This business is not BBB accredited.

Electropedic Adjustable Beds

Phone: (858) 560-6446 Fax: (858) 560-6445 View Additional Phone Numbers  


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electric adjustable beds and standard beds.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Electropedic Adjustable Beds include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Electropedic Adjustable Beds
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1977 in CA Business incorporated 10/26/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 147126. On 8/24/2015 BBB confirmed that the license from Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Fogelstrom, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Fogelstrom, Manager
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Beds - Electric & Adjustable Bedding Bedspreads - Retail Beds - Retail Mattresses Pillows

Alternate Business Names
Electropedic Sleep Systems Kagen Inc
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an Electropedic bed from the company September 3, 2014. I was told it would take several weeks or so to receive. I was asked to deposit approximately 75% of the cost as it was a special order. The deposit was $2,000.00. We were referred to the store by a medical practitioner. We went to the store and found a sign on the door "By Appointment Only". We called, made an appointment with *** **********. He showed us various mattresses and frames and we placed our order. A month or so passed and we received a call that the bed arrived for delivery. We called the number left for a delivery schedule months on end and have never received a response. Due to injuries complicated by a rear end accident, I suffer greatly and spend considerable time with medical and physical therapy. We either need the bed we paid for or our money back. We continue to call and e-mail the compay, without response.

6/2/2014 Delivery Issues
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I prepaid for an adjustable bed sight unseen. The next day I went to the store to see the bed I'd purchased. The salesman questioned why I had come, but showed me two beds and we agreed on one. I then asked him to write the name and model no. on the invoice he'd given me. He reluctantly agreed to do that and put the name down, Spring Air, for each the mattress and the base; I was told there was no model number. When the mattress and bed arrived a week later I found the mattress was slightly wider than the base. I called to tell the salesman and he responded that it would not be a problem. I also let him know the mattress slipped a little on the base. He said just to put a towel between the two, that lots of people did that. Or said he would provide a rubber mat to put between to keep them from slipping. He later brought the mat to my home (along with a sheet set I didn't ask for). The next day I discovered I had a mis-matched set: the mattress is a Spring Air product and the base Electropedic. I have been unsuccessful in efforts to contact the salesman by phone to get restitution.

Desired Settlement: I would like the whole bed picked up and my money refunded.

Business Response: Regarding Mrs **** request,

 We Sold an adjustable set . She has since said that the mattress is too big for the
base. We have offered a brand new mattress with free set up and
delivery.

As stated in Mrs ****'s Request, She said her mattress shifted a bit
from the base. This does happen occasionally and we provide to our
customers for free a pad and a new set of sheets that help in keeping
the bed stationary. There is no cost to the consumer.

Thank you

5/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two twin-long adjustable beds from Electropedic Adjustable Beds on Clairemont Mesa Blvd. San Diego, CA on August 21, 2009. In late November of 2013 during the evening hours, one of the legs on one of the beds broke off while I was sitting on it. The next morning I placed a call to Electropedic Adjustable Beds and spoke with *** (who as it turned out was the same person I dealt with at the time I purchased the beds). He was going out of town for the weekend and asked that I call him back on Monday, December 2, 2013, to schedule a time when he could come to our home and look at the bed. In the meantime he asked me to take pictures of the bed in question and also a picture of the leg which had broken and email them to him, which I immediately did. As requested, on December 2, 2013, I called *** and set up an appointment for December 5, 2013. *** came out on December 5th and replaced the broken leg with a new one which he said the manufacturer provided to him free of charge. While he was working on the bed I also mentioned a problem I recently notice which involved difficult in raising the "head" portion of the bed. He examined the upper portion of the bed and found that one of the hinges had broken and this was what was causing the problem. He placed a call to the manufacturer and asked to have a replacement hinge sent out however he was told that he would need to purchase an entire set of new hinges for the bed (4 hinges) at a cost of $20 for the set. I authorized him to order the hinges and he stated he would call me when they were delivered and we could schedule an appointment for the installation. He did mention that due to the Christmas Holiday in December it might take a little longer than usual to receive the hinges but did not give me a ballpark time frame. *** presented me with a statement in the amount of $142. which included his time involved with replacing the broken leg on the bed, the $20 cost of the new set of hinges, and also covered the cost to have someone come out and install the new hinge on the bed when it was received. I called *** the second week in January, 2014, to inquire about the status of the hinge delivery and his only comment was that the manufacturer had been busy with the holidays and were behind schedule in shipping the hinges. He assured me he would call when he received them. On Feb. 10, 2014, I sent an e-mail to *** again requesting a status of the hinge delivery. Also, I explained in the email that I had just been diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my neck and back and it would be very helpful to my condition if I could raise up the head of my bed. Today is February 26th and I have had no further communication from ***. I paid for the hinges on December 5th and also paid for them to be installed and I have nothing to show for it. Ideally I would like to have the hinge installed, but in the event that cannot be accomplished I would like my money back for the hinge and also the cost of its installation.

Desired Settlement: Either provide the product I paid for along with the installation or refund my money.

Business Response: We will look into this matter

The bed they purchased was an adjustable bed with remote control
and no massage
We delivered that set
We will call the customer
thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am contacting you regarding the above complaint I filed on February 26, 2014.   I received a refund check in the amount of $80 on Monday, April 26th, 2014 in full satisfaction of the amount I requested.  Thank you for your assistance with the matter.

Regards,

**** *****




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Electropedic Adjustable Beds
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)