This business is not BBB accredited.

Car Sound Exhaust System Inc

Phone: (949) 858-5900 View Additional Phone Numbers 22961 Arroyo Vista, Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.magnaflow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the manufacturing of car sound exhaust systems.  


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Car Sound Exhaust System Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Car Sound Exhaust System Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Car Sound Exhaust System Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 07/09/1981 in CA Business incorporated 07/09/1981 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Rubalcaba
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Rubalcaba
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Contract Manufacturing Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
MagnaFlow Performance Exhaust

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22961 Arroyo Vista

    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688 (949) 858-5900 (800) 824-8665 (800) 990-0905 (800) 824-8664

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used ********* for years and several years ago I purchased their HF cats and cat back system...several weeks ago both of the HF cats failed at the seam so I called them for warranty replacement and they said they are covered. I was then told I would have to remove them and wait over a month for their review for only possible replacement or purchase them again and wait the same amount of time for only possible refund? I became permanently disabled in Nov of 2013 and can't do either of these options and explained that to them but they don't care! I only used top grade unleaded fuel and don't have nitrous or anything that would cause this failure! I recently had a weld go bad on one of my Hedmen headers and they shipped out a complete set right away and said return the old ones when I can afford to install them. I guess ***** ******* - CEO*** ******* - President of ********* don't stand behind their products or have any compassion for the fact that I can't afford to buy them again or go without a car for 40 days...I already have to pay for the replacement labor on a failed product! I am disgusted by this whole thing I always thought I would be in good hands using ********* products...What happened!

Desired Settlement: I would either like replacement with free shipping both ways or a complete refund asap.

Business Response:

Hi ******,

We did the research on this customers sale and he made the purchase through one of Distributors.  We sold the part to JDP Motorsports. We do not process warranties through the end user. The end customer ( ******* **** is to go through who he purchased the part from ( JDP) to process the warranty. Magnaflow’s Policy is that the end user must do the return process of any part with who it was purchased it from.  Every Distributor has their own warranty process and  it is pretty standard that you are to purchase the new part and then once you return the defective part and it is inspected that it is a true warranty and approved, then a credit is issued to give your money back.  In Mr. **** case if he doesn’t have the funds to pay for a new part then his option is to return the defective part with his vehicle out of commission and once we receive it back, we can work on this Return much faster to get him back on the road.10 to 15 days max.  I also called and spoke to **** at Hedman and his warranty process is the same as ours, they charge for a new part and once they get the other one back then they issue a credit. Magnaflow does stand behind their product, we are willing to help by following the process. If Mr. **** has any issues going through JDP Motorsports, we are more than happy to get them on the phone to help him get this resolved.

****** C. *********

Customer Service Manager

www.magnaflow.com@Magnaflow | FB/magnaflow
O: (949) ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* ****



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

 

  I just wanted to change this to resolved favorably because right after I closed this case they contacted me stating they would cover the warranty. Please let me know that you received this message. Thank you for your time regarding this matter and have a great day! ******* ****.

 

 

Regards,

******* ****

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ********* exhaust system from the website, ******************** on August 18, 2015 for my 2015 **** *******. I received the exhaust around the 25th of August. About a week later I installed the exhaust on my car and found several issues with the exhaust. For one, the part of the exhaust closest to the front of the car sat too low, and as a result was rubbing on a piece of structural bracing on the car. This piece of bracing had a plastic piece connected to it to deflect air down towards the ground. Because the exhaust piping gets so hot, it actually started burning thru this piece of plastic. The second issue/defect was that the exhaust tips were not able to be adjusted so that they had the same fitment in the bumper opening for the exhaust tips. One was perfectly centered in the opening, while the other one (drivers side) sat up too high and to the right, actually making contact with the bumper itself. On or around August 30th I started calling ********* to talk to their technical support division to try to get my problem fix. For the first 3 days I was not able to reach anyone of the phone due to excessive wait times. I then posted my problems on the website www.audizine.com, where I knew ********* would see my issue. A few days later I received a voicemail from **** ****** at ********* asking me to call him to discuss my problem to try to resolve it. I explained my issues and **** asked me to email him pictures of the problem areas, which I did starting on September 2nd. From the 2nd to the 9th, **** and I corresponded back and fourth thru email. I gave me several tips to try to get the exhaust to sit properly. I tried everything he suggested, spending more than 6 hours in total adjusting this exhaust without ever being able to get it to sit correctly. When I tried to return the exhaust I was told I needed an Return Authorization# from Magnaflow, which they refused to give me saying this was not a fitment issue, but an adjustment issue on my end.

Desired Settlement: I would like ********* to contact AutoAnything and give them a case # so that AutoAnything will accept my defective exhaust back. AutoAnything has stated they cannot refund the exhaust until ********* agrees to accept this exhaust back.

8/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased one of Maganaflow's new exhaust system for a 2014 Ram Diesel. The product is described as a high performance exhaust system with a written guarantee to improve both sound and performance. Upon receiving the product I found it to be nothing more than a $485 tailpipe. It is impossible for this product to provide any of the manufacturers claims. The system is the same shape and design of the factory equipment, with the exception of it being painted black. I contacted the manufacturers tech support line at which time they stated that the system is mainly for cosmetic purposes only due to the emissions equipment that come from the factory on new diesel vehicles. Despite the description and written guarantee for performance increases. Now I'm stuck with a $485 tailpipe and the vender it was purchased from is requiring $166 shipping to return it. This is false advertising from this exhaust company. Had they provided a correct and accurate description of the product I would not have purchased it.

Desired Settlement: I would like Magnaflow to provide a direct return

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

If you are to go onto www.magnaflow.com or any customers website and look up part # 17050, you will see a picture of what the part is. There is no hidden data about what the part is. This part is a DPF Filter back kit stated right on our website. The kit is Stainless steel piping and with a coated Black exhaust tailpipe.  Due to the Emmision Laws in CA. Magnaflow is authorized to follow the rules when building exhaust systems. This customer is acting surprised that he had "no" or "zero" idea on what he was buying.  If the customer is unhappy with how a product looks, we at Magnaflow are always happy to do what we can to make the customer happy again. There are websites out there that sell our product and they have certain rules and regulations so it is really imperative that you read their return policy before making a purchase of any product . It is the customer responsibility to Buy at their own risk.  Magnaflow’s policy is once a purchase is made and a customer decides that they have changed their mind about the part, they are allowed to return it will a small 15% restocking fee and the customer is responsible to return the product on their own dime.   We don’t mind helping Mr. Price in returning his product. I see he is in California, very local to us.  As long as the part is brand new and sellable, we can issue a RMA and I can setup a pickup label at no cost to the customer. The customer will still be entitled to the 15% restocking fee which is standard procedure for everyone. Thank you for your time.     

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a exhaust system (Part # 16724) Through Summit Racing but dealt with Magnaflow tech. I was concerned that the product would be an exact fit for my restoration of my 1964 Impala SS. Part # 16724 stated it is a 2.5" exhaust system. When I received the system the first 12" off the manifold was "necked down to 2". I called and they stated we sell exhaust kits that fit 80% of the models ? Well it does not fit my 2.5" manifold. I called and spoke to two techs who basically said it fits 80% of the 64 Chevy's. After a number of phone calls and e-mails I saw I was getting nowhere.Summit Racing was willing to take back the system and refund my money. They where very willing to do anything to make things right.I asked Magnaflow to send me the two front 2.5" pipes (from the manifold to the mufflers. They refused again stating they only build kits.The instructions for the installations are bogus and not as stated on the installation sheets. They sent me pictures of how it should be installed. The pictures do not follow the instructions as printed.I kept the Magnaflow system but had the two front pipes modified to be a true 2.5" exhaust system. This modification cost me $314.00.Just disappointed with the customer service and there explication of there product and the instructions.

Desired Settlement: I think they should pay for the modification of the front pipes to make it a true 2.5" exhaust system.

Business Response:   

Mr. **** ***** phoned into Magnaflow to verify if we made a part for his vehicle. He mentioned part # 16724 to the Tech here at Magnaflow. While checking to see if the customers vehicle matched the part, we found that the part that Magnaflow makes was never tested nor claimed made for fitment on the customer’s specific Engine size. The part the customer purchased was Part # 16724 which is for a 1964 Chevy Impala but the listing reads All V6, and V8;235/283/348/350/409/427 motors. Our Listing does not include the customers engine size 327.  We explained to the customer that we can’t guarantee that it will fit because we have not tested it yet. The customer went on his own to purchase the kit and try it out anyway. Mr. ***** went back to the company Summit who he purchased the kit from and they told him they would return the kit for a full refund and he declined. He decided on his own to go to get the kit modified for the kit to fit his vehicle. Mr. ***** is saying that our system is necked down to 2 inch bolting on the Manifolds then expanded to 2.5 inch piping.  This is per design. Again the vehicles that we have tested and make fitment claims on are listed on our site can use a 2 inch inlet bolted onto the Manifold.  We have sold 171 Magnaflow part # 16724’s and we have had 0 returns or complaints.     

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


My comments:
 
Because the 327 was not listed in part #***** is the reason I call and talked to the tech. He said it should fit the 327. "His word against mine.  We also discussed the 2.5" manifold. When I called back to discuss the 2" header pipe all he wanted to talk about is that it does not say 327 on the list. Well, find me a 409 or a 427 with a 2" manifold.  Below is a copy and paste form there web site in regards to Part #16724.  These are not true statements about part #16724.  
 
IMPALA 1964 All L6, V8; 235/283/348/350/409/427 CID
Crossmember-back; 2.5in. Tubing; DUAL SPLIT REAR EXIT


  
The Magnaflow exhaust system part #16724 would be a perfect fit it only the first 12" of each header pipe was not necked down to 2".  I think there web site is very misleading MagnaFlow Exhaust
 
We have sold 172 Magnaflow part # 16724’s and we have had 1 complaints.
 
Thank You for your time and consideration in this matter.
 
**** *****



10/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues