Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

International Recovery Systems Inc

Phone: (800) 775-6177 Fax: (714) 258-7408 1562 Parkway Loop #D, Tustin, CA 92780


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collection services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for International Recovery Systems Inc include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on International Recovery Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 2013 Business started: 11/29/2001 in CA Business started locally: 11/29/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Milano, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Milano, President
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Collection Agencies

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1562 Parkway Loop #D

    Tustin, CA 92780 (800) 775-6177

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son had surgery back in 2011. I received a bill from the Drs. office and there was an error by the insurance Co. I did not pay it thinking the insurance was. Then I got a statement from this company. I called and asked them what this was about and he (*****) told me he would send a letter to me. I got a piece of paper that had an amount on it for 75$ it didn't have any other information so I called back a couple weeks later and spoke to ***** again (VERY RUDE) he said "I already sent it to you. This is what you owe" and that people like me need to pay my bills. SO, I ASKED FOR A MANAGER AND OF COURSE NO ONE WAS AVAILABLE. I called back today and spoke with *******(manager) ext 715 and he assured me that he was going to talk with the Drs. office and figure out how to fix this by seeing if they would wave their fee or what could be done. He said he would call me within 30 minutes. Never heard from him. I called and spoke with ***** in billing at the Drs. office about an hour later and she said she never got a call from him. I called him back and he told me he was waiting to hear from them. So I called ***** again and she said she was calling him right then. She called me back 15 min later and said ******* told her he was not waiting on anything from her and that he never even called her to begin with. I was flat out lied to and will not be harassed. I told them I was willing to pay the 75$ under protest because I don't feel I owed it. That was the original amount. But because its been 60 days they tried to make the payment 155$ I am VERY upset that I was treated HORRIBLY and that this company LIES!!!

Desired Settlement: That this amount be dropped!!! I was harassed and lied to by two people in this company and treated very horribly.

Business Response:

Re: ********, ***** *******

Dear ********* ********:

Enclosed please find an itemized Statement for ****** *. *******.

****** has a medical service on 06-01-2012 in which there was a co-insurance of $75.00.

His account was referred for collections in the amount of $75.00.

His mother, Mrs. ***** ******* contacted our office trying to take care of her son's balance. There were interest accumulated and she did not want to pay for. On September 22, 2015, a letter offering a settlement in the amount of $75,00 was sent to her. As of October 2, 2015, Mrs. ******* sent a check in the amount of $75,00, this payment closes her son's account,

Attached also please find a copy of letter to Mrs. *******.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Account Manager RM/vp

 

Dear ***** *******:

This letter is to certify that your accounts with the above mentioned group has been paid in full for the amount of $75.00.

With this letter, you are currently being notified that this matter has not been and shall not be reported to any credit-reporting agency.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Account Manager RM/vp

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that I paid the amount of 75.00.  I was tired of being harassed and lied to by two of the employees. ***** and *******. I  consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

5/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: International Recovery Services, a collection agency that was assisting Dr. ******** *********, DDS, was paid a total amount of $391.00. They sent me a notice telling me that the amount due was $319.00 and that I had to respond back to them within a short period of time.I sent a payment on February 14, 2015. The amount shown on the check was $391.00. This amount was $72.00 more than the actual amount due.I have not received a notice and/or check from this collection agency, or the business that they were representing, telling me that I had made the $72.00 overpayment.I would like for this collection agency to provide me with a copy of the notice that they had sent to me along with some type of information showing how much that they received when they received the check from me. I want some way of being able to prove that there was a 72.00 overpayment.Please do whatever possible to get this collection agency to provide you with all of the necessary information you will need to help with getting the $72.00 I am requesting the business that the original complaint was filed against refund back to me.Respond back to me as soon as possible to let me know what you will be doing to get this collection agency to do their part in helping me receive the $72.00 refund I am requesting the business returns to me. Thank you.****** ******** ***** ******** ****** ** ************ *****************

Desired Settlement: I would like for this collection agency to provide you with all of the necessary information that you will need showing how much I actually paid the business that they acting on behalf of. I also want them to provide you the information showing how much was actually due at that time.Also, let me know if you feel that there is any additional information that I will need to provide you with as well. Thank you.

Business Response: RE #: ****** *****
To whom It may concern:

Enclosed please find a copy of a canceled check to Mr. ***** showing a complete
refund on this matter. See attached information.
Sincerely,
****** ******
Account Manager
RM

8/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a procedure done with my optometrist; however, he decided to balance bill me, which is ILLEGAL. I have documents from my insurance company indicating that this is NOT a debt that I owe, and I had already filed an appeal/grievance against the optometrist. The optometrist decided to pursue further action through the International Recovery Systems, and together, they are trying to bill me for something I DO NOT owe. My insurance company and I held a conference call with international recovery systems, and we tried to explain the situation to Mr. ******* *****. Not only did he refuse to listen, but he also started shouting derogatory comments at both myself and my insurance representative. I sent a certified mail with all the supporting documents to international recovery systems, yet they continue to incessantly harass and threaten me for a debt that DOES NOT EXIST. I have already consulted legal advice regarding this situation, and if they continue to harass me, I will definitely let my attorney know.

Desired Settlement: There is no valid debt according to the insurance company; therefore, I want this entire debt written off, and I no longer wish to be contacted by this practice.

Business Response: International Recovery Systems
P.O. Box: 15473
Irvine, CA 92623-5473
(800) 775-6177

August 19, 2014

Better Business Bureau of San Diego
4747 Viewridge Ave #200
San Diego, CA 92123

COMPLAINT#: *******1
RE: ****** **

Dear *******:

International Recovery Systems has the obligation to its client's to collect on past due balances for services provided. Enclosed please find an Explanation of benefits from
Anthem Blue Cross, which the Insurance that provided health coverage clearly Indicating a coinsurance responsibility In the amount of $762.12.

Also attached find a financial agreement signed and dated understanding full financial responsibility. Please note that there was a conversation once on 7/1/14 in which Ms. ** stated the only thing she owed was $20.00 per her insurance, we obtained documentation (attached) showing otherwise. The second conversation was on 8/7/14 in which Ms. ** stated having documents showing her financial responsibility was zero. A this time Ms. ** was very agitated and hung up.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Account Manager

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Based on our agreement with this company, they are supposed to inform us of any collections and send us a check for the amount they collect minus their 20% fee. However, they consistently fail to report their collections to us and never send "quarterly reports". When they finally do send the reports, they fail to indicate they they received any money. ****** ****** from International Recovery systems knows he owes us money for clients and failed to return my calls or send us any payments. They are dishonest and extremely antagonistic. This is not a A+ rated business by any standards

Desired Settlement: We would like them to send us the money they owe us for all collections even if the clients did not pay in full yet and then cancel all of our collections request.

Business Response:

Re: Case No.********

 

 

Dear ******* ********:

 

This letter is In response to the above complaint.

 

Grace Dental Imaging Center has assigned some accounts for collections in which ***** is our contact person.

 

There were two (2) accounts assigned to us for a past due balance (see Payment Report) *** ** *** and **** **** *** in which there was one Responsible Party for both accounts. In the process to collect both balances due, one of the accounts unbeknownst to International Recovery Systems was paid directly to the provider of services (Grace Dental Imaging Center). This action created a little confusion at the accounting end for our company. Ms. ***** contacts our office to find out status in both accounts and the findings were not clear.

 

It took sometime to figure out that the same person was paying In both accounts, paying the Dental Center In one hand and to International Recovery Systems on the other.

 

Once It was cleared, payment was sent Immediately to our client.  Please see copy of

Payment Report and Check (this check Is already cashed). Sincerely,

 

 

****** ****** Account Manager RM/vp


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

***** ** 

This statement is extremely distorted and inaccurate. They were completely aware of these accounts and were trying to charge the patient additional fees beyond what was submitted. This is typical practice for them as I have read other complaints and reviews against this company.  I provided this company with the detailed payment report that I received the final payment from the assigned account member on 1/16/2014. It wasn't until after many phone call attempts, arguments, and months later that I was able to get our money back. I wouldn't be surprised if you receive another complaint against this company in the future. I will no longer be working with ****** Dopeso, International Recovery Systems, and or its affiliates.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A man from this collection agency called me concerning a $60 medical bill. He called me three times in a row without leaving a message. When I finally answered he was extremely rude. He told me that I owe $110 and I told him that I had the copy of the paper bill that stated I owe $60 and he began screaming at me. He told me to shut my mouth and stop talking when I tried to explain that I could prove I did not owe that much. I asked to speak with someone else and he said no. I asked if he was allowed to speak to me the way that he was and he told me to shut up. He told me to put my big girl panties on, act like an adult, and pay my bills. I kept asking him to let me speak to his supervisor and he told me I didn't need to. He told me to shut my mouth at least twenty times during the phone call and made numerous rude comments about my character. When I said I didn't want to handle the bill with him, he said he wasn't going to put on my account that I refused to pay my bill which is not at all what I said or insinuated.I cannot believe that this is an acceptable way for any employee to behave, especially in order to collect $60. When I did speak to a supervisor he was apologetic but told me he wouldn't forward the recorded call to upper management unless I paid my bill that second. I understand this is a tactic used to get people to pay their past due bills but the larger issue was that I was being harassed by an employee of this company and was being bullied into paying a bill that I was already willing to pay.I am not sure how this should be resolved but harassment should not be a legal form of collecting a debt. I did absolutely nothing to instigate the vile behavior and I was completely cooperative in setting up a payment to resolve the debt.This business absolutely should take responsibility for its' employees actions.The name of the employee that I am complaining about is ******* *****.

Desired Settlement: no settlement

Business Response: This letter is addressing the complaint received on May 8th, 2014. Our office left a
message tor Ms. ******** giving her Information about the nature of the call (account#,
phone #, company name and the name of the person to be contacted). At the time Ms.
******** was reached she was Informed the reasons behind the phone call. She was
under the assumption that no balance was owed (please see attached statement from the
provider of services and her signature). Details of the date of services such as payments
from her insurance (bluecross), any adjustments and or credits was explained to her but
she still believed she had no outstanding balance.


At a certain point In the conversation she requested to speak to a supervisor and the
supervisor did the same as above. He explained to her what the balance was for and she
willingly gave her credit card Info to pay $60.00. This conversation was recorded and the
amount was applied to her account. International Recovery Systems apologized If there
was any misunderstanding.


Our customer service policy is reviewed every week on an individual basis with each
employee to make that professionalism and transparency is achieved with every contact
made.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact myself at 1-800-775-8177.


Sincerely,


****** ******
Account Manager



• Copy of placement form
• Copy of Itemized statement
• Copy of financial responsibility (signed & dated

5/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: International Recovery Systems has been less than professional. I have been disputing a charge from a dermatolist and they have been trying to collect. During this unresoved issue, Mr. ***** called and harrassed me stating that "he has had cancer burned off and he paid his bills". Really??? How unprofessional can a person be. Then, they have spelled my last name wrong at least 3 times as well as the city I reside in. I believe that if you are collecting a debt you need to read all the correspondence sent to you NOT continue to send letters of collection to the wrong name and wrong city! They are definately for the doctor's office and refuse to see my side of this dispute. I have contacted an attorney and he has lead me through this ordeal so far without putting his name out there. But if they continue to harrass me I will let my attorney know!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want this whole expenses wriiten off due to lack of consent to treat!!!!

Business Response: In regards to the file for ***** *****, for services provided by Placer Dermatology Skin
Center, Doctor ****** *****, on May 15, 2013, Is currently being sent back to their office
for medical verification.

Please note that no derogatory entry is make against her credit history and all collection
activity has stopped.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Account Manager
*****

4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** who is a representative of International Recovery Systems, was very erratic, rude, unprofessional, and extremely loud during a telephone conversation with me on March 11, 2014. However, **** may not be his true identity. I asked to speak to ****** who is the representative acting on behalf of Dixon & Assoc. Therapy in High Point, NC, according to the receptionist at Dixon & Assoc. I inquired why my son was billed for a past due balance since he is a dependent on his parents' insurance plan. Furthermore, I explained that billing should be submitted or resubmitted to the insurance companies for any additional payments that might be forthcoming. I told **** that my son was in high school when the services were provided, and he was not employed then or now. **** began to yell, and he yelled that the balances were on my credit report as well as my son's credit report. He further stated that they are on both of your credit reports, and that there is nothing that you can do about it. Moreover, I told **** that I had directed Dixon & Associates Therapy to bill me as the responsible party for any balance that remained after the insurance company had submitted payment for services. But, **** continued to yell, and act like a bully and a male chauvinist. He then told me to shut up repeatedly. I then responded and told him to shut up, and that he was acting very unprofessional. Finally, I told him that his behavior was unacceptable, and that I would be reporting his company to the "Better Business Bureau." I also told him to cease the telephone calls at my house from 8 am in the morning to 9 pm at night daily as well as leaving threatening messages on the answering machine. I told him that these actions constituted harassment, and it needed to stop. He continued to yell so loudly that I just ended the call. I feel that this incident substantiated a serious complaint as well as the unethical conduct of an employee who represents International Recovery Systems. I will not be treated maliciously by him.

Desired Settlement: I will no longer discuss the collection of the balances of the accounts with any representative of International Recovery Systems. Dixon & Assoc. Therapy can contact me directly to discuss repayment options.

Business Response: April 3, 2014



BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
4747 VIEWRIDGE AVE STE 200
SAN  DIEGO CA 92123-1688

Re: Complaint No. *******
 

This letter is in response to the above complaint.   Enclosed please find Explanation of Benefits for the insurances
that had paid on behalf of these two (2) accounts, showing clearly the financial responsibility from Ms. *******

The  billing department  of Dixon  &  Associates  Therapy has  not ever  heard  from Ms. ******* They have sent
her numerous Statements at no avail.

Mr. ******  (Ms. ********  son)  was of  age at the  time  of services, but  his past dueStatements were all sent to
his mother's address.


This was explained to Ms. ******, but she did not want to hear about.  At this time, both files are being sent back
to Dixon & Associates with the request that Ms. ****** will contact them to resolve this matter_ Their phone number
is ***** ******** and their address is: 2** ******** ***** **** ****** ** **********.

International Recovery Systems is not longer collecting on both accounts.

Sincerely,


****** ******
Account Manager
RM/vp



Note: Please find Mrs. ****** signature on the Financial Responsibility form.
 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on International Recovery Systems Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)