Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Genesis Bridal?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Genesis Bridal

Phone: (714) 647-0570 222 W 4th St #B, Santa Ana, CA 92701


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bridal and quincenera gowns.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Genesis Bridal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Genesis Bridal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 08/13/2010 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Lilia Cerpas, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lilia Cerpas, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Bridal Shops Wedding Supplies & Services Photographers - Commercial Photographers - Portrait Wedding Consultants Photography Sales


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    222 W 4th St #B

    Santa Ana, CA 92701 (714) 647-0570

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this bridal shop to have a dress custom made for my daughter. I had several pictures and was assured by the sales person that they could duplicate the dress with no problem, just as shown in the picture. When we went for our first fitting, I was concerned because the dress did not look like the dress in the picture. I told her and she said they would make the appropriate changes. During our second fitting I realized that they were not capable of doing what they promised they could do. The quality of the dress was so poor and the style was nothing like what we originally ordered under the contract. The fabric used was that which is used in a dress lining, not the actual dress. Not only that, but it was too short on my daughter as this was supposed to be a long dress. Additionally, I was charged a $258 for the dress and they wanted to charge an extra $75 to finish it. This was not part of the contract. After we gave them several chances to fix and correct the dress, we realized that it was not going to happen. I informed them that the dress was not what I ordered and I had the pictures to prove that and asked for my deposit back. They refused and kept the dress and my deposit.

Desired Settlement: My deposit was $130.12 and am requesting to have that refunded to me. Since they were not able to hold up their side of the contract, it is null and void, and I expect to receive my deposit back.

Business Response: Hello,

I have attached the paperwork for ******** ****.

We are not able to refund any amount due to the fact that all of our sales are final.

******** came in on 10/5/13 wanting a dress to be made for her daughters school event. She showed me the picture and we told her we would be able to make it. We also advised that the gown would not be exact to the picture but similar.
Once she placed the order, ******** wanted to see swatches of the material since she didn't like the material of the original dress because it was too transparent.
We both agreed that the material that we were going to bring for samples was a taffeta.
Once the samples were in, we mailed them out to ********. Once received she made her choice and gave us a call with swatch # she liked.
The dress consisted of 3 fitting. Every time she came in we would do minor adjustments to get as similar as possible to dress.
******** was told the decoration on the dress would be similar but not exact. I showed her a few samples of what can be put on the dress but she didn't like any.
She preferred a heavier applique with more hand beaded work that was out of the price the dress was originally quoted for.
We advised her that this applique would be extra and she said that was OK. ( This was at the final fitting)
She was not too happy about the length of the skirt, so to satisfy our customer we ordered more fabric.
On the last fitting ******** agreed with all the work that needed to be done on the dress.We went ahead and place the order for the extra material and the appliques she requested.
She then later gave us a call a couple hours later cancelling the appliques. She was requesting for the alterations to be done only and would leave the decoration pending.
A few days later we received an email cancelling the order of the dress.
The dress was almost complete the only thing pending was the decoration.
At this point we are unable to refund any money or give store credit,
Her receipt does state our store policies.

Please let me know if you need anything else.

******* ****** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******** ****

The response by the business is not fully truthful nor acceptable.  The dress was nothing like the picture and the quality of the workmanship was so incredibly poor.  It did not fit my daughter correctly at any of the fittings and it was clear that they could not correct it so it would fit her properly.  I am so disappointed that a retailer would represent that they could make something that they so clearly had no idea how to do.  I couldn't ever even meet the seamstress, nor did she show up to any fitting.  I had no choice but to cancel the order and start fresh at another establishment.  The deposit should clearly be refunded and a lesson should be learned on behalf of Genesis Bridal that they should not be trying to make custom dresses that they are not capable of.

Business Response:

We are  capable of making any dress design. To all of our customers we do let them know that a slight change may occur from the actual product and it clearly states that on their receipt. We are unable to make the same dress because of copyright issues, none the less the designers have special fabrics that the manufacturers only provide too them. As we originally  responded to this complaint all sales are final and we did all we could in regards to the order.