This business is not BBB accredited.

Reputation Management Consultants

Phone: (866) 509-7367 View Additional Phone Numbers 92 Corporate Park #C700, Irvine, CA 92606 http://www.reputationmanagementconsultants.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers business consulting services. 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reputation Management Consultants include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Reputation Management Consultants
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 11/22/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary Hagins, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Hagins, CEO
Number of Employees

110

Business Category

Business Consultants Management Consultants Marketing Consultants Marketing Programs & Services Motel & Hotel Consultants Internet Marketing Services Advertising Agencies & Counselors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    92 Corporate Park #C700

    Irvine, CA 92606 (866) 509-7367 (888) 526-5206

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Reputation Management to remove one article from the front page of a google search here in our area. 6 months later and $15,000 out of pocket and the article is still there. In talking to them over this period of time they told us they were working on the article not showing up in other areas of the country rather than our area. Since we are a regional company other areas of the country don't matter to us. We asked them to solely concentrate on our specific business area. Since they were unable to remove the article or move it to another page they now want us to spend more money with them to accomplish the goal. Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. We would like a reimbursement of our funds or work to be done at no additional charge until the article we originally contracted to be moved has been moved. Either case will work for us.

Desired Settlement: We want the article removed, we believed we have paid enough for this one item to have been accomplished.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

I hope you're doing well. I wanted to address the concerns that you had with the campaign that we ran for your company. Looking at the results of your campaign, it looks as though the search results are cleared and positive for the "CITOC" keyterm in every state except the city of Houston, TX local search engine results. This is a huge success when it comes to the final results, and we are little confused that you don't consider these results as a positive outcome!

I am sure all the reports and the assets we shared with you can speak for itself, otherwise, we can further discuss your results over the phone if you wish. RMC has performed countless location-specific campaigns and we contract specifically to deal with situations where only certain locations are damaged. However, this campaign was not contracted with those needs in mind; we found out after the fact. We would be happy to discuss a local program with you that will be significantly effective on Houston's Google search results.

More than anything, we want to make sure that you had a positive experience working with RMC and we would still like to do whatever we can to achieve your desired results.

 

Regards,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Saying that this venture was a success is not believable.  The article in question was removed from every major city but Houston when we are a Houston based company is a success?  Can any reasonable person consider that to be a successful outcome?  Please see a sample email from our CEO B. ** ****** as an example of the notifications made to your business early on in our relationship: 

From: "." <*****************>
Date: Monday, December 7, 2015 at 12:10 PM
To: ****** <
******************************************>
Subject: Re: **** ******* * ****** ***

 

As a follow up to my last email, it doesn’t appear that our searches are having any movement.  You mentioned that it is making movement in other states but we don’t care because we don’t do business in other states.  From the beginning this is supposed to focus on local only.

 

** ****** * ****** **** * ************ ****** *****************

This email is representative of at least a half dozen more made to your company to please focus on Houston only.  I believe that you are misrepresenting the facts here.


**** ******



Business Response:

I completely understand your urgent intent to have the search results cleared specifically in the Houston area. As I mentioned, we found out from ** after we started the campaign that we wanted to focus on the Houston area. However, we were performing a standard Reputation Management campaign that is designed to clear the national search result landscape for a given keyterm. This stands apart from our Local Reputation Management product that is designed to focus on one specific location at a time -- this requires a far different set of resources and distribution of labor and production.  

 

I want to make sure that we do what we can to resolve your situation, but in order to fully solve the Houston-specific problem, we would have to pursue a Local Reputation Management campaign directed at the Houston area. We would be happy to perform a full Local campaign at 50% cost, meaning that RMC would cover half the cost of your Local campaign in recognition of the first campaign not meeting your expectations. In another way, you only need to cover our cost of service with money back guarantee if we don't resolve your issue. We would like to speak with you further about this. Please let us know when we can discuss your situation on the phone. 

 

Regards,

10/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Reputation Management Consultants to manage my online reputation (which is, to create websites which rank highly on Google and other search engines), and they did NOT perform the services they claimed to. When company was contacted, they sent a list of websites that they "created" as proof that they did indeed perform the services promised. I went through the URL's listed in their email and found that the VAST MAJORITY OF THE WEB PAGES THEY CLAIMED TO HAVE "CREATED AND LAUNCHED" DO NOT EVEN EXIST. When confronted with this, the company responded that there is no guarantee the pages would rank highly on Google and therefore, they did not violate the contract. While I totally understand there is no guarantee that the pages would rank high on Google, their response totally ignored the fact that the websites NEVER EXISTED, AND THEREFORE COULD NEVER, EVER RANK HIGH! I have a full list of the websites which they, in writing, claimed to have "created and launched" but actually never did. I can easily provide this list and all communication to you, but as I am not supposed to include any personally identifiable information, I will not do so on this form but would be happy to provide on a different platform.

Desired Settlement: I am currently disputing the charges with my credit card company and speaking to lawyers about litigation. I want a full refund from the company AND I WANT OTHER PEOPLE TO KNOW THAT THIS COMPANY DOES NOT PERFORM THE SERVICES THEY CLAIM TO.

Business Response:

******** ********** hired Reputation Management Consultants on December 19, 2014. The agreement was for suppression reputation management for ********* **********; this was month to month agreement at $1000.00 per month and a one-time fee of $500 with a 30 day notice of cancellation. ******** was reached out to immediately by phone 216-******** and email ******@gmail.com this is the contact information  provided by ******** in the agreement. We were to make all contact regarding this campaign with ********, we were not provided contact information for *********.

After multiple attempts to reach ******** to schedule a campaign strategy call, we proceeded with the campaign, suppression of the negative links in Google by creating multiple assets and content campaign. We continued to work on this  throughout  entirely of this campaign until she cancelled via email on August 20th. ******** received monthly reports with all work our team had done each 30 day period. We did not guarantee removal or suppression of negatives.

 

12/19/2014 – Introduction left voicemail with all contact information

12/30/2014 – Follow up left voicemail

02/13/2015 – Follow up to ensure client received first report left voicemail

06/2015 – Several attempts by Director to reach client via phone, client never returned calls

07/2015 – Attempts to reach client, no return call

 

Email:

12/19/2015 – Introduction and Media Kit and Branding Questionnaire (no response)

01/05/2015 – Initial Report and second attempt at Media Kit and Branding Questionnaire (no response)

02/13/2015 – First Month Report (no response)

03/12/2015 – Monthly Report (no response)

04/10/2015 Monthly Report (no response)

05/11/2015 Monthly Report

07/07/2015 Director reached out to ******** in detailed email with all the work we have done to date.

08/20/2015 Received email from client requesting to cancel service

 

I also attached all the monthly reports for all the assets and links we created for this campaign, there was a lot of effort put into this account from day one, and it was mostly achieved based on the agreement we have with the client. 

Regards,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response provided by Reputation Management Consultants completely dodges the claim I am making, which is that they did not perform the services promised. Let me give you some more backstory, after I complained about to Reputation Management Consultants to my credit card company, they provided us a list of the website which they "created and launched". These websites were the companies attempt to claim that they actually did perform services. I was surprised to see such an extensive list of work, and so I took the time to visit the sites they claimed to have "created and launched" as part of my campaign and the VAST MAJORITY DID NOT ACTUALLY EXIST! IAs proof of my above claims, I have attached Reputation Management Consultants response to American Express, where they claimed to have "created and launched" (their words), the list of websites which in fact DO NOT EXIST. 

I firmly believe that Reputation Management Consultants DID NOT PERFORM THE SERVICES PROMISED IN THE CONTRACT and even falsified information which they provided to American Express in an attempt to cover up the fact that they never performed said services. I also want to make one thing clear, I totally understand that there was no guarantee that these websites would rank high on Google, as I understand Reputation Management Consultants does NOT control Google's algorithm, but the fact is, they never actually launched the websites, so they had NO CHANCE of ever ranking at all, because they didn't exist!
Please see the supporting documentation, where you will clearly see that Reputation Management Consultants wrote to American Express a list of websites which they used as justification that they actually performed the services promised. In addition to this, you will see my research, where I took several hours to visit each website individually and was shocked to see that the vast majority actually did not exist. I have even provided screenshots of each website, so you can see the error messages for yourself. 

Regards,

**** ***



Business Response:

In response to the claims asserted by ********* **********, RMC offers the following rebuttal:

RMC fully performed all services promised in the contract to the extent that RMC was permitted, based on the lack of response and cooperation from Mr. ********** and his primary contact. Despite numerous attempts to contact Mr. ********** to discuss the strategy and branding for his content, Mr. ********** never responded to our calls or emails until 6 months into the campaign, when he issued his cancelation and demanded a refund for the reasons previously stated. 

As a strict policy, RMC will not engage in content creation & publication for a brand or individual without conducting a thorough consultation with our clients to agree on a content strategy. Publishing content without the approval of our clients has been extremely detrimental in the past, and has caused considerable problems with inaccuracy and branding preference. Therefore, RMC practices a policy of cooperative branding strategy, to ensure that our clients receive only content that they want published, and that all facts and information is accurate.

RMC completed every step in creating, registering and launching all of the pages submitted in our original response, and RMC ensured that these assets were indexed on Google’s search engines. These assets were built as comprehensively as possible without approved content from Mr. **********. Upon review, all of the sites submitted are live and active (with the only exception being Friendfeed, a site which shut down after RMC created a profile on the domain).  

RMC also fulfilled all other activities pertaining to the assets, including sending unique visitors to each profile and ensuring that third-party web users engaged with every asset. For example, a simple review of the Google+ profile we created will show that RMC generated over 1,300 views for that single page.

The only aspect of the campaign that was not completed for Mr. **********’s campaign was the publication of original content – which we were prevented from accomplishing because of the lack of response and cooperation by Mr. ********* and his team. All of the sites created and built by RMC fully exist, live and active on the web – they are simply devoid of content because Mr. ********** did not engage with RMC in the content-creation process.

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company promised removal of 100% of the negative listings and images on the first 2 pages of three different Google searches. They collected $8,000 from me and continued to work on the project for the agreed upon term of 4 months. The WORK was NOT terminated early. Not only did the company not remove a significant percentage of negative listings, they actually created and posted additional negative listings.

Desired Settlement: grant desired settlement swiftly

Business Response: Plainly put: We deny ******'s assertions.

The client only paid Month's 1 and 2 of a several month engagement. The contract offered no written guarantee. The term was month to month. He made assertions items were to be cleared that were not in the contract.

We certainly did not "[create] and [post] additional negative listings."

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[The business refused to offer to return the $8,000 I paid them which is what I require immediately. They promised many services for a fee which they did not deliver. Without a full rebate, I feel it will be my civic duty to warn others of this firm's failure to deliver promised services as well them actually damaging my product.]

Regards,

****** ******

2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received a voicemail at our office from ******** at Reputation Management Consultants. The number she called from was ###-###-####. In the voicemail she claims that there are malicious and damaging reviews on the first page of google and on Yelp regarding our business. After checking both Google and Yelp, it is determined that these claims are blatant lies. Reputation Management Consultants is using false claims in order to coerce companies to buy into their product.

Desired Settlement: Stop these false advertisement practices immediately.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for any message that was left in error. Like any modern efficient company, we heavily leverage technology for many aspects of our business. In this case, our tools that we use to help gather information in order to form new relationships with those who may be in need of our services produced faulty data. We recognized the issue and apologized to those individuals who contacted us where no issue was present. It is not our goal to make anyone scared of an issue that does not exist.

We do take issue that the complaint considers this kind of marketing message coercion of any kind, however, seeing that we do not control any website discussed as part of these messages directly and make no direct coercive statements of any kind. Rather, we only want to help people succeed in managing their online reputations.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told they could remove negative comments and pictures from search engines after 1 year & $8500 was told i need to spend $800 per month to continue Was informed that they could remove or push down negative items and a picture in search engines. they asked me to send them written text and pictures which I did I could never get the same person on the phone and once they got my $8500 payment I never heard from them they told me i would get update phone calls from there team. and every time I called to speak to Mr ****** he wasn't there in fact they were transferring me to his cell phone and my Dedicated acct rep had no idea who i was.. after 6 months nothing was happening. and they said hang in there. it was at that point I started to receive calls for a maintenance program of $800 per month. my response was but nothing is happening ? answer just give it time... I was completely lied to and i and going to contact the CA Attorney General as I was completely taken advantage of

Desired Settlement: I want a refund as they did nothing as promised I received more phone calls from them trying to sell me me and once they got paid that was it

Business Response: Our guest (Mr. ********) engaged with RMC on March 27, 2012 for an inoculation campaign that was quoted at $8,500 for an initial 6-month period, followed by a subsequent monthly charge of $1,500 per month, with a stated goal of suppressing negative/damaging sites from the Google Search Results for a specific keyterm (‘******* ******** Rare Coins’).  There was never a stated guarantee of success or total clearance of 100% of pre-existing negatives.  As stated in our contract agreements, the monthly service fees cover the labor and resources required to fund our best practice ORM methodology, involving such items including but not limited to: organic content creation & publication as well as our proprietary technologies.

At the commencement of the campaign, Google’s top three pages of the keyterm in question (‘******* ******** Rare Coins’) contained 10 negative/damaging items out of a total 30 possible – as agreed upon by both parties at the outset of the campaign.  Five of these 10 negative items were ranked within Google’s first page of results. (This can be seen in the first RMC monthly report attached to this response.) After six months of inoculation for which our guest (Mr. ********) paid up front, RMC had successfully suppressed 9 of the 10 original negatives on the top three pages for the target keyterm, including four of the five keyterms on Page 1.  This represented a 90% success rate within the initial 6 month period. (Final Report Attached)

Additionally, on 7/12/2012 our guest (Mr. ********) requested that we begin to target an additional keyterm at no additional cost (– ‘******* ******** Oceanside’), for which several negative items ranked on the first page of Google.   We at RMC value loyalty and service above all else, and because of this principle the keyterm was added to the campaign for no additional cost; RMC supplied the resources to inoculate this keyterm out-of-pocket.

In October 2012,  (Mr. ********) or guest engaged with his RM Strategist (******** ******) about the possibility of reducing his monthly fees from the contracted amount $1,500.00/month.   RMC proposed a Maintenance Package to solidify and maintain the current Google search landscape for both keyterms, and quoted a price of $800/month.  (Mr. ********) Our guest refused, saying he was unable to afford the investment going forward at that rate. On 10/15/2012, RMC and our guest (Mr. ********) terminated their business arrangement. Nothing was heard from our guest (Mr. ********) until this letter, which is over 1 year past the termination of his account.

We are more than happy to discuss these concerns (with Mr. ********) and work to rectify any dissatisfaction with our services that still remains. 

Please, let me know, if you have any questions. We've tried to reach Mr. ******** to resolve the situation, but he doesn't seem to want to speak to us. 

Best Regards,

**** ******
Chief Operating Officer


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Reputation Management Consultants
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart