This business is not BBB accredited.

Merenda Design Bookbinding

Phone: (949) 394-1008 Fax: (949) 606-8798 24506 Mandeville Dr, Laguna Hills, CA 92653

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers book binding services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Merenda Design Bookbinding include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Merenda Design Bookbinding
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 05/01/2002 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Norbert Merenda, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norbert Merenda, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Bookbinders Image & Graphics Printing

Alternate Business Names
Merenda Design Merenda Design Bookbinding & Graphic Workshop

Additional Locations


    24506 Mandeville Dr

    Laguna Hills, CA 92653 (949) 394-1008


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a thesis from him on August 6, 2016. After waiting several weeks and tried to contact him by phone during work hours and received no response. I could not see how the project was progressing online because my username ans password stopped working in the system. I sent an email to Mr. *******, who promised me that the project would be send priority mail the next day. It is now September 14th, and I still have not received my order. I can't get a hold of him by phone or email either.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the services that I paid for, but never received.

Business Response:

Customer received a full refund on 9-19-2016


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I have been refunded and consider this complaint resolved.


******* *****

7/29/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with MERENDA Design / CMYK Digital Printing, on June 2, 2016 for one bound thesis. My account was billed June 6th and payment was made. I Called June 24th and was told my order would be sent by the end of the week, by July 1st. Nothing has been received to date. I contacting them numerous times but reached someone only once. I've called at least three other times and left messages on voice mail, but no response. I went onto their website and sent emails in the contact us - email section and from my own email account, but to no avail. No one will contact me and I still don't have my order. They have my money, but never sent me anything for it! Help

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send me the printed, bound thesis that I already paid them for, if this is not possible then I want my money refunded asap. I want them to contact me by phone or email and let me know which of these options they intend to meet and then follow through with it!

Business Response:

I apologize for the delay. I was not able to work for a few weeks.

Here is the proof of delivery:**********************


I'm sorry for all the trouble and apologize for all the headache a cost You!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

 Hi *********,

 I finally received the merchandise from Merenda Design yesterday 7/26/2016 through the mail. There was no correspondence or invoice, but the book was sent and I am satisfied with it. I am writing to you to close the complaint as it has been resolved with receipt of the book.
Thank you,
***** ******



***** ******

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order online on March 26, 2015 for a thesis binding, and paid that day in advance as they require. It is now May 13, 2015, and I have no book, no responses to my many emails and calls, and no refund. I strongly doubt that this is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I should get my refund within the next 2 weeks. Or they should get my order delivered within the next 2 weeks.

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered my school thesis books from Merenda Designs ( which is owned by ******* Merenda in August 2013 as of December 2013 I never received my books. Contacted ******* and he responded:"I apologize for the delay. I cannot find the tracking no.I know that we was waiting for the brown leather and the order was on hold after that I do not remember what happened.Im redoing the order and will ship it on the end of this week."As of Jan 16th 2014 i have called and emailed him 8 times with no response and never received my item which i need for school. ******* Merenda cheated me out of $225 and wasted my time.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the original order of Net amount: -$224.48 USD and the thesis books.

Business Response: We refunded $250 to the client on April 2nd.

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a copy of my master's thesis December 9, 2013. I have not received this item. Calls to the company go unanswered and emails have not been returned. I have attempted to contact someone within the company multiple times.

Desired Settlement: Refund of cost for thesis printing and shipping.

Business Response: Hello,

I issued a refund for the thesis order 1202. My health condition not allow me to complete the order for ******* *******.

King Regards,

******* *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Merenda Design Bookbinding
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)