Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of ESET North America?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

ESET North America

Phone: (619) 876-5400 Fax: (619) 876-5845 610 W Ash St #1700 , San Diego, CA 92101 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.eset.com/us View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer security software.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ESET North America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ESET North America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ESET North America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2006 Business started: 07/21/1999 in CA Business incorporated: 07/21/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Don Litzenberg, Sales/Operations Manager Mr. Nathan Beers, Media Rep MSL Group Ms. Celeste Blodgett, Vice President of Human Resources Mr. Ranson Burkette, PR Manager Ms. Anna Keeve, Sr. Public Relations Specialist Mr. Andrew Lee, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ranson Burkette, PR Manager
Principal: Mr. Don Litzenberg, Sales/Operations Manager
Number of Employees

180

Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
ESET LLC

Additional Locations

  • 610 W Ash St #1700

    San Diego, CA 92101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Escalated product issue to support who won't call or email me back under valid support agreement and all attempts to use online KB support articles failed to rectify issue. Fifteen days waiting for support to call me. Left message with operator and sent numerous emails after exhausting online support KB. • Email sent Monday March 23rd….Get return email with case number (#******* ). Email states someone will contact me within 24 hours. • Hear nothing back. Second email sent on Tuesday, March 24th. No response. • Third email sent on March 25th. No response. • Fourth attempt, phone call placed on Thursday, March 26th. Discussed ticket with operator who put ticket number together with customer ID (not sure why your web portal did not use that logic since it asked me the customer number when placing the ticket). Put on hold for 40 min waiting for support. At that point, left phone message for them to call me with contact info. They also have email address to reach out. No response. • Fifth email sent, today, 3/31/15. No response at all.

Desired Settlement: We've (as a company) have paid for the product (10 pack license) and support and they have failed to respond to a active ticket as described above. I would appreciate if I could actually have them get this issue fixed and not leave a business computer vulnerable while waiting for them to respond.

Business Response: Hello BBB,

The ESET Customer Care Center attempted to contact the customer on April 6, April 7 and April 8th. The customer's issue was resolved on April 8th and the issue has been resolved. Our internal reference case number is *******.  
Thank you for contacting ESET.
ESET North America Public Relations

4/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of ESET security software for a few years., with my most recent annual renewal occurring in August of 2014. At that time, I ordered a backup CD as part of my renewal. I never received the CD. In the meantime, I have had computer issues that require re-loading the software. I called the technical support number on February 16, 2015 to request the CD again. The company was closed, and I left a message to call me. On February 17, I had not received a call by late afternoon, so I called the Technical Support line. The phone answered but no live or recorded voice came on line- all I heard was silence. I then called the Sales Support line and got the same result. I then initiated an online chat session with Technical Support. They suggested I call customer support, and I told them the line was not working. They gave me another number for sales, and that did not work either (silence). The technical support representative refused to transfer me over to sales or to get a supervisor to help me. This experience was not my first, as previous requests for help had gone unanswered on other issues. I told the technical support representative that ESET had lost a customer, and that I would file a BBB complaint.

Desired Settlement: Since I never received the CD, I want to receive a refund for it, which was $10. In addition, I wish to terminate my service effective February 17, 2015 and receive a rebate for the remainder of the subscription period (to August 30, 2015). They will need my Username, which is ************.

Business Response: Hello,

After investigating the issue with our customer care team, we can confirm resolving this issue with the customer.
On February 23, 2015, our customer care agent spoke to the customer and refunded the requested amount. This issue has been resolved and can be closed out in the system.
Best regards,
ESET North America Public Relations

4/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was advertised as a free 30 day trial but I was charged. When I requested for order cancellation and refund I've received no response despite their stated 30 day return policy.

Desired Settlement: I would like cancellation order no. ************* and receive a full refund.

Business Response: BBB of San Diego,

We have contacted the customer on March 16th, 2015 and issued a full refund to the customer on the same day. This issue can now be closed in your system.
Kind regards,
ESET North America

