BBB Accredited Business since

ESET North America

Phone: (619) 876-5400 Fax: (619) 876-5845 610 W Ash St #1700 , San Diego, CA 92101 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.eset.com/us View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer security software.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ESET North America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ESET North America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ESET North America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 14, 2006 Business started: 07/21/1999 in CA Business incorporated: 07/21/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Don Litzenberg, Sales/Operations Manager Mr. Nathan Beers, Media Rep MSL Group Ms. Celeste Blodgett, Vice President of Human Resources Mr. Ranson Burkette, PR Manager Ms. Anna Keeve, Sr. Public Relations Specialist Mr. Andrew Lee, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ranson Burkette, PR Manager
Principal: Mr. Don Litzenberg, Sales/Operations Manager
Number of Employees

180

Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
ESET LLC

Additional Locations

  • 610 W Ash St #1700

    San Diego, CA 92101

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased in May of 2013 Eset NOD32 Antivirus 6 from Microcenter in Saint Louis Park, MN I paid $79.99 For software that I thought would work along with the Laptop I purchased. Well Not long after that my computer started to get slow, downloaded songs got deleted, Media player was reading as corrupted (The whole media player) and not playing any songs, Music software I installed after the purchase of Eset's Antivirus software no longer worked correctly and deleted songs that were composed, and currently as of 5 days ago my computer finally locked me out and did not allow me back in until I uninstalled the ESET soft ware which i tried to do in safe mode but it would not allow me to so when I got in finally after the 4th day I hurried up and uninstalled their product and my computer went back to functioning normal. The uninstall did not happen until I had a live chat with one of their reps. I was told that it could be a hard drive failure, or that someone tried to hack my computer and take over my IP address I was also told that With Viruses such as a Trojan, that is a Trojans Job to disable the Virus Protection and make it look to you as if you still have it. Once I uninstalled everything is when it decided to work correctly. So I then installed Norton and ran the scan which found that i did in fact have malware, spyware, and a Trojan virus that Eset was supposed to protect my computer from but did not. So I called ESET again and asked them for a partial refund and told them i would be glad to send the software back. They told me they could only offer support. For me First impressions mean a lot and my laptop wasn't exactly cheap nor do I have money to throw away. I paid $79.99 for software that promised to rid the computer of all of those virus's spyware and malware, not to mention it clearly states that it powers up your computers performance but in this case it did none of the above. One time is all I need to feel as if I wasted money and I will not trust their products again and I would appreciate it if they would make it right with a partial refund which is all i am asking for. No i don't need support as i will not be a fool twice and re-install somethingthat almost totaled my newly purchased laptop.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund and I will send their product back to them. They shouldn't sell items that are in false advertisement of what they really can do when they cannot and have not, then try to force their customers to keep retrying a product that messed up their pc by continuously offering support instead of a refund. They charged too much for their product to not work. They have lost my trust.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We value our customer's concern and are committed to helping resolve their probelm.  Our customer care teams are following up with the retailer and the customer to resolve the issue.  While our teams continue to work with both the customer and the retailer on this issue, we are providing this update to the customer's complaint to the BBB in an effort to convey our progress on this matter. We intend to provide further information upon the completion of our investigation.

Regards,

ESET North America
610 Weset Ash
San Diego, CA 92101

 

 

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the letter that I sent to E-SET asking why I had ANY SPYWARE at all. They were suppose to be the best. My computer did some strange things so I took it to the shop for analysis. They found my hard drive was starting to fail they also found 113 SPYWARE. I lost most of everything I had on the Computer. I do not understand how this happened. I had E-SETS LATEST EDITION, I also had Skybot and Malwarebytes Anti-MALWARE. Why did I have 113 SPYWARE? I did not have any other Anti-Virus running on my Computer except E-SET. This is the answer I got from E-SET. Update for Case #******* - "Other Issue - Other products or services issue" An ESET Customer Care Representative has updated this case with the following information: Hello, Thank you for contacting ESET Customer Care. The problem you are describing is likely due to previous antivirus software that is still installed on your computer. This software must be uninstalled before installing your ESET security product. Click or copy/paste the following Knowledgebase article into your web browser for a list of uninstallers for common antivirus software: As you can see the issue of SPYWARE on my computer was never addressed. It was blamed on other Anti-Virus Software.

Desired Settlement: I purchased E-SET on 11-12-13 with my Discover Card order No. *************. It was to begin when my previous license was to run out on 11-20-2013. I have been using E-SET from 11-20-2013 until my computer went into the shop on 3-31-2014 so that is 4 months and 11 days. I have requested several times for a refund and they have TOTALLY IGNORED me. That is why I am filling out this complaint. I would like my Discover Card credited with the appropriate amount remaining from my license. It was to go until 11-20-2015. I paid $75.99.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

We have reviewed the case with our customer care team and have resolved the customer's concern.  The ESET customer care team has been able to reinstall ESET on her computer, her license has been extended 1 year and we were able to verify that there are no software programs causing conflict with ESET.

The customer issue is now resolved and considered closed.

 

Best regards,

-Ranson

Business Response:

Hello,

 

We have reviewed the case with our customer care team and have resolved the customer's concern.  The ESET customer care team has been able to reinstall ESET on her computer, her license has been extended 1 year and we were able to verify that there are no software programs causing conflict with ESET.

The customer issue is now resolved and considered closed.

 

Best regards,

*******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

Thank You very much for your help.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

Thank You very much for your help.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does not respond to our work ticket nor do they answer their phone for help. I have been trying to get someone on the phone with me for over 2 weeks now and they just don't respond to any of our help issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like this software company to call me back at ###-###-#### and get me some assistance with the user id and password to their anti virus software so we can update some of our software in the office. We cannot even install a disk update with the disk because the anti virus software is blocking our access to our own software. it keeps asking for the user id and password and they will not respond to our request via phone or email for help

Business Response:

Attention Better Business Bureau,


Thank you for notifying us of the customer’s complaint.  At ESET we strive to provide the best possible customer experience so that all of our customer can better use and enjoy their technology. 

While researching this customer’s issue, we were able to uncover additional information pertaining to her difficulty using our software.  We discovered that the customer (***** ****) was in the process of using the uninstall tool to remove ESET Software (NOD32) from all of her computer systems. Additionally, Ms. **** has contracted for IT support through GeekUDirect. However, the license key GeekUDirect is using was not authorized by ESET and was confirmed to be pirated.  Ms. ****  was under the impression that she was paying ESET for licensed software and support. Instead, she was paying GeekUDirect.  This is an all-too-common scam in the software industry, and it is unfortunate that any ESET customer is impacted in this way.  

In order to resolve the customer’s issue, the ESET customer service team contacted the customer and has advised her of the licensing issue. ESET customer support assisted her with uninstalling the pirated NOD32 software at no additional charge. Our legal team has been notified of the issue with GeekUDirect, and is taking appropriate steps.

We believe the customer issue has now been resolved and ESET is ready to provide additional support to Ms. **** if requested to do so.

Regards,


ESET North America

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product does not work, it had a issue saying my PC was not protected anymore, got customer service involved and they were no help it made my windows7 64 bit pro PC mess up now I have to reload the whole system and I paid for this product, it will cost me over $400 to send the PC back to get reloaded now

Desired Settlement: I want $400 for the price of the software and for me having to ship the PC back to cyberpower PC to get reloaded since their software broke my system

Business Response:

We have reached out to Mr. ******** to attempt to resolve his issue.  We have sent the steps required to resolve the problems he is having and have also attempted to reach Mr. ******** by phone.  If, after verifying that we can not get his software to work, Mr. ******** wants a refund of the product price, we can work to accomodate this, however, per our EULA (applicable section below), we can not accomodate more than this.

 

13. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY. TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, IN NO EVENT SHALL THE PROVIDER, ITS EMPLOYEES OR LICENSORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY LOST PROFITS, REVENUE, SALES, DATA OR COSTS OF PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES, PROPERTY DAMAGE, PERSONAL INJURY, INTERRUPTION OF BUSINESS, LOSS OF BUSINESS INFORMATION OR FOR ANY SPECIAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, ECONOMIC, COVER, PUNITIVE, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, HOWEVER CAUSED AND WHETHER ARISING UNDER CONTRACT, TORT, NEGLIGENCE OR OTHER THEORY OF LIABILITY, ARISING OUT OF THE USE OF OR INABILITY TO USE THE SOFTWARE, EVEN IF THE PROVIDER OR ITS LICENSORS OR AFFILIATES ARE ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. BECAUSE SOME COUNTRIES AND JURISDICTIONS DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OF LIABILITY, BUT MAY ALLOW LIABILITY TO BE LIMITED, IN SUCH CASES, THE LIABILITY OF THE PROVIDER, ITS EMPLOYEES OR LICENSORS OR AFFILIATES SHALL BE LIMITED TO THE SUM THAT YOU PAID FOR THE LICENSE.

 

Regards,

*** **********

Sr. Director of Customer Care

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I want a refund, there product will not load on my system, we tried everything and I even sent them pics of it was uninstalled and will not install, I paid for a product that will not work on my PC and I even loaded Norton and showed them that works just fine.]

Regards,

 

***** ********

Business Response:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your response.  While we are happy to help with any technical support you may need to install the software, we did not receive payment from you.  Therefore, you would need to pursue a refund through the retailer from which you purchased the software, which is Microcenter. 

In our previous correspondence, we provided Microcenter's contact information and our desire to help resolve your issue.  Should you still require assistance with Microcenter, and are able to provide proof of purchase, we will gladly assist you with this retailer.

Best regards,

ESET North America

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sirs, Thank you for yor help in this matter, in advance. I purchased security for my PC from Eset and found out they were not protecting my computer well enough from identity theft so I went with another company. I am not that technically savvy. I thought they would issue a refund but they did not. When I called them they said it was past the 30 Days. the coverage was for a year. I believe I should get a refund for the remainder of the year. Please help. They were not rude with me they just wouldn't entertain the thought of any refund. ***** ********

Desired Settlement: 76.18 full yearI used the eset security for less than 30 days.

Business Response: This customer was issued a full refund on 2/11 and agreed to retract her BBB complaint.  ESET considers this issue resolved.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a big mistake when I purchased Eset Smart Security 5 for $43.88 for both of my computers that have windows xp sp3 and windows 8, I have had nothing but continued problems with tech support,customer service,voicemails, and with the eset product 5 and 6 and with the virus updates, error code messages, problems with virus scans,anti theft software issues with the eset smart security 6 updates and eset is not compatable with windows 8, and I had Microsoft support team windows tier 2 supervisor ****** ****** at ************** confirm that to me over the phone. Also eset does not have 24hr tech support nor does it have 24hr customer service and ******* at tech support for eset did nothing to correct nor resolve the problems with eset on my computer and he would argue with me and was disrespectful towards me, blaming the problems onto Samsung electronics, and dell. I then complained to his supervisor ***** at ************ at eset tech support who was also rude and disrespectful towards me and not returning my phone calls in a timely matter, and on 01/23/2013 *****(eset support) stated to me over the phone that they do not give 24 hr support to customers and that eset is not for me and that eset would refund my $43.88 in 2wks for me to find another provider for virus protection and that *****(eset support) said he would call me on 01/24/2013 to let me know the details of refund after ***** speaks to eset sales dept, and *****(eset support) never called me nor returned my phone calls on 01/24/2013. The service and the product is trash and does not work, and I have seen the other cases with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund of $43.88 now!!ASAP and I will not wait for 2 weeks to get my refund $43.88 , OR I will hold ESET NORTH AMERICA liable to all damages to both of my computers as a result of poor tech support, poor customer serice, and NO GOOD eset smart security 5 and 6, with no virus protection, and that will be followed with a lawsuit in civil court, And I will use the other complaints and cases with the BBB as evidence against ESET NORTH AMERICA with my attorney.

Business Response: ESET has spoken to Mr. **** in person and he has stated that he does not want his license cancelled.  ESET has worked with Mr. **** to ensure that ESET’s products are operating as designed and that there is no issue with the product itself.  While ESET does have a very generous 30 day return policy, Mr. **** is well beyond this timeframe in his request and did not buy the product from ESET, therefore is bound to the return policies and procedures of his vendor of choice.  ESET considers this matter closed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****

1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an ESET Smart Security Disc for $70 to protect my computer from viruses, spam, etc. After loading it up, it detected but couldn't clean dozens of viruses. This means my computer constantly flashes a box in the lower right corner with a warning message. I phoned their help number and got a technician but I didn't have the to do everything required at that time (it required remote configuration) and had to phone back. I haven't been able to get through since that time 4 days ago. They sent an email with some kind of instructions but I have no clue of the meaning. I have also sent three emails to their "Contact Us" site with no response.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to fix the program so it works. The first tech said it would be no problem. If this isn't possible then I would expect a refund.

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July I ordered a two-year security protection service...in September I had to call them to find out why I had not received it. I paid in July on my American Express. They said they were sorry and would send me a link to download the program. I explained that I needed the disk. Two weeks later the disk arrived in a "plain brown envelope" with no instructions. I loaded it onto my laptop and thought it was taken care of. Now on my laptop it indicates I had a "trial" program. I contacted the company again and I requested my money back because of their breach of contract... They now tell be 30 days have past and I am not entitled to any money back. I feel they did not send my security program in a timely manner and when they did - no instructions...now they want to send me instructions to "change my password"....Please I just feel they did not provide the service/product in a timely manner and I want my money back. I will return the disk back to them. They hung up on me!

Desired Settlement: I want my American Express refund.

Business Response:

****, 

On 10/18, we issued a refund to this customer, mailed on 10/19.  I apologize for the delayed response, there appears to have been a communication breakdown on our end as I thought this was resolved via our PR person.  This issue should be considered closed and resolved per customer’s request. 

***

5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have filed a support case, the case number is ******. I have not received a response in about a month, despite me jumping through hoops to provide them all of the information that they claim to have required. I am now beginning to wonder if they are trying to take advantage of the information that was sent.

Desired Settlement: 1. A guarantee that once this matter is resolved all data will be permanently deleted in a manner that it cannot be recovered. 2. A solution for the problem within the next 2 days.

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer and are working to resolve the issue directly.

5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a refund on Jan 6, 2012 from ESET. The software was incompatible with my computer. They asked and I responded to all of their questions. Nothing solved the incompatability. Email thread follows:April 5, 2012 email from ESET:Update for Case #****** - "Other Issue - Other products or services issue"An ESET Customer Care Representative has updated this case with the following information: Dear Customer,Thank you for contacting ESET Sales Support. We are sorry to hear that you wish to return our product. We pride ourselves on our liberal 30-day return policy; however, you have requested to return the product after this 30-day trial period. Unfortunately in these cases, we will not be able to provide you with a credit. If you are experiencing technical difficulties with our product please feel free to contact our technical support by calling our main number below or by using the following link to start a case: *************************************** Sincerely, ESET Sales Support **************================================================================================To respond, simply reply to this e-mail.Message History-----Original Message-----From: *** ******* 2 Sent: Friday , January 06, 2012 11:59 am PST (GMT-08:00)Subject: Other Issue - Other products or services issueI request a refund of the eset subscription. The software is creating too many problems, all of which stopped when I uninstalled.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund to the subscription for ESET software that proved to be incompatible with my computer.

Business Response: Customer was issued a refund on 04/09/12.  This issue should be resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** ******* 

4/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was directed to a link (********************************************************************) through my software for renewal of my licenses. The webpage listed out pricing for the different software packages, so I estimated my cost to renew and called the ESET phone number as directed on the page (BUSINESS CUSTOMERS: Please contact your reseller about renewals or call ************** *****) I was told to call my reseller, as they would be able to provide me with the best pricing for renewal. I called my reseller and was quoted roughly $5 per license more than what was advertised on the webpage. After talking to my reseller he helped by conferencing calling with an ESET representative and she explained that the pricing I was seeing was for Home licenses, not business licenses even though the page was linked directly from the Smart Security Business Edition software and no where on the page did it make a distinction between Home and Business editions when listing pricing. I was thankful for my reseller helping me with this, but feel like it is deceptive of ESET to link from your Business edition software to a page that shows a lower cost that does not apply to the edition you are trying to renew. This is confusing and frustrating for your customers who are watching every budget expense as well as putting your resellers in an awkward position by not being able to come close to the prices their customers are seeing on ESET's direct link renewal page.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation of why the link in my business edition software does not link me to page that will tell me what I will actually have to pay for each license rather than a price that is less and does not even apply to the edition I am deploying. I would also like to know why on the page it makes no differentiation between the Home and Business licenses. I would like to have some correspondence with a representative to see how this confusion can be resolved.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

 

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, and I apologize for the confusion you've encountered. It’s certainly not our intention to cause confusion, and we are going to make changes to our web pages to ensure future clarity.  I believe our sales department will contact you separately.   If there is anything more I can assist you with, please don't hesitate to ask.

 

Yours,

 

 

*********** ****

Public Relations Manager

ESET North America  

************ ************** 

4/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2-22-12 I purchased ESET CyberSecurity for Mac. On 2-23-12 I installed software and it wouldn't work. I called eset tech support and the persons that initially helped me said they would have to send my case to a mac specialist and have them call me back...within 24 hours. This was 8:30 am on 2-23-12....***** was the mans name. Today is the 6th of March, 2012 and they still hadn't called me. I called them. I got thru to a "level III specialist" and he said he'd have to look at my case # ******# and would get back to me within the hour. That was at 10:28 am. I called them back at 3:11 pm. Waited on hold for 33 minutes. I hung up and called back again. I entered my case # and waited for less than a minute and the line was disconnected. They do not do what they say they will do. I will take the ESET software back to the apple store and get my money back....maybe.

Desired Settlement: I want the CEO, ****** *** to receive this complaint personally. The support staff at ESET in San Diego needs to be monitored for quality assurance.

Business Response: Customer was contacted multiple times from 3/6 through 3/15.  Final resolution, we are working with customer and retailer to provide a full refund.