Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

American Alarm Systems Inc

Phone: (800) 262-5276 Fax: (714) 547-8525 1101 S Grand Ave #G, Santa Ana, CA 92705 http://www.800amalarm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers alarm system services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Alarm Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Alarm Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 10/18/1974 in CA Business incorporated 08/09/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Security & Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 270, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.dca.ca.gov/bsis
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
Fax Number: (916) 575-7290
The number is 6375.

Bureau of Security & Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 270, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.dca.ca.gov/bsis
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
Fax Number: (916) 575-7290
The number is 189.

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 299406.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Beale, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Beale, CEO
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1101 S Grand Ave #G

    Santa Ana, CA 92705 (800) 262-5276

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to cancel my Alarm monitoring and they are trying to charge me 1 year even though my original 2 year contract that I signed back in 2009 expired at the end of 2011

Desired Settlement: I simply want them to cancel my service without trying to charge me for another year.

Consumer Response:

Hello BBB,


As per our earlier conversation, here is my claim of resolution in writing. American Alarm System resolved my complaint shortly after it was made.  I have no further concerns as they have cancelled my monitoring with no additional fees.  Please let me know if there is anything else that I need to do in order to resolve this case.


Your help is greatly appreciated,

***** ******

*** ******* **** ********** ** ***** ************

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested to cancel my alarm service with American Alarm that i have been paying annually the past two years. During the cancellation process, I was told by **** *******, owner that I signed a 5 year term agreement to monitor the smoke alarm at my home. I don't have any recollection on signing any term. I would have not agreed to sign such term knowingly. When I pressed the issue, Josh told me I am bound by a 5 year term and he is willing to negotiate. This is a deceitful and predatory agreement American Alarm is trying to do and is down right shameful. I honored my part and they should not hold any long term agreement for such services.

Desired Settlement: I want American Alarm to waive the "so called" 5 year term for a smoke alarm monitoring services over my head. It's unfair and very deceitful and unprofessional business behavior. I god's honest truth, I would have never signed the agreement if they told me it would be for 5 years.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

Customer # ******, *** ****** *** signed a 5 year contract on 07/08/2013 with our company. The equipment at his location was leased by the previous owner. Because Mr. *** signed a contract with us, we allowed the leased security system to remain in the house. His contract included monitoring for the burglar and fire system.

On 11/14/2014, Mr. *** no longer wanted to retain monitoring services for the burglar system and only wanted monitoring for the fire system. We then issued a rate reduction on a new 5 year term contract to ensure his new low rate would stay intact. Both contracts are attached.

In an effort to make sure Mr. *** is satisfied with our services, we will allow him to keep the security system at his premise upon him paying the remaining contractual balance of his monitoring.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. The 5 year term for burglar system is deceitfully hidden in the contract terms and was never discussed with me prior. The amendment from burglar to fire system is noted accordingly on the bottom section of the contract signed 11/4/14. American Alarm also states I signed a contract on 7/8/2013 for a 5 year term, however, have not been furnished a contract copy for such date of agreement. If any of the documents furnished boldly stated this is a 5 year term, I would have not agreed to such term to monitor my smoke alarm. I need American Alarm to void this 5 year term that's been presented to me in a unprofessional & deceitful business practice. ****** ***

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service