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** ****

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ESET at 8 AM AND WAITED FOR 15 MINUTES WITH NO ONE HELPING ME. THEN I HAD TO GO TO A MEETING WITH OUR LOCAL GOVERNMENT WHICH I AM A MEMBER OF WHICH STARTED AT 2PM AND WAS BACK HOME AT 4:45 PM SO I CALLED THE NUMBER AGAIN WHICH IS AND WAITED 22 MINUTES AND LEFT A MESSAGE AND WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD CONTACT ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I WAITED THE ENTIRE DAY WEDNESDAY UNTIL THEY CLOSE AT 6PM STILL NO ONE CONTACTED ME. I AM TERMINALLY ILL WITH CANCER AND HEART DISEASE WHICH BY THE WAY I HAD A HEART ATTACK JAN. 6 2015. EVERY TIME I HAVE A HEART ATTACK IT CUTS TIME OUT OF MY LIFE. I HAVE THE TRIAL VERSION OF THE ANTIVIRUS FOR ********* TO SEE IF THIS IS WHAT I WANT. AS OF NOW I DON'T THINK I WANT IT BECAUSE NO ONE HAS CONTACTED ME WITH MY CONCERNS. I THINK I HAVE ENOUGH TO WORRY ABOUT MY HEALTH AND NOT HAVE TO WORRY IF THIS ANTI VIRUS COMPANY WILL ANSWER MY CONCERNS. LIKE I SAID I LEFT TWO MESSAGES WITH MY PHONE NUMBER AND WAITED ALL DAY WEDNESDAY FEB. 18, 2015 ALL WITH NO RETURN PHONE CALLES BY THE COMPANY WHO WANTS MY BUSINESS. THIS IS WHY I ONLY WANTED THE TRIAL VERSION TO SEE IF THE COMPANY WILL ANSWER MY CONCERNS. AT THIS POINT I FIND IT VERY DIFFICULT TO PURCHASE THIS ANTI VIRUS BECAUSE NO ONE HAS CONTACTED ABOUT MY CONCERNS. I WANT TO BE SURE THE COMPANY I SPEND MONEY ON WILL LIVE UP TO THEIR WORD WHICH ESET LLC HAS DEFINITELY HAS NOT LIVE UP TO ITS OBLIGATION

Desired Settlement: I WANT ESET LLC TO CONTACT ME AND ADDRESS MY CONCERNS OR I WILL GIVE MY BUSINESS TO SOMEONE ELSE. ESET IS NOT ALL THAT GOOD IN IT RATING AGAINST OTHER ANTI VIRUS AND I CAN SEE THE REASON WHY. IF THEY DON'T WANT MY BUSINESS TELL ME BECAUSE I HAVE ANOTHER ANTI VIRUS COMPANY WHO GIVES 24 HOURS OF SERVICE AND HAS A BETTER RATING THAN ESET LLC. JUST TELL ME YOU DON'T WANT MY BUSINESS AND I WILL NEVER CONTACT ESET LLC AGAIN. I THINK I HAVE ENOUGH TO WORRY ABOUT WITH MY HEALTH WITH OUT ESET LLC NOT CONTACTING WITH MY CONCERNS. SINCE I HAVE NOT PAID FOR THE ANTI VIRUS IT MAKES IT VERY EASY TO TELL ME THEY DON'T WANT MY BUSINESS AND I WILL TELL BBB TO GO AHEAD AND PUT MY COMPLAINT ON ESET LLC BUSINESS. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP. PETE TODOROFF

Business Response: Hello Mr. ********, We have tried multiple times to reach you and each time we have followed up with an email. The last email we sent you kindly asked that you try and contact us at your convenience as we have been unable to speak with you when we call. Attached is a screenshot of our email to you, and your reply to us. Per your request we are now responding to you through your BBB complaint. Our primary objective is to provide the best possible customer service in our industry. At times, our call center will receive an increase in calls, thereby increasing the time it takes us to answer holding calls. We are actively hiring across all levels of our support team to accommodate the needs of our customers. As a trial customer, despite not having purchased our product, you are a user of our software and as a result deserve the same amount of care as a paying customer. We do not rank the users of our program based on the amount of dollars spent, we provide our service because we believe in doing the right thing and in today's world, protecting our customers and users from malware is our highest priority. With that said, if you would be so kind as to describe the nature of your support request, I would be extremely delighted to assist.

1/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received the first of two confirmation emails: "This is your order confirmation message. It is the first of two emails you will receive. A second registration message will arrive shortly and will contain your username, password and instructions for downloading. " It has been more than 7 hours when I sent an email to customer care asking for the second email: "Your request has been received. We will review your case and respond within 1 business day." It has been more than a full business day. So I called customer care. My person told me not to worry-- than an email should be sent within the next two minutes. It has been another 24 hours and I have yet to receive any email. This is not a good practice for the company. There has been false promises that have not been kept. As a customer, I do not appreciate the inconsistent poor service that I have been receiving. I will not be a customer of this type of company. Therefore, I have asked for a full refund for the services that I have not received.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate an apology and my full refund. Thanks.

