Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

SalonSwipe Inc

Phone: (714) 257-9930 View Additional Phone Numbers 1015 E Imperial Hwy #C8, Brea, CA 92821 http://www.salonswipe.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers merchant services for salon owners.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for SalonSwipe Inc include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for SalonSwipe Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SalonSwipe Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 10/25/2004 in CA Business incorporated 03/02/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Isaac Lay, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Isaac Lay, President
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Credit Card - Merchant Services Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Salon Swipe
Industry Tips
Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1015 E Imperial Hwy #C8

    Brea, CA 92821 (877) 296-3446 (877) 725-6690 (714) 257-9930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salon Swipe takes their price of the service before depositing the money into my account, I never agreed to any funds ever being withdrawn out of my account. However, on 09-04-2014, they withdrew $115.66 out of my account instead of depositing it. This charge out of my account ended up costing me hundreds of dollars in fees accrued because of the subsequent bank charges. I have the email from them saying the deposit was to be credited. I contacted them numerous times, both via email and telephone, and now, two months later, have still not heard from them, leaving me no options, outside of a legal one. They sent me reply emails saying they received my complaints and it would be handled, but nothing else. When I call, I cannot reach a person, instead am sent on endless loops through their system, then only to be hung up on, or the option to leave a message, which I've done numerous times.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my original deposit of $115.66, as well as the amount of fees I've incurred from the bank, and lost wages.

Business Response:

Please see the history of our correspondence with this merchant below.
 
ISSUE: Our third party processing network had a minor glitch in their system a few days prior to this merchants deposit. This glitch double paid this merchant and they received an extra $115.66 from the processing bank. This money was not hers but was an over payment part of this glitch. The $115.66 withdraw she mentioned is the bank collecting the money that they mistakenly deposited as a result of this glitch. These types of issues do not happen often in the credit card processing industry, but unfortunately, they do happen due to the complexities of the systems and the multiple parties involved in what it takes to successfully process credit cards and then deposit funds into a merchant's checking account.
 
Our records, as shown below, clearly show that we made every attempt to reach this merchant, including responding to her emails and leaving voice messages. Having said this, if this merchant incurred fees as a result of this error, we would be more than happy to reimburse these fees upon receiving proof of these overdraft charges.
 
Below is the history of our correspondence with this merchant:
 
Monday, September 8th @ 09:49 AM PST
- Merchant sends an email to our support department to inquire about the withdraw.
 
Tuesday, September 9th @ 11:04 AM PST
- Our email support department responds thoroughly by explaining the issue and informing the merchant of the glitch.
 
Wednesday, September 9th
- We received a voice mail from the merchant regarding this issue.
- ******* returned the phone call, the merchant did not pick up so he left a message. He also sent an email as a form of follow up.
 
Monday, September 15th @ 2:10 PM PST
- Merchant restates the issue that was thoroughly explained on September 9th.
 
Friday, September 26 9:43 AM PST
- Merchant sends another email. 
- Our email support department response again thoroughly explaining the glitch. 
 
Monday, October 6th, 12:36 PM PST
- Merchant sends an email stating that they never received a response.
 
Tuesday, October 7th 12:03 PM PST
- ****** calls and leaves a voice mail because the merchant didn't answer the phone.
 
 

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used salon swipes service. Only to never be able to swipe. Have always had to key in transactions. Which leads to higher fees. My last two transaction on August 30,2014 total$1949.90minus $68.35 in fees were to be deposited in 2 business days. According to their email. Few days later they ask me to provide them w/my cosmetology license,drivers license,and utility bill. I complied only for them to tell me my information was invalid. I couldn't have purchased my card reader from Cosmo prof if I didn't have a valid license. I requested for them to recheck and reevaluate. Only to be accused of being fraudulent. I requested to speak to a supervisor with real authority. The email response was from ******* ******* claiming to have that power. Conveniently he did not put a phone number in his email. And after minimum of two voice messages and two emails a day for the last three days. I still have not received a call or email or my money yet. They are good at transferring calls to nowhere. September 8th was their last email to me. I even resent all of the requested information to mr ******* or fake supports. I find it insulting to be treated like a criminal. Evan after I complied to all requests. I will go as far as wondering if salon swipes is on the up and up? It seams from reviews what I am experiencing is their standard mode of operation.

Desired Settlement: I want my full transaction put into my account $1949.90. I don't expect to be over charged for their product not properly working. I don't expect to pay any fee considering it has been longer than their site says it should be. Consider it compensation for many hours lost calling and sending emails. Actually let's go one step further. I do high end cosmetology events/ services. Ranging from $200.00 to $300.00 an hour. My estimation of time dealing with this mater is roughly 10 hour. So if any thing they can pay me for my time and aggregation after I receive my money I want all of my account information destroyed. I don't want any phone or email contact after that occur acne either.

