This Business is not BBB accredited

Trumpia

Phone: (888) 707-3030 View Additional Phone Numbers 2544 W Woodland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92801 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.trumpia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers web-based software and campaign management services using multi-channel and marketing automation tools via mobile app, mobile text, email, social media and voice channels.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Trumpia include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Trumpia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trumpia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 2013 Business started: 08/03/2006 in CA Business started locally: 08/03/2006 Business incorporated: 08/03/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Rhie, CEO Mr. Derek Rhie, Co-Founder
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jenny Hong, Accounting Representative
Principal: Mr. Ken Rhie, CEO
Number of Employees

63

Business Category

Computer Software Publishers & Developers Internet Marketing Services

Alternate Business Names
DoCircle Inc
Industry Tips
Tech Support Scam

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2544 W Woodland Dr

    Anaheim, CA 92801 (888) 707-3030 (650) 352-3030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Salesperson explained that their company would take care of our Text Messaging campaigns for my company. It was easy, fast, and successful. First meeting by phone they called late and were in a rush to complete the call. Second call the same, third call worked with me to set up time sensitive campaign, said we were all set. Text messages never went out. I had to call them gave them one more chance for next campaign.

Said they would totally handle it to make up for the first. Same outcome, missed the campaign. I then asked for a refund since I had received none of the services they had offered. They will not refund, tried to give me more service. Well that more service was still zero, added to the zero service I was already not receiving. Three major campaigns have come and gone and not one text message has ever been sent. They still have my money and I have no service. They have not contacted me in two months to try and resolve or fix this problem. All I wanted them to do is be professional and either do their job as promised or return my payment. Instead they chose to do neither.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to refund my payment in full.

Business Response:

Case #: ********

Trumpia provides its customers with web-based software that integrates popular messaging channels such as SMS, Email, Social Media, and Voice broadcasting. The customer had purchased a 1 year package that provides a user account and text credits for SMS messaging in August. They reached out in November stating that the system was too difficult for them and they wanted a full refund. Our refund policy is clearly stated on our website as well as in the invoice prior to their purchase. In order to help the customer, we added Campaign Management services to their account, free of charge. This is a paid add-on service to help with creating the customer’s marketing campaign.

Trumpia employees are restricted from sending out the customer messages due to liability, however we are able to construct the campaigns and save them as drafts. The customer only needs to review our work and schedule the message to send. Unfortunately due to miscommunication, the customer assumed that the messages were already scheduled, but the campaigns were never reviewed and sent by the customer. Emails exchanged with the customer explain that the messages were added into their account and ready for review.

Aside from adding the Campaign Management at no charge, Trumpia also offered to extend the 1 year package as an alternative to the refund. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The point of all of this is that their systems was hard to use, did not work, timeframes were missed, and instead of honoring a cancellation like most reputable companies they refused.

Regards,

******* ********



Business Response:

Case #: ********

 

 

We have addressed the claims mentioned in previous rebuttals

Our position remains the same.

 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** **** | Accounting Representative

4/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

We had been in communication with Trumpia about setting up a text message campaign for our organization. After a lot of dialog, and based on what the sales rep said Trumpia was going to work for us so we signed up. After signing up we had to sign an upload agreement that was contrary to what the sales rep had said and signing it would mean that we wouldn't be able to use the service as intended so we canceled our account within a few hours.

We contacted the company about processing a refund the same day but didn't hear back. The next day we followed up via email and were told that they don't do refunds. I then followed up with a call, explained the situation and they said they would process the payment and it would show arrive in my bank account in 3-5 days. Today, I noticed i haven't received the refund so I called again. The rep this time said that there was no record for the refund request. He submitted a refund request and it was denied. I explained the situation so he placed me on hold to talk with a supervisor. After waiting nearly 10 minutes, he came back to let me know that the supervisor would call me back right after his current phone call, but I still haven't heard from them. Being that we signed up for the service under false information from the sales rep and canceled the same day without using the service, I would like to have a full refund of the unused subscription.

Desired Settlement: Being that we signed up for the service under false information from the sales rep and canceled the same day without using the service, I would like to have a full refund of the unused subscription.

Business Response:

Case #: ********

Trumpia provides its customers with a web-based software that integrates popular messaging channels such as **** ****** ****** *****, and ***** ************. Users of our system must comply with the TCPA and CTIA regulations regarding text messaging.

