BBB Accredited Business since

Skinit Inc

Phone: (858) 433-2580 Fax: (858) 433-2599 8969 Kenamar Dr #108, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.skinit.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers personalization and decoration of personal electronics devices.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Skinit Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skinit Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Skinit Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 21, 2006 Business started: 06/30/2004 in CA Business incorporated: 07/14/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric Phelps, Customer Service Mr. Bob King, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Phelps, Customer Service
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Mobile Telephone Equipment & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 8969 Kenamar Dr #108

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 433-2580

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sticker was faulty and they are not processing my refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer directly to resolve this complaint. See email correspondence below:

 

Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. At this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $32.65 and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 3-5 business days.

As an accommodation I would like to offer you a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “DISCOUNT CODES / PIN CODES” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Best Regards,

Skinit Customer Service 

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a cover for a laptop and I made two (2) calls to the company which their policy says to obtain an RMA # to return you item. I also sent an email via their website and no one has contact me regarding this issue. I would like to return the item before the company says that it's outside of their return dates.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to contact me ASAP with an RMA # so I can return the item before the return date passes. Thank you,

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly via email in regards to complaint ID *******. See response below. 

 

Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. At this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $26.99 and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 2 business days.

As an accommodation I would like to offer you a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for an iPad Mini case order number **********. I placed it almost a week ago and the production time frame said it would take 2-5 days for me to have it shipped. I checked the status of my order under order management, and it says that it was "in fulfillment". When I looked into their Q&A section, the "in fulfillment" was not even listed as a step in their process. So I did some investigation myself and came upon their sellers page on Ebay for the SAME EXACT product at which they listed as having 3 readily available for shipment and would be delivered by Tues. December 10th 2013, well before my order (which I placed a week ago) was said to be sent to me if I were to order it from Ebay. I have since cancelled my order and will not do business or refer business to them.

Desired Settlement: I want a hand written letter from the business owner stating why their information on their site is incorrect and advertises wrongly on others. Along with an apology.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******,
 
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to the order you initially placed. I am very sorry for the hassle and frustration we have caused you, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.
 
We are a print-on-demand company and all orders, including those from eBay, are subject to an estimated production time-frame of 2-5 business days. Unfortunately, there are rare situations that can delay the production of an order and cause it to fall outside of this time-frame.
 
I also want to apologize for any confusion we may have caused in regards to the product listing you saw on eBay. The available quantity specified for an item that we list on eBay does not represent a quantity of readily available inventory items that have already been produced. As a seller on eBay, we designate the available quantity that is allowed to be purchased on each item listing.
 
As an accommodation I will be sending you a free Detroit Lions iPad Mini LeNu Case along with a hand written apology letter. I would also like to provide you with a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.
 
Pin Code: ************ (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)
 
Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.
 
Best Regards,
 
**********
Manager, Customer Service
Skinit Acquisition LLC | www.skinit.com

6/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter placed an order from Skinit. She customized the order with a picture for my Surface computer. Order was placed on Thursday May 9 so that it would be delivered before Mother's Day. She paid next day shipping which is about $33.95 or so. The order history has been cleared from their website so I can't really tell you the exact amount. I spoke to a ******* the following week and I was told that I would be refunded my money. On May 25 there was a credit in my daughter's account for just the product and not the shipping. I called them back on 6/10 and told me that I would be getting an email telling me weather I would get credit for shipping or not. I told them that I had to pay shipping to ship the product back which totaled $6.09. My complaint is that their website is misleading when it comes to shipping charges.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for "next day" shipping charges. I will bypass the charges for sending it back to them.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly via email regarding complaint ID *******. See below:


Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you to rectify this matter. I have issued a refund in the amount of $33.84 for the shipping cost and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 2 business days. As an accommodation, I’d also like to provide you with a pin code that can be used to order an alternate item from our website free of charge should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a customized Lenu case (order no. **********, total cost $31.98) for my wife and the image on the case was pixelated and not clear at all. I uploaded an image that was 4 MB and within the image recommendations, so I was expecting a quality product as the examples on the website. I was sorely mistaken. On the same day we received the product, I sent a complaint on May 10, 2013 got a response on May 13th. I again emailed trying to figure out if this image could be made clearer and attached images I took of the of the case to show how poorly it turned out. The pictures I sent clearly demonstrated the poor quality of the product and asked for a full refund if it was not possible to get better quality. It has been 3 days since the last email and they have not responded. I was excited to get my wife a case with our newborn son's image on it for her first mother's day and it was a total disappointment and failure.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a better quality case if it is possible, but if not I would like a full refund of $31.98).

Business Response: Complaint ID ******* - I have responded to customer directly via email. See email below:

Dear (NAME REMOVED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you. I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $31.98 and you can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon. The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on your credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes no more than 2 business days.

Unfortunately, we cannot produce a case with a higher quality printed image on it. However, I can have a custom skin produced using your image and then provide you with an iPhone 4/4S clear case that can be used in combination with it. The image printed on a skin will be photo quality and turn out much better than the case you received. These items will be free of charge and shipped out to you once the skin has been printed.

I would also like to provide you with a pin code that will allow you to order a free item from our website in the future should you choose to do so. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint for an order that was not received. Emailed customer service 3 times and my emails are being ignored and no response. I want a full refund for items I have not received. Very horrible Customer Service, especially if you cannot call the company directly. Tracking Number provides no details of item even leaving warehouseOrder # is: ********** 1/20/2013Total: $33.97

Desired Settlement: Would appreciate a full refund to my card that was used for purchase.

Business Response: I have contacted customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******. Please see email communication below:

Dear NAME REMOVED,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you. I see that a full refund has already been issued to you, but I also wanted to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation. The pin code can be redeemed on our website allowing you to order an item free of charge should you choose to do so. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated. Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a Laptop skin invoice # ********** 2/4/2013 $ 34.98 and I'm trying to get the RMA# to return the item because the size does not fit (generic 14in). I requested the RMA # on the company's website for more than a week now, at times I have send 3 and 4 messages a day to get someone to send me the number. I have already ordered another skin which is already charged to my AMEX account expecting to get a refund as stated on the website. To this day I have not received any response to the issue. I tried to email but the mail was rejected that the email address is only for outgoing email and incoming mail will not be read and the only way to contact the company is to fill out the customer contact form. There is no phone number to call and no matter how many times I fill out the customer contact form there is absolutely no reply to expect. I must have send at least 15 customer service request with no result. The second skin has never been shipped, I payed second day delivery because I'll be out of the country until July - no answer to that issue as well.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund for $ 47.76 this was the second skin ordered that was never shipped but charged to my AMEX account and a refund for $ 34.98 for the first skin which I will send back without the RMA number.Also I would like to have someone look into the fact that this company ignores their customer request form and NEVER replays to it and this is the only way to contact the company.

Business Response:

I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  Please see email communication below:

Dear NAME REMOVED,

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing to you for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your orders. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us as well as the delay in contacting you. I have gone ahead and issued full refunds to you for orders ***XXXXXXX ($34.98) and ***XXXXXXX ($77.74) as an accommodation. You can expect to see the credits reflect upon your account very soon.

I see that order ***XXXXXXX ($47.76) was cancelled and I wanted to let you know that since this order never shipped out, your account should not have been charged. The charge seen on your account for this order was an authorization (holding of funds). Typically, an authorization will automatically drop off the account in a couple of business days, but this can vary depending on your financial institution.  If you still see the authorization holding on your account I would be more than happy to contact your bank and ask them to release the hold.

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to contact the company via email for weeks and have not gotten any response. I purchased a speaker with a pin code for a skin and it says the code is invalid.

Desired Settlement: I need an explanation to why the code is not working and/or a new code

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  See email communication below.

Dear NAME REMOVED,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced with us. I reviewed your account and saw that you were able to successfully place an order on 2/13/13, but I would still like to provide you with an additional pin code that can be used to order an alternate item free of charge from our website as an accommodation. The pin code can be redeemed at http://skinit.com

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 31, 2012, My daughter placed an order at skinit.com for two laptop skin covers and two iphone skins and two clear iphone cases, with custom designs. She entered her credit card information and the amount was automatically processed and a debit from skinit was deducted with two separate transaction amounts. My daughter continued checking the mail day after day for her order yet nothing came. I checked her order history at skinit.com and found that even though the amount was deducted from her credit card, the transaction was still pending at skinit but the transaction history was erased, showing no record of her order history but the credit card information and the total for purchase. Skinit.com took the money from my child's nfinanse visa but did not process her order and has ignored request after request on my part to resolve the situation. My child used her Christmas money to purchase these items. She is undergoing treatment now for ******** and I am furious that the customer service at skinit has taken my daughters money without fulfilling her order. I want a refund for her so she can have her Christmas money returned. Thank you so much for your time and attention to this matter. ****** ******

Desired Settlement: ******* wants her money returned. THe payment she rendered was on a nfinanse debit card. the money was deducted. I am not sure the money can be refunded on this type of card. I have contacted nfinanse and the balance on the card remains at 0.oo. I would like ******* to be refunded per check to our address at *** *** **** *** *** **** ** *****.

Consumer Response:

Thank you for your prompt attention.  My daughter is a minor and is 12 years old. 

 

****** ******* 

Business Response:

I have contacted the customer directly via email in regards to Complaint ID *******. See email communication below:

Dear NAMES REMOVED,  

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing to you both for the inconvenient circumstances that were encountered in regards to your orders.  Please know that I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you both have had with us.  At this time I am having a check in the amount of $XX.XX issued and made payable to NAME REMOVED.  The check will serve as a refund for the orders that were never processed or shipped out.  I have also personally gone ahead and reordered the products that were never received and as soon as they have been produced I will be sending them out with expedited shipping.

The refund check, as well as the items ordered will be sent to the following address:

NAME & ADDRESS REMOVED

I will be shipping the following products:

1 – Turtle Spotlight SKIN for Apple MacBook 13”

1 – Philippians 4:13 Pink SKIN for Lenovo ThinkPad X201 Tablet

1 – Custom Designed SKIN for Apple iPhone 4/4S

1 – Clear CASE for Apple iPhone 4/4S

As a further accommodation, I am providing you with a complimentary pin code.  The pin code can be redeemed at http://www.skinit.com/ and will allow you to order an item of your choice for free, should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our products and services.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Here is an update on ******* ******' complaint with skinit.com.  ******* has received part of her orders.  Skinit.com sent a message stating, that they would expedite her order and include a total refund but as of 2/20/2013, ******* has only received a partial order.  There has been no refund check.  They have also excluded her second order placed with the company.  I hope the case will remain open until they have met the terms in which they stated in their answer to our complaint.  Thank you for all of your help and excellence!         -****** ****** /******* ******

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

BELOW IS A COPY OF THE EMAIL RESPONSE I HAVE SENT TO THE CUSTOMER IN REGARDS TO COMPLAINT ID *******:

Hi NAME REMOVED,

I am contacting you today for a few different reasons. First, I want to express to you and NAME REMOVED how deeply sorry I am for the inconvenient and unpleasant experiences you both have endured in regards to this situation. Second, I want you to know that NAME REMOVED will be receiving a $100.00 pre-paid MasterCard gift card in the mail. The pre-paid MasterCard gift card was sent out yesterday via USPS Express Mail and should be delivered today. The pre-paid MasterCard gift card should be treated as cash and can be used wherever MasterCard is accepted. I had initially intended on sending a refund check to NAME REMOVED; however, given the circumstances regarding the method of payment that was originally used on the order attempts, I am providing reimbursement in the form of a pre-paid gift card. Altogether the 3 order attempts equaled a dollar amount of $99.95.

I also wanted to provide you with further details and explain the cause of this unfortunate situation. When a credit card or debit card is used to place an order on our website our merchant processor must verify certain billing information (street address, zip code, expiration date, security code, etc…) with the cardholder’s bank. This is done electronically within a few seconds of submitting an order. If the billing information that is entered does not match the information on file with the bank, the order attempt will be unsuccessful and it will not be processed. Situations can occur where a portion of the billing information that is entered is correct, but then other portions are incorrect. When this happens the bank may recognize that some of the billing information is correct and authorize (hold) the funds in the account, despite the fact that portions of the billing information did not match. However, even though the bank may authorize the funds, as a security measure we do not consider that a successful transaction and the attempted order will not be processed. Typically, when this situation occurs the bank will release the authorized (held) funds within a few business days because a successful order was never placed and we would not be collecting the money.

I have researched this with our merchant processor and it appears that this is what occurred when NAME REMOVED attempted to place her orders. Unfortunately, the nFinanse debit/gift cards that were used are a type of card that undergoes a different funds authorization approval process when making purchases and for some reason the transactions are not considered traditional authorizations (holds) that can be released at the request of the merchant. I also confirmed with our merchant processor that we never collected payment on the order attempts and this is why I could not have a refund check issued. I believe you do have the option of initiating a dispute with nFinanse to get the transactions reversed, but many times that can be a lengthy process and I felt that you should not have to wait any longer for a resolution and reimbursement.

I understand that you had also expressed concern regarding NAME REMOVED order history not being available for review in her account. Since the 3 order attempts were not successful they were not included in the order history. We only display successful orders that will be processed and shipped in a user’s account. Fortunately, I do have further visibility into user accounts and attempted orders. This is how I was able to send NAME REMOVED the specific items she had selected.

Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you and NAME REMOVED experienced and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The SkinIt for the Ativ PC is cut poorly - The flash and camera cutouts are not aligned, and the flash is the worst - It covers up 90% of the fash. I have emailed Skinit 3 times and they have ignored any requests from me on this issue. Its not just my Ativ PC either, my brother also ordered on the same day and his Ativ PC Skinit has the same issue on the Flash and Camera. (Different design as well, so its a factory issue, not a batch issue)

Desired Settlement: Since I took another SKIN off to replace it with the Skinit, I would like a correctly cut skinit - I have it on now and its looks aweful and the flash is useless.

Business Response: We are currently in direct contact with the customer and have been working to resolve the issues surrounding the order.  We will be providing the customer with new product to replace the defective items that were originally received. We have also issued the customer a full refund as an accommodation for the inconvenience they have experienced.  Please see the email below that was sent directly to the customer.

Dear NAME REMOVED,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order. I wanted to let you know that at this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $34.98 as an accommodation. It is my understanding that NAME REMOVED from our customer service department has been in contact with you and that she will be resolving the issues surrounding your order very soon. I also wanted to let you know that NAME REMOVED has been working to resolve the issues surrounding your brother’s order and that he has been fully refunded as an accommodation as well. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

They have been stellar with the service!   I know it took them over a week, but they are very responsive now and have helped a great deal!

1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered 3 hard cover skins for my droid bionic phone for $14.99 each and received all 3 but they are skickers to be stuck on phone which is no protection for my phone and the advertisement said nothing about stickers. I was ordering hard covers for my phone. Can't reach them. I want my money back. They do not fit my phone either even though they are stickers. I can't use them and want a full refund

Desired Settlement: 3 stickers sent at a total of $44.97 They don't fit my phone and I don't want stickers for my phone and demand my money back on my credit card. Nothing in the ad said these were stickers. Please help me

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  See email communication below.

Dear (NAME DELETED),

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your recent order.  I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  At this time I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $44.97 and I will not require you to send the skins back to us.  The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on a credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes around 2 business days to process and then post to the appropriate account.  You can expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon.

Unfortunately, we do not have hard cases for your particular device, but we do have a variety of products on our website other than skins.  I would like to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation.  The pin code can be redeemed at http://www.skinit.com/ and will allow you to order a free item of your choice should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our products and services.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns. 

1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 12/20/12 for two items. I was informed the item would be shipped USPS within three days of order completion. I tracked the item and it was due to be delivered on 12/24/12. The item never arrived and I was informed the address was undeliverable. As it is snowing it was understandable. The issue arose when trying to have the product shipped to a new address. I emailed customer service with an updated address. I was told I would be contacted with 24 hrs. I never was. I contacted customer service be phone and waited over 15 mins on hold. The Agent was rude a less than informative. He indicated my product was being processed under the new address and I would receive a confirmation by the end of the business day. Once again I was disappointed and not contacted. I again emailed customer service requesting the item be shipped and once again I was disappointed. I feel that my business and satisfaction is a burden to this company. The sales and ordering process was smooth but customer service a giant joke for this company. A reasonable expectation of communication would have been appreciated.

Desired Settlement: I would like my product shipped immediately with all shipping charges refunded for my inconvenience. This was to be a Christmas present that never arrived!

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  See email below:

Dear (NAME DELETED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order.  While these types of situations are rare, unfortunately they can occur.  The tracking information for your order currently shows that it was delivered on 1/4/13, but please let me know if this is not correct.  See tracking information below.

Tracking# - (TRACKING DELETED)

Track at http://usps.com/

I see that a full refund in the amount of $79.70 has already been issued, but I also wanted to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation for this unpleasant experience.  The pin code can be redeemed on our website allowing you to order an item free of charge.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a premium for expedited shipping and have yet to receive my shipment. I have been told by the carrier that it will take two more days to receive my order. I placed my order early on the 26th and the order was not shipped with the carrier until late the 28th and shipping with the carrier did not start until the 29th. I think that if a business charges a premium for expedited shipping, that they should honor what the customer paid for and expedite the order and ship it in a timely manner. Shipping the order two days after the order has been placed is unacceptable. Based on when I placed the order and the shipping that was paid, I should have had the package no later than the 28th.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for the expedited shipping that was paid and not honored.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly in regards to Complaint ID *******.  Email communication below:

Dear (NAME DELETED),

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the hassle and frustration you have experienced in regards to your order.  While these types of situations are rare, unfortunately they can occur.  I see that a refund for the shipping cost has already been issued, but I also wanted to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation for this unpleasant experience.  The pin code can be redeemed on our website allowing you to order an item free of charge.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and your feedback regarding our products and services is greatly appreciated.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/coupon code” box during checkout)

12/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an account on this site looking to possibly purchase something for them and i put my credit card information and other info into the site to make the account for purchasing there items. but i never actually bought anything from them at all and i even check the order history and i have no order history at all. but for some odd reason i was charged twice on my card for 24.48 under the name "PURCHASE AUTHORIZATIONGWE INC DBA SKINIT CO" totaling $48.96. Which should be impossible as i didnt purchase anything from them. But on my account i do have my debit card information and it seems like they were trying to steal money out of my account which is just unforgivable. i want this problem solved immediately. i never would have thought a company would try to just steal money

Desired Settlement: i would like to have my money back into my bank account of course. and Possibly some sort of compensation such as a store credit as this prevents me from getting christmas gifts that for my family as this company has taken my money which i need now.

Business Response:

I have contacted the customer directly in regards to complaint ID *******.  Please see email below:

Dear NAME REMOVED,

I would like to start off by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenience you have experienced.  I am very sorry for the hassle and unpleasant circumstances you have encountered with us.  The charges on your account were authorizations (holding of funds) that occurred during an attempt to place an order.  Typically, authorizations will automatically drop off in a couple of business days, but this can vary depending on your financial institution.  If you still see these authorizations holding on your account I would be more than happy to contact your bank and ask them to release the holds.  As an accommodation I am providing you with a pin code that can be used to order a free item from our website.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns.

Pin code: XXXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter in “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

12/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advertisement that I saw on tv said "go to skinit.com for your free skin"...no code was given and when I called and got the code I found out it's a buy one get one free...but that is not what the advertisement said...

Desired Settlement: I should get a free skin without buying another one...their ad did not say or read buy one get one free..and i should not have to pay shipping and handling...

Business Response: I have contacted the customer directly.  Please see email communication below:

Dear (Name Removed),

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  I am providing you with a pin code that will allow you to order a skin free of charge.

Pin Code: XXXXXXXXXXXXX (Enter code in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

10/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Skinit's TV offer page (https://www.skinit.com/pages/tv-offer) it stays, "Buy any item get a free phone skin." It also says, "Get a Free Phone Skin with any purchase. Use code*: TVSKINS." Under the asterisk it says, "* Limited time only. Cannot be combined with other offers. Excludes shipping." This is copied directly from their website. I added two phone skins to my cart and put the code in. When I did it said, "Sorry, this offer does not apply to your current order. Get a FREE Phone or MP3 Skin With a purchase of a large device skin." My problem is that nowhere on the offer page (not even in the details) does it say that you have to purchase a large device skin. It says twice that "any" purchase gets you a free phone skin. There is a discrepancy in what is being offered when you go to check out.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the offer page be updated to reflect the fact that you only get a free phone skin with a large device purchase (instead of any) so people will not be misled by the offer.

Business Response: In regards to Complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Email below:

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstance you have encountered while attempting to place an order.  The promotion you are referring to was broken as you suggested and the website issue was resolved last week.  We would be more than happy to provide you with 2 complimentary pin codes that will allow you to order 2 free skins from our website.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

Pin Codes: CODE REMOVED (Enter in “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is more than satisfactory to me.  The business has already performed this action and I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

 

9/14/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I still have not received my product. They said 7-10 business days and it's been 14 business days.

Desired Settlement: My $23.95 back!

Business Response: In regards to Complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Email below:

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your order.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  A full refund in the amount of $22.98 was issued to you on 8/30/12.  The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on a credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes around 2 business days for them to process a refund and then get it posted to the appropriate account.  You should expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon if not already.  To further accommodate you I would like to provide you with a pin code that will allow you to order a free item from our website in the future should you choose to do so.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

Pin code: CODE REMOVED (Enter in “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)


9/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a laptop skin on August 10th never got the item. Talked with customer service on August 17th and they said they were replacing order next day shipping. Never got the order and just called customer service on August 27th and they say they wil;l get back to me in 24 to 48 hours with more information. I was told the same on the 17th and never heard anything. I paid through PayPal. The order # was *xxx-xx-xxxx

Desired Settlement: I would like what I paid for or a complete refund

Business Response: In regards to complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Email below:

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your order.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  A full refund in the amount of $25.98 has been issued to your PayPal account and I can confirm that the correct skin for your laptop model will be expedited to you with full tracking very soon.  To further accommodate you I would like to provide you with a pin code that will allow you to order a free item from our website in the future should you choose to do so.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

Pin code: CODE REMOVED (Enter in “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ***** 

8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased what I thought was protective Harley Davidson cases for my cell phone. Each one cost $14.99. When I received them I was confused and upset to find Harley Davidson stickers to put on my cell phone, not cases. On the web site it states 100% satisfaction gauranteed. Of course you have to jump through hoops to find out how to do this. You need to click on a link and fill out information to send to them and wait for them to send you an RMA # before you can return the merchandise for a refund. Unfortunately I have made several attempts to do this and I am unable to get that far because this page requires you to enter a "password" of some sort which isn't there. I have called and been unsuccessful at reaching anyone. I want my money back! I don't want stickers!

Desired Settlement: I want my money back! I don't want stickers!

Business Response: In regards to complaint ID *******, I have personally contacted the customer via email.  See below.

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your recent order.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us. I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $32.97.  The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on a credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes around 2 business days for them to process a refund and then get it posted to the appropriate account.  You should expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions or concerns. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******* 

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is based on product quality, false advertisement, and refund/return issues. When I bought a skin for a laptop computer, just by the words "skin" you would automatically assume it is a cover like a protective cover that people put on their laptop to protect it. Well when I received it, it is only a sticker that sticks on your computer. I would have not paid $ 39.98 for a sticker if I had known this. In the description of the product that they have on their web site it states; "Skinit device skins are the easy way to protect your electronics and personalize them at the same time by using a thin protective "skin" applied directly to the surface of your device.""Each skin is made from a flexible, super-strong, vinyl material from Premium Quality that has been specially crafted to perfectly fit every corner, cutout and curve of your device - providing the ultimate in custom lightweight protection from everyday bumps, scuffs and scratches.""And best of all, when you're ready to change up your style it's easy, simply pull off your old skin and replace with a new one, no mess, no residue. The quality of this product was awful because the pictures I put on are very blurry and not well made. I know it isn't my pictures I used, because I used the same ones at another company and they turned out great on the items I bought. Which was at www.snapfish.com When I received the product I immediately called skin it and they said that I would have to pay for the shipping to return the product back to them. What a waste of money."Well if I wanted to put a giant picture made of thin paper, I would have made a giant sized photo and put glue on the back of it and stuck it on myself for a lot cheaper price. They say the material is flexible almost like a felt or leather cover that many people put on their technical gadgets. Well it isn't it is as thin as clear tape and it is not something that will protect devices. This is False Advertisement! A Huge Waste of Money!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the entire purchase/including the shipping costs. Which would be the cost of the item: $ 34.99 + shipping $ 4.99 and what ever the cost of the return shipping fee.

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Below is my email. Thanks!

Dear NAME REMOVED,

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your recent order.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  I have issued a full refund to you in the amount of $39.98 and we will not require you to send the skin back to us.  The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on a credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes around 2 business days for them to process a refund and then get it posted to the appropriate account.  You should expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon.

We have a variety of products on our website other than skins so I would like to offer you a complimentary pin code as an accommodation.  The pin code can be redeemed at http://www.skinit.com/ and will allow you to order a free item of your choice should you choose to do so.

Pin Code: CODE REMOVED (Enter in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

5/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two items from their website, www.skinit.com, and used my ****** ****** coupon worth $30. I entered the coupon code and a message stated the coupon was accepted. When I checked out, I thought the coupon amount would be used to subtract from the total amount, it didn't. My credit card was charged the full amount, $27.97. I immediately sent an email via their website and also called customer support. ***, cs rep, told me that another department handles the billing side and that I should receive a response within 48 hours. This occurred on 4/12/2012. On April 21st, I hadn't heard from anyone. I went to their site again and sent another email and called their 866 number and left a message requesting a credit to my credit card. Also, I replied to their email that was sent on April 12th hoping to have a response.Today, is April 25, 2012 and I still haven't heard from anyone. Just called customer service and *** is checking the status. She told me no to worry it is being taken care of and should be resolved soon. She can't give a date.Well, according to their website and the email I received back on 4/12, someone was suppose to contact me within 24-48 business hours. That hasn't happened.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit card credited for the amount of my purchase, $27.97. My ****** ****** coupon is worth $30 and they can KEEP the $2.03.

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Below is my email. Thanks!

Dear **** *******,

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your recent order.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  I completely understand your frustration regarding this matter and I want to do everything in my power to make it right. 

After reviewing your order and the transaction associated with it that took place on 4/12/12, I found that the funds were never actually debited from your account due to a processing error that occurred when we tried to collect the payment.  An authorization (hold of funds) in the amount of $27.97 was put on your card and this hold should have been released within 5-7 business days after 4/12/12.  If you would like to provide me with your financial institution’s contact information I can confirm this with them.  Your account should not have been charged, but we will gladly provide you with a full refund if we find that it was.   

I have also personally contacted ************ to request that you are issued a $15.00 refund for the coupon you purchased on 11/5/11.  I will be contacting you as soon as I hear back from ************ regarding the refund request.

I understand that you were issued a complimentary pin code for a free small device skin, but I would like to accommodate you further and provide you with a couple of pin codes that are each valid for any item on the website.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback as it is our goal to provide first in class service.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns. 

Pin Code: CODE REMOVED (Enter code in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Pin Code: CODE REMOVED (Enter code in the “apply pin/ coupon code” box during checkout)

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********

4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to check on my delivery and the customer service was rude and couldn't tell me anything said he couldn't find an order, but it said on my web page that my order was paid in full. I haven't got my order yet I am very diss satisfied. If your going to take my money then I need to have my order

Desired Settlement: If I don't get my order in good condition i want my money back

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID *******, I have contacted the customer directly.  Below is my email. Thanks!

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconvenient circumstances you have encountered in regards to your recent order.  I am very sorry for the delayed response, as well as the unpleasant experience you have had with us.  Your order was shipped on 03/26/12 and the estimated delivery time frame is 7-10 business days.  Please let me know if you have not received your order yet and I will get a reprint sent out.  I have gone ahead and issued a full refund to you as an accommodation.  The refund processing timeframe can vary slightly depending on a credit card’s issuing bank, but it usually takes around 2 business days for them to process a refund and then get it posted to the appropriate account.  You should expect to see the credit reflect upon your account very soon.  Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we greatly appreciate your feedback.  Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further questions or concerns. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

As of today 4-10-12 I have not got my order.

Regards,

******* *****