Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lido Consignment Gallery

Phone: (949) 650-7793 2700 W Coast Hwy #115, Newport Beach, CA 92663

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers consignment and used furniture.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lido Consignment Gallery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lido Consignment Gallery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lido Consignment Gallery
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 04/23/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
The number is 166172.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Susan Landon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Landon, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Consignment Service - Furniture Consignment Service Furniture - Used

Additional Locations

  • 2700 W Coast Hwy #115

    Newport Beach, CA 92663 (949) 650-7793


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in my parents antique etching in an ornate gold 28" x32" frame and it was accepted and valued at $500.00 by ****. He was really nice. After the initial consignment period, I called to find out the status of the picture. I was told they were going over the Christmas sales and I would be called back. That didn't happen.In January, I called again and didn't get a definite answer but was told I would be called back. That didn't happen.In February, I went by to see if the picture sold or pick it up. The employees didn't know where it was and said I could look around to see if I could find it! After 20 minutes I couldn't find it and asked it they could check with **** to see what was going on.In the beginning of March I called and was told that they had the picture and I could pick it up.I went by to pick up the picture and was horrified. The b****m corner of the frame was badly chipped - not they way it came in. When I asked what happened there was an IMMEDIATE "We're not responsible for any damage."I was told it was hanging on the wall and nobody knew what happened. Did it fall when they took it down, or did it just get chipped when it was stacked up against other pictures? So what now? I reviewed my Consignment Policy Agreement and it says that "LCG is unable to insure the property against theft or damage. However LCG will take all necessary precautions to ensure the safety of each item." I didn't read anywhere that they weren't responsible for damage - just unable to insure it against damage. Really. If they took the necessary precautions, it would look they way it did when I brought it in.

Desired Settlement: Repair chipped frame or pay for a reputable company to do the work.

Business Response: We are very sorry that her piece of art was damaged..we have over 1,000 customers a week in the store. We were unaware that the frame had been damaged until it was located in are 20,000 sq. Ft. Store. We believe a customer damaged it and did not tell us. Had we seen it happen we would have charged the customer for the damage.. Are consignment agreement makes it very clear that we are not responsible for any damage and the consigners home insurance is in place to cover it. We are unable to insure consigners items as we are not the owners of the items. We are brokers of the items we consign. In 15 years we have never had an items damaged and rely on are customers to be honest when something has been damaged by them. We take every precaution to watch what is going on in the store but we did not see this happen. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


**** **********

As  I mentioned in my complaint, The Lido Consignment Policy Agreement do NOT say that they are not responsible for any damage, but rather that they are "unable to insure the property against theft or damage." 

 To suggest that the owner file a claim with their own insurance company sounds as unethical as they appear to be!    FYI: Riders for coverage for decorator items (as they are not covered by standard homeowners insurance policies) are generally more expensive than the items and not recommended.

Footnote:  A phone call to ANY of the "Home Consignment Centers" listed online will confirm that accidental damage to items is handled with fair compensation-                  not ignored.  I should have read **** first - 2 stars!   

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau,

**** called at the end of her consignment agreement and was told there were no sales on her 2 items. At the time **** called to ask about her piece it could have been sold for best offer per contract (see enclosed contract).  Yes **** was told to look around (while the sales staff assisted) for her piece of art as we have thousands of pieces located throughout the showroom. **** had consigned the piece and was not in the showroom the day she came in to pick it up (after the contract had expired). **** then located it and called her to have her pick it up. If she would like to bring the frame in to be repaired we will do so. 


Thank you,


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


**** **********


Please advise person to contact and what days and hours they are in the store.