Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Direct Home Energy Solutions

Phone: (714) 559-4649 Fax: (714) 632-8825 View Additional Phone Numbers 2921 Daimler St, Santa Ana, CA 92705

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers general contracting services, including windows, siding, HVAC, and walk-in bathtubs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Direct Home Energy Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Direct Home Energy Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 2013 Business started: 05/10/2013 in CA Business incorporated 05/10/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 985723.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gregory Friend, RMO Mr. Michael Lumary, CEO/President Mr. Ethan Sundilson, Client Services/Web Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory Friend, RMO
Principal: Mr. Michael Lumary, CEO/President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ethan Sundilson, Client Services/Web Administrator
Related Businesses
PowerStar Home Energy Solutions
Number of Employees


Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
Friendlum Inc
Industry Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company makes repeated high pressure sales calls to my mobile phone - they have my name and address but it is against the law to make marketing calls to cellular phones. I have never done business with this company nor will I ever do business with any company that uses this sort of sleazy business practice. They claim that they were asked to call me by the "Green Home Investment Program" (***************). Turns out that GHIP is an entity created by a network of companies all owned by or with ties to a single owner for the purpose of cold-calling customers to drum up business. When you ask to have your phone number removed this does not preclude them from calling you again from another of their businesses. Direct Home Energy Solutions is a dba for Friendlum, Inc. Other affiliated companies are: Smithlum & Friend Inc dba Powerstar Home Energy Solutions G D Friend Inc dba Clearview Home Energy Solutions G D Friend Inc dba Everlast Home Energy Solutions DMJJ Construction Inc dba Advanced Home Energy Solutions So removing my name from the call list is a complicated matter that may involve more than one of these affiliated companies, assuming they actually do remove my name at all, other complaints would seem to indicate that they don't scrub anything at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like my name removed from the caller list for Direct Home Energy Solutions and the list for all their affiliated companies, as well as the Green Home Investment Program.

Business Response:

Hi ********,

We do scrub our phone lists, occasionally however, a phone number slips through of someone who wished to be off our lists. I have removed your phone number off of Direct Home Energy Solutions, lists, and have contacted our other sister companies to do that same as you have requested. You should not receive any more calls.


Thank you.

Customer Service Department


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Direct Home Energy responded with a canned response, verbatim the same response they give to every other person who files a complaint with BBB.  They do not scrub their phone lists or I would not have received multiple calls after I asked to be removed.  Also Direct Home Energy Solutions did not ask for the phone number they called me on so they cannot remove me their call list.


******** ****

Business Response:

Hi ********,

You may not have reached the correct person to remove your phone number.  I have removed your number today, and I obtained your number from the bbb complaint.




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The caller from Direct Home Energy had both my name and address.  I gave my land line number in the complaint, but Direct Home Energy called my mobile phone.  As to being removed from the call list, I did not contact anyone, they contacted me and I asked the caller to remove me.  They did not provide me with any contact information.

As for scrubbing the lists every 30 days, both my home phone has been listed on the DNC list continuously since June 28, 2003.  My  mobile phone has been continuously listed on the DNC list since November 25, 2014. By law Direct Home Energy is required to stop calling people on the DNC list 31 days from their DNC registration date, that would have been December 26, 2014.

If it is true that you scrub your lists every 30 days, my numbers would never have been in your list.  And since my name and address are in your database, you should be able to determine my mobile phone number and remove me that way.


******** ****

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company calls my home...over and over and over. I have asked them to stop calling and to take me off their call list. They may tell me they will but they will call again within a month. This has been going on for over a year now. It is to the point of harassment.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me and my house!

Business Response:

Mr. ********,

We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We do our best to put people on our Do Not Call List when asked. Occasionally, however, someone falls through the cracks and we call them again, and for that we are sorry. I have now personally made sure you are now on our company Do Not Call List and you will no longer be called.


Thank you,

***** *********

Client Services

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: co. does not scrub phone lists makes illegal telemarketing calls won't stop calling

Business Response: Dear *****,

I appologize, if you are on the do not call list and we called you. At Direct Home Energy Solutions we do scrub our phone list against the national do not call directory every 30 days as required by law.  Occasionally, a number falls through our checks of our phone lists.  We are always constantly striving to lessen these occurances. Direct home energy solutions prides itself that our work is second to none and that our customers are very happy after work is completed. Anyways, I have removed your number from all of our databases and if you still receive calls please contact us at ************.

Thank you,

***** *********
Client Services

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Direct Home Energy Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart