Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers beverage equipment and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BeverageFactory.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BeverageFactory.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on BeverageFactory.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 17, 2000 Business started: 07/11/1997 in CA Business incorporated 07/11/1997 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Costanzo, President Mr. Mark Grennan, Vice President Ms. Rayna Schrader, Customer Service Representative
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Costanzo, President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Beer Dispensing & Cooling Equipment Wine Storage Equipment Winemaking Equipment & Supplies Beer Home Brewing Equipment & Supplies Internet Shopping Wine Cellars

Alternate Business Names
Cydea Inc
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 8510 Miralani Dr

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 653-5950 (800) 710-9939

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order an undercounter kegerator from Beverage Factory, manufactured by ****** ********* on 4/1/16. The unit was delivered in mid April, and first plugged in on April 30, after installation. The compressor runs but the unit does not cool, must have lost refrigerant. Beverage Factory directed me to file a warranty claim with the manufacturer, ****** ********* (aka ***** ******). The manufacturer claims that modifications done to the unit caused the unit to not work, but this is not the case, and can easily be determined upon investigation. ****** ********* customer service was rude and insulting, and also tried lied by claiming that refrigerant lines were present where the unit was modified. After speaking with both ****** ********* and Beverage Factory twice, neither company is willing to accept reponsibility for selling a defective appliance.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of product. Originally a replacement was requested but I no longer have faith in the worksmanship or warranty coverage of ****** *********.

Business Response:

Hello All,

Mr. ********** contacted the Manufacturer, ****** ********* regarding the unit's cooling issue. Per *** ****, ******'s Customer experience manager the warranty has been voided due to a failed modification done by Mr. **********. It specifies in the manual that any modifications done outside of ******'s recommended technicians will void the manufacturer warranty. Beverage Factory is unable to issue a refund on a product that the warranty has been voided on. Please see the email below to reference from ****** ********* regarding this customer. 

As per our conversation and as I explained over the phone, Mr. **********  drilled a hole on the side of the beer dispenser (reason unknown) "compromising the performance of key components of this unit. The owners manual clearly specifies not to attempt to repair or do any cosmetic modification to the unit unless recommended by the owner's manual or ****** directly.

As a result of the aforementioned, Mr. ********** voided his 1 year manufacture warranty."


Thank you,

*******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

****** ********* is claiming that the warranty has been voided, however, their claim is false and includes multiple misrepresentations. I am attaching the actual owner's manual referenced in order to clarify the inaccuracies.

The owner's manual does indeed specify not to attempt repair within the "safety warnings" section of the manual. The hole I drilled in to the back wall of the refigerator was not a repair, so this is not applicable. The word "cosmetic" does not appear anywhere in the manual or terms of the warranty.

The manufacturer does not have discretion to void the warranty over any issue that they choose. They may only refuse to perform warranty service for exclusions specifically outlined in the terms of the warranty, which appear on page 18 of the user manual. The items that the warrantor will not pay for are below, directly copied from the user manual:

ITEMS WARRANTOR WILL NOT PAY FOR:

1. Service calls to correct the installation of your appliance, to instruct you how to use your appliance, to replace or repair fuses or to correct wiring or plumbing.

2. Service calls to repair or replace appliance light bulbs or broken shelves. Consumable parts (such as filters) are excluded from warranty coverage.

3. Damage resulting from accident, alteration, misuse, abuse, fire, flood, acts of God, improper installation, installation not in accordance with electrical or plumbing codes, or use of products not approved by warrantor.

4. Replacement parts or repair labor costs for units operated outside the United States.

5. Repairs to parts or systems resulting from unauthorized modifications made to the appliance.

6. Expenses for travel and transportation for product service in remote locations.

7. The removal and reinstallation of your appliance if it is installed in an inaccessible location or is not installed in accordance with published installation instructions.

--

The best case the manufacturer has to refuse warranty service are exclusions numbered 3 and 5 above. However, for both of these exclusions, in order for the manufacturer to refuse warranty service, the damage must have resulted from the "alteration", or they can refuse to pay for "repairs to parts or systems resulting from unauthorized modifications made to the appliance.

The mere existence of modifications does not void the warranty, as the manufacturer claims. Furthermore, the modifications did not result or cause the appliance malfunction. The manufacturer knows this and this is why they are misrepresenting the warranty claims, have lied on the phone about where the coolant lines run, and have even tried to suggest that "vibration of the drill" could have compromised the unit. The manufacturer has refused to even inspect the unit, so it is impossible for them to claim to know that the non-performance of the unit is due to the modification. The fact is, the manufacturer produced, and Beverage Factory sold, a defective unit, and the modification has nothing to do with the defect. It would be clear upon inspection from anyone who cares to look that the refigerator does not work due to not being properly charged with coolant, or the coolant has leaked out. Beverage Factory's policy does indeed state that all warranty claims must go through the manufacturer, however, it is neglect on Beverage Factory's part to continue to sell products from a supplier with an abysmal BBB rating (D-) and a myriad of unresolved warranty complaints from consumers while at the same time not standing behind the products they are selling. In this particular case, Beverage Factory should make whole with the customer by refunding the purchase price rather than trying to hide behind the manufacturer's false claims.

Regards,

***** **********


Business Response:

Beverage Factory stands behind the products that we sell. We have requested photos of the drilling so we can take over and assist with the warranty that ****** is unable to fulfill. 

We have reached out to this customer requesting photos of the drilled unit.  Please include a photo close up, a photo that shows the full unit and the drilling along with a photo of the back of the unit. 

You can reach me directly at ************ ext. **** or by email ***************************

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an keg cooler as a complete package from beverage factory guided by the help of one of their sales team members. I have had this product approx. 5 months and a piece in the faucet broke. The piece is a diaphragm that releases, in this case a 50psi cold coffee product pushed with nitrogen gas and is used with a specialized stout handle. My order number for this purchase was ******. When I received the product from the company I reviewed its contents and everything that was ordered was contained in the shipping package. Last week when the piece in the faucet broke I called technical support who explained to me what part was malfunctioning and transferred me to customer service. Customer service said the broken faucet was not on my receipt so they would not replace it. After several calls the only solution was for me to call a third party to get the replacement part because they would not help me. The third party is out of stock and beverage company will not assist me further. This is a $600 product that does not function after 5 months and a $6 piece will not be replaced by the company that sold it because there was a mistake on keying in the product not the shipment or packing. This to me is absurd.

Desired Settlement: I would like beverage factory to stand behind the product they sell, to recognize a mistake that took place at the beverage factory location, get a $6 problem rectified so that a $600 product can be used and not pass the consumer off to a third party and they offer no other solution when the third party is out of stock. I would completely understand if I was demanding a high priced solution, I need a $6 part do get this part of my business back up and running and I do not have the resources to replace this part. Thank you in advance, ***** ******

Business Response:

Hello,

Thank you for contacting us. We do greatly apologize for the experience with our company and our product. Per discussion with our customer service representative we are agreeing to order a replacement diaphragm for the faucet per customer's request. Please let us know if there is anything else we may do to assist with this matter.

Thank you,
*******
Beverage factory
***** ********





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

 

Thank you

10/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April (28th) of 2014, I purchased a wine cooler due to the fact my previous cooler stopped cooling after only three-years. Paying the premium price, I considered I was truly buying a cooler that could be used as a "built-in model "without needing any extra space on the sides for air circulation" (as advertised). A refrigeration repair company told me this caused the breakdown that my last unit experienced Also, spending $300 more for the new unit, I was very disappointed when this past January (within the initial warranty period) the unit started to have temperature problems (too warm-not cooling). This past January 6th, I spoke with ******* at the Beverage Factory (the retailer through Amazon). We discussed temperature problems and I was instructed to unplug the unit, pull-it out from the "built-in" under-counter position, check the coils (which were like new), allow the unit to defrost and then restart it 24-hours later. - They did not offer for a service call only for telephone diagnostics. After these procedures all "appeared" to be fine until about four-weeks ago, now going just beyond the initial warranty period. Over this four-week span, the temperature once again began to slowly rise above the setting. I called Beverage Factory again and was told by ******* (again) "sorry, warranty expired 28-days ago". "It sounds like a compressor issue and you will have to pay to have it replaced, except for the compressor itself which would be covered, if it is the problem; not including diagnostics, installation nor shipping." So I called the local suggested service agency and the total for that, is estimated at $500 minimum. I understand warranties cannot last forever but; given the fact that this unit is listed as a "built-in"** unit, the unit previously had these same issues*, now these issues have again resurfaced, this time not self correcting -*INITIALLY APPEARING within the warranty period, I want a replacement and will change my installation method, per a professional refrigeration contractor recommendation. I had an appliance contractor look at this and he said no refrigeration can be built-into the cabinetry like advertised (see below), ventilation cannot just come from the front of the unit, this breakdown is the result. **- Built-In Versatility: *** ******** ** bottle wine cooler is front-venting which allows you to build it into your counter "without needing any extra space on the sides for air circulation" and the finished cabinet allows it to look great as a freestanding unit in any room of your home.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of this unit per the initial warranty and, changing of the advertisement based on the actual application

Business Response:

Hello ******,
Thank you for your patience. I have set up a service call with *** ********* so that they will come out to diagnose your unit. I have requested that they contact you at ************ to schedule a service call. This will be at no cost to you as it will be covered by your warranty. If you would like to contact them directly you are more than welcome. Below is there information:

*** ********* ** **** ******* **** * ******
******* ** *****
***** ********

Please let me know when you have an appointment scheduled so I can assure this gets taken care of for you in a timely manner. In the meantime if  you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to ask.
Thanks,
******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This complaint is not closed!
The only action so far has been a service agency came yesterday, Tuesday 6/09 and confirmed the problem to the mfr./distributor, The Beverage Factory.
I am awaiting a resolution.

Thank you,

****** ******
************ **** 





Business Response:

Please contact us directly at ************ to address any further issues. We appreciate your business.

 

Business Response:

Hi *********,

 

Thank you for your email. Our records show that a replacement of a new unit was sent out and delivered to the customer on 6/22/15 with ********* ***** *****. We are more than happy to further assist however it is not clear what additional assistance is being requested. Please let me know how we can resolve this complaint.

 

Thank you,.

 

******* ********

******** ******* **********

Beverage Factory

**** ******** *****

*** ****** ** *****

***** ******** *** ****

***** ********

4/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a wine refrigerator in 10/2014 and the unit is not working properly. It turns off by itself and I can't properly store wine in it. I called customer service approximately 3 and 1/2 months ago. After many phone calls and promises to call me back, a 3rd party repair man finally came to my house one month later. He never worked on this unit before but called them and told them he needed some new parts (He didn't appear very confident but had to start somewhere). I would have to call the 3rd party repair man to fix the unit once the parts arrived. After one month of hearing nothing, I contacted the Beverage Factory and was informed that one part was back ordered and the ETA would probably be 1-2 weeks. I have called at least 4-5 times since then getting the same response…."We will call you tomorrow with an ETA. " Nobody bothers to call back. I finally spoke to a supervisor named Ariel who told me she understood my frustration and would call me back the next day with an ETA. She stated that if the ETA wasn't reasonable , she would try to do something to fix the problem. The supervisor didn't bother calling me back either. When I called the store the following day, I was told she had already left. I purchased a product from this company with a 1 year warranty. I don't think they are honoring the warranty since I haven't had a functioning refrigerator now for 3 and a half months with no end in sight to this problem. The unit never worked properly from the time I received it. The display lights on the machine would turn on by itself. The settings on the display would change to celsius. In addition the, temperature display is not accurate and I had to purchase a bottle thermometer to confidently keep my wines in there before my main problem occurred.

Desired Settlement: I believe I have a defective product. Nothing worked properly on this unit to begin with. I simply wanted them to honor their warranty. I should've been able to have my refrigerator fixed/replaced or money returned in a timely fashion. I don't think it is acceptable for me to wait this long for a repair that may or may not work. At this point I am fed up with the company and would prefer to get my money back and gladly return their defective product. If not possible, I would prefer to take my chances on a replacement refrigerator, hoping that this was an anomaly. They don't stand behind their products and I have no faith that a repair , if it ever takes place, will work. If not, I can't imagine starting this process all over again. They don't have any repair men in my area who service this refrigerator. The one they sent to my house had NO knowledge of this product and was only guessing on parts to replace

Business Response:

We are moving forward with a pick up of the old defective unit and replacing with a new unit.

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband called on 12/9/14 regarding a part we needed for a kegeriator we purchased threw this company. He ordered the part and on THE SAME CALL CANCELLED THE ORDER. They send us a receipt via email. So, 12/10/14 my husband called them back and asked "why did we receive a receipt via email when we CANCELLED THE ORDER ON THE SAME CALL". The lady said, "maybe we can catch the shippment" and advised she would send us a cancel email. The item was not stopped, IT WAS SHIPPED TO US. I received the item and then called AGAIN to get them to return the item. Then, they said ok, we will have UPS pick it up. I received an email that the pick up date was 12/16/14. There was NO PICK UP. So, I called AGAIN, then they said, "oh well I will email you a return shipping label and you can send it back yourself", so I got home to find NO LABEL send to my email address to return this item. SO, I STILL HAVE THIS ITEM THAT WE NEVER WANTED IN THE FIRST PLACE. IT WAS CANCELLED ON THE SAME CALL IT WAS ORDERED. This is unacceptable and someone needs to do something about this. This very poor, poor service.

Desired Settlement: Take, the item back and give me a refund immediately.

Business Response:

We apologize for the inconvenience, we have scheduled a fedex pick up due to the holidays FedEx does not always pick up as expected. You have been emailed a FedEx label which is also attached to return the package if FedEx is not able to pick up.

We have refunded your account in full today.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a E1030- Allavino MWR-1681-SSL - Single Zone side by side wine cooler that I’ve had nothing but problems. When the units first arrived one of the units had the shelves improperly installed in that they were miss-aligned and missing a shelf. This unit was later replaced. The shelves continue to be a problem in that they are not properly spaced per the specification of the wine cooler. Per the specifications, the shelves should hold 11 regular size 750ML wine bottles. These shelves only hold up to six to eight bottles a shelf. If you pack more on a shelf this makes the bottles get stuck on the upper shelves and eventually rubs the label off and makes it very difficult to open the shelf. This also weakens the ball bearings in the tracks which eventually break. I have at least 5 shelves that are broken. Furthermore the shelves should have some type of rail on both sides so that the bottles on the end do not fall out. In June, four months ago I contacted Beverage factory as one of the units stopped working. They had me contact New Leaf the company which holds the warranty repair. An appointment was set up for a technician to evaluate the problem. The technician told me that this unit and the other have the wrong control unit installed and this is why it seized to work and that it’s just a matter of time before the other unit fails. I did bring the issue of the wrong control unit installed in the cooler to the attention of New Leaf. As of today the unit has not been repaired. I was told it could be another 6 weeks. This is almost half a year to have my unit repaired. I’m a patient person but this is beyond ridiculous. Now coincidently the other unit’s temperature started to fluctuate at least 5 degrees. I can’t imagine waiting 6 months or more to have this unit repaired as well. I have contacted Beverage factory stating that I would like to return these faulty units. They will not return them as they are past the warranty. I should not have to be a victim of their defect due to the fact that their coolers were not manufactured correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return these coolers at Beverage Factory's expense and receive a full refund.

Business Response:

This customers date of purchase is 02/27/2013. We accept all returns within 30 days and can make exceptions up to a year. Manufacturers warranty is a 1 year warranty and this customer is out of warranty. A 5 year free warranty was provided through a third party warranty company New Leaf. She is able to contact them in regards to any defects to the unit.

On the specific of the unit purchased, there are diagrams of bottles that fit on the shelves and the bottle count will decrease based on bottle size.

We are unable to accept any returns outside of 1 year from the date of purchase.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a chiller machine on their website a few three weeks ago for $998 dollars with special discount and free shipping, total invoice was $998. their website said that they have the machine in stock and we can pick it up or it can be delivery for free, based on the urgency of my needs we decided to pick up the machine to their store at our expenses, they said that they need to order the machine from the manufacture from Missouri, they took almost 2 weeks to bring the machine to san diego. they state on their website of 7% re-stocking fees or 15 % if the equipment is damage or without the original packaging, and they offer full refund under 30 days on website, we have some issues with the machine and we returned within less than 30 days of grace period with the proper packaging and the machine working . once we return the machine the sales manager ****, changed us 20 % of restocking fees plus $120 dollars of shipping (they need to return the machine to Missouri) this is nothing what they advertised online for new costumers, we were not satisfied with the machine, thats why we returned and they deducted almost 35% of the total, this is wrong and as a costumer i do understand a restocking fees are necessary, but not 20% and 120 for shipping that is not my problem is the manufacture or company lost , they got me a check for $674 and they said if i need anything next time they will give me an special price, i don't need special price, we need all my money for this refund. i don't think that $324 of $998 is the right and fair charge of re-stocking fees.

Desired Settlement: charge me for they restocking fees advertised online (fair) and refund the shipping cost of $120 that has nothing to do with me.

Business Response: On our website under customer service and return and exchanges it states that round-trip shipping and a re-stocking fee would apply to a return. The unit was a special order and was not deemed defective, so these fees do apply. The customer was given the option to keep the merchandise or return it with these fees. 

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Beverage Air BM23B, on 8/9/14, order ID# ******. The cost was $1575 plus shipping. Basically, this is a small refrigerator for beer kegs. The door on it was installed crooked but I hoped it would be ok. We didn't plug it in until 9/23/14 until we received the backordered keg. At that time we noticed that the gasket on the crooked door does not contact the refrigerator in one corner, causing the refrigerator to leak. I contacted Beverage Factory and they told me it was a warranty issue and that I had to contact the manufacturer. When I complained that it was their fault to have shipped the defective item to me, they did contact the manufacturer, then told me that I had to do it too. I contacted Beverage Air on Tuesday 9/30/14 and spoke with Courtney. She said that a service technician would contact me to arrange for a visit. So far that hasn't happened.

Desired Settlement: Beverage Factory shipped me a defective item. I think they should take this item back and send me a replacement.

Business Response:

We apologize for the inconvenience. All defective issues must go through the manufacturer for warranty. We are assisting with communication with Beverage Air. Appliance service ACR will be setting up an appointment with this customer. We will continue to work with both Beverage Air and the customer until this issue is resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They sent a repair person to our house to look at the unit.  He said it was defective and needed to be replaced.  He put a piece of tape over the leak and said he would call back the next day.  That was the last I heard from him.  A taped up defective refrigerator is not an acceptable outcome.

Regards,

***** *********

Business Response:

Beverage Air has approved a replacement unit.

 

"Beverage Air will be replacing the below unit. This was approved by the manager of Tech Service, Tim Trimble. We are field scrapping the defective unit, the customer can do whatever with the unit they want. Informed ***** we will need the data tag (sticker) from inside unit sent back to Beverage Air. Sending replacement unit directly to ***** *********."

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a product from Beverage Factory 3/8/2014, Breezaire WKE 8000 (Serial # M118030E) wine room cooling unit, to replace my prior existing Breezaire unit (I purchased this same unit in 2000, 2006 and 2011 for the same wine room), which shipped, arrived, and was professionally installed, but the unit had leaked coolant, and never functioned. I immediately contacted Beverage Factory customer support (*******), including discussion with Operations Manager Rayna Jordan, who authorized a replacement unit (M108040E) which I received on 4/1/2014. The non-functioniong unit was professionally de-installed and the new unit professionally installed on 4/2/2014, but the new unit ceased cooling on 4/30/2014, as a result of the fan blade slipping on its shaft causing the blades to be shredded against the housing. Many more telephone discussions have occurred, with Beverage Factory pointing fingers at Breezaire, and Breezaire pointing fingers at Beverage Factory, including emailed pictures of the damage to the fan blade; these finally resulted in a new fan blade being sent with printed instructions on how to self-install it, a poor substitute to actually fixing the unit and fulfilling warrantee and advertising promises. These instuction are dated 4/2006 implying that this has been a known problem/design flaw. This fan blade was professionally installed, and the same endpoint resulted. That is, the blade slipped on its shaft and the blade was shredded against the internal housing, causing the unit to be non-functioning. It remains so. I have had multiple conversations with customer support at Beverage factory (*******, ******, *****), as well as with Carl, Manager at Breezaire, who continue to provide poor customer service resolution. Promises to return my calls have also been empty. I have paid $1722.60 for the cooling unit, and $1343.59 for professional installation, de-installation and service of these non-funtioning units. I have documention of all these interactions.

Desired Settlement: I deserve and demand a refund of the $1722.60 which I paid for the Breezaire WKE 8000 cooling unit. I have acted in good faith in trying to resolve this issue, but have received poor response and poor customer service resolution, and feel I have been taken advantage of. I have a non-functioning unit I would be glad to return at the expense of Beverage Factory following receipt of the refund. Many of the complaints on the BBB site indicate a similar pattern of poor customer service and lack of standing behind their products, which should not be acceptable.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** has 2 options that both Beverage Factory and Breezaire have offered him.

He is under Breezaire warranty and outside of Beverage Factory return period, however an exception has been made due to his request.

Option 1. Ship to Breezaire covered under warranty. Have the unit repaired and tested to confirm the unit is in good working condition. The unit will be shipped back to him and continued to be covered under warranty.

Option 2. Beverage Factory has made the exception to accept the return outside of 30 days. However, this unit has been used for the last 5 months. We are unable to sell as a new product, therefor up to a 25% restocking fee will apply. Mr. ******** is also responsible for shipping costs.

Both of these offers have been made previously dating back to 8/15.

 

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 32 bottle under counter wine refrigerator on 7/23/2014 with will call pickup at their showroom. I confirmed with **** ******, the sales representative, on the phone while placing the order that I would pick it up the following Saturday, 7/26/2014. He advised that he would have it delivered to the showroom for me and it would be there. When I arrived at the showroom on Saturday, the representative didn't have a record that it was there. He had to go check with someone and after about 10 minutes, he came back and said they 'found it' and are bringing it out. When we opened the box at home, we discovered that the top three shelves were crooked and you could not fit any wine bottles in the top shelf at all. The handle was also defective and could not be attached to the front with the given hardware. My fiancee called and was told to send an email to support. She sent an email as advised with pictures. We did not receive any response. I called the following day to see what the status was and the rep did not have any record of our call or email. I explained the defects again and she advised me that I 'could probably fix the shelves my self'. I was shocked that she would suggest I correct the defects myself. I told her that was not acceptable and that I wanted another unit that wasn't defective. She put me on hold for some time and then finally came back and said to go ahead and bring back and they would give me another one. We brought it back the following Saturday and again they had no record of the call, email nor did they have another unit. The store rep said he would have a new one delivered to us that Tuesday. No one showed on Tuesday to deliver so I called and again there was no record of a delivery scheduled. I ha to drive to the showroom for a third time to pick up a new unit on the following Saturday. Once I brought it home, none of the controls worked so I could not set the tempurature or turn on/off. We called and asked for refund, no response.

Desired Settlement: There is much more to report on this issue such as claims to have returned our call and sent email which were both not true; but the space provided limited me from saying that. Since BeverageFactory has failed to provide a non-defective product on 2 occasions and has failed to deliver an item when promised and has also failed to respond to requests as promised, I just want a refund.

Business Response:

We apologize for the defective units received and lack of communication.

I show your account was refunded in full today 8/18.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The unit I received does not operate. The unit powers on, but the compressor does not cool. I contacted Beverage Factory right away, and the representative said it was probably what they call "dead on arrival." The fact that service reps have a term for this tells me that it probably happens a lot. I gave the benefit of the doubt and asked that they provide in home repair service, as outlined in the product manual. It has now been more than a week, with daily calls to the call center. Each time, they tell me they are searching for a repair unit in my area, meaning the don't really have warranty service providers in my region. When I've asked to speak to a supervisor, I am told they "stepped away" from their desk. On a few occasions, the rep I have been dealing with has not returned calls to me directly, or sent e-mails, despite indicating that she would. This is an incredibly frustrating process for an expensive unit. I get the sense that no one really cares to resolve the issue with any sense of urgency. Now I'm faced with an option of returning the unit for a refund, having a replacement sent (I've already been told they will not cover expedited shipping), or waiting for them to "find" a repair service provider. This has been a really poor customer experience, and I can't see myself recommending the products or service to anyone unless this is resolved promptly.

Desired Settlement: Replacement product via expedited shipping

Business Response: We are able to replace the item with regular shipping. Expedited shipping on a freight item is not available.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 260 bottle wine rack from beveragefactory.com. The website stated I would receive the item in 3-4 weeks. At the 6 week mark, I called to see what the hold up was. Support told me they were still producing the item and I should receive it soon. During weeks 7-9 I made several call and was promised a certain ship date, which again did not happen. I finally received the item after 10 1/2 weeks, on a 3-4 weeks shipping item, and it showed up broken in multiple spots. I contacted beverage factory that same day and requested a refund and the item to be picked up. It has now been over 2 weeks and we are stuck with a broken wine rack in our storage location. I have called twice and have not received a definitive answer on when this item will be picked up. They will also not refund my money until it is picked up.

Desired Settlement: I would just like this broken product off our property and refunded my money. This is a fairly large item and takes up a lot of space.

Business Response:

We have scheduled a fedex pick up for tomorrow. Please leave the package outside ready for pick up.

Once this has been returned to our warehouse we will get you refunded right away.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my Kegco K209SS-2 Dual Faucet Kegerator from the Beverage Factory in July of 2012. I live in the Chicago suburbs so I only really get to use it for ~ 5 months of the year in my backyard patio. On May 19th this year I went to set up my Kegerator and noticed it would not get cold. I tried everything; eventually I called a service repairman to come take a look. After paying him $79 just to come out he tells me I need a new compressor. I went back to my purchase and the Beverage Factory website indicates the compressor is under warranty up to 5 years. Still it was pretty disappointing to know that the product would incur such a big issue after such little use. That being said I called Beverage Factory the morning of 5/23 to request a new compressor. I was told they were out of stock and that they needed to order one from the supplier. The customer service rep said she would call me back at the end of the day to confirm the order had been placed and provide me a tracking number. Nobody called me ... so I called them back at COB and I was told that the purchasing department left early for the day and the order was not placed. I asked what happened since I talked to them in the morning and they said they were busy. She said they will call me first thing Tuesday 5/27 (Memorial Day was Monday) and provide me with my tracking number upon placement of the order. Tuesday came and nobody called. So I called them again at COB and spoke to the same customer service rep. I was told the supplier did not have the part and it was on back order and it would take 2 weeks to get it. I was disappointed because I'm assuming a compressor is probably the most important part of the kegerator yet not only did the Beverage Factory not having any stock, neither supposedly did the supplier. I asked her to place the order and please email me the tracking number. A few days went by and of course I never got an email. I called them on Friday that week and again got the same customer service rep. I was told the part would take 6-8 weeks to get in however they have a solution for me, they were going to go to another local supplier and buy one and send it to me ASAP. I was super excited as this sounded like a great plan. So I said OK please call me to confirm this woked and send me the tracking number after you do that on Monday. Monday came by with no call or email, so I called them a few days later. I was told they couldn't find one at a local supplier and that they are talking to the manager to see if they can just take off the compressor of a new kegerator and send me that. Again I was happy that perhaps we found another solution. I asked the customer service rep to call me back after she discussed with her manager. Of course that call never came. I called them on 6/13, 3 weeks after this orderal started and asked to speak to a manager. I was told she was not at her desk but would call me within the hour. Of course that call never came. I called them at COB and again asked to speak to the manager which thankfully I finally got. She told me that the order has been placed and they will receive the compressor in 2 weeks and then send it out to me. I asked her if she had a tracking number from the supplier to confirm that. She said they did not as that is not how they do business with them. I asked her if she would consider just shipping me one from a new kegerator and then replacing it with the one they ordered. She said they couldn't do that because than that new kegerator would become a "used" one. I asked her if I can have the Supplier info so I can speak to them directly and have it shipped directly to my house. She said she could not give out that information and that's not their policy. So I'm sitting here now thinking I have no idea when I will get this part. I doubt I will get a tracking number email in the next week to confirm it. I'm at a loss for words. Not once in this ordeal to any customer service rep express any remorse; the manager was the worst as she had a very robotic response of "sir the part has been order and we will get it in two weeks". I detailed out all my issues I had with her and she never had a response but ... "sir the part has been ordereed and we will get it in two weeks". In summary I'm disappointed in the product performance but more so of the customer service. Products have issues ... I get it; but poor customer service is unacceptable in Business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a compressor overnighted to my home address. I will pay for the shipping if I have to. Also I would like some type of acknowledge that the customer service demonstrated in the past 3 weeks was completely unacceptable.

Business Response: We have offered a replacement unit 1 year outside of the original manufacturers warranty. Customer is responsible for providing a diagnosis stating the unit has a defective compressor.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a very expensive ($680) kegerator from beverage factory. I received the kegerator and put it together. The fridge portion ran fine. I had a full 5lb tank of CO2 hooked up which was empty the next morning. I then swapped the tank for another and the same issue happened. I took apart the regulator to find the leak and found out one of the two barbs was solid on the inside instead of hollow. I call BF and told them the situation. I was told I would get a call back shortly. I did not receive the return phone call so I called them back. They said they would not cover the lost CO2 ($32 worth) but they would send a new regulator. I asked if they could credit me the value of the regulator ($60) so I could purchase another that day and actually use the kegerator. I was told they would credit me $15 which was the upgrade fee I paid for a better regulator than the standard. I asked why not credit me the $60 and they said they would only honor the upgrade fee. So I said then send me a new regulator and I think you should expidite shipping to which they responded we can send it in 3 days. So bottom line I paid $680 for faulty equipment which lead to me losing $32 worth of CO2. Their response was to send me a new regulator in 3 days and I have to eat the loss of the CO2. Poor, poor customer service for a $680 item I had for less than 24 hours.

Desired Settlement: I guess my desired outcome is unknown. For that much money I should not have to eat the loss due to faulty equipment. I sincerely hope BF would take into consideration what their paying customers are going through when they pay large amounts of money for equipment that is faulty. I suppose "owning up" to your issues and not making the consumer take the hit for it, especially after having the kegerator less than 24 hours. Saying our warranty only covers the product and not what it is in it is a copp out.

Business Response:

I apologize for the inconvenience. All warranties cover product only. We did replace the regulator under warranty but are unable to cover any lost Co2. We did express the regulator per your request.

I can offer a $25 store credit towards your next purchase. This is available under Order ******.

Thanks,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Repugnant is a creature who would squander the ability to lift an eye to heaven conscious of his fleeting time here......]

Regards,

****** ************



Business Response: We have already shipped a replacement regulator and a $25 store credit towards this customers next purchase.

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to arrange warranty service on a Wine Cooler I purchased in June of 2013 since the first week of February 2014. I have made upwards of 20 phone calls to the Beverage Factory over this time and have yet to have someone come to my house to diagnose and repair my Wine Cooler. They customer service people say they are working on it, but nothing happens.

Desired Settlement: A reputable service person comes to my house, diagnoses the issue and repairs my Wine Cooler.

Business Response: A servicer is going out today to diagnose the unit.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a Summitt Dual Faucet Kegerator on 12/06/2013 for my home that was under construction. It was delivered and installed into the bar in January 2014 Upon moving into the house in Febuary and turning the appliance on it would not get cold. Contacted Beverage factory and was informed that their policy is to contact the manufacturer and they would need to send someone to my home to possibly repair a new product. It's been 2 over weeks and I have contacted the summit company several times and have yet to get a call back. On Friday I called the Beverage Factory and was told by a ***** that she would look into it. As of 03/11/2014 I have heard nothing. I paid over $1400.00 for this kegerator and got a lemon. This is a poor way to sell products.

Desired Settlement: I want a new kegerator shipped out immediately or to be refunded.

Business Response: Summit Appliance has approved a pick up and replacement. The customer has confirmed they are happy with this.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Premium Double Gauge Nitrogen Keg Beer Regulator as a replacement for my old regulator. The regulator sent to me was defective and when connected to my gas tank drained the entire tank. BeverageFactory.com sent me a replacement regulator but refused to refund me the purchase price of a refilled gas tank ($40). BeverageFactory.com customer service told me that they would only replace the regulator, but refused to refund me the cost to refill my gas tank.

Desired Settlement: I would like BeverageFactory.com to refund me the $40 cost to refill my gas tank based on the defective regulator.

Business Response: Warranty of this regulator is to repair or replace and defective unit or part. We have replaced the regulator but are unable to cover any additional charges.

1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Additional Complaint Includeds: An advertisment that failed to disclose ANY/ALL conditions required to take advantage of the offer. A bait and switch advertisment. An advertising price ther seller will not honor. I contacted a Customer Service Rep at BeverageFactory.Com yesterday (12/18/2013) and followed up with a call today to the Customer Service Manager today. My concern, is that I was advised by the Rep, that the advertising statement maintained on your website "is not quite correct". She stated that the company "will try to beat any price" associated to this same product MB24L (vs) the website statement, "We will beat any delivered price on this model. Call us at ###-###-####". I advised her that I found 3 companies, which have a better price, and as a returning customer, I would prefer to purchase from her company again. After being told that, to meet or beat the prices I found is impossible, I followed up with a call to the Manage this morning. She advised and confirmed that, although there are NO rules or restriction on their website concerning a match or beat price or limitation concerning their statement, the company would only allow this if the competing company is an “authorized dealer” and the “manufacturers warranty is offered” (as she put it, "comparing apples to apples). Needless to say, in the absence of these limitations being equally published, the statement above is misleading to customers and can be misconstrued as false advertising.

Desired Settlement: Honor the advertisment as stated and provide FULL Disclosure of Rules and Limitation on the Company Website.

Business Response: We matched the price listed on another website today and placed the order with ***** ****** order# ********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on BeverageFactory.com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart