Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Skinit Inc

Phone: (858) 433-2580 Fax: (858) 433-2599 8969 Kenamar Dr #108, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.skinit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers personalization and decoration of personal electronics devices.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Skinit Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skinit Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Skinit Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2006 Business started: 06/30/2004 in CA Business incorporated 07/14/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric Phelps, Customer Service Mr. Bob King, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Phelps, Customer Service
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Mobile Telephone Equipment & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 8969 Kenamar Dr #108

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 433-2580

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a phone case with SkinIt online on Jan. 9, (order number **********). My credit card was charged $20.74 for the order. I was notified by email on Jan. 16 that my order had shipped. However, the product never arrived. The email told me they shipped the product with EPD, and they gave me a tracking number (********************) that didn't work anywhere I entered it. I emailed, submitted requests on their website, and called multiple times. But was never able to reach anybody with Skinit's customer service. It is now Feb. 2. I don't know where my order is, and I would like a refund for the product that never arrived.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the full amount of my order, since it never arrived.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer in regards to BBB complaint ID ********. Email below:

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in regards to your order. I wanted to let you know that I have issued a full refund to you as an accommodation, in addition to the product we reshipped on 2/4/15. The credit will post to your account within the next couple of business days.

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have. 

3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered what I thought was a cover for a diabetes pump for my granddaughter for Christmas. However when I received it, it was a phone cover instead. I must have ordered the wrong item obviously. It was also paid for when I ordered it. I have contacted the company on numerous occasions and twice now they have told me a check was in the mail, which I still have not received. It is not even about the money now. It is about , how many other people has this company ripped off? This is a very poor way to do business. Thank you, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate my money back.

Consumer Response:

From: <****************>
Date: Thu, Mar 5, 2015 at 3:45 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB
To: info@sandiego.bbb.org


This matter has been resolved.
Thank you

9/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sticker was faulty and they are not processing my refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer directly to resolve this complaint. See email correspondence below:

 

Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. At this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $32.65 and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 3-5 business days.

As an accommodation I would like to offer you a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “DISCOUNT CODES / PIN CODES” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Best Regards,

Skinit Customer Service 

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a cover for a laptop and I made two (2) calls to the company which their policy says to obtain an RMA # to return you item. I also sent an email via their website and no one has contact me regarding this issue. I would like to return the item before the company says that it's outside of their return dates.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to contact me ASAP with an RMA # so I can return the item before the return date passes. Thank you,

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly via email in regards to complaint ID *******. See response below. 

 

Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. At this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $26.99 and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 2 business days.

As an accommodation I would like to offer you a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for an iPad Mini case order number **********. I placed it almost a week ago and the production time frame said it would take 2-5 days for me to have it shipped. I checked the status of my order under order management, and it says that it was "in fulfillment". When I looked into their Q&A section, the "in fulfillment" was not even listed as a step in their process. So I did some investigation myself and came upon their sellers page on Ebay for the SAME EXACT product at which they listed as having 3 readily available for shipment and would be delivered by Tues. December 10th 2013, well before my order (which I placed a week ago) was said to be sent to me if I were to order it from Ebay. I have since cancelled my order and will not do business or refer business to them.

Desired Settlement: I want a hand written letter from the business owner stating why their information on their site is incorrect and advertises wrongly on others. Along with an apology.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******,
 
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to the order you initially placed. I am very sorry for the hassle and frustration we have caused you, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.
 
We are a print-on-demand company and all orders, including those from eBay, are subject to an estimated production time-frame of 2-5 business days. Unfortunately, there are rare situations that can delay the production of an order and cause it to fall outside of this time-frame.
 
I also want to apologize for any confusion we may have caused in regards to the product listing you saw on eBay. The available quantity specified for an item that we list on eBay does not represent a quantity of readily available inventory items that have already been produced. As a seller on eBay, we designate the available quantity that is allowed to be purchased on each item listing.
 
As an accommodation I will be sending you a free Detroit Lions iPad Mini LeNu Case along with a hand written apology letter. I would also like to provide you with a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.
 
Pin Code: ************ (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)
 
Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.
 
Best Regards,
 
**********
Manager, Customer Service
Skinit Acquisition LLC | www.skinit.com

6/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter placed an order from Skinit. She customized the order with a picture for my Surface computer. Order was placed on Thursday May 9 so that it would be delivered before Mother's Day. She paid next day shipping which is about $33.95 or so. The order history has been cleared from their website so I can't really tell you the exact amount. I spoke to a ******* the following week and I was told that I would be refunded my money. On May 25 there was a credit in my daughter's account for just the product and not the shipping. I called them back on 6/10 and told me that I would be getting an email telling me weather I would get credit for shipping or not. I told them that I had to pay shipping to ship the product back which totaled $6.09. My complaint is that their website is misleading when it comes to shipping charges.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for "next day" shipping charges. I will bypass the charges for sending it back to them.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly via email regarding complaint ID *******. See below:


Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you to rectify this matter. I have issued a refund in the amount of $33.84 for the shipping cost and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 2 business days. As an accommodation, I’d also like to provide you with a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a customized Lenu case (order no. **********, total cost $31.98) for my wife and the image on the case was pixelated and not clear at all. I uploaded an image that was 4 MB and within the image recommendations, so I was expecting a quality product as the examples on the website. I was sorely mistaken. On the same day we received the product, I sent a complaint on May 10, 2013 got a response on May 13th. I again emailed trying to figure out if this image could be made clearer and attached images I took of the of the case to show how poorly it turned out. The pictures I sent clearly demonstrated the poor quality of the product and asked for a full refund if it was not possible to get better quality. It has been 3 days since the last email and they have not responded. I was excited to get my wife a case with our newborn son's image on it for her first mother's day and it was a total disappointment and failure.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a better quality case if it is possible, but if not I would like a full refund of $31.98).

Business Response: Complaint ID ******* - I have responded to customer directly via email. See email below:

Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you. I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $31.98 and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 2 business days.

Unfortunately, we cannot produce a case with a higher quality printed image on it. However, I can have a custom skin produced using your image and then provide you with an iPhone 4/4S clear case that can be used in combination with it. The image printed on a skin will be photo quality and turn out much better than the case you received. These items will be free of charge and shipped out to you once the skin has been printed.

I would also like to provide you with a pin code that will allow you to order a free item from our website in the future should you choose to do so. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint for an order that was not received. Emailed customer service 3 times and my emails are being ignored and no response. I want a full refund for items I have not received. Very horrible Customer Service, especially if you cannot call the company directly. Tracking Number provides no details of item even leaving warehouseOrder # is: ********** 1/20/2013Total: $33.97

Desired Settlement: Would appreciate a full refund to my card that was used for purchase.

Business Response: I have contacted customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******. Please see email communication below:

Dear NAME REMOVED,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you. I see that a full refund has already been issued to you, but I also wanted to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation. The pin code can be redeemed on our website allowing you to order an item free of charge should you choose to do so. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a Laptop skin invoice # ********** 2/4/2013 $ 34.98 and I'm trying to get the RMA# to return the item because the size does not fit (generic 14in). I requested the RMA # on the company's website for more than a week now, at times I have send 3 and 4 messages a day to get someone to send me the number. I have already ordered another skin which is already charged to my AMEX account expecting to get a refund as stated on the website. To this day I have not received any response to the issue. I tried to email but the mail was rejected that the email address is only for outgoing email and incoming mail will not be read and the only way to contact the company is to fill out the customer contact form. There is no phone number to call and no matter how many times I fill out the customer contact form there is absolutely no reply to expect. I must have send at least 15 customer service request with no result. The second skin has never been shipped, I payed second day delivery because I'll be out of the country until July - no answer to that issue as well.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund for $ 47.76 this was the second skin ordered that was never shipped but charged to my AMEX account and a refund for $ 34.98 for the first skin which I will send back without the RMA number.Also I would like to have someone look into the fact that this company ignores their customer request form and NEVER replays to it and this is the only way to contact the company.

Business Response:

I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  Please see email communication below:

Dear NAME REMOVED,

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing to you for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your orders. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you. I have gone ahead and issued full refunds to you for orders ***XXXXXXX ($34.98) and ***XXXXXXX ($77.74) as an accommodation. You can expect to see the credits reflect upon your account very soon.

I see that order ***XXXXXXX ($47.76) was cancelled and I wanted to let you know that since this order never shipped out, your account should not have been charged. The charge seen on your account for this order was an authorization (holding of funds). Typically, an authorization will automatically drop off the account in a couple of business days, but this can vary depending on your financial institution.  If you still see the authorization holding on your account I would be more than happy to contact your bank and ask them to release the hold.

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to contact the company via email for weeks and have not gotten any response. I purchased a speaker with a pin code for a skin and it says the code is invalid.

Desired Settlement: I need an explanation to why the code is not working and/or a new code

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  See email communication below.

Dear NAME REMOVED,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced with us. I reviewed your account and saw that you were able to successfully place an order on 2/13/13, but I would still like to provide you with an additional pin code that can be used to order an alternate item free of charge from our website as an accommodation. The pin code can be redeemed at http://skinit.com

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 31, 2012, My daughter placed an order at skinit.com for two laptop skin covers and two iphone skins and two clear iphone cases, with custom designs. She entered her credit card information and the amount was automatically processed and a debit from skinit was deducted with two separate transaction amounts. My daughter continued checking the mail day after day for her order yet nothing came. I checked her order history at skinit.com and found that even though the amount was deducted from her credit card, the transaction was still pending at skinit but the transaction history was erased, showing no record of her order history but the credit card information and the total for purchase. Skinit.com took the money from my child's nfinanse visa but did not process her order and has ignored request after request on my part to resolve the situation. My child used her Christmas money to purchase these items. She is undergoing treatment now for ******** and I am furious that the customer service at skinit has taken my daughters money without fulfilling her order. I want a refund for her so she can have her Christmas money returned. Thank you so much for your time and attention to this matter. ****** ******

Desired Settlement: ******* wants her money returned. THe payment she rendered was on a nfinanse debit card. the money was deducted. I am not sure the money can be refunded on this type of card. I have contacted nfinanse and the balance on the card remains at 0.oo. I would like ******* to be refunded per check to our address at *** *** **** *** *** **** ** *****.

Consumer Response:

Thank you for your prompt attention.  My daughter is a minor and is 12 years old. 

 

****** ******* 

Business Response:

I have contacted the customer directly via email in regards to Complaint ID *******. See email communication below:

Dear NAMES REMOVED,  

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing to you both for the inconvenient circumstances that were encountered in regards to your orders.  Please know that I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you both have had with us.  At this time I am having a check in the amount of $XX.XX issued and made payable to NAME REMOVED.  The check will serve as a refund for the orders that were never processed or shipped out.  I have also personally gone ahead and reordered the products that were never received and as soon as they have been produced I will be sending them out with expedited shipping.

The refund check, as well as the items ordered will be sent to the following address:

NAME & ADDRESS REMOVED

I will be shipping the following products:

1 – Turtle Spotlight SKIN for Apple MacBook 13”

1 – Philippians 4:13 Pink SKIN for Lenovo ThinkPad X201 Tablet

1 – Custom Designed SKIN for Apple iPhone 4/4S

1 – Clear CASE for Apple iPhone 4/4S

As a further accommodation, I am providing you with a complimentary pin code.  The pin code can be redeemed at http://www.skinit.com/ and will allow you to order an item of your choice for free, should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our products and services.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Here is an update on ******* ******' complaint with skinit.com.  ******* has received part of her orders.  Skinit.com sent a message stating, that they would expedite her order and include a total refund but as of 2/20/2013, ******* has only received a partial order.  There has been no refund check.  They have also excluded her second order placed with the company.  I hope the case will remain open until they have met the terms in which they stated in their answer to our complaint.  Thank you for all of your help and excellence!         -****** ****** /******* ******

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

BELOW IS A COPY OF THE EMAIL RESPONSE I HAVE SENT TO THE CUSTOMER IN REGARDS TO COMPLAINT ID *******:

Hi NAME REMOVED,

I am contacting you today for a few different reasons. First, I want to express to you and NAME REMOVED how deeply sorry I am for the inconvenient and unpleasant experiences you both have endured in regards to this situation. Second, I want you to know that NAME REMOVED will be receiving a $100.00 pre-paid MasterCard gift card in the mail. The pre-paid MasterCard gift card was sent out yesterday via USPS Express Mail and should be delivered today. The pre-paid MasterCard gift card should be treated as cash and can be used wherever MasterCard is accepted. I had initially intended on sending a refund check to NAME REMOVED; however, given the circumstances regarding the method of payment that was originally used on the order attempts, I am providing reimbursement in the form of a pre-paid gift card. Altogether the 3 order attempts equaled a dollar amount of $99.95.

I also wanted to provide you with further details and explain the cause of this unfortunate situation. When a credit card or debit card is used to place an order on our website our merchant processor must verify certain billing information (street address, zip code, expiration date, security code, etc…) with the cardholder’s bank. This is done electronically within a few seconds of submitting an order. If the billing information that is entered does not match the information on file with the bank, the order attempt will be unsuccessful and it will not be processed. Situations can occur where a portion of the billing information that is entered is correct, but then other portions are incorrect. When this happens the bank may recognize that some of the billing information is correct and authorize (hold) the funds in the account, despite the fact that portions of the billing information did not match. However, even though the bank may authorize the funds, as a security measure we do not consider that a successful transaction and the attempted order will not be processed. Typically, when this situation occurs the bank will release the authorized (held) funds within a few business days because a successful order was never placed and we would not be collecting the money.

I have researched this with our merchant processor and it appears that this is what occurred when NAME REMOVED attempted to place her orders. Unfortunately, the nFinanse debit/gift cards that were used are a type of card that undergoes a different funds authorization approval process when making purchases and for some reason the transactions are not considered traditional authorizations (holds) that can be released at the request of the merchant. I also confirmed with our merchant processor that we never collected payment on the order attempts and this is why I could not have a refund check issued. I believe you do have the option of initiating a dispute with nFinanse to get the transactions reversed, but many times that can be a lengthy process and I felt that you should not have to wait any longer for a resolution and reimbursement.

I understand that you had also expressed concern regarding NAME REMOVED order history not being available for review in her account. Since the 3 order attempts were not successful they were not included in the order history. We only display successful orders that will be processed and shipped in a user’s account. Fortunately, I do have further visibility into user accounts and attempted orders. This is how I was able to send NAME REMOVED the specific items she had selected.

Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you and NAME REMOVED experienced and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The SkinIt for the Ativ PC is cut poorly - The flash and camera cutouts are not aligned, and the flash is the worst - It covers up 90% of the fash. I have emailed Skinit 3 times and they have ignored any requests from me on this issue. Its not just my Ativ PC either, my brother also ordered on the same day and his Ativ PC Skinit has the same issue on the Flash and Camera. (Different design as well, so its a factory issue, not a batch issue)

Desired Settlement: Since I took another SKIN off to replace it with the Skinit, I would like a correctly cut skinit - I have it on now and its looks aweful and the flash is useless.

Business Response: We are currently in direct contact with the customer and have been working to resolve the issues surrounding the order.  We will be providing the customer with new product to replace the defective items that were originally received. We have also issued the customer a full refund as an accommodation for the inconvenience they have experienced.  Please see the email below that was sent directly to the customer.

Dear NAME REMOVED,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I wanted to let you know that at this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $34.98 as an accommodation. It is my understanding that NAME REMOVED from our customer service department has been in contact with you and that she will be resolving the issues surrounding your order very soon. I also wanted to let you know that NAME REMOVED has been working to resolve the issues surrounding your brother’s order and that he has been fully refunded as an accommodation as well. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

They have been stellar with the service!   I know it took them over a week, but they are very responsive now and have helped a great deal!

1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered 3 hard cover skins for my droid bionic phone for $14.99 each and received all 3 but they are skickers to be stuck on phone which is no protection for my phone and the advertisement said nothing about stickers. I was ordering hard covers for my phone. Can't reach them. I want my money back. They do not fit my phone either even though they are stickers. I can't use them and want a full refund

Desired Settlement: 3 stickers sent at a total of $44.97 They don't fit my phone and I don't want stickers for my phone and demand my money back on my credit card. Nothing in the ad said these were stickers. Please help me

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  See email communication below.

Dear (NAME DELETED),

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your recent order.  I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  At this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $44.97 and I will not require you to send the skins back to us.  The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on a credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes around 2 business days to process and then post to the appropriate account.  You can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon.

Unfortunately, we do not have hard cases for your particular device, but we do have a variety of products on our website other than skins.  I would like to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation.  The pin code can be redeemed at http://www.skinit.com/ and will allow you to order a free item of your choice should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our products and services.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns. 

1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 12/20/12 for two items. I was informed the item would be shipped USPS within three days of order completion. I tracked the item and it was due to be delivered on 12/24/12. The item never arrived and I was informed the address was undeliverable. As it is snowing it was understandable. The issue arose when trying to have the product shipped to a new address. I emailed customer service with an updated address. I was told I would be contacted with 24 hrs. I never was. I contacted customer service be phone and waited over 15 mins on hold. The Agent was rude a less than informative. He indicated my product was being processed under the new address and I would receive a confirmation by the end of the business day. Once again I was disappointed and not contacted. I again emailed customer service requesting the item be shipped and once again I was disappointed. I feel that my business and satisfaction is a burden to this company. The sales and ordering process was smooth but customer service a giant joke for this company. A reasonable expectation of communication would have been appreciated.

Desired Settlement: I would like my product shipped immediately with all shipping charges refunded for my inconvenience. This was to be a Christmas present that never arrived!

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  See email below:

Dear (NAME DELETED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order.  While these types of situations are rare, unfortunately they can occur.  The tracking information for your order currently shows that it was delivered on 1/4/13, but please let me know if this is not correct.  See tracking information below.

Tracking# - (TRACKING DELETED)

Track at http://usps.com/

I see that a full refund in the amount of $79.70 has already been issued, but I also wanted to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation for this unpleasant experience.  The pin code can be redeemed on our website allowing you to order an item free of charge.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a premium for expedited shipping and have yet to receive my shipment. I have been told by the carrier that it will take two more days to receive my order. I placed my order early on the 26th and the order was not shipped with the carrier until late the 28th and shipping with the carrier did not start until the 29th. I think that if a business charges a premium for expedited shipping, that they should honor what the customer paid for and expedite the order and ship it in a timely manner. Shipping the order two days after the order has been placed is unacceptable. Based on when I placed the order and the shipping that was paid, I should have had the package no later than the 28th.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for the expedited shipping that was paid and not honored.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  Email communication below:

Dear (NAME DELETED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order.  While these types of situations are rare, unfortunately they can occur.  I see that a refund for the shipping cost has already been issued, but I also wanted to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation for this unpleasant experience.  The pin code can be redeemed on our website allowing you to order an item free of charge.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

12/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an account on this site looking to possibly purchase something for them and i put my credit card information and other info into the site to make the account for purchasing there items. but i never actually bought anything from them at all and i even check the order history and i have no order history at all. but for some odd reason i was charged twice on my card for 24.48 under the name "PURCHASE AUTHORIZATIONGWE INC DBA SKINIT CO" totaling $48.96. Which should be impossible as i didnt purchase anything from them. But on my account i do have my debit card information and it seems like they were trying to steal money out of my account which is just unforgivable. i want this problem solved immediately. i never would have thought a company would try to just steal money

Desired Settlement: i would like to have my money back into my bank account of course. and Possibly some sort of compensation such as a store credit as this prevents me from getting christmas gifts that for my family as this company has taken my money which i need now.

Business Response:

I have contacted the customer directly in regards to complaint ID *******.  Please see email below:

Dear NAME REMOVED,

I would like to start off by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenience you have experienced.  I am very sorry for the hassle and unpleasant circumstances you have encountered with us.  The charges on your account were authorizations (holding of funds) that occurred during an attempt to place an order.  Typically, authorizations will automatically drop off in a couple of business days, but this can vary depending on your financial institution.  If you still see these authorizations holding on your account I would be more than happy to contact your bank and ask them to release the holds.  As an accommodation I am providing you with a pin code that can be used to order a free item from our website.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns.

Pin code: XXXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

12/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advertisement that I saw on tv said "go to skinit.com for your free skin"...no code was given and when I called and got the code I found out it's a buy one get one free...but that is not what the advertisement said...

Desired Settlement: I should get a free skin without buying another one...their ad did not say or read buy one get one free..and i should not have to pay shipping and handling...

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly.  Please see email communication below:

Dear (Name Removed),

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  I am providing you with a pin code that will allow you to order a skin free of charge.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter code in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

10/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Skinit's TV offer page (https://www.skinit.com/pages/tv-offer) it stays, "Buy any item get a free phone skin." It also says, "Get a Free Phone Skin with any purchase. Use code*: TVSKINS." Under the asterisk it says, "* Limited time only. Cannot be combined with other offers. Excludes shipping." This is copied directly from their website. I added two phone skins to my cart and put the code in. When I did it said, "Sorry, this offer does not apply to your current order. Get a FREE Phone or MP3 Skin With a purchase of a large device skin." My problem is that nowhere on the offer page (not even in the details) does it say that you have to purchase a large device skin. It says twice that "any" purchase gets you a free phone skin. There is a discrepancy in what is being offered when you go to check out.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the offer page be updated to reflect the fact that you only get a free phone skin with a large device purchase (instead of any) so people will not be misled by the offer.

Business Response: In regards to Complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Email below:

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstance you have encountered while attempting to place an order.  The promotion you are referring to was broken as you suggested and the website issue was resolved last week.  We would be more than happy to provide you with 2 complimentary pin codes that will allow you to order 2 free skins from our website.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

Pin Codes: CODE REMOVED (Enter in “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is more than satisfactory to me.  The business has already performed this action and I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******