Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Centon Electronics Inc

Phone: (949) 855-9111 View Additional Phone Numbers 27412 Aliso Viejo Pkwy, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656 http://www.centon.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer memory device manufacturing and distribution.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Centon Electronics Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Centon Electronics Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/27/1979 in CA Business started locally: 08/27/1979 Business incorporated 08/27/1979 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay O'Neil, Quality Systems Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay O'Neil, Quality Systems Manager
Number of Employees

58

Business Category

Computers - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Centon Electronics

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    27412 Aliso Viejo Pkwy

    Aliso Viejo, CA 92656 (800) 234-9292 (949) 855-9111 (949) 699-2075 (949) 699-2014 (949) 699-2090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 20th 2016 (a few days after leaving a phone message and not receiving a call back), I contacted Cetnon Electronics helpdesk and opened up a ticket that has yet to be addressed. The complaint is below. The item was purchased on 11/30/2015 and is well within the warranty period. "Hi there, my 256GB datastick pro USB 3.0 flash drive stopped working. I have tried it multiple computers and usb ports and the red light doesnt even come on anymore. I have called and left a message on Monday or Tuesday earlier this week and have not received a call back regarding this. I want to resolve this issue and get it replaced ASAP. Please reply back with the following steps to get this process started. Thank you for your time."

Desired Settlement: Either a replacement or a full refund of the purchase price .

Business Response: After receipt of this email, we researched our customer support records and found no record of a call or an entry into our customer support link on our website. This AM, we have reached out to the customer to resolve this issue for closure. Upon making contact and resolving the issue, we will communicate our corrective action to the BBB.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[ I have received an email and a call and have replied back to the email and have not received a response. In regards to Centon claiming they have no record of me reaching out to them, please see the attached document. Luckily, I saved the email that shows proof of me opening up a ticket and it never being addressed, keep in mind it was dated over a month ago on May 20th. ]

Regards,

***** *****



Business Response:

Hello ******

  We are in receipt of your returned failed USB drive. The RMA has been processed and the replacement will be shipping today. I will follow up on this email to you with the tracking.

 

In addition, after some searching, we did indeed find your email to us with regards to your need to have your failed USB drive replaced. Our apology for missing this and not responding to you in a more efficient manner.

 

Please feel free to contact me if we can be of any further assistance.

 

Regards,

 

*** ******* Quality Systems Manager


7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 22, 2014 I returned 3 defective DIMM memory sticks Via Centrons RMA procedures. Reference RMA *****. These memory sticks have a lifetime warrantee. I have tried contacting Centron Via Email, however they have quit responding after their first response. inbox@my.nanorep.comSubject:Re: Centon Electronics, Inc.: RMA Status [#*****************]Date:5/13/2014 12:28:55 P.M. Eastern Daylight TimeDear ,In reply to your inquiry "Centon Electronics, Inc.: RMA Status": Thank you for your contact and for bringing the status of RMA***** to my attention.RMA***** has been received. The returned parts ************** are an EOL (End Of Life) product, and are no longer manufactured. We have selected an equivalent replacement - part number **************. The ************** parts are not currently in stock. I have sent a message to our Manufacturing Group to get an estimation of when we will be able to ship your replacement product. If you have not heard any further update regarding your replacement parts status by 2:00 PM Pacific Time on 5/15/2014, please follow up with me.Best regards,***** *******I have not had a response from my weekly emails since their first response 5/13/2014

Desired Settlement: I need this memory or a suitable replace for my computer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

You may close the complaint. They shipped me replacement memory.
 
Thanks for your great service.
 
*** ******
************


You may close the complaint. They shipped me replacement memory.
 
Thanks for your great service.
 
*** ******
937.426.4039


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Centon Electronics Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)