Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Beauty Encounter

Phone: (888) 844-7730 View Additional Phone Numbers 18480 Pacific St, Fountain Valley, CA 92708 http://www.beautyencounter.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers beauty products.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beauty Encounter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beauty Encounter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/31/2000 in CA Business started locally: 01/31/2000 Business incorporated 01/31/2000 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Natasha Romen
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cynthia Jimenez, Customer Care
Principal: Ms. Natasha Romen
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Cosmetic Sales

Alternate Business Names
Beautiful Perfumes Parfumery.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18480 Pacific St

    Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (800) 447-0900 (888) 617-2488 (888) 844-7730 (714) 698-0820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 1/13/15 with this on-line company, purchasing several beauty products. About one-third of the items were damaged or unusable -- dried-up liquid makeup, rusted pencil sharpener, dried/caked dry make-up. I had great difficulty contacting customer service, but when I did, they sent me a form for damaged items in order to be reimbursed. I filed this on 2/7/15.As of 3/7/15 (and several e-mails later), I have not received the promised refund. They reported that it was posted "on their end" on 2/12, yet no one can provide proof of that, and my card has no such "refund" posted.

Desired Settlement: Refund to my credit card of $14.72.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

We regret to hear that the customer experienced any issue with their most recent order with Beauty Encounter. Customer notified us that they were unhappy with these products:
************* ************* ************* ************ ; ********** QTY 2

A refund of $14.72 has been posted on 3/11/15, and customer has been advised that a refund was processed accordingly. Although we cannot satisfy every customer with their expectation of the merchandise, we will always work with them to reach a positive solution. 

Respectfully,

The Beauty Encounter Team 

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I filed a complaint on 2/7 and received resolution on 3/12/15 (refund to credit card), after asking for your involvement.  Thank you for effecting a reply from the business.

 

Regards,

******* ******

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase online from company of 13 items. While my order # *********** arrived in timely matter it was shocking what I received . Clearing facial scrub had no seal and was taped wit a scotch tape . It was clearly visible that has been used by someone else . Numerous items were dry and most likely expired . Deodorant was falling out in pieces , unable to apply to a skin . I contacted customer service to resolve this issue . I was told by customer representative that is " normal " for the company where a seal is broken and they are exempted from a health issue . I supposed to receive a return label for me to get refund and return merchandise . It has been a month , I didn't received a refund neither label . I would like to resolved this issue , before notifying the health department and social media about this dishonest practice.

Desired Settlement: to get back my $40.00+ and purchase from a company that is trustworthy .

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


We regret to hear that the merchandise did not live up to ****** ******'s expectation. We are always willing to work with customer's to reach a positive solution. We issued a pre-paid return label, and customer returned all 12 products for a full refund. Upon receipt of the merchandise, all items were sent to inspection with our Quality Assurance Manager so that we may internally stock check the merchandise customer had an issue with.  Below we have enclosed that the refund has been issued in full.

TranDate PaymentType TranType RefID CardNumber Amount AVS Score Code Decision
5/16/2014 1:37:50 PM Credit Card Capture 4******************440 ************** $44.49 Y 100 ACCEPT
7/15/2014 8:39:50 AM Credit Card Refund 4*********44*********3 ************** -$44.49 100 ACCEPT

It is our intention to rectify all issues in a timely manner, regretfully the customer had changed the quantity of items that she would like to return. Please let us know if this information is sufficient for the closure of this BBB Complaint. Our goal is the customer's full satisfaction for ease of purchase.

Respectfully,

******* **
Customer Care
Beauty Encounter

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 5/29/2014 at beautyencounter for three different perfumes. Beauty Encounter sent me the wrong three perfumes. I opened the package as soon as I received them and promptly called customer service with the intention to ask for an exchange. I called two separate times. The person I spoke to heard my complaint and assured me that Beauty Encounter customer service would email me back with a prepaid return label. However, she herself could not access my account. She told me to call back at 4 pm central time if I wanted to speak to someone by phone. I proceeded to wait until 4:00 central and called back. The person I spoke to whose name is ****, was extremely unprofessional and not only mocked me, but accused me of lying, said that no one named ******* even existed at Beauty Encounter, said sarcastically that, "I'm sure someone named ******* exists in the world, but not here", and proceed to tell me that she refused to send me a return label because this issue was somehow my mistake. She want inconsiderate, condescending, and rude throughout the entire phone conversation, and when I told her what the previous person told me, she discounted it like it did not matter what so ever and told me what she was going to do. She then refused to provide me with an email address or phone number of a superior, or for corporate, and said that no call history existed between me and the person I spoke to earlier. The level of unprofessional behavior exhibited by this person who claimed to be a supervisor and the manager of Beauty Encounter was frankly hard to believe. I agreed to ship back the items which were incorrectly sent to me and simply asked for a return label sent to my email account (like the previous customer service rep mentioned) which would have only cost a few dollars. However, she seemed nonchalant said I never called earlier when I clearly did (how else would I have known they were out at lunch and to call back at exactly 4:00pm central?).

Desired Settlement: I do not understand how this mistake may have occurred, but I removed the must essence testers from my cart before checking out (yet they still appreared in my order confirmation page). The second I opened the package and saw this mistake I called ******* in customer service to voice my concern. I would simply like a prepaid return mailing label so I can send back the wrong items I received as well as the three perfumes I intended to purchase "Must de Cartier Claire de Jasmin by Cartier 1.7 oz

Business Response:

7/10/14

To whom it may concern:

We regret that the customer had a negative experience with his order, and the wrong item was purchased. A pre-paid return label *******.pdf was issued to him on 6/9/14 for customer to return merchandise at our expense for a full refund.

As of 6/17/14 customer was refunded the full amount of $118.56 in Paypal with unique transaction ID *****************.

We are always willing to work with our customer’s to reach a positive solution. We hope this information has shown proof that the issue has been resolved. We extend our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused ***** *********. Feel free to contact us with any further comments or concerns.

Respectfully,

******* J.

Customer Care

Beauty Encounter.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase from Beautyencounter.com for my daughter for Christmas, and it was the wrong item. I returned the product and purchased the correct one. I never got my refund. When I contacted the company they said they never received the return (two months later). I had a tracking label that showed what date/time it was delivered to the company. I forwarded that email to the company, they still maintained they had not received the product and suggested I contact MY CARRIER. I tried to explain they wouldn't be able to help me, since they already proved they had delivered the merchandise. The company has refused to issue my credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund my $53.88 as they should.

Business Response: Greetings from Beauty Encounter,

 
We have enclosed our communication with the customer ***** ******* and provided the appropriate refund. Their original refund request amount of $53.88 was not issued, however we did advise the customer that original shipping cost of $11.94 was non-refundable. $41.94 is the amount that was paid for the product, and refund was provided on 4/16/14 . We have resolved this issue with ***** ******* directly, feel free to contact us with any additional questions.
 
Respectfully,
 
******* **
Customer Care
Beauty Encounter

1/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company states that it sells "genuine" perfume products; however, they do not. This company is in the business of selling high-priced imitation scents. After "googling" this business, I discovered many, many other customer reviews/complaints; you begin to see a pattern of disappointed customers and repeated poor customer service. Several customers, including myself, paid full price for fraudulent products. Beauty Encounter.com states they will "guarantee" your satisfaction; however, after contacting the company for a refund, they are rude and do not assist with refunds or returns - simply stating that you cannot return items because they are "hazardous materials" and cannot be returned using the USPS. How convenient this is for them - how else would you return an on-line purchase? Additionally, several of their perfumes and other products have been reported as being "rancid" or having contained bacteria. Because these are personal beauty items that contact people's skin, eyes, and mouth I believe this company's fraudulent business practices also poses a public health risk.This company is literally selling fraudulent items as "new," some customers have even stated that they have received USED items, re-packaged as new! It is frankly unbelievable that this company can remain in business as I thought it is illegal to fraud people.

Desired Settlement: I personally have contacted the company to request a refund, after being denied (of course) I have contacted American Express to try to get my money back through my credit card company.

Business Response: Selling counterfeit products is a determent to any legitimate business such as ours.  We started as a “Mom and Pop” shop and would not be where we are today by selling counterfeit products.  We are a growing company and are recognized globally as a trusted source since 1999.  We have provided customer with a scan copy of the purchase order coming directly from Penhaligon Ltd. We only source authentic products and in this case, directly from Penhaligon's Ltd. We regret that the customer had a poor experience with this product, and though the item had significantly past the return period, we have provided a full refund.  We have raised their concern directly to Penhaligon's Ltd. Again, we do not take this claim lightly; and though not everyone will have the best experience and we cannot satisfy everyone, we never sell items that are fake or counterfeit in any way.  We will continue to offer the best and authentic products at the best prices in the market to our 100,000’s of satisfied customers worldwide. We have resolved the issue with the customer directly.

We will also enclose the email response from ***** where she indicates that she was satisfied with our response:

Dear "The Beauty Encounter on Amazon.com Team": I would like to thank you for your response to my concerns, and I very much appreciate your candor and the evidence provided showing that in fact you are a reputable distributor of Penhaligon's London. However, I cannot tell you how disappointed I was with my purchase; especially because it was a BIG budget splurge on a special Christmas gift for a very special person. Thank you for coming through, and standing behind your product by providing a refund to my account. I guess it is possible that I was just unlucky in receiving a defective product. I will give your company another try, as I am truly impressed by your quick and candid response to my concerns. Thank you. Regards, ***** M. ******* 

Please let us know if there are any additional questions.


Best Regards,

******* *******
Customer Care
Beauty Encounter

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

11/12/2013 Delivery Issues
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service