Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

The Wedding Day

Phone: (714) 593-5900 18449 Brookhurst St #1, Fountain Valley, CA 92708 http://www.theweddingday.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Wedding Day include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Wedding Day
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 03/29/1996 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Francis J. Marzec, Owner Ms. Anita Sweeney, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Francis J. Marzec, Owner
Principal: Ms. Anita Sweeney, CEO
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Bridal Shops


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18449 Brookhurst St #1

    Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (714) 593-5900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a veil in champagne color (pink) . Order was placed properly, however product received was in champagne gold (gold/yellow). Item was paid for in advance. Once product was received, I disputed the item and asked for refund. The original salesperson I ordered with in the store agreed that the veil was the wrong item. Owner refused to acknowledge mistake, who also happened to not be there the day the order was placed. Owner also lied about contacting the maker of the veil about the mistake. Owner lied to my credit card company about the purchasing of veil, stating: "store personnel advised our mutual customer that the color she chose for the veil would look different then the swatch after the veil was completed because more material would be present and dye lot of material is not guaranteed". This is a blatant lie. This was never told to me before I made a purchase. If it was I never would have purchased it since the color of my dress was so specific. Contract states "the Wedding Day guarantees receipt of the above merchandise. However, dye lots vary and cannot be guaranteed by the Wedding Day or the manufacturer". It is also stated that the item is final sale. My complaint is that the swatches (which I have in my possession) do not even closely resemble the color that I ordered. I also believe that not guaranteeing a product, while making it final sale sets up little responsibility for the merchant to follow through on their services. Therefore, I paid for an item which I did not want and one that I could not use. Lesson learned, never pay for anything in advance and never sign a contract for final sale unless I have seen the product. The contract in which I signed when I picked up my veil was also altered by myself where it was written "wrong color received". Another contract had the date altered by the store (fraud!). My aim here is to show the better business bureau that the vendor misrepresented the item, lied about it and then created a contract which does not abide by any sort of business ethics.

Desired Settlement: Since I was sold an item and paid under false pretenses I want a full refund.

Business Response:

This customer came in to our store requesting a very unique color for a veil. We immediately saw that she was requesting more of a beige color for a veil. We showed her the swatches for the veil designer that she was interested in and she selected a champagne color which for this designer is always more of a gold color. We explained this as a possibility to the customer, but she insisted on ordering this color. We should have made a bigger issue of our concern regarding the color. The customer was very adamant about ordering this color and did not seem to want our advice so we took the order as she requested. When we received the veil and the customer came in to pick it up, she immediately started questioning the color. We called and spoke with the designer twice as she was standing at our front desk and she overheard the conversations. As the customer requested, we confirmed with the designer that the color she received was the color she ordered. We even gave the customer contact information for the designer as she was going to be near the location of the designer the next day. Yes, this veil was a special order and yes the order is a final sale and yes the veil was received as ordered by the customer. We never lied. We never altered any contract. 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

*** **********

The store is clearly lying. I told the store before purchasing anything that my dresses was a soft blush champagne (pink undertone). I ordered the veil color suggested by the store itself that was shown as a champagne with blush undertone s. I never insisted on a gold color champagne and I also did not go against store suggestions that is a blatant lie. The swatch shown and that in which I received was different than what was originally promised. I have a witness that was there when it was ordered to verify.

Business Response: We are so sorry that this customer is in complete denial about this transaction.  We remember this ransaction very well.  We are not lying in any aspect of this transaction.  We ordered and received what was requested by this customer.  We hope this customer will review her receipt again as it clearly states that alll orders are final.