Business Response: ESET North America has contacted this customer (via case # *******) and issued a refund for the purchase in questions (*********). The customer has received the refund and we are now considering this issue resolved. Thank you, ESET North America, LLC

7/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased in May of 2013 Eset NOD32 Antivirus 6 from Microcenter in Saint Louis Park, MN I paid $79.99 For software that I thought would work along with the Laptop I purchased. Well Not long after that my computer started to get slow, downloaded songs got deleted, Media player was reading as corrupted (The whole media player) and not playing any songs, Music software I installed after the purchase of Eset's Antivirus software no longer worked correctly and deleted songs that were composed, and currently as of 5 days ago my computer finally locked me out and did not allow me back in until I uninstalled the ESET soft ware which i tried to do in safe mode but it would not allow me to so when I got in finally after the 4th day I hurried up and uninstalled their product and my computer went back to functioning normal. The uninstall did not happen until I had a live chat with one of their reps. I was told that it could be a hard drive failure, or that someone tried to hack my computer and take over my IP address I was also told that With Viruses such as a Trojan, that is a Trojans Job to disable the Virus Protection and make it look to you as if you still have it. Once I uninstalled everything is when it decided to work correctly. So I then installed Norton and ran the scan which found that i did in fact have malware, spyware, and a Trojan virus that Eset was supposed to protect my computer from but did not. So I called ESET again and asked them for a partial refund and told them i would be glad to send the software back. They told me they could only offer support. For me First impressions mean a lot and my laptop wasn't exactly cheap nor do I have money to throw away. I paid $79.99 for software that promised to rid the computer of all of those virus's spyware and malware, not to mention it clearly states that it powers up your computers performance but in this case it did none of the above. One time is all I need to feel as if I wasted money and I will not trust their products again and I would appreciate it if they would make it right with a partial refund which is all i am asking for. No i don't need support as i will not be a fool twice and re-install somethingthat almost totaled my newly purchased laptop.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund and I will send their product back to them. They shouldn't sell items that are in false advertisement of what they really can do when they cannot and have not, then try to force their customers to keep retrying a product that messed up their pc by continuously offering support instead of a refund. They charged too much for their product to not work. They have lost my trust.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We value our customer's concern and are committed to helping resolve their probelm.  Our customer care teams are following up with the retailer and the customer to resolve the issue.  While our teams continue to work with both the customer and the retailer on this issue, we are providing this update to the customer's complaint to the BBB in an effort to convey our progress on this matter. We intend to provide further information upon the completion of our investigation.

Regards,

ESET North America
610 Weset Ash
San Diego, CA 92101

 

 

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the letter that I sent to E-SET asking why I had ANY SPYWARE at all. They were suppose to be the best. My computer did some strange things so I took it to the shop for analysis. They found my hard drive was starting to fail they also found 113 SPYWARE. I lost most of everything I had on the Computer. I do not understand how this happened. I had E-SETS LATEST EDITION, I also had Skybot and Malwarebytes Anti-MALWARE. Why did I have 113 SPYWARE? I did not have any other Anti-Virus running on my Computer except E-SET. This is the answer I got from E-SET. Update for Case #******* - "Other Issue - Other products or services issue" An ESET Customer Care Representative has updated this case with the following information: Hello, Thank you for contacting ESET Customer Care. The problem you are describing is likely due to previous antivirus software that is still installed on your computer. This software must be uninstalled before installing your ESET security product. Click or copy/paste the following Knowledgebase article into your web browser for a list of uninstallers for common antivirus software: As you can see the issue of SPYWARE on my computer was never addressed. It was blamed on other Anti-Virus Software.

Desired Settlement: I purchased E-SET on 11-12-13 with my Discover Card order No. *************. It was to begin when my previous license was to run out on 11-20-2013. I have been using E-SET from 11-20-2013 until my computer went into the shop on 3-31-2014 so that is 4 months and 11 days. I have requested several times for a refund and they have TOTALLY IGNORED me. That is why I am filling out this complaint. I would like my Discover Card credited with the appropriate amount remaining from my license. It was to go until 11-20-2015. I paid $75.99.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

We have reviewed the case with our customer care team and have resolved the customer's concern.  The ESET customer care team has been able to reinstall ESET on her computer, her license has been extended 1 year and we were able to verify that there are no software programs causing conflict with ESET.

The customer issue is now resolved and considered closed.

 

Best regards,

-Ranson

Business Response:

Hello,

 

We have reviewed the case with our customer care team and have resolved the customer's concern.  The ESET customer care team has been able to reinstall ESET on her computer, her license has been extended 1 year and we were able to verify that there are no software programs causing conflict with ESET.

The customer issue is now resolved and considered closed.

 

Best regards,

*******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

Thank You very much for your help.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

Thank You very much for your help.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does not respond to our work ticket nor do they answer their phone for help. I have been trying to get someone on the phone with me for over 2 weeks now and they just don't respond to any of our help issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like this software company to call me back at ###-###-#### and get me some assistance with the user id and password to their anti virus software so we can update some of our software in the office. We cannot even install a disk update with the disk because the anti virus software is blocking our access to our own software. it keeps asking for the user id and password and they will not respond to our request via phone or email for help

Business Response:

Attention Better Business Bureau,


Thank you for notifying us of the customer’s complaint.  At ESET we strive to provide the best possible customer experience so that all of our customer can better use and enjoy their technology. 

While researching this customer’s issue, we were able to uncover additional information pertaining to her difficulty using our software.  We discovered that the customer (***** ****) was in the process of using the uninstall tool to remove ESET Software (NOD32) from all of her computer systems. Additionally, Ms. **** has contracted for IT support through GeekUDirect. However, the license key GeekUDirect is using was not authorized by ESET and was confirmed to be pirated.  Ms. ****  was under the impression that she was paying ESET for licensed software and support. Instead, she was paying GeekUDirect.  This is an all-too-common scam in the software industry, and it is unfortunate that any ESET customer is impacted in this way.  

In order to resolve the customer’s issue, the ESET customer service team contacted the customer and has advised her of the licensing issue. ESET customer support assisted her with uninstalling the pirated NOD32 software at no additional charge. Our legal team has been notified of the issue with GeekUDirect, and is taking appropriate steps.

We believe the customer issue has now been resolved and ESET is ready to provide additional support to Ms. **** if requested to do so.

Regards,


ESET North America

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product does not work, it had a issue saying my PC was not protected anymore, got customer service involved and they were no help it made my windows7 64 bit pro PC mess up now I have to reload the whole system and I paid for this product, it will cost me over $400 to send the PC back to get reloaded now

Desired Settlement: I want $400 for the price of the software and for me having to ship the PC back to cyberpower PC to get reloaded since their software broke my system

Business Response:

We have reached out to Mr. ******** to attempt to resolve his issue.  We have sent the steps required to resolve the problems he is having and have also attempted to reach Mr. ******** by phone.  If, after verifying that we can not get his software to work, Mr. ******** wants a refund of the product price, we can work to accomodate this, however, per our EULA (applicable section below), we can not accomodate more than this.

 

13. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY. TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, IN NO EVENT SHALL THE PROVIDER, ITS EMPLOYEES OR LICENSORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY LOST PROFITS, REVENUE, SALES, DATA OR COSTS OF PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES, PROPERTY DAMAGE, PERSONAL INJURY, INTERRUPTION OF BUSINESS, LOSS OF BUSINESS INFORMATION OR FOR ANY SPECIAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, ECONOMIC, COVER, PUNITIVE, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, HOWEVER CAUSED AND WHETHER ARISING UNDER CONTRACT, TORT, NEGLIGENCE OR OTHER THEORY OF LIABILITY, ARISING OUT OF THE USE OF OR INABILITY TO USE THE SOFTWARE, EVEN IF THE PROVIDER OR ITS LICENSORS OR AFFILIATES ARE ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. BECAUSE SOME COUNTRIES AND JURISDICTIONS DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OF LIABILITY, BUT MAY ALLOW LIABILITY TO BE LIMITED, IN SUCH CASES, THE LIABILITY OF THE PROVIDER, ITS EMPLOYEES OR LICENSORS OR AFFILIATES SHALL BE LIMITED TO THE SUM THAT YOU PAID FOR THE LICENSE.

 

Regards,

*** **********

Sr. Director of Customer Care

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I want a refund, there product will not load on my system, we tried everything and I even sent them pics of it was uninstalled and will not install, I paid for a product that will not work on my PC and I even loaded Norton and showed them that works just fine.]

Regards,

 

***** ********

Business Response:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your response.  While we are happy to help with any technical support you may need to install the software, we did not receive payment from you.  Therefore, you would need to pursue a refund through the retailer from which you purchased the software, which is Microcenter. 

In our previous correspondence, we provided Microcenter's contact information and our desire to help resolve your issue.  Should you still require assistance with Microcenter, and are able to provide proof of purchase, we will gladly assist you with this retailer.

Best regards,

ESET North America

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sirs, Thank you for yor help in this matter, in advance. I purchased security for my PC from Eset and found out they were not protecting my computer well enough from identity theft so I went with another company. I am not that technically savvy. I thought they would issue a refund but they did not. When I called them they said it was past the 30 Days. the coverage was for a year. I believe I should get a refund for the remainder of the year. Please help. They were not rude with me they just wouldn't entertain the thought of any refund. ***** ********

Desired Settlement: 76.18 full yearI used the eset security for less than 30 days.

Business Response: This customer was issued a full refund on 2/11 and agreed to retract her BBB complaint.  ESET considers this issue resolved.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a big mistake when I purchased Eset Smart Security 5 for $43.88 for both of my computers that have windows xp sp3 and windows 8, I have had nothing but continued problems with tech support,customer service,voicemails, and with the eset product 5 and 6 and with the virus updates, error code messages, problems with virus scans,anti theft software issues with the eset smart security 6 updates and eset is not compatable with windows 8, and I had Microsoft support team windows tier 2 supervisor ****** ****** at ************** confirm that to me over the phone. Also eset does not have 24hr tech support nor does it have 24hr customer service and ******* at tech support for eset did nothing to correct nor resolve the problems with eset on my computer and he would argue with me and was disrespectful towards me, blaming the problems onto Samsung electronics, and dell. I then complained to his supervisor ***** at ************ at eset tech support who was also rude and disrespectful towards me and not returning my phone calls in a timely matter, and on 01/23/2013 *****(eset support) stated to me over the phone that they do not give 24 hr support to customers and that eset is not for me and that eset would refund my $43.88 in 2wks for me to find another provider for virus protection and that *****(eset support) said he would call me on 01/24/2013 to let me know the details of refund after ***** speaks to eset sales dept, and *****(eset support) never called me nor returned my phone calls on 01/24/2013. The service and the product is trash and does not work, and I have seen the other cases with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund of $43.88 now!!ASAP and I will not wait for 2 weeks to get my refund $43.88 , OR I will hold ESET NORTH AMERICA liable to all damages to both of my computers as a result of poor tech support, poor customer serice, and NO GOOD eset smart security 5 and 6, with no virus protection, and that will be followed with a lawsuit in civil court, And I will use the other complaints and cases with the BBB as evidence against ESET NORTH AMERICA with my attorney.

Business Response: ESET has spoken to Mr. **** in person and he has stated that he does not want his license cancelled.  ESET has worked with Mr. **** to ensure that ESET’s products are operating as designed and that there is no issue with the product itself.  While ESET does have a very generous 30 day return policy, Mr. **** is well beyond this timeframe in his request and did not buy the product from ESET, therefore is bound to the return policies and procedures of his vendor of choice.  ESET considers this matter closed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****

1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an ESET Smart Security Disc for $70 to protect my computer from viruses, spam, etc. After loading it up, it detected but couldn't clean dozens of viruses. This means my computer constantly flashes a box in the lower right corner with a warning message. I phoned their help number and got a technician but I didn't have the to do everything required at that time (it required remote configuration) and had to phone back. I haven't been able to get through since that time 4 days ago. They sent an email with some kind of instructions but I have no clue of the meaning. I have also sent three emails to their "Contact Us" site with no response.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to fix the program so it works. The first tech said it would be no problem. If this isn't possible then I would expect a refund.

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July I ordered a two-year security protection service...in September I had to call them to find out why I had not received it. I paid in July on my American Express. They said they were sorry and would send me a link to download the program. I explained that I needed the disk. Two weeks later the disk arrived in a "plain brown envelope" with no instructions. I loaded it onto my laptop and thought it was taken care of. Now on my laptop it indicates I had a "trial" program. I contacted the company again and I requested my money back because of their breach of contract... They now tell be 30 days have past and I am not entitled to any money back. I feel they did not send my security program in a timely manner and when they did - no instructions...now they want to send me instructions to "change my password"....Please I just feel they did not provide the service/product in a timely manner and I want my money back. I will return the disk back to them. They hung up on me!

Desired Settlement: I want my American Express refund.

Business Response:

****, 

On 10/18, we issued a refund to this customer, mailed on 10/19.  I apologize for the delayed response, there appears to have been a communication breakdown on our end as I thought this was resolved via our PR person.  This issue should be considered closed and resolved per customer’s request. 

***