Business Response: Without any history or initial requests from this merchant indicating these transactions would be common, this merchant processed 2 transactions that totaled nearly $2,000. The regulations we are required to follow set forth by the card associations are clear regarding these types of transactions. We are required to conduct more research into the authenticity of these transactions. As such, our customer support department followed protocol to ensure that our merchants and their clients are protected. Customer support requested that this merchant provide additional information to further authenticate her identity and validate the transactions in question, regardless of where her card reader was purchased. Unfortunately, our requests for information went unanswered for a period of time. When the merchant finally provided the information we requested we were able to validate her account by the state in which her license was issued. Her funds were released on Monday, September 15, 2014. They will deposit tomorrow.

As a courtesy, we will refund her fees based on the difference between our swiped and keyed rate. Those funds will also deposit into her account tomorrow.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a small business, a cosmetologist that purchased the salonswipe mobile card reader a month ago. I needed a mobile credit card service for a wedding I was doing hair for a bride and 3 bridesmaids. First of all the package says that with your transaction you'll receive a 10 dollar credit to reimburse the cost of the mobile device. upon activation I was told it had been too long from purchase for that promo apparently you have to activate within 10 days, not stated on the package. the real problem tho was that I set up my account with all required verification 3 days before the wedding. I got the verification that I was set to start transactions and that it would take up to 48 hours to deposit to my account. 8 days ago Sunday now I had 4 transactions 85, 85 ,85 ,80. that went through but i keep getting as of Wednesday emails that my funds are on hold for needed verification. They wanted my business license, photo id, voided check and a business utility bill. except for the utility bill ( i rent my space at my salon) I do not have a work utility. I have a home utility bill with my husbands name on it. So I sent photo copies to them Wednesday, again Thursday, Friday sat, and again today after another email . I cant tell you how many times I have called (their box says 24-7 support with their phone number) and after being automatically transferred to each recording to leave a msg and someone will return your call. I only get the same emails that further verification is required of the same info I've already sent over and over. I told them that someone needs to call me but instead i got an email from an operator to send my info to him directly. I told them i dont have a business utility so i hope they take it with my husbands name. I'm so frustrated. if all these conditions were legit they should have disclosed it on the packaging. they owe me my 4 transactions. they could seriously hurt a small business owner like me.

Desired Settlement: I need the money for the service provided. I don't care about the 10 dollar rebate. I wont use them again after i get my funds. They need to disclose their conditions from the outset.

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salonswipe has been contacted numerous times in the past two weeks to resolve a monies transfer issue from them to my bank account. Was told at first that the account information was invalid, which was checked and all information was correct. When contacted again, was told money would be put in account once it was "corrected" and since this time, company places you on hold, then disconnects the call after 4.5 minutes. Have attempted to get results 3 times this evening with NO RESULTS except a disconnection. Had to give all information every time and was then placed on hold to be disconnected again and again. When prompted to leave a message, message was left, then no return call. THEY HAVE FUNDS THAT HAVE BEEN TAKEN FROM CUSTOMERS AND HAVE REFUSED TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AND ARE AVOIDING CONTACT. THAT IS FRAUD. All transaction have cleared from the customers account to SalonSwipe, they have all money in their possession. Transactions on May 31, $17.00 and $30.00; June 3, $14.00 and $30.00; June 9, $85.00 and $25.00...all totaling $201.00. This service hs been used since November 2013 without incident so their "incorrect account information" excuse does not make sense since the banking information is the same as November, December, January, February, March, April and May. When asked for a Supervisor this evening, I was told that I had to give my information AGAIN to be "transferred," which means that I would have been placed on hold and disconnected AGAIN. This is why I am contacting you for their LACK of customer service and support as well as their fraudulent business practices.

Desired Settlement: Transfer monies to bank account as agreed to with this service. At this point their 2.69% charge should be waived since THEY have had all monies for over 2 weeks and have refused to transfer funds to the appropriate account.

Business Response: Unfortunately, the merchant provided invalid checking account information, meaning that the checking account number they provided was invalid. The merchant finally provided accurate information and funds deposited into the merchants checking account on June 18th. The issue has been resolved. As a courtesy, we would be more than happy to refund this merchant her fees corresponding to this deposit.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Co. is a credit card service company catering to the salon industry. I purchased the little white swiper for me iphone for the convenience of taking it location where I was working. They deducted $985.00 from my clients cc acct. yet they will not release funds to my bank account. After over 5 attempts and meeting all their criteria they still wont release funds and will not call me back, as they hold my money and collect interest there is still not resolve. Is this a legitimate co. and if so their practices are fraudulent and unacceptable. Both my client and myself are out these monies owed with no response from the co. Today is 12/19/13 her service was provided 12/9/13. please someone help me.

Desired Settlement: I only want the money owed to me deducted already from my clients credit card account.

Business Response: As part of our fraud and risk monitoring policy, a policy that seeks to protect customers and cardholders, 

****’s account was placed on hold due to suspicious transaction activity. **** complied with our 

policies and provided the necessary information we required to validate her account. Upon successful 

validation of her account and information, we successfully deposited her funds into her account. She is 

still using SalonSwipe to process credit cards and we are very happy we were able to provide an 

acceptable level of service when she needed it.

6/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salon swipe states that there are no additional or monthly fees for their services.My last transaction using their mobile card reader was on 12/31/2013. I have had $10 withdrawn each time from account on 2/4/2014, 3/5/2014, and 4/2/2014 for no apparent reason.

I noticed additional fees withdrawn from account outside of the regular transactional fees that are applied to amounts BEFORE they are deposited into my bank account. They are as follows:12/3/2013: $107/2/2013: $5.886/4/201: $1.93I contacted Salon Swipe multiple times to be refunded and for them to stop withdrawing money from my account. The phone representative then states that they will put the request in to a Tier 1 representative and I will see a followup email or phone call which never happens. They give me no confirmation or email where I can provide proof of theses transactions. I want a refund in the amount of the fees they withdraw from my account without my consent of $47.88 and I also want to stop their unapproved ACH withdrawels from my account. Cancel this account.

Desired Settlement: cancellation of SalonSwipe accounts, stop future ACH withdrawals, and refund $47.88 from previous unauthorized ACH withdrawals immediately.

Business Response: These fees are for SalonSwipe's standard credit card terminal. As part of our service agreement for a standard credit card terminal, we provide the terminal free of charge as long as the merchant is using our processing services. This free terminal is provided to merchants with two requirements; 1) if you cancel, return our terminal, and 2) the merchant must process $1,500 or more per month. As our website clearly states, "Owners who process more than $1,500 monthly will receive a free terminal, otherwise a $10 monthly fee applies." This merchant is not processing the required amount and has not returned our terminal, therefore she is being charged our $10 monthly fee.

Furthermore, this merchant stopped processing credit cards using our free terminal less than 30 days after we issued the free terminal in May 2013. Since she discontinued service shortly after receiving our free equipment, we attempted to retrieve our credit card terminal. Our requests to have this merchant return our credit card terminal went unanswered for the rest of 2013, thus we began charging her account based on the terms she agreed to. We charged her account for the first time in December 2013. We have charged her a total of $40.

We would be more than happy to refund her money if she returns our credit card terminal.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9994166, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not in ownership of any salon  swipe credit terminal other than  their mobile card reader which I no longer
Regards,

******** *****



Business Response: Here is the FedEx tracking number and delivery confirmation showing that the delivery was signed for by one ** *******

***** Tracking Number: ************
Link: ***********************************************************************************

Terminal Serial Number: ***********
Make and Model Number: ******** ******

We would be happy to refund her fees upon receipt of our terminal.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not have this terminal in my posession therefore I have nothing to return to SalonSwipe.  If they agree to stop any further ACH withdrawals from my bank account.  I am willing to withdraw my demand of a refund.  I just want this to this to be done.

Regards,

******** *****



Consumer Response: No longer have access to email to where this information would be saved.  Company says it will mark as lost and stop further withdrawals

Consumer Response: Yes as i have not seen anymore withdrawals from my acct

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used salonswipe to accept client payments. Of those two payments, one never went through and the other one for $154.00 has yet to be paid to me. I have spent over a year attempting to communicate back and forth with this company. I keep sending them information, they respond extremely slowly and still don't send me a payout. It's been two months since I've last responded to their request for information.

Desired Settlement: I want my $154.00 payment that they received and have yet to pay to me.

Business Response: When ***** originally enrolled, she provided invalid checking account information. When we first attempted to deposit funds, they rejected. Our system automatically sends multiple emails informing our customers of the reject. We also ask that they provide updated checking account information. Unfortunately, ***** never responded to our requests. Her money was held until we could receive updated checking account information.

At the end of each year, we review all unfunded accounts and attempt to contact merchants. As a result of our efforts, we finally received updated checking account information and paid for her transaction.

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After swiping a clients credit card for $150.00, salon swipe processed the transaction 4 times totaling $600.00. After contacting salon swipe, salon swipe stated that they would credit my client $450.00 and transfer the $150.00 minus their 2.6% commission. Instead of depositing $146.92 they withdrew $146.92. My account incurred overdraft fees. I dismissed the overdraft fees and called them to correct it. I could not contact a live person that could help. A "sales" rep told me that another office that could help would call me back but I have not been contacted.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund me $146.92 that they "Stole" from my account and give me 146.92 that was taken out of my clients account for the services I rendered to my client. Salon swipe owes me a total of $293.84

Business Response: On January 15th, ******* charging her client $150 on four separate occasions. She contacted us the same day to correct the problem since 3 of the charges were processed by mistake. We manually processed 3 separate refunds to the cardholder's card and then notified ******* via email of this fact. This all occurred on January 15th.

Since we manually overrode our system to stop payment to ******* for the invalid transactions processed on the 15th, we had to manually pay her the 1 valid transaction of $146.93 ($150 minus our processing fee). Unfortunately, the SalonSwipe representative who handled this case made a mistake and withdrew $146.93 instead of paying $146.93. This problem was immediately corrected and ******* received a deposit of $293.86 ($146.93 that we accidentally withdrew + $146.93 from the charge to her client).

Since ******* incurred overdraft fees as a result of our mistake, we would be more than happy to reimburse her bank fees. *******, please contact support with a bank statement showing the fees you incurred and we'll be happy to reimburse you. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues