Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Eco Friendly Remodeling

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 252-3159 Fax: (323) 952-5238 360 E First St #800, Tustin, CA 92780 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.myecofriendly.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eco Friendly Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eco Friendly Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eco Friendly Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 2013 Business started: 11/22/1978 in CA Business incorporated 12/19/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 366984.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Schmidt, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Schmidt, CEO
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Building Contractors Demolition Contractors Electricians Painting Contractors Paving Materials Auto Electric Equipment Engineering Contractors - General Hazardous & Medical Waste Services Electrical Power Systems Maintenance Landfills - Sanitary

Alternate Business Names
Kirshner & Schmidt Inc
Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1662 Centre Pointe Dr #1662

    Milpitas, CA 95035

  • 360 E First St #800

    Tustin, CA 92780

  • 9922 Walker St #B

    Cypress, CA 90630 (888) 252-3159

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased or Solar System from Eco Friendly 4 months ago, we were told we would not have to make any more payments to Southern California Edison and that ECO Friendly would now be responsible for managing those. This was a lie. We have had to continue to make payments to SCE since we paid Eco Friendly for this system. So far ECO friendly has only paid one months charges. They sent us another check a couple weeks ago, but used the wrong name on the check so we could not cash it. They have not sent another check to correct their error. I have made several calls to ECO Friendly about a multitude of things each one finally getting resolved after calling many times. ECO Friendly has yet to return more than a single call regarding our account that remains open and delinquent.

Desired Settlement: I have sent three SCE bills which we have had to pay out of our own pocket. I faxed these bills as requested by ECO Friendly to them and they have not paid them. I want payment for these three bills in full.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. You may cancel this complaint.  I have received word from this company and they are sending me a check.

Regards,

****** *******

7/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a roof installed in 2010 by hi-tech now eco friendly it leaked that winter they(hi tech) fixed it immediately. This Dec we had a very light rain I came home to have my piano bench,computer keypad & desk wet, as well as my wood floors wet & now covered by pots to catch any additional water. My elderly handicapped mother was home and placed towels on my computer & piano and put pots on the floor to catch anymore rain. I called the number for hi-tech which was now eco friendly to have them come repair the leak and fix the huge stain I now had on my ceiling. It took them almost 3 weeks to come out and when they did it they were late & sent someone to look at it who had no ladder. Then it took another week to have someone come & repair it. Only for that person again not have a ladder or actually be the person to fix it they were coming to look at it again. Then another few weeks before someone would come & repair the leak but I still had a stain. Now I'm being told I need to have someone verify that the warranty is still valid and someone else to look at the work that was done and still someone who needs to paint. I took another few weeks of back & forth calls appoints made that they never showed or were 8hrs late. I finally on 2/8 got someone to paint but still no inspection even though that person was supposed to show up as well but didn't. I called again Tues and had an appointment with the supposedly inspector today only for him to be almost 2hrs late no ladder calling me honey & sweetheart & ask me why am I here whats the problem. He asked if he could get on the roof I said yeah of course but he just stood on my lawn looking up. He then asked if there was access to the crawl space I said yes & showed him & he looked at it & asked for a ladder. I said I didn't have one why didn't he bring one he said well its fixed. I said how can you tell there's been no rain & you didn't go look. He then said honey I'll make an appointment with an inspector. I've missed several days of work

Desired Settlement: I don't what type of settlement I could get or would be acceptable I'm at my wits end dealing with the company. For them to pay for a new roof by another company, a refund for the leaking roof I have. I'm just so frustrated on how they jerk me around & can't keep appointments show up without proper equipment or give me what I paid for a roof with no leaks & warranty!

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****:

            We are in receipt of your most recent correspondence, dated March 20, 2014, along with a homeowner complaint, attached thereto, containing allegations of wrongdoing on behalf, arising from the installation of a roof system at the above-mentioned Subject Property, in 2010.  As such, we hereby submit this formal written response as follows:

            Eco-Friendly Remodeling and Construction, Inc., is in no manner responsible for the damages alleged, nor are we in way connected with Hi-Tech Design and Construction, Inc., whom we believe was the general contractor on the project.  Upon further investigation, we learned that the installation of said roof system was performed, in part, by **** Design, a subcontractor who we have, on past occasions, also used on remodeling/construction projects unrelated to the complainant, ****** *******, or the Subject Property.  Despite these facts, and because of our prior use of, and collaboration with **** Design on other unrelated projects, we sought to assist Ms. *******, forwarding her concerns and coordinating with subcontractor as they sought to undertake remedial measures.

            We have been informed that the leak in the roof has been repaired.  We further verified with Ms. *******, that during and following the most recent most recent 3-day rain storm, there was no further water penetration.  We understand the ceiling may have sustained some discoloration or water stains, caused by the prior leak, and have relayed to Ms. ******* the subcontractor’s willingness to repaint and color match that area.

            Over the past weeks, we have been in communication with Ms. *******, and have continually sought, in good faith, to address her concerns.  The courtesy we have extended to Ms. ******* has been met with no small amount of enmity.  She now demands a entirely new roof to replace one that was only recently installed, and has been repaired to perfectly function as intended.              

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  3/18 Eco Friendly has contacted me and I told them that my roof is still leaking.  They said that they would need to verify that, they have made no other attempt to contact me nor did they send anyone out to verify that my roof is still leaking.  It is true that they did not do the original work but have purchased the company that did and there for have taken the responsibility for the contract that I have with Hi-Tech and need to honor the warranty.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

Regarding the clarification requested by the complainant and your office, Eco Friendly Remodeling did not purchase Hi-Tech Design and Construction.  Eco and Hi-Tech are completely separate corporate entities.  Eco is in no manner, associated with Hi-Tech.  Further information and details regarding the owners and operators of each can be found online at websites maintained by the California Secretary of State and the Contractor State Licensing Board (CSLB).

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service