but now I have nothing left and can barely feed myself. I do think there really is no reason for me around.

Desired Settlement: trying to work something out to save what little I have left.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address ***** ********’s concerns.  We take this matter seriously 

and strive to assist our member’s whenever possible.    I have investigated the circumstances that 
prompted Ms. ********’s complaint and have been able to determine the following: California Coast 
was notified on 10/07/2013, by RoadOne Towing that the car had been towed and was impounded on
10/04/2013, because of a 72 hour violation.  Upon notification of the impound, California Coast 
Credit Union did not take possession of the vehicle and did not take any action that would prevent 
Ms. ******* from retrieving the car from impound.  I sincerely empathize with Ms. *******’s 
frustrations and concerns. However, in this particular instance there wasn’t anything further the 
Credit Union could do to assist her.

Regards,



******* ******, AVP Collection and Loss Prevention
California Coast Credit Union

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are 2 accounts on my credit bureau reports that don't belong there.

Desired Settlement: Please remove all accounts numbered ****** from my credit reports, they do not belong to me.

Business Response:

The Better Business Bureau

5050 Murphy Canyon, Suite 110
San Diego, CA 92123

Re: Complaint-**** ********* ** *******

Dear Ms. *****,

This letter is written in response to your correspondence received 10/23/2013, concerning the above
referenced complaint requesting to have all accounts removed from his credit reports. The complaint
alleges that the accounts do not belong to the member.

On February 21, 2013 the first loan was opened in the amount of $40,000. All documentation required to
support a real estate loan was obtained from the member including a Statement of Identification where the
member Drivers License and Social Security card were presented to a Registered Notary Public. During
the loan origination process the member provided required documentation to support a name change due
to a change of marital status.

In early April 20 13, the member contacted the credit union requesting that we increase the loan amount.
We explained that a new loan must be originated and the old loan paid off, the new loan funded on May 11 , 2013. He was vested on title with his new married name.

In August of 2013, the member sold the property and the loan was paid off. I will note that there were
several transactions on both loans including several loan payments. It is also noted that we have
correspondence in file that was sent to us from the same email that is listed as customer contact
information on the complaint that the member has submitted to the Better Business Bureau.

All activity and transactions on the account have been reviewed to ensure that our member was identified
and that the loan is reporting to the credit reporting agencies in accordance with established protocols.
We regret that we are unable to make the requested adjustment of the reporting of these accounts to the
credit bureaus. This decline is in all fairness to our members to ensure the accuracy and integrity of the
information that is provided to the credit reporting agencies by California Coast Credit union.

Sincerely,

********* **

4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of the CA Coast Credit Union for 12 years. I have had a car loan with the bank for 5 years. I have been between 30 and 35 days late on my car payment 4 times in 5 years. When that happens they freeze your debit card so you cannot access your funds. However, in the past when I call collections to transfer the funds from my checking to the car loan they immediatley release my debit card so I can pay the remainder of my bills.However, today, I spoke to a rude and agressive employee in the collection department. Said because I am 33 days past due I need to pay both payments. I explained i cannot afford to do that. She told me to calm down and call went down hill from there. I asked to speak to a manager and she claimed to be the "highest" person there. That's a problem in of itself.I called back to speak to a supervisor of call center who attempted to speak to me and the same lady on the other line. They refused to lift the freeze from my debit card until tomorrow despite being able to do it immediately. My complaint is this. A valued member?? But a "collector" has the power to blackmail a member by holding their debit card usage hostage for 24 hours longer than needed because they "want to"? I want an explanation from my Credit Union. This is not right.

Desired Settlement: An explanation and debit card reactivated immediatetly

Business Response:

Please find attached responce to Reference ID *******.

Regards,

***** ******

California Coast Credit Union

 

Mr. **** *****
The Better Business Bureau
4747 Viewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123
RE: ID *******
Dear Mr. *****:
On March 25, 2013 California Coast Credit Union received correspondence from the
Better Business Bureau regarding ******* ******. Thank you for the opportunity to
review and respond to this situation.
On March 19, 2013 California Coast Credit Union exercised its policy, under the signed
original loan documents, to restrict member services to Mrs. ****** based on the status
of her account at that time. Mrs. ****** contacted the credit union on March 22, 20 13. At
that time the status of her account was such that member services would remain
restricted. California Coast Credit Union system constraints restrict point of sale
transaction with members whose account status falls under member service restrictions.
Mrs. ****** also requested a call back from the Collections Department supervisor when
she contacted the credit union on March 22, 2013. The return call was documented at
11:16 am. During this conversation Mrs. ****** was informed of the situation and the
status of the account restriction.
All actions taken by California Coast Credit Union are in accordance with the original
signed loan agreements generated at the time this loan was funded.
Sincerely,
**** ******
California Coast Credit Union
Collections Supervisor
************

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CCCU recently "updated" their bill pay system. They started taking my bills from the wrong account and overdrew it. I phoned them and they said the problem was fixed. It was not. Ten days and five phone calls later the problem is still not fixed.

Desired Settlement: Bill pay used to work. I would like it to work again without my having to manually fix all of their problems. When I am told something is fixed it would be nice if that was the case.

Business Response: We are responding to a complaint that was submitted to you on March 11, 2013 from Ms. *****
** *******.
We recently completed a bill pay conversion from one provider to another and found that
payments were debited from the member's wrong account. I contacted our member on March 13,
2013 and reviewed the issues the member encountered.

We have reversed any fees associated with this situation and made sure all payees were paid. The
funding account for her bill pay system has been corrected and recertified with the member as of
March, 18,2013. We believe that our bill pay product now works for the member as requested.
We sincerely appreciate our member's patience during this process and we value her long term
membership.

Sincerely,
*** ******
Operations Manager, E-Commerce
************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******* 

 

12/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to place a complaint about the CA Coast Credit Union in San Diego, CA. I have been a member of this Credit Union since I have owned my Jetta which is 2009. I have been a reliable consumer keeping my payments for my car insurance up to date. As of January of 2012 I relocated to Mexico and decided to stay longer than planned. As a result my car was put into storage and the insurance coverage was reduced to an appropriate level for storage. Unfortunately the person at the Oceanside address did not indicate to me I was receiving notices from the Credit Union and therefore, the Credit Union applied insurance coverage that they saw appropriate to keep the vehicle insured. In July I contacted the CA Coast Credit Union in attempts to clarify an address for my vehicle and to notify them of its' non-operational status. At the same time I just found out about the reason for an increase in my payments for my car insurance. I have been trying to rectify this situation since July of 2012. I have been speaking with a woman named **** *********. My complaint is that this situation is not resolved. The Credit Union has been sent all the information they need from my Inusrance company for the car (Insurance for my car is through AAA of Southern CA) dating back to the January date. The CA Coast Credit Union has been informed since July of 2012 that the added insurance was unnecessary. Via phone calls and emails from Mexico, **** ********* has reportedly been discussing this matter with the Car Insurance company from CA Coast Credit Union. Supposedly my over-payments were going to stop as of July 2012 and they did not. Supposedly the over-payments will be discontinued as of December 2012. In addition **** ********* said as of Monday, December 3, 2012 the over-payments will discontinue and I will be reimbursed for the amount I am owed for past over-payments. I am appalled at the amount of time this is taking to resolve and also I have not received formal documentation of the issues.

Desired Settlement: I want this matter settled promptly including a full refund of the time I began being over-charged for this matter. The over-payments began as of May 4, 2012 and have continued to November 5, 2012. This amount of over-payment is equal to $716.31 (there may even be additional interest I am due but please at least re-imburse the $716.31 I am owed). In addition I want the over-payments to be discontinued. The amount is being automatically withdrawn from my bank account at my request.

Business Response:

Please see response to Ms. ********* complaint. If you have any questions, please call me at ************.

Regards,

***** ******

California Coast Credit Union 

7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to coordinate a time for me to sign paperwork on a loan for a car for quite some time now. I've had the flu and told them I wasn't feeling well and on top of the that, I work graveyard shifts and can't stay up passed 9:00am. Constantly they told me that I have to make an appoointment to come in and sign and many times no one would get back to me. Last week I attempted yet again to come in and sign the paperwork, they said AGAIN that they will have, "someone call me" and AGAIN by the time they called it was at 1:00pm and I had been asleep since 9:00. I'd tired of this run around. I call them all the time right when they open and they never accomodate me. Why didn't they have any sympathy when I told them I had the flu, why dont they have any sympathy to set something up while I'm still up. I've told them again and again, "I need to come in immediately and sign" and they always tell, "we'll have someone call you back." I'm tired of it.

Desired Settlement: I need them to accomdate me. What's wrong with them.

Business Response:

RE: Complaint ID **************** ********

Dear Ms. ******:

This letter is response to Ms. ********'s complaint received on May 23, 2012.

We are happy to report that the situation has been resolved. Ms. ******** was able to arrange an appointment that fit her schedule and our hours of operation. She signed her auto loan documents on May 24, 2012.

Sincerely,

***** ** ******

Senior Administrative Assistant

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This does not address the bigger issues of accomodating someone who is ill and not able to come in. Typical narrowmindedness and conformity of representatives not to want to correct the problem.

I will complain about this until it is fixed.

 

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:

RE: Complaint ID *******

********* ********

Dear Ms. ******,

This letter is in response to Ms. ********'s second BBB complaint received on June 18, 2012.

We apologize for Ms. ********'s frustration regarding obtaining an appointment outside our normal business hours. We have reminded staff that loan documents may be signed by mail if all other necessary documentation has been received from the member.

The credit union attempted to make reasonable accommodations to Ms. ********'s situation as evidenced by 22 phone contacts with credit union representatives. We are sorry these efforts did not meet her needs.

 

Regards,

***** ** ****** 

Senior Administrative Assistant

5/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a client of this Credit Union for many years- I went through 3 different name changes with this organization. I have had several loans with them & always paid my obligations on time. I had co- signed on a car note for my ex-wife's-son (from a previous marriage).He is a working college student and has fallen behind on his loan. The credit union elected to close my credit card and hit me with the maximum interest rate dispute the fact that I have a perfect payment record with them. Although I believe they have the right to pursue the payment on the car note I co-signed on, I believe it was unfair perhaps even usurious to close a perfect account that had a very low interest rate & charge the maximum rate because of an unrelated account that technically is not mine. Bank underwriters seem to be able to differentiate the difference between a primary account and a co- borrower- why can't they? I find their actions showed poor business judgement and equally poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like the credit card reinstated and furthermore I would like the excessive interest that accrued from the time the credit line was closed to be re amortized and applied to the principle balance. Banks know how to this function as well...

Business Response:

May 7, 2012

Ms.  

********* ******
Better Business Bureau  

5050

Murphy Canyon, Suite 110

San Diego, CA 92123 

RE:  

Complaint - ******* ******* ID *******

Dear Ms. ******:  

This letter is written in response to your correspondence received 04/24/2012, concerning the above referenced complaint requesting to have a VISA reinstated and a refund of accrued interest on the VISA account. The complaint alleges that Mr. *******'s VISA was unfairly closed by California Coast Credit Union and that the interest rate on said account was increased.

The VISA account in question was terminated as of January 11 , 2011 based on unsatisfactory payment history on an auto loan that Mr. ******* has with the credit union. Under the terms of the California Coast Credit Union VISA Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure Statement; Acceleration and Collection Costs, Paragraph 3 the VISA was terminated within the terms of the agreement. (See excerpt below)

 

"Acceleration and Collection Costs: I understand and agree that the credit union has the

right to temporarily or permanently suspend any and all account and card privileges and/or

may demand immediate payment of the unpaid balance, Finance Charges, late charges, over

limit fees, your collection costs, reasonable attorney's fees, and court costs (collectively,

"collection-related charges") in the event of (a) my death, insolvency, or failure to pay this  

obligation or any of my other obligations to you, or (b) any breach or default of this

agreement. 

 

I understand and agree that I will be subject to Finance charges (at the applicable monthly periodic rate), late charges, over limit fees, and collection-related charges under the terms disclosed in this agreement until I repay my entire loan."

As 

of today's date, the interest rate on the VISA is 12.90%; review of the account history indicates that the interest rate on the VISA at the time it was opened on 03/30/1999 was 12.90% and has remained at that rate throughout the history of the account.

We sincerely appreciate Mr. *******'s long term membership and desire to maintain a lending relationship with us; however we regret that we are unable to re-instate the VISA account at this time. I would invite Mr. ******* to apply for a Secured VISA and to take advantage of our free financial counseling service by speaking with one of our Financial Counselors by calling 858-495-1600 or toll free at 877-495-1600.  

Sincere

ly,  

********* ** *********

Manager, Loan Servicing

2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable