Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Targus Inc

Phone: (714) 765-5555 View Additional Phone Numbers 1211 N Miller St, Anaheim, CA 92806 http://www.targus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers phone and tablet cases.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Targus Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Targus Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 12/23/1987 in CA Business started locally: 12/23/1987 Business incorporated 12/23/1987 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael P Hoopis, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael P Hoopis, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Harry Sangha
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Computers - Supplies & Parts


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1211 N Miller St

    Anaheim, CA 92806 (714) 765-5555 (800) 283-6325 (877) 482-7487

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Targus ******* (it’s a two fan usb cooling pad for laptop) about month ago and one of the fan is now making loud noise. Return policy for the retail store was 14 days so I can’t take it back. I called Targus and they asked me to ship the item as my own expense. The manager **** ******** was rude and she told me she don’t care bottom line. I told her I only had it for a month. I asked for return label, she said no in rude tone. I offered to take a photo and cut the usb cable instead of shipping it back to verify that I am going to trash it. Most reputable companies have clients do that instead of mailing the product back to them. That way customer is not out more money than they put in to the product or waist customer money. She said no to that as well in rude tone. It’s very clear that Targus don’t train their manager to be nice to frustrating customer who called due to product broke after 1 month of use. Shame on you. I won’t be buying their products ever again and will also advise others not to buy their product again unless they make this right.

Desired Settlement: Ship me a replacement. If you want old product back provide return label or I can take a pic/cut the cable for proof.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear that this customer has had issues with their product.  We would be happy to replace it under warranty but we do require that the customer return the product at their expense.  The notes in our system from the call made to us on 2/19 indicate that the product was purchased some time in November of 2015.  If this is incorrect and the customer can provide a copy of a receipt showing it was purchased in January of 2016 we would be happy to make an exception and provide a return shipping label.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[First it took the business nearly a month to respond. No one from the company called me to apologize for the rude behavior of their manager over the phone. It doesn't matter when I bought the product. it has one year MFG warranty and return label should be provided within that time frame despite which one I got it. That doesn't make sense. I am not sending item that cost me $40 and its costing me $20 to ship it to you. That will be counter productive. I will be loosing more than I spend originally.  This product is trash and if you want it back then please provide a return label or  I can cut the USB cable which is the power cord and send you a picture for proof. Almost all MFG out their will take that as proof since its very costly for consumer to ship a product vs business who are under contact with postal services and it doesn't cost business more than a dollar or two to ship things out.  You guys are running a Scam business where product break after just few months and I will not be buying anything from you here on out and I will make sure my friends, family and others will do the same, Shame on you. ]

Regards,

**** ******



Business Response: Again, we're very sorry to hear that this customer has had an issue with a Targus product.  We are very happy to exchange any product that is under warranty.  Per our warranty policy, available at www.targus.com/us/warranty:

When submitting a warranty claim, we will require proof that the claim is valid. In this regard, we will always require that (i) you provide us with an original or copy of your sales receipt as proof of purchase and (ii) you return your product to us for warranty coverage verification.  You are responsible for shipping costs to Targus but there is no charge for the inspection or the return postage.  Targus is not liable for Products that are damaged or lost in transit to Targus. We recommend that you ship your returned Products to Targus via a trackable shipment method. You are responsible for customs fees, including, but not limited to, taxes, duties and brokerage.

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My coworkers purchased a Targus TCG 717 wheeled briefcase as a gift and the bag ripped at the bottom. The bag retails for over $115.00 and I am very unhappy with this bag.

Desired Settlement: I would like Targus to repair or replace this bag due as soon as time permits.

Business Response: We would be happy to assist.  Please contact our Customer Service Department at ************.

12/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Laptop Charger (******* (Serial No. **********) on or about January 28, 2015. After a few months, the charger stopped working. The issue is the power box. We contacted Targus online customer service and Mr. ******* *** opened the case, verified the compatibility and sent us a claim number to return the product on or about October 28, 2015. Nevertheless, Targus requires us to pay for the shipping of their defective product to their offices in California. We asked them to send us a pre-paid box to return the product, but the company stated that we will have to pay for it if we wanted a functional product to be sent to us, as part of their warranty. We should not pay for the shipping of their defective product.

Desired Settlement: We request that Targus takes care of the shipping costs to return their defective product and return a new/functional product to us.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear that this customer has had an issue with their Adapter.  Our warranty statement does explain that it is the responsibility of the customer to return the product.  Once received and processed a replacement will be shipped out at our expense.  I do apologize for any inconvenience.  Our warranty statement can be found at www.targus/com/us/warranty.

Consumer Response: In spite of the warranty, Targus has a responsibility to assure that its products do not fail withing 90 days.  The power cord failed within 90 days of purchase.  It is the position of this company that Targus should replace faulty products completely, to include taking responsibility for postage. This company cautions buyers who may find themselves having a choice between a Targus product and one of a competitor. 

Business Response: Per the original complaint, the product was purchased on January 28, 2015 and the customer contacted us on October, well over 90 days.

We are very sorry that this customer has had an issue with their Targus Adapter and we are happy to replace any defective product per our warranty policy.

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON MARCH 27, 2015 WE RETURNED A DEFECTIVE COMPUTER BLACK LAPTOP BAG TO YOU FOR REPLACEMENT. YOU NEVER RESPONDED. REPEATED FOLLOW UP LETTERS INCLUDING THE LAST ONE ON 9/9/2015 ALSO WENT UNANSWERED. WE HAVE PROOF YOU RECIEVED THE ITEM BECAUSE WE HAVE A DELIVERY CONFIRMATION TRACKING NUMBER FROM THE U.S. POSTMASTER #***************************.THIS BAG WAS DEFECTIVEFROM DAY ONE...

Desired Settlement: REPLACEMENT OR REFUND FOR ITEM PLUS POSTAGE TO RETURN IT.

Business Response: I am very sorry to hear of this issue.  Unfortunately we have no record of having set up a RA for you or receiving your defective case.  Please provide the RA number and the tracking number for the return so that we can investigate further.

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Targus refuses to replace two broken wireless computer mice products despite numerous entreaties (Incident: *************). I had provided photos and supporting documentation that shows Targus sells poor quality products that are prone to malfunction. In this case, three mice had failed in the span of a few years--one of which was sent directly from Targus themselves. I am prepared to send back the defective mice for replacement, however, their customer service is not helpful and I had even suggested replacement of one broken wireless mouse as a compromise to no avail. I will avoid Targus products and cannot recommend them to anyone. As previously indicated to Targus customer service, I am escalating to BBB and Targus CEO with complete transcript of communication.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of two broken wireless computer mice.

Business Response: We're very sorry to hear that this customer has had an issue with their Targus mouse.  When checking the incident that was referenced it appears that the mouse was sent to the customer in 2009.  Unfortunately, if this is the case, it would no longer be within the 1-year warranty and we would be unable to exchange it for them.  If a mouse was purchased within the past year we would be happy to honor the warranty on that product.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by Targus in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The defective mouse Targus describes was exchanged in 2009 but the other defective mouse was purchased within one year ago however the receipt is no longer available. My concern is also with the consistent inferior quality of Targus products. I am now drawing attention to this matter by lodging complaints to both BBB and will escalate to Targus CEO ******* P. ****** complete with email transcripts with customer service should Targus continue to refuse replacement of the two defective mice (photo attached) that I have offered to send back to the business.


Thank you,
*****

Business Response: The mice shown in the photo provided to us are models that were both discontinued over six years ago.  Per our warranty statement, we would require proof of purchase in order to be able to exchange the product.

7/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a laptop charger made by Targus. On the front of packaging it says, "Charge any laptop with just one charger" I compared the specs and it seemed to be acceptable, brought it home and opened it. None of the tips fit my computer. I called customer service, she gave me number for service, I ended up using the live chat feature. That woman ended up telling me that their charger doesn't work with any of the model of Samsung I have.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for this item, or given the correct tip (and not have to pay for shipping to pay for their mistake).

Business Response: I do apologize for the mistake.  In fact, your Samsung computer is compatible with tip G.  I am having one shipped to you right away.

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wireless keyboard akb35 stopped working after 5 weeks. All of my electronically products, cases and screen protectors are in excellent condition. I was told by the Targus rep once I received the FedEx warranty return package it would be 3 weeks before I would receive the replacement keyboard.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded.

Business Response: We're very sorry to hear that this customer has had an issue with their Targus product.  We would be happy to replace the product for them under warranty if they're unable to return it to the place of purchase.  As explained in our warranty policy, "When submitting a warranty claim, we will require proof that the claim is valid. In this regard, we will always require that (i) you provide us with an original or copy of your sales receipt as proof of purchase and (ii) you return your product to us for warranty coverage verification. You are responsible for shipping costs to Targus but there is no charge for the inspection or the return postage. Targus is not liable for Products that are damaged or lost in transit to Targus. We recommend that you ship your returned Products to Targus via a trackable shipment method. You are responsible for customs fees, including, but not limited to, taxes, duties and brokerage.

All products returned to Targus will be subject to review for authenticity. Products determined to be counterfeit will be confiscated and turned over to our legal department for action. Counterfeit cases will not be returned and consumers should seek restitution from their original place of purchase."

Once we recieve the defective product it typically takes 4-5 days to process and get the replacement product shipped out.  Products are shipped via FedEx ground. 

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chat Transcript 05/24/2013 09:08 AMHi, my name is ********. How may I help you?[myname]: I have an old targus groove. The main zipper is separating. How do I send it in to claim the lifetime warranty service?********: I would be more than happy to assist you. I apologize for any inconvenience.********: What is the model # on the case, please? This will be listed on a tag that is sewn into one of the main compartments.[myname]: ***************: Thank you. I would be happy to set up a warranty exchange for you. With the warranty exchange, we will send you a Return Authorization email. Once you receive this email, you would need to print it off. At the bottom of the email will be an address that you will need to ship the case and a copy of the email to. Once the warehouse receives the case, processing will begin. Processing can take up to 10 business days. After processing has been completed, we will ship a new case to you. I would just need some additional information to set this up for you.********: What is your physical shipping address, please?[myname]: [myphysicaladdress]********: Thank you. I would also need a contact phone number, please?[myname]: [myphone#]********: Thank you. I where and when did you purchase the case, please?[myname]: This was about 10 years ago so I'm afraid I don't remember. :(********: That is ok.Thank you. I will send you the RMA email within the next 20 minutes. Do you have any other questions at this time?[myname]: nope, that'll do it. Thanks much! :)********: Your welcome. Thanks for contacting Targus Live Chat. Have a good day.Subject: Where's my backpack?Date: Sat, 14 Sep 2013 14:43:19 +0500From: [myname]To: info@targus.comDear Targus,I sent in my backpack for repair/replacement about two months ago (incident number *************) and haven't heard a peep. I asked about it on the support site a few weeks ago (reference number *************) but to no avail. Could someone please respond?-- Thanks,[myname]

Desired Settlement: Please repair (under warranty) and return my model RG0315C backpack or else replace it with an equivalent such as the 16" Groove backpack.

Business Response: Unfortunately we have no record of having received their defective product.  If the customer could please provide tracking information showing that the defective product was received we'd be happy to send a replacement. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please find my dated, zip and USPS postal-coded shipping receipt for the backpack I sent to Targus per its RMA request attached to this message.

Regards,

***** *****


Business Response: Thank you very much for providing the shipping receipt.  Unfortunately this receipt does not seem to provide a tracking number.  Is there a tracking number available?  If not, my suggestion would be that you follow up with the shipper as we do not have any record of having received your package.  I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The shipping receipt included in my last message proves that in good will I sent Targus the backpack for warranty repair through the United States Postal Service which is itself more than 99% reliable. I would think that such a "100%" company would be able to acknowledge the 100% good will of its customer by its willingness to pick up 1% of the responsibility "tab" on an item that probably costs them less to produce than it would have cost the customer to RMA the defective item via tracked shipping, but perhaps I have overrated the company's dedication to customer care?

Regards,

***** *****



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Targus Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart