This Business is not BBB accredited

The White Dress LLC

Phone: (949) 723-0121 2853 E Coast Hwy, Corona Del Mar, CA 92625 http://www.thewhitedress.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bridal shop services.  

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The White Dress LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The White Dress LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 03/07/2003 in CA Business incorporated: 03/07/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marlis Porter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marlis Porter, Owner
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Bridal Shops


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2853 E Coast Hwy

    Corona Del Mar, CA 92625 (949) 723-0121

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bridesmaid dress from this company, along with five other bridesmaids. The $220 bridesmaid dresses all had zippers that wouldn't zip without dripping candle wax on them and slowly working them up. Two of the zippers broke. Mine broke just before the ceremony, and I had to be sewn into my dress. Because of that, after following up repeatedly with the company for over a month, the designer says the dress was "altered in the zipper area" and therefore they can't compensate me in any way for the hour and a half I stood being tugged at and finally sewn into my dress. A $220 dress should have better than a 25 cent zipper. This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for this terrible dress.

Business Response: Per protocol, if there is an issue with a dress we send it back to the designer. The designer of the gown inspected  the two dresses and refused to offer compensation after seeing that the size 16 dress was altered through the zipper and The size 8 zips up just fine. We gave the dresses to the customer in April of 2014. It was only after wearing the dressss that there was a complaint. We are not responsible for worm and altered merchandise. However in good faith we offered to work with the size 16 customer, however her response came via BBB and campaign smearing on websites. The White dress sent two separate emails to the customer explaining that we would like to make this right and asked what she thought a good solution was. There was no response from her except a threatening email.  Please let me know if you would like any email threads sent to you and or the designers response to the inspected dresses. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am shocked by the company's response, which blatantly misrepresents my actions in this matter.

August 18, 2014: I called the white dress and spoke with ******* about the zipper issue with the dress, letting her know that every bridesmaid's zipper was faulty. Two zippers had to be completely replaced. On the day of the wedding, my dress wouldn't zip up at all. I had to be sewn into the dress, which is (1) why the dress was altered in the zipper area and (2) why I didn't complain until after I had worn it -- it was a bridesmaid dress. I had no choice but to wear it.

August 19, 2014: ******* forwarded me an e-mail to the designer setting forth my issues.

August 30, 2014: ******* forwarded me an e-mail from the designer with additional questions for me (10 days after the designer had sent her the e-mail).

September 1, 2014: I e-mailed back, answering the questions.

September 2, 2014: ******* asked me to bring in my dress so she could ship it to the designer for inspection.

September 3, 2014: I e-mailed ******* letting her know I had put my dress in the mail to be shipped to her.

September 8, 2014: I e-mailed ******* to ask if the dress had been given to the designer. That day, she e-mailed back and said it would be shipping out to the designer that day.

September 22, 2014: I e-mailed ******* to express my disappointment that I hadn't heard anything back from her. She responded that day, "I am working on getting a concrete answer from Watters.  Unfortunately we have to go through all the hoops with them (shipping, then production inspection and then a supervisor’s decision).  I am hoping to have an answer in the next day or two.  I have been consistently following up."

September 30, 2014: I e-mailed *******, "Another week has gone by since I last e-mailed you. The wedding was August 17th. It's now September 30th and somehow I still can't get an answer on my broken dress. I know the delay isn't necessarily your fault, but I am seriously losing confidence in this company. I've put way too much effort into this to still have no response."

That day, ******* forwarded me an e-mail from the designer (which had been sent to her on September 24, 2014) stating that the designer was not responsible for the dress because it had been altered in the zipper area (OF COURSE IT HAD BEEN ALTERED IN THE ZIPPER AREA - I HAD TO BE SEWN INTO THE DRESS ON THE DAY OF THE WEDDING!). The designer's e-mail also stated that the zipper on the size 16 dress had been removed and replaced (my dress), which was not true. The size 8 zipper was replaced because it completely broke when ******'s husband tried to zip it up. My zipper was not replaced. It was sewn over at the wedding. ******* sent the following e-mail, "I don’t want to leave a bad taste in your mouth because of the designer, what do you feel is an appropriate solution?  I will do everything I can to make it right.   The dresses will be back this week.  Let me know if you have any questions."

October 1, 2014: After a month and a half of going back and forth, I sent an e-mail to ******* expressing my frustration. After catching my breath, I e-mailed to *******, "At this point, I can see nothing is going to happen handling this the nice way. I have been patient for over a month to hear that it's my fault my $220 dress wouldn't function (along with EVERY OTHER BRIDESMAID'S DRESS). All 6 girls had to stand around rubbing candle wax on the zippers to get them up and mine completely busted.

You have been very nice, but this is by far the worst customer service I have ever experienced.
Either send this matter to someone over both your heads, or I will take matters into my own hands. This is truly unbelievable."

That day, ******* responded, "I understand you are frustrated and  like I said below, while the designer isn’t willing to do anything we want to make it right.  What is it you feel is an appropriate solution?  We can have a new zipper put in the dress for you and or cover your alteration costs.  While I know there is nothing I can do to change the zipper situation on the actual wedding day I would like to come up with a solution for you."

Thus, after going back and forth for a month and a half over this issue, and spending more money to ship my dress back, the company's solution was to offer me a new zipper or the cost to replace the zipper in a bridesmaid dress, a one-time wear dress. Based on that response, I could see I wasn't going to get anywhere dealing with *******, and my request to speak to a higher-up in the company was ignored, so I filed a complaint with the BBB (the first I have ever filed in my life, as I always go to the company first to make things right -- and given the opportunity, they usually do).

A bridesmaid dress is a one-time wear dress. Offering me a replacement zipper does nothing to remedy the fact that the wedding was ruined for me because I had ten different people trying to get me into the dress -- and when they finally were able to zip it up, the zipper broke. The coordinator had to sew me into the dress, which was uncomfortable, and I had gaps all up my right side as I walked down the aisle, which was humiliating. There is nothing the company can do to get that day back for me. However, much like when someone gives monetary compensation for the loss of someone's limb in at-fault car accident, money is the only way to attempt to make up for the loss of my day because of the terribly designed dress.

I paid $220 for a bridesmaid dress that wouldn't zip the one time it needed to, an hour before the wedding. It is interesting that the company states they are "not responsible for worn and altered merchandise." A bridesmaid has no choice but to wear the dress she is assigned to wear on the day of the wedding, regardless of how uncomfortable it is to be sewn into it because it won't zip. To say the company is not responsible for a dress once it is worn would relinquish all responsibility from the company to provide a wearable product. The designer could clearly see the brown thread all up the side of the dress where I was sewn into it. I had to be ripped out of it at the end of the night.

As detailed above, the company's response was to forward me an e-mail blaming me for the situation (by wearing the dress and "altering" it in the zipper area - by being sewn in when it wouldn't zip!) and then to offer me a new zipper for a one-time use dress. To say they "in good faith offered to work with me" could not be further from the truth.

Regards,

**** ******



Business Response:

Dear BBB,

The customer had the dress for 4 1/2 months prior to the event date.  Usually, when we are given the opportunity we are able to advise the customer to let the dress out due to it being too small, or have a zipper replaced. Unfortunately, the customer had a zipper bust open on her due to stress put onto the zipper. This is never a good situation and we do not wish it upon anyone. This particular customer ordered a dress smaller than her measurements.  Even though she measured into an 18 in the bust area, she decided on a size 16. I have documentation that states the size she desired.

We have had many customers come in where the dress is too tight prior to the wedding, and typically there is always a seam allowance to let the dresses out. If there is not enough seam allowance, we have ordered extra fabric to have minor alterations.

This customer did not contact us until after the wedding, at which point we are unable to reverse the fact that zipper broke on the wear date.  We are able to replace the zipper for her and offered to do this as a courtesy, however she did not want to do this.

It seems as though the customer did not try the dress on prior to the event. If she had an irregular zipper, she would have know it during the time she tried it on and this would not  have happened.

Sincerely,

******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am actually not quite sure how to respond to this, as the store misrepresents what happened. I did not select my size. The salesperson measured me and selected the size for me. I didn't even know what size had been ordered until I received it. Apparently now that the store has no other defense, their response is to say I was too fat for the dress they selected for me. I have five witnesses who can confirm both that the salesperson selected my size, and that the dress fit me properly. This is unbelievable.

Regards,

**** ******