Due to strict compliance with these regulations, every employee at Trumpia is adamantly clear on what can and cannot be uploaded as valid contacts for text messaging. These regulations are also clearly posted in our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

These are displayed publicly on our website, within all free trial accounts, as well as the agreement prior to purchase. Trumpia has no control over these regulations, and it is the responsibility of the customer to ensure there are no compliance issues prior to purchase or use. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you for your response.  Unfortunately, your response didn't respond directly to the complaint.  We signed up for for Trumpia based on the information from your sales rep.  After signing up for service we started the process to upload our contacts and found that what the sales rep had told us was counter to what your upload agreement states.  We canceled our service immediately and notified the company of the issue, cancellation and requested a refund within a few hours of signing up.  

Since the rep said something contrary to the upload agreement and we canceled service the same day we signed up without using the service we are requesting a full refund of the subscription price.  

Regards,

****** ********



Business Response:

Case # ******** response

 

We have addressed the claims mentioned in previous rebuttals

Our position remains the same.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** **** Accounting Representative

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trumpia completely misrepresented their services to our company. Their company is primarily a SMS company and although they do handle some email campaigns, they are VERY difficult to set up and must be done in HTML which they did not tell us. They have also been unresponsive at times and most times only respond when I threaten to contact the BBB. They hide behind their "no refund policy". I would like a full refund as they were unresponsive, slow to respond and misrepresented themselves to 3 of our company representatives. They claim their system does do what we want it to and that might be, but it's not with ease and HTML is required and that was NOT something they advised.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund based on the above. I have emails and records of phone calls with this company. Even their own employees are unable to navigate and figure out the issues with their system.Thanks so much!*** ***************** ** ***************** ******* *******

Business Response:

Case #*******

Consumer: ********** ***

To whom it may concern:

We have recently reviewed this BBB complaint and would like to provide a response.

After conducting an internal investigation, we have reviewed support emails and call logs regarding *** *********** account with Trumpia.

The consumer's primary issue is that they wanted to embed a video directly into an email. Our platform provides an email editor that allows

for adding hyperlinks, images, changing format styles/colors, as well as other standard formatting tools. Unfortunately, embedding a video

in an email is outside of what our standard email editor can perform. 

The customer stated that this was never mentioned to them prior to purchasing; however the customer had never mentioned this particular

need during the conversations prior to purchase. If the customer had mentioned, Trumpia's representatives would have clearly expressed

that our email editor does not have this capability. 

Dedicated email centric platforms such as Constant Contact, ********* and ****** do not provide this capability, and some even specifically

recommend against it since it negatively affects email deliverability. Embedding videos into an email is possible by modifying the HTML code,

however this is outside of email industry standards and should not be an expected feature from any provider. Trumpia's technical support

was more than willing to  help despite this, however the customer still felt that we had misrepresented our platform and was not willing to continue 

our service.

%2

3/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trumpia has been marketing service under deceptive trade practices. The initial contact with them was presented to me and my partner that this would be a simple process. They told me that all I needed was my logo, review the training videos, set up a merchant account and set my service fees up in the system. I would be up and running within a couple of weeks. They even sent me examples of the web templates to choose from. I was excited because the marketing and products tutorials make you think this will be a seamless process. Not so I asked about the website template and if I could alter one. I told them all the information I wanted on my site which I was told was free and then later told that they no longer design sites and that I would need to hire a web designer. Next issue is the lack of technical support. I would try to use the SMS text feature with an image added and after dealing with tech support finally telling me that it must be my carrier verizon wireless or my cell phone that will not receive MMS messages. I was angry because there was so many issues with them. My main issue is that they keep telling people that they have a 30 day trail well if people did not have to build websites and then get approved for merchant services, go through training then maybe they could have tried and tested the service in under 30 days. Due to FCC regulations you must have your "stop contact and privacy clause" posted on the website before they will approve you as a merchant to handle short code text messaging. This process requires you to go through training also and take a test. These things are not shared upfront with you. If you are a new business and did not budget for all of the additional expenses involved is setting up this service then it could cost you loss. Because the services do not function the way they have been marketed. The support is not provided as stated by the account reps during the sales pitch once you have paid for the text minutes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and investigated Trumpisfor false advertisement, and deceptive trade practices. Also I would like then to stop with the generic response to everyone about how they work hard to resolve the issues if they arise. I want them to be accountable for the poor service and refund those who have suffered financial loss due to their semi functioning SMS, EMAIL, MMS system. Stop the pitch,"To license the software there’s a $500 setup fee and the minimum purchase amount to qualify as a reseller is 100,000 text messages at 1.6 cents each ($1,600). Keep in mind that this is a ONE-TIME payment for the text messages and not a recurring monthly charge, and the text messages rollover every month so they never expire. My manager is offering a special which he will drop the setup fee for resellers that can sign up by Friday, January 31. What do you receive as a White Label Reseller?" Choose between: Premium 10 page website template or Free 1 page template. ·

Business Response:

Consumer: ****** *

To whom it may concern: We have recently reviewed this BBB complaint and would like to provide a response. Trumpia takes complaints very seriously and has prompted an internal investigation. We have reviewed support emails and call logs regarding the Customer’s account and Trumpia would like to provide more information regarding this case.

After reviewing the complaint, we have compiled the following issues from the customer. Trumpia would like to clarify each of these.

1) Customer had issues with our SMS, Email, and MMS features.

2) Customer had website issues and was unhappy with support.

3) Customer states that the complexity of the system was not stated up-front.

The Customer stated that she was having issues with SMS, Email, and MMS features. After reviewing internal support tickets and the Customer’s emails, Trumpia was unable to find any related to SMS or Email. The Customer was having issues with MMS text message deliverability to Verizon. MMS deliverability varies depending on the carrier, data plan packages, as well as the type of mobile device. As explained by our support team, the messages in question were verified as processed successfully from our system and were delivered to the carrier. Message deliverability between the carriers and the mobile devices are not within our control. Our short-codes are able to send SMS/MMS to all of the major carriers, including Verizon. The Customer’s issue with receiving MMS would need to be resolved on Verizon’s end.

The Customer stated that she had many issues with the website design. Trumpia provides all Resellers with a complementary “1 page” template website. We do not provide design services for the complementary website, aside from uploading the Customer’s logo and contact information. The Customer also had the option to purchase a more robust “10 page” premium website. This option, unlike the complementary version, includes design services. The customer opted to not purchase the 10- page website and proceeded with the complementary website instead. Resellers are free to alter and customize their website via standard HTML, as many Resellers opt to create their own custom-branded website. The issue was that the Customer wanted our support team to customize her complementary website, however we are unable to fulfill that request since the Customer decided not to purchase the 10 page website.

The Customer states that Trumpia did not fully disclose all of the information regarding the Reseller program prior to purchase. To clarify, the Reseller program is a product that has many moving parts. To become a Reseller, one would need a website to sell and provide access to the system, a separate Merchant Account to accept payments, their own pricing structure and offered packages, and a good understanding of the features our software provides to their potential clients. The Customer was sent the Reseller Application prior to purchasing that outlines these basic requirements before proceeding.

Trumpia’s Reseller program does not process payments. The Customer would need to apply for an account such as Authorize.net or Paypal Pro in order to accept payments from their potential clients. Each of these Merchant’s application process is separate and is the responsibility of the Reseller. Trumpia is more than willing to provide its Resellers with the support they need to get up and running. We provide unlimited phone and email support for our Resellers as well as marketing collateral, videos and webinars. In summary, all of the Customer’s issues are outside of Trumpia’s abilities. Our SMS, Email, and MMS features are fully functional, and the Customer’s deliverability issue is based on the carrier’s end. Trumpia does provide more robust website templates that include design services, however the Customer chose to not purchase the premium website. Trumpia is also unable to specify the requirements for Merchant Accounts since the process is outside of our support team.

3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about 7-14-14 I contacted Trumpia for the purpose of inquiring about text messaging for my Company.I knew going in there was some strict requirements regarding texting, and I wanted to clarify them and see if it was worth the effort, since we were already e-mailing our customers when necessary. I talked with Alex Bae who explained the requirements, asked me about my customer list,and told me " You can text them an " opt in " or " opt out " text to see which of your customers would not mind receiving a text from you. He then pushed the issue of going ahead and paying for the service and getting started, which was $135.00. I double clarified what he had told me and proceeded to sign the forms to get started and paid the $135.00. On the 14th of July at 1:18 p.m. I received an e-mail from Alex Bae telling me I had an on-line appt. with a " coach" by the name of John Apale at 12:00 p.m. on the 15th who would get me started and answer any and all additional questions I had, and to make sure I understood all the " how to's" of getting started. When I talked with John Apale I reiterated what Alex Bae had told me. He said that could NOT be done, and that I needed explicit approval by my customers in writing before I could text them. That was scenario was simply not anything I wanted to do since we were already corresponding with them by e-mail whenever necessary. I then thanked John Apale for his time and attempted to contact Alex Bae. I called several times that afternoon and left voice mails, which he never returned. The next day I sent him several e-mails telling him I wanted a refund of my $ 135.00 and that I NEVER used the service, never imported one name to them. never did anything except talk to him and John Apale. A month almost went by and I had heard nothing. I also sent e=-mails to " DoCircle Inc. who is doing business as Trumpia. Again no response. Then on the 14th of this month August, they billed and collected an additional $135.00.Billing support# 415-868-4300 Brian Regis.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete and total refund of all monies I paid them $ 270.00. I was lied to by Alex Bae who obviously wanted nothing more than his commission. And I want the " contract " which I apparently entered into declared null and void. Let me say this again " I did not ever use the service, I never ever imported one customer name to them, the extent was that I talked to two people, the second person is who I found out the truth from.

Consumer Response:

This is to advise you that the complaint referenced above ( Trumpia ) has been satisfied on my behalf with a full refund of my funds.  I thank you very much for making it happen. I;m completely sure that they would not have complied with my request had you not become involved.

 

Much Regards,

 

****** ********

6/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam,About a year ago, I purchased $100 worth of credit on Trumpia.com that I would use for my father's political campaign. The site claimed that if I purchased the credits and uploaded the contacts, I would be able to send mass text messages within half an hour of completed upload. Unfortunately, the advertised half an hour ended up being more then 8 hours before they got back to me and approved the upload. But it was too late then; I already purchased different service because I needed to send those messages that night. I requested a refund, but they refused. I sent another message explaining the issue but my message went unanswered. Recently, I decided to try to pursue my refund again. I sent them an email and they claimed that they couldn't do anything. I sent them a second email stating that I will file a complaint with BBB, it is unanswered once again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of unused funds on my account with Trumpia.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

 
Our records show that ****** ****** purchased his account for $105 on 10-05-2012 at 22:15:14 (10:15PM). You can view this here:
 
*********************************
 
From the original complaint: 
 
"I purchased $100 worth of credit on Trumpia.com that I would use for my father's political campaign. The site claimed that if I purchased the credits and uploaded the contacts, I would be able to send mass text messages within half an hour of completed upload. Unfortunately, the advertised half an hour ended up being more then 8 hours before they got back to me and approved the upload."
 
Response:
Our system allows you to import a list of contacts to send out mass text blasts to, but to enable this feature the customer has to fill out a contract stating that all of the contacts they are uploading are collected legitimately. This process usually takes up to 30 minutes, which our system does state. However, our system shows that this contract was received 8 minutes after purchasing our software at 10:23 PM. You can see this here:
 
********************************
 
We do not have anyone in the office at this time of day, which would explain why his contract was rejected "more than 8 hours" later.
 
He then tried requesting a refund for the unused credits via support ticket, shown here:
 
**********************************
 
In our response shown, we state that it is in our terms of use that we do not issue refunds for unused credits. Here is an excerpt from our terms of use where we state that:
 
http://screencast.com/t/zvDn3FCwbK
 
Here is the link to the full page of the terms of use policy:
 
http://trumpia.com/main/termsofuse_detail.php
 
 
Thank you for your time and patience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business did not try to resolve my complaint. They looked up and posted facts which I already provided in my claim information sheet. The business also admitted that they did not have anyone at the office the day my contract was received, which was in contrary to what they were marketing prior to me paying for their services. Since the services were never provided, nor I need them at this point in time, I am kindly requesting my refund. 

 
I understand that their terms of use might prohibit issuing refunds, but also as a consumer I am protected from false advertising by the US Trademark Act. Therefore, I kindly ask again for my rightful refund for the services I was never provided in a timely manner.
 
 
Regards,

****** ******

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service we paid for one year in advance has not worked properly since we signed up. The support team will not get back with us in a timely or efficient manner to resolve the issue. They will not answer the phone, return voice mails, follow up with emails, or respond to support tickets in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: Even though the service has not worked properly we have still tried to use it to some (limited) success ... however now that Trumpia has closed our ticket without resolving the issue we can no longer do business with them. We want a refund for the remaining unused portion of our contract from April 2014 through the rest of it's duration.

Business Response:

To Whom it may Concern,

The customer originally submitted a support ticket on account cancellation, which was closed due to this issue being dealt with via phone and email.


The customers main issue involved failed emails. We have explained the remedy to this issue, by using an email address that would be provided by us (greatamericanhomestore@trumpia.com). This would improve the success rate of delivered emails, but the customer refused. He later decided to cancel the service, asking for a refund for an issue that can possibly be resolved. We know how important it is for our customers to get messages out to their customers, but we can only do so much to maintain our email servers without issues like this happening. When issues do happen, we have our engineers do what they can to prevent these issues from happening again. If the issue is still occurring, they would take the next step in resolving the issue until they have exhausted all options. This customer has not given us the chance to try and improve our service for him. 

Our customers are given a 30-day free trial to use our system before purchasing to make sure that our system is optimized for their business, due to the fact that we have a no refund policy. When issues arise, we do what we can to help resolve these issues.

Thank you for your time and patience.

7/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues