BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Candles4Less.com

Phone: (877) 766-5328 Fax: (516) 977-4150 View Additional Phone Numbers 3501 Hancock St, San Diego, CA 92110 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.candles4less.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of taper, votive, tealight and pillar candles for restaurants, weddings and churches nationwide.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Candles4Less.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Candles4Less.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Candles4Less.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 11, 2004 Business started: 01/15/2003 in CA Business incorporated: 01/15/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Yigit Arslan, Vice President Mr. Mustafa Ozarslan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Yigit Arslan, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Mustafa Ozarslan, President
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Candles - Retail Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Medusa International Trade Inc
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 3501 Hancock St

    San Diego, CA 92110 (877) 766-5328 (619) 295-2263

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 295-2263(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is,  I have a letter from ****** telling me that they will charge me return shipping cost of the merchant, my refund would be $561.32 as per attached e- mail.  I talked with UPS and they said there is no charge for return packages if I do not open the packages.  Just refuse the delivery.  So that is what I do, refuse the delivery.  Oh the $561.32 is less another $114.74 shipping cost.  I have been checking my account for my refund which I finally received for $430.12.  I called ******, she said that that was the cost of the return shipping cost.  That is a total shipping cost of $360.68.  That is truly not right.  

I did go back and read the refund policy.  Which it did say something about being responsible for shipping charges.  The shipping cost to be shipped to me was $114.74 but the return shipping cost was $245.94.  That is OVER double the cost to return.  I do not relieve that is what the refund policy was saying.  

I appreciate any help you can give me in this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

My complaint is,  I have a letter from ****** telling me that they will charge me return shipping cost of the merchant, my refund would be $561.32 as per attached e- mail.  I talked with UPS and they said there is no charge for return packages if I do not open the packages.  Just refuse the delivery.  So that is what I do, refuse the delivery.  Oh the $561.32 is less another $114.74 shipping cost.  I have been checking my account for my refund which I finally received for $430.12.  I called ******, she said that that was the cost of the return shipping cost.  That is a total shipping cost of $360.68.  That is truly not right.  
 
I did go back and read the refund policy.  Which it did say something about being responsible for shipping charges.  The shipping cost to be shipped to me was $114.74 but the return shipping cost was $245.94.  That is OVER double the cost to return.  I do not relieve that is what the refund policy was saying.  
 

Desired Settlement: I would at the lest like for ****** / Candle 4 Less to honor her letter for my refund of $561.32.  I still believe UPS in there is no cost for return packages unopened.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have heard from Candles 4 Less.  They have reimbursed me the amount I have requested for of $131.20 in shipping charges, honoring their letter for reimbursement.

 
Thank you so very much for your help in this matter.  Your help was greatly appreciated.  
Please close this complaint #********.
 
Sincerely,   ***** *****

 

Business Response: Dear ******* ***** at the BBB,

 
********

In reference to the above claim ID #********, we have resolved the issue with the customer.  My email to the customer is below and her reply follows my email.  Please reply to let us know the claim has been satisfied enough to be closed.  We look forward to your reply.

"Dear *****,

We received a BBB complaint about us from you and we would like to help you so this issue can be resolved.  We have applied a refund of $131.20 to your credit card today before this email was sent and the verification number of that refund is ************.  We understand we said in one of our emails that we would refund you $561.32, we have now honored this after todays’ refund.  The reason we said what we said in the email is because we would normally refund the subtotal minus a second ship cost for a package that is refused, but UPS has since changed their policy about how they calculate return ship costs per package, their calculations made the return cost more than what we initially thought it would be.  In your complaint you say “I still believe UPS in there is no cost for return packages unopened”, we have explained to you before and we will once more, UPS will not charge you directly, they told you they would not charge you a return ship cost, it is because they charge it to us, we in turn must charge the customer, this is a service that UPS drivers are providing: shipping your packages and then returning them, this is not a free service, they get paid to do their job.  We have seen more instances where a UPS representative has told a customer of ours they will not charge them return ship costs, it is because UPS charged it to us.  When they say this, it make them look like the “good cop” and Candles 4 Less like the “bad cop” once we tell the customer we will charge them the fee, but people have to be paid to work (ie UPS drivers).  We hope you accept our explanation and also that we have made you happy by refunding the $131.20 which makes your total refund now $561.20.  Please reply to this email so that we have something in writing to show the BBB, in hopes that we can have this case closed.  Have a nice day, we look forward to your reply.

****** *******

www.candles4less.com

Direct ************ X: **

Toll Free 877.766.5328 X: 11

Fax 516.977.4150


*****'s reply...

"I have received the refund of $131.20 on my credit card, order #******.

***** *****"

 

11/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They refuse to refund my money for a product that was returned

Business Response: Dear ***, 

Complaint number: *******

CSR Manager handling complaint: ****** *******
GM: **** ****** 

Customers Sales Order receipt is attached. 

Our customer *** ***** purchased with us through Amazon, and we shipped her order on time according to our shipping policies and the “Estimated Delivery” for her order in Amazon, the order was just not in time for when she needed it and we did our very best to help her even though we did not have to, then after helping her, she still left negative feedback for us on Amazon and she contacted the BBB a day before she threatened us with contacting the BBB, she is wrong.  First, I will show you the Purchase date, expected ship date, estimated delivery date and ship method for the order in Amazon, then I will show you the feedback the customer left for us on Amazon with a “1” rating.  I will provide the notes from our Netsuite system, this is our ordering system and this is where we record everything happening with the order.  Then I will provide Purchase Date:July 18, 2013 2:06:35 PM PDT

Expected Ship Date:Jul 19, 2013 to Jul 22, 2013
Estimated Delivery:Jul 24, 2013 to Jul 29, 2013
Shipping Service:Standard  

Negative feedback with rating of 1 on August 7th 2013: "WORST PPL TO DEAL WITH EVER TRYING TO RETURN AN ITEM IS IMPOSSIBLE WITH THESE PPL” 7.24.13 per amazon email, she NEEDED the candles today for sure, she gets married on fri when they will be del, that is not ok, we will help her. I called her and told her to refuse pkg, if she cannot refuse, she will call us to issue a pre-paid ups shipping label. 7.29.13 per amazon email, she wants an rma. I read my last note, so I will tell her to call us so we can issue ship label 7.29.13 ******** called and gave email address so we can email pre-paid UPS ship label bc we are paying for the return shipment as a courtesy to her, I put on ship label notebook, she knows we email it on Friday 8.5.13 cust did not get label on fri, **** was unable to email lables then. i highlighted on ship label notebook and will ask **** to send this am 8.6.13 return label track # ******************. I emailed it to the customers direct email, could not emial through amazon, bc amazon site is down 8.7.13 Per this negative feedback with rating of 1 on amazon...
"WORST PPL TO DEAL WITH EVER TRYING TO RETURN AN ITEM IS IMPOSSIBLE WITH THESE PPL "

I left a voicemail and emailed this to the customer...

"We are emailing you today because we were going through our Amazon feedback and noticed we have a negative feedback from you along with a rating of 1. We are sorry you are not happy, but we really have done everything in our power to help you with your order. When you ordered with us through Amazon, your estimated date of delivery shows "Jul 24, 2013 to Jul 29, 2013" and your order was delivered Friday, 07/26/2013 at 11:09 A.M. according to your UPS tracking number, this is 3 days earlier than when Amazon promised your order could be delivered by. When I (******) spoke with you on July 24th, you said you needed your order that day and we understood and wanted to help you as a courtesy, even though your order was on time according to estimated delivery which you would have been made aware of at time of your Amazon order. We really do have excellent customer service and always help our customers 100% with issues that arise. It is not good for us to have neutral or below feedback with Amazon, we have excellent standing with them because of our customer service. At this time, we would like to ask if you would please remove the feedback you added about us, we would really appreciate it as we did everything we could to help you. We have included the instructions for removing feedback on Amazon in case you need them. We look forward to your reply. 
Thank you in advance for your consideration!"

If she ultimately does not want to remove the feedback, we will only refund her $16.49, this is subtotal minus ship cost for label, bc we did this as a courtesy and she is being unreasonably difficult although we are helping her. we will tell her this if she REALLY does not want to remove feedback after the email and vm we left her   

8.15.13
per this email today...
"I ORDERED 2 SO I SHOULD BE REFUNDED 39.47 NOT 16.49 "

I replied....
"Please see the email below which we emailed to you on Wednesday August 7th, we received no reply from you. Please be aware, and you may already be aware, that everything we have explained to you in our correspondence thus far, has been presented to Amazon in the form of a reply to your A to Z claim. Your order was on time, it just happened to be that you did not receive the order for when you needed it. We emailed you a return shipping label as a courtesy, but we still received negative feedback from you. At this point, we have applied a refund $16.49 (this is your subtotal minus the cost of shipping a second time to pay for the return ship label). If you would remove the negative feedback you added for us, we will be happy to refund the rest for a total refund of the full amount. We look forward to your reply.

“We are emailing you today because we were going through our Amazon feedback and noticed we have a negative feedback from you along with a rating of 1. We are sorry you are not happy, but we really have done everything in our power to help you with your order. When you ordered with us through Amazon, your estimated date of delivery shows "Jul 24, 2013 to Jul 29, 2013" and your order was delivered Friday, 07/26/2013 at 11:09 A.M. according to your UPS tracking number, this is 3 days earlier than when Amazon promised your order could be delivered by. When I (******) spoke with you on July 24th, you said you needed your order that day and we understood and wanted to help you as a courtesy, even though your order was on time according to estimated delivery which you would have been made aware of at time of your Amazon order. We really do have excellent customer service and always help our customers 100% with issues that arise. It is not good for us to have neutral or below feedback with Amazon, we have excellent standing with them because of our customer service. At this time, we would like to ask if you would please remove the feedback you added about us, we would really appreciate it as we did everything we could to help you. We have included the instructions for removing feedback on Amazon in case you need them. We look forward to your reply. "  

9.23.13
she emailed and said she removed the feedback so she wanted the full refund, she did not remove the feedback, the feedback is still there. I told her that once she removes, we can refund

 9.25.13
$ 22.98 more has been refunded through Amazon. 

9.25.13feedback was finally removed and **** refunded $22.98, i thanked ******** and said take care!   For the record, the email correspondence where she states she will contact the BBB is below…9.24.13I removed the comment
now please refund me the total amount

thank you 9.24.13

Dear ********,
Sorry, but we cannot refund the total amount yet as we still see the feedback. Once you remove it, we can apply the refund.

"8/6/13 1 WORST PPL TO DEAL WITH EVER TRYING TO RETURN AN ITEM IS IMPOSSIBLE WITH THESE PPL"

 9.25.13
YOu cannot see my feedback
I would like my money refunded 

9.25.13

Dear ********,
Sorry to disagree, but we really do see the feedback still, the feedback is definitely still there, we can see it. 9.25.13I was just on there and do not see it
I will be contacting your corporate office and the better business bureau then since you are refusing to give me my money back *** We hope we provided sufficient information to show you that we did all we could in our power to help our customer, we simply felt her feedback and rating along with it, were underserving to our great customer service.  We expect that our great standing with the BBB has not changed.  Please let me know if you need any further documentation to help this case or if you have any questions. 

Have a great day! Candles 4 Less
CSR Manager
****** *******

10/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for the candles on 8/29/13. The website advertises "Same day shipping" so with that and the shipping option that advertised "5-7 days" for delivery I expected to receive them by Friday of that week. Two weeks later, the candles still hadn't arrived. Needing the candles for that weekend, I went and purchased ones from a local craft store. I looked online and the order status was still "processing". I sent an email on 9/15 to the customer service department but did not receive a response. I contacted the 800 number two days later to ask what was holding up my order. The representative told me that they had been back ordered however this was never communicated to me. She then told me that the order was ready and would ship out that day and she would personally send an email with the tracking number once the order shipped. I did not receive any response or tracking number so I called again the following day. This time they told me once again that the order was shipping that day and she didn't know why it hadn't shipped the day before. It seems the communication line between the customer service in San Diego and the warehouse in New York was almost non-existent. I did receive the candles on 9/19, two weeks after they were expected. I was promised a 10% refund in the order but since I had already paid, that was never processed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my shipping cost refunded and 50% of my order refunded since candles were not received in time as expected and had to be purchased elsewhere.

Business Response: Dear ***,

 There were a few issues with this customers order and we are responsible for it.  The customers’ order should have shipped from our New York location and it did not because the item was back-ordered, unfortunately, she called us before we called her (about the status of the order).  When she finally received the order, she was not happy with the color of the holders, we were getting our regular stock of ***** ******* but, in the meantime, we had a color that was not the color represented on the website that she saw. 

 In the September 24th note below, we made a record of the review she gave us where she expresses she was not happy with the length of time it took for her to receive the order and that color of the ***** holders was not what she expected.  It really should not have taken so long for her to receive her order, and we should have called her about the back-order (even though the note about the back-order is on the website, sometimes customers miss it).  We are taking pictures of the colored glass votive holder, including the *****, so the correct color is represented on the website.  I left a voicemail and also emailed the customer letting them know we applied a refund of their order in full and hope that it makes them feel better about the situation.  Please let me know if you need any other documentation about this case or have any questions.  Have a nice night! 

9.16.13
she called re status, she was not happy that order is taking so long to ship and no one told her about b/o, i apologized and told her i'll email track # as soon as avail when ships form ny 

9.17.13per cust call she was checking to see if her order has shipped, it has not it is still is hanging as an order processing to ship at the New York warehouse, i emailed angie to make sure order ships today. we also offered 10% discount for the inconvenience. cust should have order by thursday if we ship today   

9.18.13the discount did not transfer from 3d (the system where the customer orders), so we will refund back to visa card, task on notebook for accounting to apply refund 

9.24.13
per email review below, not happy with color *****. When I called to see if we could help her, maybe by getting them back or something, she said event passed and it's ok, dori is giving a discount, so they are okay...
"******* were okay although the ***** pictured is orange and the ones we received were brown. There are a lot of candle companies out there, shop around before ordering. Candles arrived 24 days after I ordered them because apparently they were back ordered but no one bothered to communicate that to me. Took an email and two calls to customer service to track them down.

" 10.10.13"
We are emailing regarding your order because we received a notice that you sent a complaint to the BBB about us. We are very sorry you are not happy with our product and service, we understand there were a few miscommunications and discrepancies made on your order. Before we sent this email, we applied a full refund back to your Visa, $63.22. We hope you feel better about the situation now that we have done this. Please let us know if you have any questions. Take Care!" 

10.10.13

$ 63.22 has been refunded. (************) My email and voicemail to Hannah today… “We are emailing regarding your order because we received a notice that you sent a complaint to the BBB about us.  We are very sorry you are not happy with our product and service, we understand there were a few miscommunications and discrepancies made on your order.  Before we sent this email, we applied a full refund back to your Visa, $63.22.  We hope you feel better about the situation now that we have done this. 

Please let us know if you have any questions.  Take Care!” 

CSR Manager
****** *******
************ **** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

There was not a notice regarding the product being on backorder on the website when the order was placed, as stated in the letter sent from the BBB, that was placed on the website after the order was placed (this fact was pointed out when speaking to the first customer service representative).  We have been in contact and the issue is settled.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

1/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Candles4Less posts a Canadian flag prominently in the upper-right corner of its banner on all pages. I ordered 8 boxes of chime candles for $47.53, and paid $15.62 for shipping to Canada. The item page promised 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. The shipping page during the purchase mentioned nothing about further charges, and my confirmation invoice said "GRAND TOTAL: $63.15" This implies that there are no further charges. However the order arrived with a COD charge of $39.02, consisting of $5.92 for GST tax on the candles, plus *** Brokerage Fees of $29.55 and $3.55 GST tax on the Brokerage Fees. I would have been happy to pay the original GST tax up front (as you do if you order from ***** ***) but the COD brokerage fees are exorbitant. When I complained to Candles4Less's customer service and asked them to refund the brokerage fees and the taxes on them, they refused. They said it was a *** charge, not theirs (though they benefitted from the original purchase). They directed me to a small link at the bottom of the page, "Return and Shipping Policies", buried amidst many other links. Way down in the middle of the return policies page it says they are not responsible for taxes or brokerage fees on international orders. However this information did not appear anywhere during the purchase transaction or order confirmation email. I couldn't return the entire order as my family had already accepted and used some of the boxes of candles. I offered to return the unused boxes if Candles4Less would refund the brokerage fee, but they did not answer my email. I call this anything but "100% satisfaction."

Desired Settlement: As Candles4Less courts Canadian customers in their banner, they should put all charges up front in the purchase transaction, or at the very least WARN people explicitly during the purchase transaction that the brokerage fees may cost more than the candles. I would still like a refund of the brokerage fees and taxes on them, as Candles4Less's purchase transaction pages and confirmation emails contained "false advertising" of misleading grand totals.

Business Response:

Dear **** ******,

This email is in response to Case * *******.  Customer states that we do not make our customers aware of our International shipping policy before the end of a transaction.  We refer our customers, when asked ahead of time (about shipping to Canada), to our International Shipping Policy page.  As with any company on the internet there are policy pages that hold any information a customer may need/want to access before completing an order.  Shipping internationally, we understand customers should be made aware of the policies that are appropriate to that particular order and we do so, on our policy page. If a customer is an international customer, it is a great idea for the customer to find out beforehand what the international shipping policies are for that particular company, having said this, whenever we call a customer for a different reason about their order, we always make it a point to address the International Shipping Policy and they proceed as they wish from there, we in no way intend to withhold this fact from our customers.  The customer points out that the company ***** *** include the GST tax up front and that the brokerage fees are exorbitant, I replied (you may see in our email correspondence below) that companies have different contracts with the shipper according to their needs..  The grand total is the total paid to Candles 4 Less, we do not charge the duties and brokerage so that would not reflect in the grand total, it is clearly stated in our policy that  “Prices and shipping fees do not include Brokerage fees, import duties, VAT or tariffs; these are the responsibility of the customer and are usually collected upon delivery.”

To resolve the case, we will refund the customer, as a courtesy to her, $33.10, we will also add a note to our checkout page making customers aware of the extra fees they will be charged from the other entities other than us, and we will call to let her know about all of this as well.

Please do not hesitate to ask for further information on this case as needed.  Have a great day!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. The business's defensive tone in their correspondence still belies their promised 100% satisfaction guarantee; they continue to blame me, the customer, for the fact that they had hidden charges only visible if one delved deep into a different section of their website from the purchase pages. At my request they have now changed their checkout page so it warns Canadian customers that there will be extra charges - though it does not warn us how expensive those will be. When I emailed them again today, they put through the refund they had promised me last week. So I will now resolve this complaint as closed, though I will still advise other Canadians not to do business with this company.

Regards,

**** *****