BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

America's Finest Carpet Co

Additional Locations

Phone: (619) 262-8040 Fax: (619) 827-0213 730 Design Ct #401, Chula Vista, CA 91911 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.americasfinestcarpet.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers carpet sales and cleaning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that America's Finest Carpet Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for America's Finest Carpet Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on America's Finest Carpet Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 1996 Business started: 09/01/1988 in CA Business incorporated: 07/15/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The license number is 665605.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carlos Ledesma, President Mr. Brian Bronson, Retail-Operations Manager/Complaint Handler Ms. Veronica Mendoza, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carlos Ledesma, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Veronica Mendoza, General Manager
Number of Employees

135

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Coverings & Installation Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Window Coverings Carpet & Rug Cleaners Hardwood Floor Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Home Carpet Investment Inc
Industry Tips
Contractors Window Treatment Tax Credit

Additional Locations

  • 1144 Los Vallecitos Blvd #E

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 512-2420

  • 3927 Convoy St #B

    San Diego, CA 92111 (800) 888-1568 (858) 541-2420

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40705 Winchester Rd

    Temecula, CA 92591

  • 45 N 4th Ave #B

    Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 427-2420

  • 730 Design Ct #401

    Chula Vista, CA 91911 (619) 262-8040

  • 7475 Clairemont Mesa Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92111

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ad I responded to stated "re-carpet entire home for $1500, up to 100 sq.ft. installed, with four type carpet listed, and stated only "see store for details" as disclaimer. Ad misleading, at stoe told all his did not include stair costs, and manager John ****** showed me full newspaper ad listing that, but avoided looking at my newspaper ad copy. Still discussing this, ****** measured carpet at my home to be 1104 sq. ft. required, although actual area was only 675 sq. ft. I fully know and understand that more (20-30%) is required due to laying carpet with minimal seams, but other carpet estimators all were within low to high 800 sq. ft. Call to ******, before ad deadline was not returned. Several calls to one ***** ******* (************, supposedly the corporate employee I was to contact to resolve this matter, and he returned call days later. Excused the ad as "legal" with the "see store for details" as a disclaimer; then claimed "fewer seams" might be reason for high square footage estimate, and promised to have another company estimator re-examine ******'s computations and would call me back. A week later, still have not heard from *******, ******, or anyone else. This particular ad "may be legal," but very misleading and the following sales pitches to get a sale were bogus, misleading, and ignored our questions. We will go elsewhere and I rate this company as very poor, to edge of legality (I am a retired lawman, have worked fraud cases in my 37 years of experience)..

Desired Settlement: Fill disclaimers in all their advertisements, not using confusing and/or misleading information. and an apology for what is obviously an attempt to cheat me based on excessive ovrage of carpet measurement required.

Business Response:

I fully understand Mr. ******’s complaint and have addressed his issues with him. I will again address them here:

·         The promotion is to re-carpet your home up to 1000 (not 100) sgft for $1500. There is a very clear disclaimer that there may be additional labor required on all of our installation prices, ie moving of furniture and installation of stairs.

·         Our ads are all very clear and consistent, this is a promotion that we have been running at various times throughout the year for the past couple of years and have had many satisfied customers with this special.

·         Mrs. ****** was very confused on the advertisements she brought into the store and that she saw on TV; she claimed that our store was running a promotion of 50% on carpet for the entire home and demanded that we honor that – this is a promotion for a competitor. All of our current advertisements are available on our website and an archive is kept and available to the public on youtube.

·         Carpet is not installed or sold based on raw square footage; it is a product with fixed widths and directional nap and tufts. Many companies cut costs by “turning” the carpet and placing multiple “T-seams” and that is something we will not do, it will diminish the look and functionality of the finished product. The diagram and seem planning was explained to Mr. ****** (as it is to all of our customers) and is still available for further review if he wishes. There is nothing hidden, there is no additional unnecessary material or costs added to this or any of our projects.

I have apologized for any confusion this has caused but Mr. ****** told me that he was taking his business elsewhere so I instructed **** to not pursue Mr. ****** and this project.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased very high end smartstrand silk carpeting at premium price. Read a brief online concern that most vacuums do not work on this carpet due to its dense fiber. I specifically asked about this before purchase as we had an alternative product in mind. Sales person assured us that this was not an issue with the specific carpet we chose. After installation our very expensive vacuum cleaner did not work. It sucks into carpet and will not move. Upon further research this is a well documented issue with this variety of carpet which americas finest carpet claims to be the number 1 dealer of in San Diego. We have contacted a manager of the business and asked to be compensated for the price of our 550 vacuum and they have refused. They offer a very low end vacuum as a solution which is a indictment of their knowledge of this problem with the carpet. I repeat we asked specifically about our make of vacuum before signing the contract and were assured it would be fine.

Desired Settlement: We think a billing adjustment of 550 for the price of our useless vacuum is the least they can do. Effectively we would like a replacement of carpet and price adjustment to the alternate selection we would have purchased if we would have been told the truth about the performance of the carpet. This is roughly 2000 plus the cost of second installation. This is our preferred outcome.

Business Response: We have spoken to Mr. ***** about this issue. This issue is with his vacuum cleaner (discontinued model Dyson DC07) and not an issue with the product we have sold to him. The manufacturer, Mohawk, along with several other leading flooring manufacturers are aware of issues with vacuuming ultra soft premium carpet. The manufacturers and the Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI) have tested and recommended several vacuums that will work on this type of ultra soft premium carpet and we have offered one of these vacuums to him, as we do will all customers who have purchased this type of carpet, but he said he does not want the vacuum. We believe our offer of a free Hover Wind Tunnel vacuum is more than fair and we will not be giving Mr. ***** any other type of concession or discount.  

 
The following is a link from the manufacturers website discussing ultra soft premium carpet and how to care for it along with a list of recommended vacuum cleaners:
 
http://www.mohawkflooring.com/vacuumingsoftcarpet/?&__hssc=&__hstc&hsCtaTracking=c3ccbaf5-901f-4774-928c-e875d9a3cc2b%7C28a1d324-7ebc-44cf-b376-4e4be5a96a9d

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As a customer, this information was not made available to me prior to my purchase. I specifically asked the sales representative about this issue as I had heard a little blurb online about it prior to my purchase. Additionally I told the sales rep exactly what vacuum I owned and he responded that it would not be an issue with this vacuum. All of this specifically influenced my buying decision. Americas finest carpet has offered the very cheapest vacuum cleaner on the market apparently approved by Mohawk. This is one of the most expensive carpets they sell. I would have purchased a carpet about 2000 cheaper had this issue properly been disclosed when I asked prior to purchase. Mohawk has a guarantee to replace carpet within 60 days but does not pay for labor approximately 500 and does not credit the differential cost. I have done extensive vacuum research, more than anyone should ever do and have found a very well suited and rated vacu for less than 300 which I have asked americas finest carpet to deduct from my purchase contract. This is a most reasonable solution. They are apparently refusing this offer. Additionally I have outstanding installation defects on the seaming of the carpet that are unresolved to date.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: We understand *** ******* complaint, and while we stand by our original response that this is an issue with his vacuum and not the carpet, we have agreed to work with *** ***** in selecting and installing another carpet that will better suit his needs. Additionally, we are currently working with the manufacturer to develop literature that is more readily available so that we may better communicate these potential vacuum issues with our customers in the future. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpet purchase and installation from America’s Finest Carpet Company. Issues: After the carpet was installed, I noticed the carpet dye (color) defective. When pieces were seamed together, there was an obvious color difference. The carpet should be one even color throughout the entire roll. When I asked for a supervisor to come out and review it, the person told me color differences were expected. Also, the color difference was not a warranty issue they were not responsible for it. As the carpet obviously a coloration flaw, the supervisor’s response was insulting. I ordered a simple single color carpet, and they would not stand behind their product’s quality. The result of the supervisor’s inspection was for an installer to re-seam the carpet. I was not sure how this was going to help a distinct color difference, but even after re-seaming the carpet pieces the color mismatch was still very noticeable. The installers even said there was a color problem with the carpet… After weeks of calling and sending emails about the poor quality carpet, the general manager (***** *******) contacted me. He said he would personally oversee my issue. He arranged to have an independent carpet examiner come out and look at the carpet. The conclusion was the carpet was defective. I had to call ***** and prompt him for updates. While he had my email address, he responded he did not have my phone number. As my phone number was on the carpet purchase agreement, I found this excuse lame… In the subsequent weeks, he has not shown good customer service by following up with me. Conclusion: I have received many road blocks trying to get my defective carpet issue recognized. The company does not monitor its Web site contact email address or its forums. Customer service is very poor at America’s Finest Carpet Company. Expect to call dozens of times to get a response. Also, if you encounter an issue, you will have to push to get it recognized. They will look you in the face and tell you a problem does not exist when you know it does… As of today, it has been nine weeks since the carpet was installed. This whole ordeal has been a total nightmare.

Desired Settlement: As it stands now, they have agreed to replace the carpet, but they want me to fill out new paperwork… I want the same carpet model I originally ordered—no changes. My first order was not satisfied—I want it fulfilled with a quality carpet. It is going into the second week and I have had no response from ***** ******* (the General Manager). The process of getting me the original carpet I ordered should be transparent to me as the customer.

Business Response: We have been in contact with Mr. ****** over the duration of this issue; our company has communicated by phone and I have a chain of emails starting back on 3/5 . There is a warranty process that involves a couple different inspections on both the process of installation and on the material itself to determine the cause and resolution to any issues. The product that was installed in his home was deemed defective by the manufacturer; this defect is what is called a "side match" defect and cannot be seen until the carpet is installed. America's Finest Carpet Company and the manufacturer ****** fully agree that there is a defect in the carpet and agree to have the product replaced at no cost to Mr. ******. 

 
Mr. ****** made his complaint on 2/28 and on or about 3/3 an installation inspection had taken place and any installation issues addressed on 3/5 a claim was placed to the manufacturer. On 3/6 the manufacturer confirmed that the claim was received and the process had begun. On 3/11, a third party inspector contracted by ****** contacted Mr. ****** and scheduled an appointment to inspect on 3/17, on 3/20 it was determined that there was manufacturing defect to the carpet. As soon as the manufacturer approved of the warranty claim I emailed Mr. ****** (3/220) to let him know that the claim was approved and his original sales person would be in contact with him. On 3/21 our sales person contacted him and asked him to sign a new work order identifying the product and areas to be re-carpeted and stating that this was to fulfill the warranty claim against the manufacturer on his original contract, that the new installation was at no cost, and that we were allowed to be in his home performing such work. Mr. ****** refused to sign saying he shouldn't have to; he emailed me saying he will not be signing the warranty claim work order and I explained to him that it was not an optional item and that it needed to be signed before we could perform the work. On 3/23 he again responded via email that he would not be signing the new work order. 
 
In our conversations on the phone Mr. ****** stated that he wanted the carpet installed on 3/31 or 4/1; I ordered the material even without his signature to proceed in preparation of this installation. Mr. ****** still had not signed the new work order and emailed me again on 3/31 asking if the work was going to be done. I called him on 3/31 and let him know that we were ready whenever he was and all he needed to do was sign the work order; he again said that he will not be signing until after the work was done and again I told him he has to signs to approve of us performing the work. He said he was not ready to have the carpet installed but when we was he would contact us to schedule and sign the paperwork then. 
 
We feel this complaint to the BBB has been fully addressed and no further action on our part is needed; we will await Mr. ******'s contact to schedule the installation and to deliver the signed warranty claim work order to finalize this project. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. I find resolution to replace my defective carpet satisfactory. In their response of incomplete and misleading facts that makes their company seem angelic, I disagree. However, I will wait for the business to replace the carpet and, if it does satisfactory to me, will consider this complaint resolved.

 

The response from Mr. ******* is extremely misleading and deceptive. He was a way of twisting the story to make his company seem better then it is. Where do I start? 

(1) I was complaining for over three week prior to the 3/5/2014. When they realized I would not give up, then Mr. ******* finally contacted me on 3/5/2012.

(2) Prior to 3/5/2014, one of their in-house inspectors came out and looked at my carpet. He told me there was no problem with the carpet and I should expect some color difference. Mr. *******’s did not even respond to the incompetence of their in-house inspector. 

(3) Before 3/5/2014, installers came out a second time to fix three bad seams and staple down a section of carpet at the top of my stairs that was already falling apart. The installers were talking among themselves that the carpet color was off. Here is another complaint and conformation before 3/5 that Mr. ******* does not mention.

(4) Finally on 3/5/2014, Mr. ******* called me. In our conversation, he requested getting a third-party inspector. The inspector would send his findings to the carpet manufacture. As the defect was blatantly obvious, I was happy to see progress. He also mentioned that he would personally see my issue resolved.

(5) A few days after the inspection, I had to call Mr. ******* for an update. He apologized that he had been away from work and would get an update…

(6) On 3/20/2014, I exchanged emails with Mr. *******. He asked me to contact the sales person to sign some paperwork on the new carpet. He said he would contact the sales person to have the paperwork ready. I told Mr. ******* we want the same carpet we had originally ordered—no changes. When I called the next day (3/21/14), the sales person did not know anything about my conversation with Mr. ******* the prior day. Mr. ******* failed to contact the sales person. I forwarded my email string, between Mr. ******* and me, to the sales person at 1:54 PM on 3/21/2014. Later at 4:15 PM, the sales person called saying he was ready for me to sign. I told him I would sign it. Then he corrected himself and said he needed my wife’s signature. This was impossible because my wife was in traveling and working in Mexico for two weeks. The sales man said nothing could be done. In Mr. *******’s response, he failed to mention that he did not contact the sales person as promised. He also responded that “I would not sign the paperwork.” In contract, I would have signed it but I could not get my wife into the sale office to sign it.

(7) On 3/23/14 Mr. ******* incorrectly claims that I said that “I would not sign the paper.” My correct statement in the email was “My wife is not available to sign.” I told him I was sitting with a defective carpet and the process to get it fixed should be transparent to me as the end customer. Mr. ******* never bothered to respond to my email.

(8) On 3/2814, I emailed Mr. ******* again asking for a response. He failed to answer may email. 

(9) On 3/31/14, I emailed Mr. ******* again telling him how poor his customer service was. It had been seven days since I heard anything from Mr. ******* and I requested a refund so I could buy carpet from someone else.

(10) On 3/31/14, in response to my email asking for a refund, Mr. ******* called me. First, he again apologized for not getting back to me in the past week because he was out of the office. He mentioned that my wife’s signature was not actually required; that it was in fact OK for me to sign the paperwork. But he said it was mandatory that a signature was needed on the paperwork. He offered to email me the paperwork so I could sign it. Then to my surprise, Mr. ******* said he had me scheduled for a carpet install the following day on April 1st, but I had to decline the installation. As Mr. ******* or his company did not respond to me in the past seven days, I did not my rooms cleared out and ready for the carpet to be installed the next day. However, on the next day it occurred to me that I should have received a call from the carpet scheduling folks confirming an installing. I should have received the call the day before. So to check if Mr. ******* was fibbing, I called the scheduling folks (****** and *****) at Americas Finest Carpets Company. They did not have me scheduled for a carpet install on April 1, 2014. It is a good bet that Mr. ******* was untruthful about the scheduled install on April 1st. Also, it was only in a conversation weeks prior I have mentioned that I had a “goal” to install the carpet on either March 31st or April 1st when my wife was out of town—nothing was actually scheduled for sure back then. His lie was a comment from my email expressing my disappointment in not getting it installed as I had hoped… Also, this was the third time he told me he was sorry for not responding to my emails because he was out of the office for days… The out-of-office response seems to me to be disingenuous as well.

(11) The following day, I emailed Mr. ******* reminding him he never sent me the promised paperwork via email so I can sign it. His email response was that he could not send it because he did not have and install date. At the very least, he should have email me that fact, not just do nothing… 

(12) He also commented he had ordered the carpet first thing when it was confirmed being defective. This statement just pisses me off. They kept telling me that I had to sing the paperwork so they could “order” the carpet. I was never told the carpet was already waiting, sitting at their warehouse weeks earlier. If Americas Finest Carpet Co. was even the slightest bit customer service oriented, my problem would have been resolved weeks ago. 

 

Conclusion: I cannot fault Americas Finest Carpet Co. receiving a defective carpet. What I fault them for is most almost every step there afterwards. Their blind denial and refusal to accept my carpet was defective. Their inability to respond to complaints in a timely manner. Everyone should know Americas Finest Carpet Company has one of the poorest customer services I have ever seen in any company. It is a nightmare to work with this company if you encounter a problem. This is my complaint, (1) a defective carpet and (2) a notice of poor customer service. I have seen Mr. *******’s response to other complaints on the BBB site. As misleading as he was in his response, I can only surmise he was similarly deceitful and misleading in responding to the other complaints. ******, in the end they have agreed to replace the carpet, their customer service is still absurdity dismal.

 

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been working on getting a defective carpet issue resolved. Employees have been unresponsive so I reached out to a higher level manager who could make the appropriate decisions. He started out being very helpful and responsive - going the extra mile to resolve the issue and make me happy, but as time as gone on the responsiveness has lessened to the point where I am now being ignored. Now that I have finally picked out the replacement material I have been asking for the paperwork so I can approve it and they can order the material. I have tried to make contact several times through email, cell phone messages and text messages and have not heard back in nearly a week. This is the 2nd time I'm experiencing defective carpet and having to deal with them about this issue. They are great during the sale but when it comes to resolving a problem they don't seem to care much.

Desired Settlement: They need to contact me immediately with the paperwork so I can approve it. The material needs to be expedited, not shipped on the standard trucking method that takes over a week. Pricing for additional material will need to be discussed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a consumer and purchaser of many goods, services and on occasion contracting the services of professional tradesmen for more than 35 years, this is the first time I have ever filed a complaint with the BBB. The public needs to be warned about the poor business practices of America's Finest Carpets and their bait and switch tactics. In retrospect, I should have read the Yelp reviews on this business prior to my dealings with the company and I would not be in this position. I strongly urge this BBB investigative forum to read and consider the Yelp reviews of America's Finest Carpets in weighing the merits of my formal complaint. The majority of the poor reviews on Yelp concerning America's Finest Carpet stores in San Diego County are similar in nature and are as follows: Failure to deliver the product ordered and purchased when promised or contractually agreed to. In addition Yelp complaints list the inconvenience, labor intensive preparation, and fiscal loss of time, wages (days lost from work) the customer experiences when America's Finest Carpets fails to deliver products and installation as contractually promised. Further, Yelp complaints indicate America's Finest Carpet Company practices false advertising in the company's claim to carry the largest selection of carpets as being in stock. For six months I have researched a new carpeting purchase. I have been to multiple carpet companies. I am an educated consumer, I come prepared, I bring my fabric samples of my furnishings from my home to the store to compare to the carpet samples. After careful consideration, I made an informed choice based on the quality and style of carpet best suited to my tastes and based on the advice given to me from my salesman **** ******. I came back twice more to the store to verify I was making the best decision as to color and style of carpet for my home. I was assured I was getting the best value and quality product and the color choice was an elegant compliment to my decor. I stressed I wanted the carpets installed prior to Thanksgiving as I was having a large family gathering. I was assured this was easily accomplished as was advertised. I was told the price quoted included moving of furniture, upgraded pad and tax, although none of these individual costs or line items were listed or included n the contract. A form is given to the customer at contract signing indicating the moving of furniture is a courtesy. I was emphatically told by Dave, the carpet, pad and moving of the furniture was included in the price. Which is it? A courtesy or did I pay for it. My contact says I paid for it. I signed the contract on November 9th and gave a deposit of $628.89. I called my salesman **** ****** on Tuesday, November, 19th to check to see if everything was on schedule. **** assured me it was. I informed **** i had been packing for a week and was ready for the installers. Thursday, November, 21st, my entire 2400 square foot home was packed ready for installation. I had moved antiquities, family heirlooms and my late husband's expensive custom guitar collection and amplifiers to the garage for safekeeping. Around 1PM on November 19th, America's Finest Carpet Company warehouse called verifying delivery and inquired if i was prepared for installation. I confirmed I was. At 5:38 PM that same date, (date time stamped saved to phone voice messaging for evidence), America's Finest Carpet Company salesman ***** Brosen left a message asking me to call the store before it closed as he had a message for me. I surmised it was another reminder to be prepared for installation and hesitated calling back. I had an inkling something was wrong. I did call the store. ***** informed me there was not enough carpet to complete my living room or finish the entire house. I was stunned. I asked how this could happen. When I ordered the carpet on November 9th I was assured this particular selection was in stock and there was plenty of it as it is a best seller and very popular so it was always kept in stock. ***** had no real answers for me, other than when they loaded the truck it was clear there was not enough to complete the job, it was short by 30 feet or more which is the length of my formal living room. I was told there was no more of this particular brand and color carpet in stock and the next delivery of the Mohawk SoftStrand Silk I had ordered wasn't expected until December 15th. I asked what was I supposed to do with only half the house carpeted and the formal living room and dining room where my guests would be gathering would be still be the old worn out carpet. I was told I could wait until December15th for installation seeing how I was already packed. I told ***** this was unacceptable as I would not live in boxes during the holidays with company and family gathering. ***** said I could come in the store tonight and select another color carpet. The store was closing in 15 minutes. I had made my decision, very carefully, there wasn't another color I wanted or that would work with my decor. I asked for some kind of fiscal recourse due to my labor and inconvenience costs. ***** very curly denied this request. I was firmly and rudely told I was not getting any kind of discount the price was firm. I asked for the next highest upgrade to the Karastan Stainmaster I had compared and considered purchasing that was the exact same color as the Mohawk SoftStrand Silk as this would be the standard industry practice to upgrade the customer when the company fails to deliver the product on time as agreed. ***** informed he could put the Karastan in the living room and the Mohawk SoftStrand Silk in the bedrooms. I asked ***** if the Karastan I was referring to was the more expensive grade of carpet as there was two Karastan grade products. One grade was far cheaper and looked and felt inferior and the other was a higher grade quality overall, in addition to being very durable and elegant. ***** told me the Karastan he was going to install in my living room instead of the SmartStrand Silk was the cheaper of the two Karastan grade carpets. This was not acceptable to me. ***** tried to assure me I would not be able to tell the difference. Brain went on to say around December, 15th American's Finest Carpets would come out to my home and remove the cheaper grade Karastan carpet from my living room at no cost to me and replace it with the SoftStrand Silk that was on back order. This didn't make sense to me, why would the company take this kind of loss and throw away thousands of dollars worth of carpet that can't be resold. Why not give me the upgrade to the next highest quality grade of Karastan carpet as compensation for the inconvenience America's Finest Carpet Company caused me and their failure to deliver contractual goods as agreed. ***** explained the next higher grade Karastan carpet I was inquiring about had to be special ordered from Georgia and it would take 30 days or more for delivery. I was willing to wait for the upgrade. Brain said the SmartStrand Silk would be available then too, which is what I purchased, and pointed out I would not be getting an upgrade to the higher quality Karastan. I countered ***** with the fact the lower cheaper grade Karasatan he was trying to bait and switch install on me cost less than the SmartStrand Silk I had purchased, that was suddenly out of stock, and on back order. Clearly I would be due a refund. Brain mocked me and told me this grade carpet was only 20 cents cheaper a square yard than what I had purchased. I seem to recall this carpet was two dollars cheaper per square yard and looked like it too. ***** continued to pressure me into taking the lesser grade cheaper Karastan carpet that was in stock and assured me it was the same color as the SmartStrand Silk I had selected which was out of stock. I told ***** my home would look like a vagrants shack with all the different weaves of carpet from two different manufacturers. I was getting a lot of pressure to make a decision as the store was closing and I was upset and crying out of total frustration, in addition to the Herculean physical effort I put into preparing my home my home for installation. I am widow and had to do the vast majority of packing, lifting, and labor on my own. I wanted it in writing that America's Finest Carpet would remove the lower grade Karastan when the SmartStrand Silk was shipped. ***** danced around this request and quoted me a 60 day satisfaction guarantee. He never agreed to or responded to my reqeust. I reluctantly agreed to the installation of what was available of the SmartStrand Silk in the bedrooms, with the caveat if the lower grade Karastan ***** wanted to install in the living room was significantly different from the rest of the carpet the deal was off and I was canceling the order as America's Finest Carpets violated the terms of the contract. Friday, November 22nd, the installers ***** and ***** arrived around 1030AM. I asked to inspect the carpet rolls on the truck. The installers had not been informed of the two different rolls of carpet from two different manufacturers and they both had concerns as it was obvious to them I had two different makes of carpeting. It was clearly evident to me the lower grade Karastan was inferior in color grade and texture and the difference was visible. To complicate matters it was raining and the installers could not move my furniture outside or do the cuts in the rain or in my garage which was filled with antiques and my late husband's guitar collection. I called ***** and told him what had transpired, he told me I could re-schedule for next week. I told him no this was unacceptable, I could not take anymore time off work, I am a widow on a fixed income who works part time. I further told him my holiday was ruined. I had company coming in two days. My house was in boxes and ***** was pulling a bait and switch, film-flam operation tactic on me. ***** exploded in anger at me, raising his voice, shouting at me, talking over me, interrupting me and behaving in a completely unprofessional and childish manner. i asked to speak to *****'s manager. ***** told me he was the boss and there was no one higher in authority. I asked to speak to the owner of the company. ***** told me he was the owner, (he is not, he is a salesman/assistant manager). ***** was shouting at me so loud the installers could hear every word he was saying to me. Both ***** and ***** the installers were so upset by *****'s treatment of me they personally called the owner ****** in my presence to inform him what happened. I have yet to hear from ****** nor have I been offered an apology or any viable offer to rectify this matter to my satisfaction. I spoke with ******** who is the assistant to ****** the owner. I eventually heard back from her late Monday, November 25th but was promised a call that day on Friday. I learned ***** was counseled but no formal action was taken. I'm very upset about this as should the owner be concerned about this outrageous conduct. ***** represents the owner and his company. *****'s treatment of me is a direct reflection of the company's best practices and services. America's Finest Carpet Company regularly engages in Bait and Switch tactics. American's Finest Carpet Company is only concerned with the almighty commission and profiting from unsuspecting customers. This is highly illegal. I spent 30 years in law enforcement and would never speak to a member of the public in this manner. I would never tolerate a subordinate brow beating a customer as ***** did to me. I respectfully request an investigation and actions be taken against America's Finest Carpet Company

Desired Settlement: There is three areas of desired outcomes. First, I want a formal written apology from the owner ******. Second, I want a full refund of my deposit. Third, I want to be compensated for my lost wages and the intensive labor I exerted, an exercise in futility, in preparing my home as instructed. I paid for services of a private packing company in readying my home for the installation only to be told the in-stock carpeting I ordered three weeks earlier and twice verified as being in-stock, was suddenly out of stock, hours prior to the installation. America's Finest Carpet Company has provided me little to no acceptable outcomes to resolve the issue. As of Monday, three days before the Thanksgiving holiday I was told a remnant of the SmartStrand Silk was found in Georgia that would fit my living room and it could be shipped as early as next week. A remnant or a piece of left over carpet from a different batch, or the last of a roll of carpet from a different lot is completely unacceptable to me. It's unreasonable and illogical to expect the customer to be satisfied with this outcome. The dye lots would be different and the carpeted areas would look like a patch work quit of different weaves, textures and batches. I firmly believe two separate carpets from two different rolls or looms would more than likely affect the way the carpet would actually lay.

Business Response:

Mrs. ****** contracted with <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">America</st1:country-region>’s Finest Carpet Company to have carpet installed in her home. We provide our customers with an all-inclusive price as to not confuse their project cost; this pricing on our carpet includes removal of old carpeting, new padding, basic installation and moving of basic furniture (large items such as pool tables, pianos, etc... would be an additional cost) and is put into a lump sum contract. Our contract is a lump sum contract (which is explained by our staff and clearly written in large bold print across the top of our contracts) and is not itemized to specify individual items such as moving of furniture or removal and disposal of old carpeting but rather the cost of the whole project. 

We did call Mrs. ****** the day prior to her install to confirm that she would be ready; it is standard practice for our scheduling department to contact all customers to confirm their project.

As our warehouse was preparing material for the following days installations it was discovered that the manufacturer mislabeled a roll of carpet and we were short material to complete Mrs. ******’s project. I called her as soon as I was made aware of this to let her know and to discuss her options; she was not available so I left her a message to give me a call back, she called back sometime around 5:30. I let Mrs. ****** know of the issue and she was very upset. I empathized with her for the work that she did in preparation but let her know that this material would not be available from the manufacturer until December 15 as they were having manufacturing delays with this particular product (it is a relatively new product and demand has far exceeded supply).

In addition to offering to refund Mrs. ****** her deposit and cancel the contract offered a couple options to her. The layout of Mrs. ******’s home is such that the living room is detached from the rest of the house and the material in the living room would not come in contact with material in the rest of the house. The product that we were shorted was approximately the size of the piece needed for her living room. Option 1: we could install the carpet throughout the house and leave the living room as is  then return when the new material came in to finish the project; she did not like this idea because the living room was where her guests would be spending most of their time and that carpet was old and ugly. Option 2: I suggested that we use an alternate carpet for her living room so she would have new carpet everywhere and we would come back and replace it with the correct carpet once it arrived. I let her know that she could come in and select something else but I recommended a product that looks very similar and was one she was looking at and considering originally. This alternate product was a Karastan product, which is the luxury brand owned and manufactured by Mohawk and is made at the same factories as the product she originally chose; the texture and shading is different but very similar and because the carpet in the living room would not come in contact with the carpet in the rest of the house this option could work and not have a patchwork look to it. This option would have been done at a cost to our company of about $2000; we were willing to accept this loss to accommodate Mrs. ****** and get her home ready for her event.

Mrs. ******, although upset with the issues, agreed to this second option. When the installers arrived Mrs. ****** had changed her mind and did not want to proceed, she called me said that she didn't like the alternate carpet and that it was raining so she didn't want the installers to do the project and let me know that she wanted to cancel and get a refund; which I immediately agreed to. She then went on to tell me that she feels that we have cheated her, that we were a bait-and-switch company and run a “flim-flam” operation and have taken advantage of her throughout the whole process.

As I explained to Mrs. ****** on the phone, and I want to be very clear here, there is nothing about this situation that is “bait-and-switch” we are an upstanding company and have been for over 20 years. The delay, while unfortunate, is allowed for in our contract; manufacturing and delivering delays by a vendor cannot be controlled by Americas Finest Carpet Company, this in not a “bait-and-switch” issue and it was never our intention to take advantage of her.

We run our business with utmost professionalism and integrity and at no time would I (***** *******, General Manager of Retail Operations and Sales) or any employee ever belittle or mock a customer (future, current, or past) over any issue let alone the delay of installation due to product availability and installation.

******** ******* (Corporate General Manger) contacted Mrs. ****** on Monday, Nov 25th to offer again the option to install alternate carpet and replace once the correct carpet arrived and Mrs. ****** again denied this.  We have done everything possible to rectify this situation, even to the point of taking a $2000 loss by installing an alternate product so Mrs. ****** could have new carpet for her party only to remove it and install the carpet she originally chose once it arrives. We have already issued a refund to Mrs. ****** and I have offered every apology for the situation and her loss of time. There will be no further accommodations to Mrs. ******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

With Regard to ***** *****'s response, it is clear, BBB is not going to take action. I urge BBB and all consumers to read the Yelp reviews on this company as America's Finest Carpets has a history of similar complaints from other consumers, i.e.product as promised being out of stock.  Further, there are numerous personal complaints about ***** *******s unprofessional conduct with reviewers citing ***** *****'s rude, discourteous, and caustic behavior toward customers. Consumers need to be made aware, price per square foot is not the same as price per square yard. For instance, a price of $4.59 per square foot needs to multiplied by the number of square feet in a yard. There is 9 square feet to 1 square yard. I tried to get **** ****** to break down these costs for me, but this was denied, the contract is an all one price, carpet, padding, tax, install, moving furniture, and hauling away old carpet. 149 yards of carpeting is really over $13 per square yard.  Nowhere on the contract is there listed a price to square footage or yardage.  Nowhere on the contract is there a stock number, or product number, or a break down of labor, padding, installation and state sales tax. As to ***** ***** calling and leaving a message on November 21, 2013, because I was unavailable, only part of that is true. I have saved the message date/time stamped ***** Brosen left on my home phone answering machine as proof, 5:30PM on Nov 21, 2013. I was out in the garage and didn't hear the phone as I was moving my late husband's irreplaceable guitar collection out there for safe keeping as I did not want it accidentally damaged. I called ***** ***** back within 10 minutes. After learning the bad news the carpet I had ordered was out of stock, ***** ***** high pressured me into making another selection. I was not prepared to do this at the 11th hour.   ***** ***** in his BBB response is stressing this other inferior Stainmaster carpet he so magnanimously offered me as a consolation prize for the SmartStrand Silk being out of stock was an option. It was not an option for me and I rightfully refused it.  I did so as ***** ***** tried to support this inferior grade carpet as a viable alternative option based on this different grade carpet would be installed in a separate room.  I personally viewed and inspected this product in the store and immediately rejected it as an option due to its inferiority to the SmartStrand Silk and its poor comparison and quality in texture, looks, comfort, color and style. Further, it was much lower in cost than what I had ordered.  I
  want to point out, this was not cheap. I paid full sticker price for these carpets at a cost of more than $6200.  In retrospect, I believe **** ****** knew there wasn't enough carpet to fulfill the order, but he didn't want to lose the sale or the commission and submitted the order knowing the product was out of stock.  ***** ***** told me I could wait until December15th for the expected delivery date of the out of stock carpeting, seeing how I was already packed.  I told Ms. ***** this was unacceptable, as I would not live in boxes during the holidays with company and family gathering.  ***** ***** speaks of the company taking a $2000 loss to install the inferior cheaper grade Karastan Staimaster carpet in my living room.  This made no sense to me.  Why rip out and throw away a lesser grade carpet, when logically speaking, (I was going to have to wait anyway), why not upgrade me to the next level of higher grade level of Karastan Stainmaster carpeting.  This reasonable request due to all my labor and inconvenience was very curly denied by ***** ***** .  ***** ***** tried to apply high pressure tactics in order to get  me to make an 11th hour decision about a major purchase with only hours to spare before delivery and installation. No consumer in their right mind would allow a different texture and dye lot carpet be installed in their home. I wanted what I ordered and paid for,  from the same roll of carpet, from the same dye lot, all one order, not mix and match from different warehouses,  or a section here, or a piece or remnant carpet there.  ***** ***** expected me to accept this without any compensation or reduction in price. It was evidently clear America's Finest Carpets was not  going to deliver the carpets I ordered by November 22nd as contractually agreed. After sleeping on it, it didn't make sense to me to have the Mohawk SoftStrand Silk which I ordered, but they did not have enough of, installed in the bedrooms as it would be from a different dye lot  and look different from the out of stock product, to be delivered at a later date, which is yet another dye lot.  This is not the first time I've had carpets installed.  I know there has to be seams matched and cutting and patching work has to be done. Different dye lots would make a visibly noticeable difference despite ***** *****'s assurances I would not be able to tell the difference.  ***** ***** claimed his installers would come out on Dec 15th and pull out the cheaper grade carpet and install the back ordered SmartStrand Silk carpet.  I had no faith this would be honored.  Once the cheaper grade Karastan Stainmaster product was installed how could I contractually prove America's Finest Carpet Company promised to install the back ordered SmartStrand Silk at no cost to me, thus the bait and switch allegation.  It was visibly evident ***** ***** was trying to install an inferior grade carpet than what I ordered and paid for in my living room.  Further, ***** ***** did not offer to credit my account the difference in lower price to this inferior grade product as compared to the SmartStrand Silk.    A carpet upgrade to the next highest level grade carpet would be far more cost effective to the company rather than ripping out the cheaper grade carpet and throwing it away. The morning of delivery the installers informed me that they would not install the carpets  that day as it was raining.  There was a major storm front in San Diego that day, a torrential downpour and the installers could not cut or measure in the garage as there was no room. Further, the installers told me they would not move my Ethan Allen furniture outside in the rain where it would be ruined. I was emphatically told by the installers I had to reschedule due to the rain, the installers told me they would not install that day due to the heavy rainstorm.  I was also told by the installers moving my furniture was a courtesy and showed me so on the contract. I called ***** ***** to inform him of this development.   He was instantaneously rude and condescending to me.  Mr. *****, you need to be careful I have two witnesses, who I will subpoena to court, your installers overheard your outrageous language conduct and behavior toward me.  I asked to speak to the owner and both installers heard you claim to be the owner and heard you tell me I could not take my complaint any higher. Sir, you are a liar, you are not the owner. You yelled at me, shouted at me, and spoke over me. You were out of control and completely unprofessional.   It was then, I cancelled the order, failure to deliver product as contractually agreed.   

That morning I received a call from ******* assistant to the owner ******. I asked about the next upgraded carpet for all my hard labor preparing my home for installation, inconvenience, loss of wages from missed work.  ******* told me if there was an upgraded carpet in stock, in the same color and she would find it. She promised to call back in 20 minutes or no later than 5PM.  She told me not to unpack.  I never heard from ******* until Monday Nov 25th at 5:30 PM. Having not heard from her as promised, I unpacked and put everything in my home back in place. ******* found another section of carpet, again from another dye lot, in GA that could be shipped in a week. Unacceptable, no one in their right mind would accept carpets from different mills and dye lots.
 I have authored an unfavorable Yelp review.  I will file a complaint with Angie's List. I will seek recourse with the State Contractors Licensing Board. Many of my friends and neighbors are considering new carpets for their home.  I have, via word of mouth, informed all my colleagues and friends to not do business with America's Finest Carpets.  If I had not been prepared on the date of installation, America's Finest Carpets would charge me an additional fee for a day's loss of work, labor, and other fees. It only stands to reason I should be compensated for my labor, effort, loss of wages and inconvenience.  My only other recourse is Small Claims Court.,  I have been told the owner ****** is far too important and busy of a man to deal with customers. No one, except ******* has offered me an apology, including the insufferably rude caustic ***** *****.  ****** here is your opportunity to make it right and offer me a formal written apology and a personal phone call. 

Regards,

**** ******



Business Response:

 

Mrs. ******’s rejection does not bring to light any new information pertinent to this complaint that I have not already addressed and is just restating her original position. There are a few items that do need some clearing up:

  • My name is ***** ******* (not *****); I am the General Manager of Retail Operations and Sales and have never claimed to be anything other than that. This was made clear in my original response.
  • The person Mrs. ****** spoke to in our corporate office is ******** ******* (not *******) and she is the Corporate General Manager. This too was made clear in my original response.
  • ****** ******* is the owner and President of this company and this is clearly identified on the BBB website, with the State Contractor’s Licensing Board and on our San Diego County Business License.
  • It is common industry practice to list pricing in sqft rather than sq yard as most people can more easily relate to the size of their home by sqft. All carpeting in our showrooms are clearly priced and labeled by sqft. This will not change the final price.
  • There was no pressure (nor would there ever be) to force a customer to accept something outside of their contract; I offered to refund Mrs. ******’s deposit immediately and gave her other options if she wished to move forward.
  • It was clearly explained to Mrs. ****** that the alternate product was different but that it would never be in contact with or seemed to a carpet of a different style; the layout of her home allows for this type of installation.
  • The carpets being discussed here are both manufactured by Mohawk; one is Mohawk SmartStrand Silk and the other is Karastan SmartStrand Sorona. We do not carry Karastan StainMaster products.  

This rejection is just full of back and forth, untrue and unfounded he-said-she-said and we do not want to further participate this nor will we participate in the personal defaming and libelous attacks as Mrs. ****** has. As I have said before, this is a rare occurrence which has created an unforeseen and unfortunate situation for which we have tried to make reasonable accommodations to rectify. Again, we have already refunded Mrs. ******’s deposit and offer sincere apologies for the issue. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

America's Finest Carpet Company claims to guarntee they have the largest selection of in stock carpets in San Diego County, not true. Review/read Yelp reviews, similar complaints and comments about products being out of stock at time of expected delivery and rude customer service. America's Finest Carpets Company salesman **** ****** also falsely claimed America's Finest Carpet Company is the only vendor who offers Mohawk's SmartStrand Silk carpets in San Diego County and America's Finest Carpet Company was awarded exlcusive rights to sell the product vs. other carpet companies in San Diego County, also not true.

Mr. *******, I stand corrected on his proper name, should not have been assigned review of this complaint as he is the chief subject of the complaint, refer to othe Yelp reviews of Mr. *******'s conduct toward other customers.  Not all customers can be wrong or libelous in our review/complaints as Mr. ******* alleges I am. There is strength in numbers.

Different dye lots, different rolls of carpet, the distinction was evident to me, regardless of the layout of my home.  I could visibly see the difference between the two grades/color of carpets. The seams and patch work which is required in any carpet installation would not match, in this particular room or any other room in the house.  No other consumer would accept this, nor will I. Mr. ******* did apply high pressure tactics. I was on the receiving end of the options he offered, so perception is reality.  Mr. *******  was rude, he was discourteous, his installers ***** and ***** overheard his treatment of me and called Mr. ****** ******* in my presence to report Ms. *******'s poor behvaior and conduct. The Karastan SmartStrand Sonora was unacceptable to me, it is an inferior product to the SmartStrand Silk.  I rejected it in the store and I rejected it again during the attempted delivery of it to my home. It is not what I ordered.  I did receive my deposit, it was refunded to me. I did refer to America's Finest Carpet Company as a flim-flam operation as it is evident to me the company partcipates in poor business practices and poor customer service relations. Mr. ******* did falsely claim to be the owner of the company, both installers overheard this. We agree to disagree. I will never again do business with America's Finest Carpet Company.  I strongly encourage my family and friends and other consumers to not do business with America's Finest Carpet Company.    

Regards,

**** ******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in August my wife and I went into the America's Finest Carpet Store at the Convoy location looking for new carpet. The sales rep offered to come out to our house to take measurements and then write us a quote. He came out a couple of weeks later, took the measurements and then wrote us a quote. In the quote he also included a cost if we needed to have floor boards replaced as one of the main reasons we wanted to replace the carpet was to fix the squeaky floors. He told us that this quote would be the worst case scenario, and the price would go down if floor boards were not needed. The sales rep mentioned that if floorboards only need screws, there would be no charge for this work to be done. (We did have multiple quotes from other companies and they all said that if screws needed to be put down, there would be no charge). We went back into the store and spoke with the sales rep, we picked out our carpet, applied for the Mohawk credit card and signed the contract. However, before we signed the contract, we asked the sales rep again that if the floorboards were not replaced would the cost be cheaper? Again, he reassured us that the price would be adjusted if the floorboards were not replaced. Work began on Monday August 12th and was finished by Wednesday August 14th. During this time, my father stopped by to check in on the work as we were out of town. We were never contacted during this time, so we assumed there were no problems. I learned that no floorboards were replaced, the nails were removed and only screws were put down into the floor. I e-mailed the sales rep to ask if he could send us an updated bill. I was given a finalized bill, but the cost of the floorboards was still on the bill. I e-mailed the sales rep multiple times, but he never responded. It wasn’t until we called on the phone and he answered. He stated that he would be sure to give us the credit. A couple of weeks later I called again and the sales rep said that it was still being processed. He then gave me the number to customer service. The woman in customer service stated that the request had just been put in, even though the sales rep had stated this had been done a couple of weeks ago. I had to continue to call to see if the credit has been processed. A few weeks later, the sales rep stated that only $500 would be credited because extra insurance needed to be taken out. (However, I was never made aware of this needing to be done and this insurance was not listed on the contract). I called again, and the sales rep stated the credit would not be happening. He mentioned that extra insurance was needed for work done and they used more carpet than originally planned on. Again, two employees took the measurements, so any error with this is an error by your employees and we should not be charged for this mistake Second, we were never told any additional insurance was needed (had we known this information, we may have decided to do the work ourselves).After I learned that no credit was going to be given. I asked for the number of the owner. I called multiple times, and no calls were returned. I sent a certified mail letter that was delivered on November 5th, and I have still not heard from anyone from AFCC.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full credit for the amount of $ 675.00

Business Response:

I have spoken to Mr. ******** about this issue and after discussing this with my staff and reviewing the chain of events I have agreed to give Mr. ******** the full credit of $675 (rather than the original $500 we credited him). While we did not replace the subfloor we did do additional work outside of the normal scope of installing carpet, some thing that we would normally charge for, there was some confusion and miscommunication between our staff and Mr. ******** as to exactly what this work was. Rather than hold the customer accountable for this I have decided that I will cover the cost of the additional work we performed.

We value Mr. ******** as a customer and would hope that he would consider his experience with us a positive one.

I have left Mr. ******** a message but have not spoken to him to let him know that we will be giving him the full credit, nevertheless this is issue has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman ****** ***** advised us we could have a runner set between laminate stairs. He ordered the wrong carpet for us. Installation was to take a week to 10 days to install: tile, laminate flooring and 3 bedroom carpeting. Today, we are finally getting the correct carpet and it's been 2 months of arguing, having general manager to house and our repeated telephone calls to company which no one returns. We have been very nice and tell them we just want to get it resolved and they just apologize for not returning calls. We had to call the company almost daily for the first 6 weeks. Then had to pay more for the carpeting the salesman wrote down wrong. We didn't get the laminate stairs and runner installed the way we wanted but we will have to live with it.

Desired Settlement: This company is misleading consumers. Contract has no out for customer after first 3 days of signing. If you don't get what you wanted they don't care and will not correct. Customer service is the worst I have ever worked with. We have been spreading the word the is America's WORST Carpeting Company.

Business Response:

Mrs. **** contracted with our company to have laminate flooring installed on the stairs in her home with a product similar to the product she already has on the first floor with a runner down the middle of the stairs. She also contracted to have carpet installed on the second floor and tile in the master bathroom. Products were identified in the showroom and the contract was signed identifying these products.

The tile was the first product to be installed and there were no issues with this portion of the project. The next item was the laminate on the stairs; when the installation crew arrived and began explaining the process to Mrs. **** it was discovered that this was not what she thought she was getting. She wanted to have an insert (vs runner) down the center of the stairs with wood lining edges (6 inches on either side of the insert). The project was stopped while she discussed this with our staff. Our staff explained that with laminate flooring this method of installation was not possible and the only option to get the look she wanted wit this product was to install the laminate on the whole staircase and affix the runner on top of the laminate. If she wanted to stop the project and change the material and installation method (as we did with the carpet) this would have been no problem at this point in the process. She agreed to move forward and have the laminate installed. When we were ready to install the runner she again stopped the project and asked for a supervisor to come to her home. Our installation manager and I visited her home and discussed again the process of installing laminate vs wood on a staircase and the process of installing the runner down the center. While she was not happy about the fact that she actually wanted an insert (wood) vs overlay (laminate) she agreed to move forward with the project.

The third and final item of the project (which was actually scheduled to be the second but because of this issue was delayed and the laminate went first) was the carpet for the upstairs bedrooms and hallway. When we delivered the carpet Mrs. **** looked at the product and determined that it was not what she wanted; she wanted a different carpet in the same color. Mrs. **** contracted for a product that shares a color line with many other products and apparently there was some miss-communication about which style she wanted and contracted for the wrong style. We had no issue returning the contracted product and replacing it with the new product; this new product was more expensive so we did submit a change order for the difference in price and Mrs. **** agreed.

While there were communication issues with this contract and project, we did do what we were contracted to do. I visited the home of Mrs. **** and apologized for these issues. At no time did we force Mrs. **** to continue with the project nor did we tell her she had no options. A project like this typically takes 10 days but considering all of the stops, delays and special ordering of material (carpet takes 7 to 10 days to be delivered form the east coast and we had to do this twice) it did take quite a bit longer than anyone had anticipated. It is unfortunate that Mrs. **** has had a bad experience with our company and we have put some new policies in place to ensure the customer knows fully what is being contracted so we may avoid issues like these in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While the business response is largely correct, the issue is the initial communication by the sales person telling us what was possible for the stair/runner installation and what would be done. Once we signed the contract and discovered that what he told us was not correct we felt that we had no option to change the job without incurring significantly more expense. In addition, the initial carpet that was listed in the contract and delivered was not one that we ever looked at or considered. When we signed the contract the sales person gave us a sample of the carpet that we selected so we didn't verify that that was the carpet specified in the contract. Whenever we would call to inquire about the timing of installation or any other contract related issues, we would be told that we would receive a return call within a few hours if not minutes. The return calls where never made. Our complaint centers on the lack of satisfactory customer service and the initial misrepresentations made by the sales person. There was followup as indicated by a higher level of management only after we made it very clear that we were in no way satisfied with the level of service that we received.

Regards,

***** ****



Business Response: I'm not sure what is being rejected here, there has been no new information presented in this complaint and all items were addressed in our initial response. We strive to deliver a quality product and service to our customers and fully believe in and recognize the power of a positive experience from beginning to end; having served San Diego for over 20 years we understand the value in positive reviews of our business and customer referrals as this is largely what has helped us grow our company. Again, it is unfortunate that Mrs. **** is unhappy with her project but we did do what we were contracted to do and as issues arose with this project we addressed them and explained different options to Mrs. ****. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman **** ****** met with us two times, long discussion as to what we needed in a carpet. He has taken over two weeks to get back to us due to a ? lack of contact with the carpet dealer. He has never once called either of us telling us anything, nothing, never called to say anything. We will never come back to your company for carpet again due to lack of attention from Mr. ******.

Desired Settlement: There is no excuse for this. He should have called to let us know the progress he is making. If it is the dealer's fault for this, get someone who will follow through!

Business Response: I have spoken to the salesman (**** ******) about this issue and he does not recall this customer. I have called the phone number listed on this complaint and it does not belong to the complainant. considering they did not make a purchase or enter into a contract with us and we do not keep records of all persons that visit our showrooms we have no other means of contact.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 3 weeks from to date, I made an appointment with America's Finest Carpet Care. I verified the appointment 1 week prior with *******, manager. I'd taken a day off work for this appointment on the 10th of May 2013. The night before, I moved furniture that could be moved for carpet cleaning. The next day, I received a call from ******* stating they would not be able to make the scheduled appointment, one of the trucks was broken. I told him that I took a day off from work for this. He apologized and stated there was nothing he could do about it and his next available date would be on next Tuesday. I informed him that this was unsatisfactory as I would have to take another day off and my boss would not be happy at all. I could not do that. He mentioned he could try and see if he could schedule me the next day (Sat.). I asked him if he could please fit me in early in the morning, I had an appointment at 1230. He consulted with his co-worker and agreed to have someone at my home between 8-11am Saturday. I didn't hear from or see anyone by 1030 so I called the office. It was then that added horrible customer service experience happened. I was connected to a lady named *****. I asked her for an update on the cleaning since I'd not seen a tech. She told me that she would not have anyone out to my house til after 1pm. I explained that I had spoken to ******* and he assured me that a tech would be there between 8-11am. She replied to me, "I don't know what he told you but I am not *******". "My guys are up north and won't be down your way til after 1pm". I was upset at this point. I informed her, this was poor customer service and I could not believe this. She stated, "Well if you don't want the appointment I will just cancel it". I stated, "I didn't ask to cancel". When a tech arrived, he stated, It is policy to take payment first before doing the job. I called her, she repeated the same comment and "cash only". I said, I was not informed of this. She said, "He needs payment first or he leaves".

Desired Settlement: I would like this forwarded to corporate and a full investigation on how these employees are conducting business and their customer service skills.I understand that things do happen. She made me as a customer feel like I was just trying to get over on a 40 dollar carpet cleaning and she was very insensitive to the changes I went through to get this appointment. She stated she was a manager. I would like an apology and a future accomodation.

Business Response:

Following my telephone conversation with Mr. ******, I would like to state again that America's Finest Carpet sincerely apologizes for the disservice and lack of customer service given to Mr. ****** on both the scheduled and re-scheduled dates of May 10th and May 11th consequently.

I would like to thank Mr. ****** for being understanding following the unforeseen circumstances of a broken down vehicle on the day of May 10th however our dispatcher should have been more pro-active when handling Mr. ******'s appointment. First of all Mr. ****** had scheduled a week in advance, taken the day off, and moved all  of his furniture. And as it resulted our dispatcher should have made sure all the notes were in place on the work order for the re-scheduled appointment on May 11th to ensure Mr. ******'s carpets got cleaned very first thing in the morning. I also apologized for the poor customer service provided to Mr. ****** when he called into the office and ensured him that we have made changes and are working on ensuring the very best customer service and quality service <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">America</st1:country-region>'s Finest Carpet prides itself in. On the upside Mr. ****** was also kind enough to mention that the cleaning service provided to him on May 11th was very good and referred the service to his neighbors.

<st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">America</st1:country-region>'s Finest Carpet has attached Quote #****** which is a 1 Free Carpet Cleaning Certificate for Mr. ****** to use at his convenience. The service provides pre-conditioner, deodorizer, and stain removal along with the cleaning of his carpets. Mr. ****** will only need to reference the quote number when calling in to schedule.

We at America's Finest Carpet and myself **** ***** the carpet cleaning manager at America's Finest Carpet, would love for Mr. ****** to come back and continue to use us as his proffered carpet cleaning company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered procelain tile from this company (2100sf). The sales person contacted the ****** Rep to get a sample of the current dye lot. We got 1 tile (20x20). We took it home and found it to be acceptable and made the order, which you have to pay for up front. The store was nice enough to wave delivery fee and 5 pallets of material delivered to our home. The driver asked us to sign off on the material..he made a little opening in the 1st carton to reveal the color, which looked like our sample. The 2nd carton looked gray, which I commented on. The driver said there is a variance and the installers would "blend" the tiles. We had our own installers. We signed off on the delivery. The surprise came when the installers opened the carton and we see that there is only 1 tile the color of our sample out of every 4 tiles.. the rest get increasingly darker. One tile more gray and so dark it doesn't "blend"..it's very obvious. The installers worked with several different "blending" layouts so it wouldn't be as obvious. We have pulled the darkest tile and have (as of today 2/27)approx 300 tiles pulled aside. We have been in contact with the store since day one, and as of yesterday (2/26) they (store & ****** co.) are not offering any resolution. They are saying because it's all the same dye lot the "variance is expected, what you get is what you get". This is not right, we would not have made the order if we would have been provided with enough tiles to show the "variance". In the future they should provide enough tiles to show a better idea of the color "variances". Delivery was suppose to be made 2/20, but product didn't come in "due to weather", product delivered 2/22. Installers here 2/23, sales person notified of concerns. Sales person off 2/24. We followed up on 2/25. Sales person requested pictures to send to ****** Rep, which we provided.

Desired Settlement: We want them to replace all the tiles (300) that have been pulled so far plus another 300 with the tiles the color of our sample so we can finish the install. We still have a living room, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 hallways and laundry room to do. Our installers will only be available to us for 2 more weeks before they have to go to another job.

Business Response:

Ref: *******

 

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

Mrs. **** selected a sample of ****** tile identified as Canterra color Oro in our showroom, she asked for another sample to be brought in to check to see if it was consistent with the sample in the showroom and it was. Both tile samples have a label with the following disclaimer (see attached file): “Since there is shade variation in all fired ceramic products, the tile supplied for your particular installation may not match these samples. Final color selection should be made from actual tiles and not from tile sample or color reproductions.” The label on this tile identifies this tile line as having a V4 or “Random” shade variation. Shade variation is inherent in all tile products, including man-made tiles such as porcelain, glass & ceramic. Shade and texture will vary significantly from piece to piece to within production runs. V1 shade variation has little or no change from piece to piece where a V4 will have a large variety of color and/or texture changes to better simulate the variations in natural stone. The variation rating system is quite consistent throughout the tile industry showing V1, V2, V3, or V4 to better give the consumer an idea of what the product will look like in large quantities.

This was clearly labeled on the samples in the store and on the sample given to Mrs. ****, additionally, this variation was explained by our sales staff and Mrs. **** communicated that she has put tile in her home before and understands the variations in tile.

This tile was identified as a “Cash and Carry” purchase having the customer manage the installation of the product and not using the services of America’s Finest Carpet Company, industry standard is to have this type of purchase paid in full prior to placing the order.

We have the customer inspect all products and sign for their acceptance at the time of delivery and if they are not happy with the product the customer can reject the delivery and we deliver we can either exchange it for another batch or issue a full refund; this exchange or return policy holds true even after the product has been delivered but not after it has been installed. Mrs. **** told said that she saw the variation at the time of delivery. She said that as she opened the packages she saw more and more of the variation and picked through the cartons to pull out the pieces she didn't like and claims that there were about 1 in every 4 that she didn't want on her floor.

Considering this product is manufactured to include random shade variations it is the responsibility of the installer to blend the product as they install to avoid large patches of dark and light sections. This product is identified as having great variation (both by labeling and by the sales staff) and therefore must be installed to blend these variations. This is the way this product is manufactured, packaged, and sold; it is supposed to be installed in the same manner, prior to any installation a range of tiles should be laid out and approved by the customer.

Mrs. **** did not reject this product at the time of delivery, she did not reject this product as she opened the individual cartons, she did not reject this product as the installer began to blend a range of tiles prior to install (I am assuming a pre installation lay out was done by the installer prior to the installation, it should be a standard practice by any hard surface installation professional).

America’s Finest Carpet Company and/or ****** Flooring will not replace the 300 tiles she has picked through and set aside nor will we give her an additional 300 tiles to complete her other projects. This product was labeled accurately and sold as a tile with random variation; this product was manufactured and packaged accurately as it is described in the showroom and on the additional sample given to Mrs. ****. Mrs. **** accepted and installed this product; once a product has been installed it cannot be returned.

It is unfortunate that Mrs. **** is unhappy with her selection but this selection was not an error on the part of America’s Finest Carpet Company and there were no manufacturing or packaging defects on the part ******. If Mrs. **** was unhappy with this product as it was delivered or as it was unpackaged or as it was being placed she should have not moved forward with the installation process and selected a different product or requested a refund prior to installation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We have reviewed the business response and do not agree with the content as stated. We spent a great deal of time with our saleperson on tile selection. It was a lengthy process. We had pointed out to our salesperson other samples in their store, we had seen in other stores and decided against due to the color or finish of one tile in the display sample/grouping. We also discussed with the salesperson that we weren't looking for any dark flooring as our home has tinted windows and tends to be dark inside. Also discussed was the fact that we were trying to select something that would blend not clash with exisiting granite, bathroom tiles and cabinets. I did not ask for another sample to be brought in, the salesperson offered to get a sample in the current dye lot and the size (20'x20"), which we had not even thought of. We thought the salesperson was very thoughtful. This dispute now seems to be centered around the product labeling and the discussion between the salesperson, my husband and me. The tile we viewed at the store was a 13"x13". The label was in one of the upper corners. The "exact" content of that label was not discussed. The salesperson made several references as to "variations in color". I did respond that I understood there would be "a little variance" in the color. It was not until we met with the store manager on 3/27 that he stated the tile has "moderate variations". We asked him how we would know this, and he pointed out on the label this tiny box with 9 very tiny boxes inside that had different shadings. We stated we thought it was some sort of icon, not an indication of shade variance. If this had been pointed out or discussed with us by our salesperson, we would have noted that there were only 2 light tiles in the grouping and not ordered the tiles.  The coding system of V1, V2, V3 and V4 were not discussed with us by our salesperson or the store manager. We weren't even aware of it until we read their response. On closer examination of our label the V4 is barely legible. The "shading variance docx" included in their response has been enlarged so the printing is legible. Their response that the salesperson explained the "variation" to us in detail, is not true. The terms, moderate, random and V4 were never part of our discussion. His words were "you understand there can be some variance in the color" Again my response was "a little variance is to be expected". Given our conversation with the salesperson about what we were looking for (light color and simple), if he knew the rating on this tile selection was "moderate, random and V4" then he knew it was not what we were looking for. He should have pointed to the label and explained the "shading variance box", the terms "random and V4" to us. Which he clearly did not do.

Regarding the inspection of the product upon delivery, we were not informed by our salesperson or anyone from the warehouse that we were expected to inspect all 5 pallets of product at the time of delivery. When the product was delivered we did make comment when the top corner of one carton was exposed and that the color was too gray and dark. The driver's comment was "there will be some variance, your installers will blend it to make it look natural". He did not even offer that we could refuse the delivery if we weren't happy with it and could contact the store for other options.

Regarding the further inspection of the product (opening of the cartons) we did contact the store immediately when it was apparent that what we thought we ordered and what was delivered were grossly different. Once again, when we contacted our salesperson, even with the initial tile that had been started, he did not offer any options, certainly not that we could return unopened product for exchange or refund.

In the last paragraph of their response, they state that if "I (we) were unhappy with this product as it was delivered, or as it was unpackaged or as it was being placed, we should not have moved forward with the installation process and selected a different product or requested a refund prior to installation" Cleraly this option was never offered to us and certainly there were multiple opportunities.

We feel that this business failed to use "due diligence" to educate the customer properly in order to make informed decisions.  The labeling on their product needs to be large enough to read, and the salesperson needs to be sure the customer understands the terms "shading variance, random and the coding system V1-V4". The salesperson should offer more than one tile when assisting a customer in making a decision.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: We stand by our original rejection to this complaint and request for additional material; this product was presented, sold, manufactured, packaged, and delivered correctly. This product was accepted by the customer and installed by their contractor. No refund or additional discount will be given on this transaction.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We most likely will be seeking resolution through avenues outside of the BBB.

Regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased hard wood flooring as well as carpet from this company. The problem is with the wood flooring. We started the proceeding for a claim in June when after less than a year we began to notice some problems with the engineered hardwood. There are white spots forming on the wood, in all areas, as well as an appearance of ghosting (a term used by the inspector) also there is some end plank lifting . The inspectors report states that it is a moisture problem. There was a test done that stated the floor needed to be sealed and I do not know if that happened. Since the inspectors report in (July 2012) I have e-mailed and called America's Finest Carpet's corporate office in Chula Vista to no avail. The first few attemps resulted in an e-mail stating they were working on it. With a claim to the adhesive company, which resulted in a denial. That same company sent America's finest an internet search in which they found a description of a problem which seems similar to ours and said that was our problem. Note : That is not what the inspector said was the problem. The last e-mail I received stated that they were waiting for a reponse from the flooring manufacturer. The person I was dealing with (********) hasn't contacted me since. I have sent numerous e-mails and phone calls, and followed up my phone call with an e-mail each time. There has been zero communication. The wood continues to worsen. It seems as this company just hopes the problem will magically disappear. As a consumer, and a very patient one, I might add, and having paid hard earned money for this product, it is very disappointing to have trusted a company such as this one. I have been left with no alternative, but to file this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want the floor replaced. As of now I still don't know if the problem is with the wood or with the moisture (was the floor properly sealed), I don't know this because the commuction stopped.

Business Response:

We are fully aware of Mrs. *****’s complaint and warranty claim and are actively working on facilitating her warranty claim with the manufacturers of the products she purchased.

We have investigative reports that do not give a definitive answer as to the cause of the discoloration on her flooring. We have hired a third and final inspector to investigate and determine the cause so we can identify a corrective course of action.

The size and scope of Mrs. ******* project is one that requires the warranty to follow a proper procedure and, to protect our interest and that of Mrs. *****, we must do our due diligence to avoid any potential future issue and ensure we have recourse should the manufacturer fail to make good on this warranty claim. We have documentation from the different manufacturers of the products used and the inspectors report showing that we have been working on this issue.

Going forward we will make every attempt to maintain better communication and update Mrs. ***** with new information throughout this process however, new information is often delayed by the manufacturer. Our office will be in contact with Mrs. ***** shortly to update her on the progress. The bottom line is that Mrs. *****’s claim will be handled and her issue will be rectified according to industry standards.

Please respond to let me know that you have received this correspondence.

Thank you

****** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Americas Finest Carpet is not acceptible as a final resolution.  When the product is replaced it will be acceptible.  

The company claims that they have been working on this, however I have received NO calls and my e-mails/calls have gone unanswereed.  The last response from the company was on 10/18/12.  Before that day, I contacted the company monthly because I never received any contact about what was being done to process my claim.  The inspector came to my property in July 2012.  I have emails dating back to August to back this up.  After contacting the company I got a response on 8/15 and 9/13, but only after initiating contact myself and with no resolution.  After the final response on 10/18/12, I e-mailed on 10/30 and receved no response.  I then e-mailed again on 11/7 with no reponse.  On 11/12 I called and was told I would recieve a call back that day.  On 11/14 I called and was told she was with a client, no call was returned.  On 11/16 I called and was told she was on another line and would return my call.   I followed up these calls with an e-mail and my last e-mail stated that if I did not recieve a response I would assume that there was no action being taken.  I was never e-mailed in return or was contacted in any way with an assurance that Americas Finest was actively pursuing a resolution.  

The resonse from the company to this complaint stated that procedures need to be followed to protect the claim etc., there was never any indication after my 10/18 e-mail that anything was being done to resolve this issue and I attempted time after time to contact them. 

I have an appointment with an inspector on December 28th and was contacted by America's Finest to confirm this appointment.  This is the first time there has been contact since 10/18/12. 

I am hopeful that the situation will be resolved, but it is not resolved as of yet. 

Thank you,

***** *****

Business Response:

****

As identified in in our original response, and in Mrs. *****’s rebuttal, we performed a third and final inspection (12/28/12). The official results of this inspection are not yet available and, due to the holidays, will not be given until sometime next week. However, the preliminary and unofficial results do suggest that there is an issue with the finish on the wood.  

A more solid action plan and time table will be created and communicated as soon as the official results are available from the inspector; should results be delayed beyond next week we will maintain communication with Mrs. ***** to make sure she is aware that we are still actively working on her warranty claim.

Again, regardless of the outcome of this third inspection, Mrs. ***** issue will be rectified according to industry standards.

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service