BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Bee Best Bee Removal

Additional Locations

Phone: (619) 464-2057 Fax: (619) 464-2061 View Additional Phone Numbers 9461 Grossmont Summit Dr #G, La Mesa, CA 91941 http://www.beebestinc.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bee hive removals from structures, pesticide free honey bee swarm removals, bird barriers, repellents and control.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bee Best Bee Removal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bee Best Bee Removal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bee Best Bee Removal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 1998 Business started: 04/01/1993 in CA Business incorporated: 02/14/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 6346.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Lutz, President Ms. Abra Woodbyrne, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Lutz, President
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Bee Removal Pest Control Services

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, and checks.  Offers 30/60/90 day billing for commercial accounts.
Alternate Business Names
Bee Best Bee Removal Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Structural Pest Control Board 1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825 Phone Number: (916) 561-8708 Fax Number: (916) 263-2469 http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard pestboard@dca.ca.gov

Licensing

This company is exempt from licensing per the Business and Professions Code 8555(g).  This section lists those entities that are EXEMPT from licensing.  It states: 
B&P 8555.  This chapter does not apply to:
(g) Persons engaged in the live capture and removal or exclusion of vertebrate pests, bees or wasps from a structure without the use of pesticides, provided those persons maintain insurance coverage as described in Section 8692.


Additional Locations

  • 9461 Grossmont Summit Dr #G

    La Mesa, CA 91941 (800) 481-2337 (619) 464-2057

  • PO Box 1967

    Spring Valley, CA 91979

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 481-2337(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Bee Best Bee Removal to first kill ($295) and then remove ($1400) a hive of bees in a 3 story water tower attached to the garage of our 90 year old home. **** (owner.mgr) assured me the hive would be very carefully removed with probably no noticible damage to the tower. He said all siding would be carefully removed and replaced. If however a board were to actually break, I would need to pay for the replacement and I agreed to do so. A few weeks later, **** (owner) and another man came to my house and were here approximately 1.5 hours. I was in my house for about 20 minutes, and when I came back outside, I discovered that **** had literally ripped off the redwood siding the entire width of the tower exposing an area about 5x12 feet, which also contained electrical wiring. I was shocked and upset and asked **** why he did this. **** replied it was easier to remove the entire siding boards rather than just cut out the small area to access the hive. He also said it would look better, altho this isn't true as the the old siding cannot be matched. He tried to charge my Am Ex card 3 times ($4200) and it took me several calls to Am Ex to get these charges reversed. **** came out a few days later to cover the area with plastic and told me to get an estimate to pay for the repairs.He came back out to view the estimate and told me he would "make things right" and not charge me the $1400. I paid a licensed contractor $2330 for only very essential repairs. In Nov. **** came out again re: my contract with Bee Best for rat abatement services. He said he wanted to keep me as a customer, and again said he would not chage me the $1400. On January 7, **** called me and said he had changed his mind and that I would have to pay a minimum of $700. I felt intimidated by this conversation and immediately sent Bee Best $700. I also asked **** to pick up the rat bait stations, and that I wanted to cancel my contract. He said he would pick up the bait stations 2/1/2013, but never showed up.

Desired Settlement: I honestly feel that Bee Best should pay the entire cost of repairs to a structure on our property they severely damaged. They did not do the work as promised & the work was not satisfactory. Bee Best said they would not charge me the $1400, & then said I would have to pay a "minimum" of $700. That being said, the very minimum they should do is refund me the $700 I was pressured into paying. I also still want the bait stations removed & do not want any further contact with this company.

Business Response:

On October 13th, 2012 we successfully removed a hive (approx 25 feet up) from a water tower for Mrs. *****. After the job was completed Mrs. ***** complained that the job only took an hour and a half and tried to get the technicians to lower the price. Then she tried to get them to repair the area of opening. The technicians refused because repair was not part the agreement as per the written and verbal estimate that was agreed to prior to performing the work. The technicians reminded her that the estimate clearly states “NO REPAIR”. Mrs. ***** then stated that she knew there was no repair, but that we should “replace” the boards back on the structure. She stated that there was a difference between “Repair” and “Replace”. The technicians reminded her that it was her responsibility to have a contractor come out the next day to repair the area because it might rain.

            After going around and around about the difference between “replace” and “repair”, Mrs. ***** then complained that too much of the wood was removed. The technicians reminded her that she was the one who said she didn’t want any cuts down the middle of the boards. After that, Mrs. ***** then complained about dead bees in the dirt. The technicians then vacuumed the bees out of the dirt below the water tower.

After cleaning up the area and vacuuming up the dead bees, Mrs. ***** finally agreed to pay for the job ($1400) with her American Express Card. The card reader called “Square” did not work properly and the technician tried to swipe it 3 times to get it to go through. Since a signature screen did not come up, he didn’t know if it had gone through. The technician asked for a payment by check and she told him she didn’t want to pay since she didn’t know if the card reader had worked. The technician agreed that they should wait to see if the charge went through and that he would return to collect a check if it did not. Mrs. ***** agreed.

It took a while but eventually the office manager was able to release the hold on the funds that the SQUARE card reader had placed. No money from that transaction ever entered the Bee Best Bank account and all funds were eventually released to Mrs. *****.

After the funds were released we patiently tried to collect the check for payment, but as soon as we tried to collect, she continued to demand that the price be lowered. Our field manager offered to reduce the cost in half because we wanted to get the matter settled once and for all. When our field manager offered to reduce the price in half she threatened to complain online and to the BBB unless we reduced the price to $50. We told her we would accept no less than $700 for the job.

Mrs. ***** finally sent in a check for $700 in mid February and requested a receipt. Included with her payment she sent a letter stating that we damaged her Water Tower.  To be clear, we did not damage her water tower. We successfully removed the hive from her tower in a timely manner and all bait boxes have been removed from her property.

In retrospect we have been too patient with Mrs. *****. Whenever we gave an inch she would ask for a mile.  We performed quality work on a tricky job that few other companies would have agreed to take on. It is unfortunate that Mrs. ***** believes that we should be paid so little for our skill and expertise.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

RE: Complaint against Bee Best Bee Removal

Case # *******

I am not satisfied with the response I received from Bee Best Bee Removal.

The business response I received via e-mail did not address the essence of my complaint:

ie: Bee Best did not do the work as promised and very significantly damaged the

building on my property where the Bee Hive was located. The "technician" referred to in

the response was actually **** ****, owner/president and licensee of Bee Best Bee

Removal, Inc. He holds license# PR6346 and per the BBB website, the business was

established in 1993 and incorporated in 2000. The response seems to focus on what a

bad customer I am and that I refused to pay for quality work. Prior to the work being

started, I asked Mr. **** to explain the work and exactly what he and the other worker

would be doing. Mr. **** explained that he would be "removing the siding on the

building (to access the hive from the outside), and he would "treat/spray the area with

chemicals to prevent re-infestation." Mr. **** further stated he would thoroughly clean

the siding/boards and scrape off all residues, and then replace them on the building. He

had given me an original estimate of $1400, since the job was "big" and estimated it

would take "2 men at least half a day." Since our home is an historic craftsman home, I

specifically said that I was very concerned about damage. I very specifically said that I

wanted the siding cut at the mid line to access the hive only, and did not want the

entire 12 ft siding boards removed. Mr. **** agreed to this. He repeatedly told me he

would be very careful removing the siding, however if a board were to accidentally break

I would be responsible to purchase a new board and pay for subsequent restoration. Mr.

**** also repeatedly told me he had "27 years experience" and that most structures

needed no repairs due to his careful work. I went inside my house for approximately 20

minutes, and when I returned outside, Mr. **** had already used a pry bar to rip off most

of the siding of an area approximately 5ft by 12 ft. I have pictures to show that the hive

was about 40" wide and so there was no reason to remove the entire 12ft siding boards. I

was very upset. I asked Mr. **** why he did this and why he didn't ask me first if this

was ok. .. since this was not what we had agreed to. Mr. **** stated that he (alone) made

the decision to remove the entire 12 ft boards, rather that cut them, because it was

"ascetically" better to do it this way, and was quicker. While it was in fact, much

quicker, it caused very considerable damage to the building, which Mr. **** will not

acknowledge, and matching redwood siding (after 90 years) is no longer available. I

was shocked at his attitude and his demand that I immediately pay the $1400. I told

him that I was not happy with the work. He refused to discuss any possible remedies.

Even though rain was predicted for the next day, he was going to leave the area

(approximately 5' by 12') totally exposed to the weather, including the building's

electrical wiring. He was upset that I asked him to cover it with plastic (as the office

manager had previously promised would be done) and he reluctantly got some very thin

plastic sheeting and masking tape from his truck and minimally covered the area. By the

next morning, the plastic had blown off and down. I was also told by Bee Best that ALL

dead bees would be removed. After asking Mr. **** to remove the dead bees and other

debris, the other worker used a vacumn to clean up some of the dead bees from the 2nd

floor inside room, but did not clean up the 1st floor or 3rd floor rooms and did not clean up

the outside debris. I still have the siding boards, to show how they were very carelessly

removed and damaged. Since they were not cleaned up as promised, they could not be

re-attached by the contractor I hired to do the restoration work. I told Mr. **** I did not

want to pay immediately because of the extensive damage he had done to my property,

but he told me I had to pay that day. He was rude, unprofessional and defensive. He told

me I had to pay since I signed the contract. While I was calling American Express to

dispute the charges, Mr. **** "ran" my Am-Ex card 3 times, resulting in a $4200 hold on

my account. Mr. **** told me I would have to work with American Express to get the

hold released as he could do "nothing." It took me 10 days to get the hold on my credit

released. I have not spoken to Mr. **** since 10/13/2012.

General Manager/Owner **** ******* came out to my home to replace the plastic on the

building and discuss the damage. He also came to my house for the monthly servicing of

the rat bait stations, for which I was paying Bee Best $40 per month. I showed him the

estimate I had for $2300, which represented only bare, minimum restoration to the

building. He said that he felt there had been a "big misunderstanding" and " I want to

make things right and keep you as a customer." He offered to "walk away" from all

charges and not charge me anything. I told him I felt that Bee Best should pay for the

scaffold rental ($350) and one half of the repairs. He again said "I want to make things

right and so I will just walk away." Mr. ******** came again in November and said the

same thing about not charging me and just "walking away." I told him I was still waiting

for the Construction Company to finish the repairs, and though I had already paid $2300,

there would be additional costs. He again said he would not charge me for the bee hive

removal. Mr. ******** said the same thing in December.

I was very surprised when Mr. ******** called me on January 7, 2013, and said that he

had "changed his mind" and that he had "bills to pay." He said I would need to pay at

least $700 and that I should pay the full $1400. I told him that he had previously told me

I would not have to pay, and that was why I had not paid any $ and that I was still waiting

for the final painting. Because to me, Mr. ******** sounded a little threatening and

intimidating, I immediately sent Bee Best a check for $700 along with the attached letter.

I asked them to send me a receipt and remove all bait boxes ASAP. I did say in my letter

I would be reviewing their company online (although I have not yet done so). I DID

NOT say that I planned to complain to the BBB, because at that point, I did not know that

Bee Best was a member of the BBB. My thoughts on January 7, 2013 were that if a

company's honesty, integrity and ethics can be sold for $700, they are not a very honest

or ethical company. And so I paid the $700 as asked.

The check I sent Bee Best was dated January 7, 2013, and was cashed soon thereafter.

The company response says that they received my check in "mid-February", but Bee Best

actually sent me a letter on January 23, stating they had received my check (letter

attached). I called Mr. ******** on 1/29/3013 (I think) and asked him to remove the rat

bait stations. He said he would come over on 211/2013, between lOAM and 12 noon, but

did not show up. I did not hear anything further from Bee Best until the afternoon of

3/28/2013, when Mr. ******** left me a vm message stating that he needed to remove

the stations that day. He and another worker came about 5pm on 3/28/2013 to remove

all the rat-bait stations.

"To be clear" Bee Best did significantly damage a livable structure on my property,

attached to the garage. The "water tower" has finished inside rooms and electricity. It is

not an "out building" or shed on the property. It is highly visible from the street. I have

pictures of the water tower "before and after" to show the damage, and also the extent of

the bee hive (pictures included with this response).

To sum up this whole complaint, I am very sorry I have had to make it. I am not an

unreasonable person and I have never before complained to the BBB, Angie's List, or

any other "online source." I have excellent credit and pay my bills on time. Their letter

fails to address the reason for my complaint and implies that for some reason I just

refused to pay Bee Best for their excellent service. This was not a "tricky" job, and

several other bee removal companies I have since contacted have quoted me (verbally)

much lower estimates. I have no problem with the $1400 charge. I probably would have

paid $2800 if the work was done correctly and as promised. I might have even paid them

the $1400 to NOT do the work, if I knew in advance the damage Mr. **** would cause.

There was never any mention of paying $700 (prior to 1/7/2013), since Mr. ******** told

me I owed nothing. Why would I pay when the owner of the business told me I owed

nothing? I never asked Bee Best to reduce the price to $50 (although I did ask them to

pay the cost of the scaffolding and 1/2 of the restoration costs). I did ask Mr. **** on

October 13, if he would do anything about the damage he caused. He said there was

nothing he could do and I owed him $1400. I think if Mr. **** would have at least said

he was sorry for the damage, and maybe offered me a little $ credit on the rat control

services, I would have still been unhappy, but at least I would have felt that he

acknowledged the damage. He wouldn't even do that and also left it up to me to clear up

the credit hold with American Express ..... which I find totally unprofessional. I also feel

that it is noteworthy that this damage was caused by the owner and licensee of a business

that, per Mr. ****, has never received any complaints.

***At the recent Successful Aging Expo in San Diego I heard BBB CEO Cheryl Bilbrey

speak. She was very good and mentioned that seniors are often taken advantage of

financially by businesses, who apparently think they will be too afraid to complain. After

reviewing my dealings with Bee Best Bee Removal, I do feel I was taken advantage of

and that Bee Best felt I would not do anything about it. I especially feel that way when I

read the last paragraph of the Bee Best's response to my complaint. I feel my honest

attempts to communicate with this company and reach some sort of fair settlement were

belittled and demeaned (and by the company president).

I still feel that Bee Best Bee Removal did not do the work they promised, and that their

work on my property was neither tricky or quality. At the very least I feel that Bee Best

owes me an apology and a refund of the $700 I paid on January 7, 2013. Thank you.

******** *****

 

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response:

Case # *******

I am not satisfied with the response I received from Bee Best Bee Removal. The business response I received via e-mail did not address the essence of my complaint: ie: Bee Best did not do the work as promised and very significantly damaged the building on my property where the Bee Hive was located.

For the purposes of clarity and in order to ensure we address her complaint, we will respond directly in bold font beneath each paragraph of her letter.  

No damage was done to her property. We removed siding in order to extract a bee hive.

 The "technician" referred to in the response was actually **** ****, owner/president and licensee of Bee Best Bee Removal, Inc. He holds license# PR6346 and per the BBB website, the business was established in 1993 and incorporated in 2000. The response seems to focus on what a bad customer I am and that I refused to pay for quality work.

Our 1st response gave a brief outline of the major points that occurred in our dealings with Mrs. *****.  Yes, we found it difficult to get payment for the work that was done.

Prior to the work being started, I asked Mr. **** to explain the work and exactly what he and the other worker would be doing. Mr. **** explained that he would be "removing the siding on the building (to access the hive from the outside), and he would "treat/spray the area with chemicals to prevent re-infestation." Mr. **** further stated he would thoroughly clean the siding/boards and scrape off all residues, and then replace them on the building.

Prior to having the hive removed Mrs. ***** was told that she would be responsible for repair. We never told her we would be replacing the boards.

The original estimate that was sent via email on August 22nd, 2012 clearly states:  

ESTIMATE FOR HIVE REMOVAL: REMOVE HIVE FROM WATER TOWER ON NORTH EAST SIDE. NO REPAIR. REPAIR WILL BE RESPONSIBILITY OF ****** *****. (SIX MONTH WARRANTY IN LOCATION OF HIVE REMOVAL)

He had given me an original estimate of $1400, since the job was "big" and estimated it would take "2 men at least half a day."

We originally thought it would take ½ a work day. It’s sometimes hard to tell how big a hive is until we open the structure and can see it. That’s why we call it an ESTIMATE. The price was also determined by the height of the structure and the fact that Mrs. ***** wanted it done in a certain way. She did NOT want the boards to be cut down the middle. She was hoping the repair people would be able to re use the boards instead of having to get new ones.

Since our home is an historic craftsman home, I specifically said that I was very concerned about damage. I very specifically said that I wanted the siding cut at the mid line to access the hive only, and did not want the entire 12 ft siding boards removed. Mr. **** agreed to this.

Mrs. ***** very specifically said she did NOT want any cuts down the middle. She explained that she didn’t want it to look like there was a patch that indicated that it had ever been opened. She was also worried about the electric wiring in the walls being severed. We assured her no cuts would be made down the middle, in case the boards were re usable.

 He repeatedly told me he would be very careful removing the siding, however if a board were to accidentally break I would be responsible to purchase a new board and pay for subsequent restoration.

Yes, we warned her that the boards may not be reusable. The tower was very old and the condition of the wood was very old and dry. This is the MAIN reason we specifically told her NO REPAIR. We told her the wood fibers in the boards would probably have wax and honey soaked into them. We also warned that the brittle boards might crack, splinter, or come apart during the removal.

Mr. **** also repeatedly told me he had "27 years experience" and that most structures needed no repairs due to his careful work. I went inside my house for approximately 20 minutes, and when I returned outside, Mr. **** had already used a pry bar to rip off most of the siding of an area approximately 5ft by 12 ft.

Mrs. ***** was told from the beginning that she would need to hire another contractor to repair the area of opening.

While the work was being performed, Mrs. ***** was outside watching the technicians almost the entire time.  The boards were the first thing removed first in order to gain access to the hive. During the rest of the hive removal, Mrs. ***** did not complain, call the office, or ask the technicians for clarification.

The complaints started AFTER the hive was removed, when she was asked to pay.

Her first complaint was that job cost was too high for the amount of the work that was performed. We explained that the cost is per job, not per hour.

Then she complained about the dead bees in the dirt and also demanded that the technicians replace the boards back on the structure. They reminded her there was no repair as per the verbal and written estimates.

Then she claimed there was a difference between “repair” and “replace” and that they should replace the wood back on the structure.

The technicians reminded Mrs. ***** that she was supposed to have a repairman out the next day in case it rained and that we never agreed to repair or replace the boards.

Then she complained that too much wood was removed. We reminded her that is was her wish that we not make any cuts down the middle.

 I have pictures to show that the hive was about 40" wide and so there was no reason to remove the entire 12ft siding boards.

Again, Mrs. ***** wanted NO cuts down the middle for the following reasons:

1.     She didn’t want there to be a patch that indicated it had been opened

2.     She was concerned about the electrical wiring

3.     She was hoping the repairman could re use the boards.

I was very upset. I asked Mr. **** why he did this and why he didn't ask me first if this was ok. .. since this was not what we had agreed to.  Mr. **** stated that he (alone) made the decision to remove the entire 12 ft boards, rather that cut them, because it was "ascetically" better to do it this way, and was quicker.

It would have been MUCH EASIER to cut the boards down the middle. Not only would it have been EASIER…it would have been LESS time consuming!

While it was in fact, much quicker, it caused very considerable damage to the building, which Mr. **** will not acknowledge, and matching redwood siding (after 90 years) is no longer available.

We removed the wood siding as per her request, and in order to remove the hive.  We did not damage anything!

I was shocked at his attitude and his demand that I immediately pay the $1400. I told him that I was not happy with the work. He refused to discuss any possible remedies.

The technicians actually spent a fair amount of time trying to reason with Mrs. *****. At her request, they cleaned up the dead bees and covered the area of opening on the tower with plastic. After vacuuming the area the technicians asked her if there were any other areas before they put the equipment away. She said it looked “OK”.  At this point Mrs. ***** agreed to pay and presented her Amex card for payment.

Even though rain was predicted for the next day, he was going to leave the area (approximately 5' by 12') totally exposed to the weather, including the building's electrical wiring. He was upset that I asked him to cover it with plastic (as the office manager had previously promised would be done) and he reluctantly got some very thin plastic sheeting and masking tape from his truck and minimally covered the area. By the next morning, the plastic had blown off and down.

The office Manager did tell Mrs. ***** that the technicians would cover the area of opening with plastic. It is also true that one corner had blown down. We had a different technician come back out the next day and he stapled and re taped the area again.

It’s important to note that Mrs. ***** was supposed to have a contractor out the next day to repair the siding. She was told prior to the job that the plastic would only be a temporary protective measure and that she needed to get a repairman out as soon as possible after hive removal.

 I was also told by Bee Best that ALL dead bees would be removed. After asking Mr. **** to remove the dead bees and other debris, the other worker used a vacuum to clean up some of the dead bees from the 2nd floor inside room, but did not clean up the 1st floor or 3rd floor rooms and did not clean up the outside debris.

At her request, the technicians did vacuum the bees inside and below the Tower.

It’s important to note that the rooms of the tower were difficult to clean because (among other things) they were filled with newspapers, magazines, tools, household items, and books stacked to the waist. There wasn’t much room to move around and there were no large open spaces to vacuum. There were small pathways between “Stuff” that seemed to have been stored there for some time. In addition the stuff was covered with a thick layer of dust and there were rodent droppings all over the floor.

 Whether or not the water tower is technically a “livable” space is unclear, but it was obvious it was used for storage.  It was difficult to vacuum the space when you had to walk sideways between stacks of stuff.

I still have the siding boards, to show how they were very carelessly removed and damaged.  Since they were not cleaned up as promised, they could not be re-attached by the contractor I hired to do the restoration work.

The boards were carefully removed and the wax and honeycomb was scraped off as much as possible. The boards were stacked along the water tower. Mrs. ***** asked us if her repairman could re use the boards for the repair. We told her that she could, but that it would not be advisable. We did not advise it because some of the boards had honey soaked in, which could attract bees and possibly cause new bees to re infest the same area in the future.

 I told Mr. **** I did not want to pay immediately because of the extensive damage he had done to my property, but he told me I had to pay that day. He was rude, unprofessional and defensive. He told me I had to pay since I signed the contract.

Mr. **** expected payment because the hive was removed successfully.

 He was patient and tried to reason with her as best he could. After patiently explaining and answering her questions, Mrs. ***** seemed to understand and agreed to pay with her AMEX card.

While I was calling American Express to dispute the charges, Mr. **** "ran" my Am-Ex card 3 times, resulting in a $4200 hold on my account. Mr. **** told me I would have to work with American Express to get the hold released as he could do "nothing." It took me 10 days to get the hold on my credit released.

As outlined earlier, the SQUARE card reader failed to pull up a signature page to get payment. The technician tried to get it to go through three times, but was unable to get the transaction processed. We had never before encountered this problem before with SQUARE.

Mrs. ***** was not left alone to deal with SQUARE. The office manager made repeated calls to Mrs. ***** and several emails to SQUARE in order to have the funds released. Again, no money from that transaction ever entered the Bee Best account. It was put on hold by SQUARE and ultimately released back to Mrs. ***** with the help of the office manager.

While speaking with the Office Manager by phone to have the funds released, Mrs. ***** complained that she shouldn’t have to pay the full amount because of the hassle with the Amex hold and the fact that the plastic blew down.

She told the office Manager that she was unhappy and threatened to complain online on Angie’s List.

The office Manager assured Mrs. ***** that we would work with her to resolve the holds funds and see about reducing the price for the inconvenience with the square reader and the plastic blowing down.

I have not spoken to Mr. **** since 10/13/2012. General Manager/Owner **** ******* came out to my home to replace the plastic on the building and discuss the damage. He also came to my house for the monthly servicing of the rat bait stations, for which I was paying Bee Best $40 per month. I showed him the estimate I had for $2300, which represented only bare, minimum restoration to the building. He said that he felt there had been a "big misunderstanding" and " I want to make things right and keep you as a customer."

Because of her threats to complain online, we thought it best for her to deal with one person from that point on.  **** ******** our Field Manager agreed to try to work with Mrs. ***** on an agreement that was fair and reasonable.

Mr. ******** was never shown an estimate for repair. In fact, no one in the company was ever shown an estimate for repair or proof that she even paid anyone to perform the repair.

We weren’t particularly interested, since repair was not a part of our job.

He offered to "walk away" from all charges and not charge me anything. I told him I felt that Bee Best should pay for the scaffold rental ($350) and one half of the repairs. He again said "I want to make things right and so I will just walk away." Mr. ******** came again in November and said the same thing about not charging me and just "walking away." I told him I was still waiting for the Construction Company to finish the repairs, and though I had already paid $2300, there would be additional costs. He again said he would not charge me for the bee hive removal. Mr. ******** said the same thing in December.

In the beginning when dealing with Mrs. *****, Mr. ******** offered her a $300 reduction in the price in order to make her happy.

Mrs. ***** said she would think about it but asked him to wait until after the holidays due to the fact that her contractor wouldn’t be able to re use the boards and that the repair would cost more than she had hoped.

By this point Mrs. ***** had started to insinuate that she might complain on Angie’s List if we didn’t make her happy. In an effort to appease her and hopefully prevent that from happening, Mr. ******** agreed that we could wait until after the holidays.

I was very surprised when Mr. ******** called me on January 7, 2013, and said that he had "changed his mind" and that he had "bills to pay." He said I would need to pay at least $700 and that I should pay the full $1400. I told him that he had previously told me I would not have to pay, and that was why I had not paid any $ and that I was still waiting for the final painting.

After the holidays, Mr. ******** contacted Mrs. ***** to get payment for the job. He again offered a $300 discount for the problems associated with the SQUARE reader and to make her happy.  It was at this time that Mrs. ***** stated that she felt she only owed us $50.

Mr. ******** explained to her that $50 was not acceptable. He told her we would accept no less than $700.  She then asked him what we would do if she refused to pay the $700. It was at that time when Mr. ******** said that if she didn’t pay at least $700, we would the following:

1.     We would be cancelling her rodent control service and that we would and not perform any work for her in the future.

2.     She would not be covered under the 6 month warranty for failure to pay.

Because to me, Mr. ******** sounded a little threatening and intimidating, I immediately sent Bee Best a check for $700 along with the attached letter.

Mr. ******** did not threaten or intimidate. He simply told her we would cancel the rodent control service and not perform work for her in the future.

At this point we thought she would refuse to pay and that we would never hear from her again.

To our surprise, Mrs. ***** called Mr. ******** back and stated she would be sending a check for $700, but that she was not happy. Our only guess as to why she sent the check is that she wanted the security of the remaining portion of the 6 month warranty.

I asked them to send me a receipt and remove all bait boxes ASAP. I did say in my letter I would be reviewing their company online (although I have not yet done so). I DID NOT say that I planned to complain to the BBB, because at that point, I did not know that Bee Best was a member of the BBB.

In her letter that she sent in with payment she included an attached print out our BBB web page and circled the number of complaints around the box, so she definitely knew we were a BBB member.

 

My thoughts on January 7, 2013 were that if a company's honesty, integrity and ethics can be sold for $700, they are not a very honest or ethical company. And so I paid the $700 as asked.

The above statement does not make any sense. We can only guess as to why she decided to pay.

Perhaps she wanted the security of the warranty. We never threatened to take her to court or harassed her in any way. We actually didn’t really want to have to continue to deal with her further because by this time it had become abundantly clear that we were never going to be able to please her. 

The check I sent Bee Best was dated January 7, 2013, and was cashed soon thereafter. The company response says that they received my check in "mid-February", but Bee Best actually sent me a letter on January 23, stating they had received my check (letter attached).

Mrs. ***** is correct about this point. I misread the date on the envelope.  She actually sent the check mid January.  The postmark on the envelope is Jan 13th to be exact.  In her letter with the check she asked us to send a receipt and cancel her rodent control account. We did as she requested.

I called Mr. ******** on 1/29/3013 (I think) and asked him to remove the rat bait stations. He said he would come over on 211/2013, between lO AM and 12 noon, but did not show up. I did not hear anything further from Bee Best until the afternoon of 3/28/2013, when Mr. ******** left me a vm message stating that he needed to remove the stations that day. He and another worker came about 5pm on 3/28/2013 to remove all the rat-bait stations.

This is true. Our field Manager failed to make the appointment and we should have gotten out there sooner. Mr. ******** did apologize for missing the appointment to Mrs. ***** when he and another technician came out to remove the stations.

"To be clear" Bee Best did significantly damage a livable structure on my property, attached to the garage. The "water tower" has finished inside rooms and electricity. It is not an "out building" or shed on the property. It is highly visible from the street. I have pictures of the water tower "before and after" to show the damage, and also the extent of the bee hive (pictures included with this response).

Again, no damage was done to the water tower. We removed the wood siding, as per her instructions, in order to remove a bee hive.  

We also have photos of the job and are confident about the work that was performed.

To sum up this whole complaint, I am very sorry I have had to make it. I am not an unreasonable person and I have never before complained to the BBB, Angie's List, or any other "online source." I have excellent credit and pay my bills on time. Their letter fails to address the reason for my complaint and implies that for some reason I just refused to pay Bee Best for their excellent service.

We found it very hard to work for and reason with Mrs. *****. Prior to the work being performed we had no problems with her. Once it came time for payment and the job was finished, that’s when the demands for a reduction in price began. The demands for a price reduction have slowly escalated to the point where she now thinks we should pay for the restoration of her tower.

 This was not a "tricky" job, and several other bee removal companies I have since contacted have quoted me (verbally) much lower estimates. I have no problem with the $1400 charge. I probably would have paid $2800 if the work was done correctly and as promised. I might have even paid them the $1400 to NOT do the work, if I knew in advance the damage Mr. **** would cause.

Again, no damage was done to the water tower. The work was done correctly. We removed the wood siding, as per her instructions, in order to remove the bee hive.

There was never any mention of paying $700 (prior to 1/7/2013), since Mr. ******** told me I owed nothing. Why would I pay when the owner of the business told me I owed nothing? I never asked Bee Best to reduce the price to $50 (although I did ask them to pay the cost of the scaffolding and 1/2 of the restoration costs).

We never told Mrs. ***** that she owed nothing. We told her the lowest we would be willing to accept is $700. She told us at that time that she felt she only owed us $50.

I did ask Mr. **** on October 13, if he would do anything about the damage he caused. He said there was nothing he could do and I owed him $1400.

Again, no damage was done to the water tower. We removed the wood siding, as per her instructions, in order to remove a bee hive.

Mr. **** demanded payment because the job had been completed.

I think if Mr. **** would have at least said he was sorry for the damage, and maybe offered me a little $ credit on the rat control services, I would have still been unhappy, but at least I would have felt that he acknowledged the damage.

Mr. **** did not apologize because no damage was done to her tower.

It’s important to note that on the day of the hive removal, Mrs. ***** was not saying that we did any damage. At that time she claimed (among the others items previously mentioned) that too much of the wood was removed. The claims of damage came later after we refused to lower the price.  

He wouldn't even do that and also left it up to me to clear up the credit hold with American Express ..... which I find totally unprofessional.

The office manager worked with Mrs. ***** by phone and sent several emails to SQUARE to have the hold on the funds released. SQUARE can only be reached by email and the office manager worked as a liaison to resolve the problem. Mrs. ***** was not left alone to deal with the problem.

I also feel that it is noteworthy that this damage was caused by the owner and licensee of a business that, per Mr. ****, has never received any complaints.

Again, no damage was done to her Tower.  Bee Best has been in business for 20 years, and of course there have been some complaints. However, that being said, there has never been an insurance claim filed for damages.

***At the recent Successful Aging Expo in San Diego I heard BBB CEO Cheryl Bilbrey speak. She was very good and mentioned that seniors are often taken advantage of financially by businesses, who apparently think they will be too afraid to complain. After reviewing my dealings with Bee Best Bee Removal, I do feel I was taken advantage of and that Bee Best felt I would not do anything about it. I especially feel that way when I read the last paragraph of the Bee Best's response to my complaint. I feel my honest attempts to communicate with this company and reach some sort of fair settlement were belittled and demeaned (and by the company president).

Bee Best offers senior discounts and has worked with many seniors over the past 20 years. We take extra precaution to protect seniors if they appear to not understand the scope of work that is to be performed. We are offended (but not surprised) that Mrs. ***** is now insinuating elder abuse out of the blue.

I still feel that Bee Best Bee Removal did not do the work they promised, and that their work on my property was neither tricky nor quality.

The job was an old 3 story water tower. To gain access to the hive on the 2nd story it required a 28 foot ladder and two technicians. It was not an easy job.

 


At the very least I feel that Bee Best owes me an apology and a refund of the $700 I paid on January 7, 2013. Thank you.

An apology for the hive removal is not warranted. The hive was successfully removed from the water Tower. The $700 dollars she agreed to pay does not even cover the cost for the job and the time and energy we have spent trying to work with her.  We are relieved that her 6 month warranty has now expired and we no longer have to deal with or work for Mrs. ***** ever again.

******** *****

Regards,

******** *****

*Note: The Response to this letter was written by the Office Manager after speaking with Mr. ****, and Mr. ********.

Both technicians and I (the office manager) have reviewed and stand by the above responses typed in bold font.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

April23, 2013

TO: Better Business Bureau (BBB) of San Diego

4747 Viewridge Av Suite 200

San Diego, CA 92123

(858) 496-2131

From: ******** *****

Attachments: Contracts with Bee Best Bee Removal for rodent control services;

bee killing services; bee hive removal

Letter to Bee Best 1/7/2013; Letter from Bee Best 1/23/2013

Receipt for payment of $700

Agreement with C & L Maintenance Solutions

Copy of American Express statement for payment of $2300 to C & L

Maintenance Solutions for restoration/repair of Tower building.

Pictures have previously been submitted showing the structure before and

after the bee hive removal

Re: Complaint #*******

In an effort to follow the same format as the 2nd response from the company, I have added

my own response, highlighted in red.

I wish to clarify once again the reason for my complaint. My complaint is about the

quality of work by Bee Best Bee Removal and that they did not follow my

instructions and did not do the work in the way Mr. **** agreed to do it. Had the

work been done properly I would have had no problem paying the $1400 immediately.

On page 5 and 15 Bee Best states, on 10/13/2012, (Mrs. *****) "claimed that too

much of the wood was removed. The claims of damage came later after we refused

to lower the price." The fact that "too much wood" (actually original 90-year old

redwood siding) was removed is my complaint. Instead of cutting the siding and

removing only the amount necessary to access the hive (as he had previously agreed

to do), Mr. **** ripped off 2-3 times the amount of siding as was necessary, thus

greatly increasing the cost of the restoration/repairs which I had to pay. This is the

Damage. Mr. **** also stated he would "replace" the siding, unless it "accidently

broke." He is now denying this and states that "replace" and "repair" mean the same

thing. My restoration costs would have been considerably less, if only 113 or 1/2 of the

siding in that area needed actual "repairs" (ie. New siding purchased, mitered, painted,

etc.). Also, it is important to note, that the NE comer of the building where the hive was

located can be easily accessed by a ladder. The SE comer of the building, due to

plantings, etc, can only be accessed by a scaffold, which cost an additional $350. If that

comer had not been damaged, the scaffold rental would not have been necessary.

I continue to feel that I should not have had to pay Bee Best Bee Removal, Inc. due to

the poor quality of their work and the subsequent damage done by Mr. **** in the

process of removing the bee hive, and the fact that Mr. ******** told me he would "walk

away" from the charges. There were also hundreds of dead bees left for me to clean up.

I am not alleging or "insinuating elder abuse out of the blue." I do feel I was taken

advantage of and essentially "tricked" into thinking Mr. **** would follow my

instructions regarding the siding removal. This has nothing whatsoever to do with age. I

have also maintained that I should have had to pay at most about $60 (half the

restoration costs+ scaffold rental) and was intimidated by Mr. ******** to pay "at least

$700." Why would Mr. ******** even call me since Bee Best is now stating "at this

point we thought she would refuse to pay and that we would never hear from her again"?

As I have stated previously, I was afraid not to pay as Mr. ******** demanded, and so I

immediately sent Bee Best a check for $700.

What I have learned from his whole ordeal is to not be so trusting, and to get at least three

written estimates.

Thank you.

Sincerely, l

12if'c.~·

CONSUMER RESPONSE

Complaint# *******

COMPANY MESSAGE

Case # *******

I am not satisfied with the response I received from Bee Best Bee Removal. The business

response I received via e-mail did not address the essence of my complaint: ie: Bee Best

did not do the work as promised and very significantly damaged the building on my

property where the Bee Hive was located.

For the purposes of clarity and in order to ensure we address her complaint, we

will respond directly in bold font beneath each paragraph of her letter.

No damage was done to her property. We removed siding in order to extract a

bee hive.

The "technician" referred to in the response was actually **** ****, owner/president and

licensee of Bee Best Bee Removal, Inc. He holds license# PR6346 and per the BBB

website, the business was established in 1993 and incorporated in 2000. The response

seems to focus on what a bad customer I am and that I refused to pay for quality work.

Our 1st response gave a brief outline of the major points that occurred in our

dealings with Mrs. *****. Yes, we found it difficult to get payment for the work

that was done.

Prior to the work being started, I asked Mr. **** to explain the work and exactly what he

and the other worker would be doing. Mr. **** explained that he would be "removing the

siding on the building (to access the hive from the outside), and he would "treat/spray the

area with chemicals to prevent re-infestation." Mr. **** further stated he would thoroughly

clean the siding/boards and scrape off all residues, and then replace them on the building.

Prior to having the hive removed Mrs. ***** was told that she would be

responsible for repair. We never told her we would be replacing the boards.

2

The original estimate that was sent via email on August 22"d, 2012 clearly states:

ESTIMATE FOR HIVE REMOVAl: REMOVE HIVE FROM WATER. TOWER. ON NORTH

EAST SIDE. NO REPAIR.. REPAIR. Will BE RESPONSIBILITY OF DOTTIE FRITZ.

(SIX MONTH WARRANTY IN LOCATION OF HIVE REMOVAl)

He had given me an original estimate of $1400, since the job was "big" and estimated it

would take "2 men at least half a day."

We originally thought it would take 1/a a work day. It's sometimes hard to tell

how big a hive is until we open the structure and can see it. That's why we call it

an ESTIMATE. The price was also determined by the height of the structure and

the fad that Mrs. ***** wanted it done in a certain way. She did NOT want the

boards to be cut down the middle. She was hoping the repair people would be

able to re use the boards instead of having to get new ones.

Since our home is an historic craftsman home, I specifically said that I was very

concerned about damage. I very specifically said that I wanted the siding cut at the mid

line to access the hive only, and did not want the entire 12ft siding boards removed. Mr.

**** agreed to this.

Mrs. ***** very specifically said she did NOT want any cuts down the middle. She

explained that she didn't want it to look like there was a patch that indicated

that it had ever been opened. She was also worried about the electric wiring in

the walls being severed. We assured her no cuts would be made down the

middle, in case the boards were reusable.

He repeatedly told me he would be very careful removing the siding, however if a board

were to accidentally break I would be responsible to purchase a new board and pay for

subsequent restoration.

Yes, we warned her that the boards may not be reusable. The tower was very old

and the condition of the wood was very old and dry. This is the MAIN reason we

3

specifically told her NO REPAIR. We told her the wood fibers in the boards would

probably have wax and honey soaked into them. We also warned that the brittle

boards might crack, splinter, or come apart during the removal.

Mr. **** also repeatedly told me he had "27 years experience" and that most structures

needed no repairs due to his careful work. I went inside my house for approximately 20

minutes, and when I returned outside, Mr. **** had already used a pry bar to rip off most

of the siding of an area approximately 5ft by 12 ft.

Mrs. ***** was told from the beginning that she would need to hire another

contractor to repair the area of opening.

While the work was being performed, Mrs. ***** was outside watching the

technicians almost the entire time. The boards were the first thing removed first

in order to gain access to the hive. During the rest of the hive removal, Mrs. *****

did not complain, call the office, or ask the technicians for clarification.

The complaints started AFTER the hive was removed, when she was asked to

pay.

Her first complaint was that job cost was too high for the amount of the work

that was performed. We explained that the cost is per job, not per hour.

4

Then she complained about the dead bees in the dirt and also demanded that the

technicians replace the boards back on the structure. They reminded her there

was no repair as per the verbal and written estimates.

Then she claimed there was a difference between "repair" and "replace" and

that they should replace the wood back on the structure.

The technicians reminded Mrs. ***** that she was supposed to have a repairman

out the next day in case it rained and that we never agreed to repair or replace

the boards.

Then she complained that too much wood was removed. We reminded her that is

was her wish that we not make any cuts down the middle.

I have pictures to show that the hive was about 40" wide and so there was no reason to

remove the entire 12ft siding boards

Again, Mrs. ***** wanted NO cuts down the middle for the following reasons:

She didn't want there to be a patch that indicated it had been opened

She was concerned about the electrical wiring

3. She was hoping the repairman could re use the boards.

5

I was very upset. I asked Mr. **** why he did this and why he didn't ask me first if this

was ok . .. since this was not what we had agreed to. Mr. **** stated that he (alone)

made the decision to remove the entire 12ft boards, rather that cut them, because it was

"ascetically" better to do it this way, and was quicker.

It would have been MUCH EASIER to cut the boards down the middle. Not only

would it have been EASIER ... it would have been LESS time consuming!

While it was in fact, much quicker, it caused very considerable damage to the building,

which Mr. **** will not acknowledge, and matching redwood siding (after 90 years) is no

longer available.

We removed the wood siding as per her request, and in order to remove the hive.

We did not damage anything!

I was shocked at his attitude and his demand that I immediately pay the $1400. I told him

that I was not happy with the work. He refused to discuss any possible remedies.

The technicians actually spent a fair amount of time trying to reason with Mrs.

*****. At her request, they cleaned up the dead bees and covered the area of

opening on the tower with plastic. After vacuuming the area the technicians

asked her if there were any other areas before they put the equipment away.

She said it looked "OK". At this point Mrs. ***** agreed to pay and presented her

Amex card for payment.

6

Even though rain was predicted for the next day, he was going to leave the area

(approximately 5' by 12') totally exposed to the weather, including the building's electrical

wiring. He was upset that I asked him to cover it with plastic (as the office manager had

previously promised would be done) and he reluctantly got some very thin plastic sheeting

and masking tape from his truck and minimally covered the area. By the next morning,

the plastic had blown off and down.

The office Manager did tell Mrs. ***** that the technicians would cover the area of

opening with plastic. It is also true that one corner had blown down. We had a

different technician come back out the next day and he stapled and re taped the

area again.

It's important to note that Mrs. ***** was supposed to have a contractor out the

next day to repair the siding. She was told prior to the job that the plastic would

only be a temporary protective measure and that she needed to get a repairman

out as soon as possible after hive removal.

I was also told by Bee Best that ALL dead bees would be removed. After asking Mr. ****

to remove the dead bees and other debris, the other worker used a vacuum to clean up

some of the dead bees from the 2nd floor inside room, but did not clean up the 1st floor or

3rd floor rooms and did not clean up the outside debris.

At her request, the technicians did vacuum the bees inside and below the Tower.

It's important to note that the rooms of the tower were difficult to clean because

(among other things) they were filled with newspapers, magazines, tools,

household items, and books stacked to the waist. There wasn't much room to

move around and there were no large open spaces to vacuum. There were small

pathways between "Stuff" that seemed to have been stored there for some time.

In addition the stuff was covered with a thick layer of dust and there were

7

rodent droppings all over the floor.

Whether or not the water tower is technically a "livable" space is unclear, but it

was obvious it was used for storage. It was difficult to vacuum the space when

you had to walk sideways between stacks of stuff.

I still have the siding boards, to show how they were very carelessly removed and

damaged. Since they were not cleaned up as promised, they could not be re-attached by

the contractor I hired to do the restoration work.

The boards were carefully removed and the wax and honeycomb was scraped off

as much as possible. The boards were stacked along the water tower. Mrs. *****

asked us if her repairman could reuse the boards for the repair. We told her that

she could, but that it would not be advisable. We did not advise it because some

of the boards had honey soaked in, which could attract bees and

new bees to re infest the same area in the future.

I told Mr. **** I did not want to pay immediately because of the extensive damage he

had done to my property, but he told me I had to pay that day. He was rude,

unprofessional and defensive. He told me I had to pay since I signed the contract.

Mr. **** expected payment because the hive was removed successfully.

He was patient and tried to reason with her as best he could. After patiently

explaining and answering her questions, Mrs. ***** seemed to understand and

agreed to pay with her AMEX card.

8

While I was calling American Express to dispute the charges, Mr. **** "ran" my Am-Ex

card 3 times, resulting in a $4200 hold on my account. Mr. **** told me I would have to

work with American Express to get the hold released as he could do "nothing. " It took me

10 days to get the hold on my credit released.

As outlined earlier, the SQUARE card reader failed to pull up a signature page to

get payment. The technician tried to get it to go through three times, but was

unable to get the transaction processed. We had never before encountered this

problem before with SQUARE.

Mrs. ***** was not left alone to deal with SQUARE. The office manager made

repeated calls to Mrs. ***** and several emails to SQUARE in order to have the

funds released. Again, no money from that transaction ever entered the Bee Best

account. It was put on hold by SQUARE and ultimately released back to Mrs. *****

with the help of the office manager.

While speaking with the Office Manager by phone to have the funds released,

Mrs. ***** complained that she shouldn't have to pay the full amount because of

the hassle with the Amex hold and the fact that the plastic blew down.

She told the office Manager that she was unhappy and threatened to complain

online on ******* ****.

The office Manager assured Mrs. ***** that we would work with her to resolve the

holds funds and see about reducing the price for the inconvenience with the

square reader and the plastic blowing down.

I have not spoken to Mr. **** since 10/13/2012. General Manager/Owner **** *******

came out to my home to replace the plastic on the building and discuss the damage. He

9

also came to my house for the monthly servicing of the rat bait stationsf for which I was

paying Bee Best $40 per month. I showed him the estimate I had for $2300I which

represented only baref minimum restoration to the building. He said that he felt there had

been a "big misunderstanding" and " I want to make things right and keep you as a

customer."

Because of her threats to complain online, we thought it best for her to deal with

one person from that point on. **** ******** our Field Manager agreed to try to

work with Mrs. ***** on an agreement that was fair and reasonable.

Mr. ******** was never shown an estimate for repair. In fact, no one in the

company was ever shown an estimate for repair or proof that she even paid

anyone to perform the repair.

We weren't particularly interested, since repair was not a part of our job.

He offered to "walk away" from all charges and not charge me anything. I told him I felt

that Bee Best should pay for the scaffold rental ($350) and one half of the repairs. He

again said "I want to make things right and so I will just walk away." Mr. ******** came

again in November and said the same thing about not charging me and just "walking

away." I told him I was still waiting for the Construction Company to finish the repairsf

and though I had already paid $2300I there would be additional costs. He again said he

would not charge me for the bee hive removal. Mr. ******** said the same thing in

December.

In the beginning when dealing with Mrs. *****, Mr. ******** offered her a $300

reduction in the price in order to make her happy.

Mrs. ***** said she would think about it but asked him to wait until after the

holidays due to the fact that her contractor wouldn't be able to re use the boards

and that the repair would cost more than she had hoped.

By this point Mrs. ***** had started to insinuate that she might complain on

******* **** if we didn't make her happy. In an effort to appease her and

hopefully prevent that from happening, Mr. ******** agreed that we could wait

until after the holidays.

I was very surprised when Mr. ******** called me on January 7I 2013I and said that he

had "changed his mind" and that he had "bills to pay." He said I would need to pay at

10

least $700 and that I should pay the full $1400. I told him that he had previously told me

I would not have to pay, and that was why I had not paid any$ and that I was still

waiting for the final painting.

After the holidays, Mr. ******** contacted Mrs. ***** to get payment for the job.

He again offered a $300 discount for the problems associated with the SQUARE

reader and to make her happy. It was at this time that: Mrs. ***** stated that she

felt she only owed us $50.

Mr. ******** explained to her that $50 was not acceptable. He told her we

would accept no less than $700. She then asked him what we would do if she

refused to pay the $700. It was at that time when Mr. ******** said that if she

didn't pay at least $700, we would the following:

1. We would be cancelling her rodent control service and that we would

and not perform any work for her in the future.

2. She would not be covered under the 6 month warranty for failure to pay.

Because to me, Mr. ******** sounded a little threatening and intimidating, I immediately

sent Bee Best a check for $700 along with the attached letter.

Mr. ******** did not threaten or intimidate. He simply told her we would cancel

the rodent control service and not perform work for her in the future.

At this point we thought she would refuse to pay and that we would never hear

from her again.

11

To our surprise, Mrs. ***** called Mr. ******** back and stated she would be

sending a check for $700, but that she was not happy. Our only guess as to why

she sent the check is that she wanted the security of the remaining portion of

the 6 month warranty.

I asked them to send me a receipt and remove all bait boxes ASAP. I did say in my letter I

would be reviewing their company online (although I have not yet done so). I DID NOT

say that I planned to complain to the BBB, because at that point, I did not know that Bee

Best was a member of the BBB.

In her letter that she sent in with payment she inc:Buded an attached print out

our BBB web page and circled the number of complaints around the box, so she

definitely knew we were a BBB member.\

My thoughts on January 7, 2013 were that if a company's honesty, integrity and ethics

can be sold for $700, they are not a very honest or ethical company. And so I paid the

$700 as asked.

The above statement does not make any sense. We can only guess as to why she

decided to pay.

Perhaps she wanted the security of the warranty. We never threatened to take

her to court or harassed her in any way. We actually didn't really want to have to

continue to deal with her further because by this time it had become abundantly

dear that we were never going to be able to please her.

The check I sent Bee Best was dated January 7, 2013, and was cashed soon thereafter.

12

The company response says that they received my check in "mid-February"/ but Bee Best

actually sent me a letter on January 23/ stating they had received my check (letter

attached).

Mrs. ***** is correct about this point. I misread the date on the envelope. She

actually sent the check mid January. The postmark on the envelope is Jan 13th to

be exact. In her letter with the check she asked us to send a receipt and cancel

her rodent control account. We did as she requested.

I called Mr. ******** on 1/29/3013 (I think) and asked him to remove the rat bait

stations. He said he would come over on 211/2013/ between 10 AM and 12 noon, but did

not show up. I did not hear anything further from Bee Best until the afternoon of

3/28/2013/ when Mr. ******** left me a vm message stating that he needed to remove

the stations that day. He and another worker came about Spm on 3/28/2013 to remove

all the rat-bait stations.

This is true. Our field Manager failed to make the appointment and we should

have gotten out there sooner. Mr. ******** did apologize for missing the

appointment to Mrs. ***** when he and another technician came out to remove

the stations.

"To be clear" Bee Best did significantly damage a livable structure on my property,

attached to the garage. The "water tower" has finished inside rooms and electricity. It is

not an "out building" or shed on the property. It is highly visible from the street. I have

pictures of the water tower "before and after" to show the damage/ and also the extent of

the bee hive (pictures included with this response).

Again, no damage was done to the water tower. We removed the wood siding, as

per her instructions, in order to remove a bee hive.

We also have photos of the job and are confident about the work that was

performed.

To sum up this whole complaint/ I am very sorry I have had to make it. I am not an

unreasonable person and I have never before complained to the BBB/ ******* ****, or any

other "online source." I have excellent credit and pay my bills on time. Their letter fails to

address the reason for my complaint and implies that for some reason I just refused to

pay Bee Best for their excellent service.

We found it very hard to work for and reason with Mrs. *****. Prior to the work

being performed we had no problems with her. Once it came time for payment

13

and the job was finished, that's when the demands for a reduction in price

began. The demands for a price reduction have slowly escalated to the point

where she now thinks we should pay for the restoration of her tower.

This was not a "tricky" job, and several other bee removal companies I have since

contacted have quoted me (verbally) much lower estimates. I have no problem with the

$1400 charge. I probably would have paid $2800 if the work was done correctly and as

promised. I might have even paid them the $1400 to NOT do the work, if I knew in

advance the damage Mr. **** would cause.

Again, no damage was done to the water tower. The work was done correctly.

We removed the wood siding, as per her instructions, in order to remove the bee

hive.

There was never any mention of paying $700 (prior to 1/7/2013), since Mr. ******** told

me I owed nothing. Why would I pay when the owner of the business told me I owed

nothing? I never asked Bee Best to reduce the price to $50 (although I did ask them to

pay the cost of the scaffolding and 1/2 of the restoration costs).

We never told Mrs. ***** that she owed nothing. We told her the lowest we would

be willing to accept is $700. She told us at that time that she felt she only owed

us $50.

I did ask Mr. **** on October 13, if he would do anything about the damage he caused.

He said there was nothing he could do and I owed him $1400.

Again, no damage was done to the water tower. We removed the wood siding, as

per her instructions, in order to remove a bee hive

14

Mr. **** demanded payment because the job had been completed.

I think if Mr. **** would have at least said he was sorry for the damage, and maybe

offered me a little $ credit on the rat control services, I would have still been unhappy, but

at least I would have felt that he acknowledged the damage.

Mr. **** did not apologize because no damage was done to her tower.

It's important to note that on the day of the hive removal, Mrs. ***** was not

saying that we did any damage. At that time she claimed (among the others

items previously mentioned) that too much of the wood was removed. The

claims of damage came later after we refused to lower the price.

He wouldn't even do that and also left it up to me to clear up the credit hold with

American Express ..... which I find totally unprofessional.

The office manager worked with Mrs. ***** by phone and sent several emails to

SQUARE to have the hold on the funds released. SQUARE can only be reached by

email and the office manager worked as a liaison to resolve the problem. Mrs.

***** was not left alone to deal with the problem.

I also feel that it is noteworthy that this damage was caused by the owner and licensee of

a business that, per Mr. ****, has never received any complaints.

Again, no damage was done to her Tower. Bee Best has been in business for 20

years, and of course there have been some complaints. However, that being said,

there has never been an insurance claim filed for damages.

15

***At the recent Successful Aging Expo in San Diego I heard BBB CEO Cheryl Bilbrey

speak. She was very good and mentioned that seniors are often taken advantage of

financially by businesses, who apparently think they will be too afraid to complain. After

reviewing my dealings with Bee Best Bee Removal, I do feel I was taken advantage of and

that Bee Best felt I would not do anything about it. I especially feel that way when I read

the last paragraph of the Bee Best's response to my complaint. I feel my honest attempts

to communicate with this company and reach some sort of fair settlement were belittled

and demeaned (and by the company president).

Bee Best offers senior discounts and has worked with many seniors over the past

20 years. We take extra precaution to protect seniors if they appear to not

understand the scope of work that is to be performed. We are offended (but not

surprised) that Mrs. ***** is now insinuating elder abuse out of the blue.

I still feel that Bee Best Bee Removal did not do the work they promised, and that their

work on my property was neither tricky nor quality.

The job was an old 3 story water tower. To gain access to the hive on the 2nd

story it required a 28 foot ladder and two technicians. It was not an easy job.

At the very least I feel that Bee Best owes me an apology and a refund of the $700 I paid

on January 7, 2013. Thank you.

An apology for the hive removal is not warranted. The hive was successfully

removed from the water Tower. The $700 dollars she agreed to pay does not

even cover the cost for the job and the time and energy we have spent trying to

work with her. We are relieved that her 6 month warranty has now expired and

we no longer have to deal with or work for Mrs. ***** ever again.

16

Si.nre·ly,~ · . .(}! f

/ ~~~(

Dol' · ***** .

Regards/

******** *****

*Note: The Response to this letter was written by the Office Manager after

speaking with Mr. ****, and Mr. ********.

Both technicians and I (the office manager) have reviewed and stand by the

above responses typed in bold font.

17

 

Regards,

******** *****