This Business is not BBB accredited

Electropedic Adjustable Beds

Phone: (858) 560-6446 Fax: (858) 560-6445 View Additional Phone Numbers 8055 Clairemont Mesa Blvd #101, San Diego, CA 92111

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electric adjustable beds and standard beds.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Electropedic Adjustable Beds include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Electropedic Adjustable Beds
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1977 in CA Business incorporated: 10/26/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 147126. On 10/27/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Fogelstrom, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Fogelstrom, Manager
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Beds - Electric & Adjustable Bedding Bedspreads - Retail Beds - Retail Mattresses Pillows

Alternate Business Names
Electropedic Sleep Systems Kagen Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8055 Clairemont Mesa Blvd #101

    San Diego, CA 92111 (858) 560-6446 (800) 227-1265

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 227-1265(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Delivery Issues
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I prepaid for an adjustable bed sight unseen. The next day I went to the store to see the bed I'd purchased. The salesman questioned why I had come, but showed me two beds and we agreed on one. I then asked him to write the name and model no. on the invoice he'd given me. He reluctantly agreed to do that and put the name down, Spring Air, for each the mattress and the base; I was told there was no model number. When the mattress and bed arrived a week later I found the mattress was slightly wider than the base. I called to tell the salesman and he responded that it would not be a problem. I also let him know the mattress slipped a little on the base. He said just to put a towel between the two, that lots of people did that. Or said he would provide a rubber mat to put between to keep them from slipping. He later brought the mat to my home (along with a sheet set I didn't ask for). The next day I discovered I had a mis-matched set: the mattress is a Spring Air product and the base Electropedic. I have been unsuccessful in efforts to contact the salesman by phone to get restitution.

Desired Settlement: I would like the whole bed picked up and my money refunded.

Business Response: Regarding Mrs **** request,

 We Sold an adjustable set . She has since said that the mattress is too big for the
base. We have offered a brand new mattress with free set up and
delivery.

As stated in Mrs ****'s Request, She said her mattress shifted a bit
from the base. This does happen occasionally and we provide to our
customers for free a pad and a new set of sheets that help in keeping
the bed stationary. There is no cost to the consumer.

Thank you

5/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two twin-long adjustable beds from Electropedic Adjustable Beds on Clairemont Mesa Blvd. San Diego, CA on August 21, 2009. In late November of 2013 during the evening hours, one of the legs on one of the beds broke off while I was sitting on it. The next morning I placed a call to Electropedic Adjustable Beds and spoke with *** (who as it turned out was the same person I dealt with at the time I purchased the beds). He was going out of town for the weekend and asked that I call him back on Monday, December 2, 2013, to schedule a time when he could come to our home and look at the bed. In the meantime he asked me to take pictures of the bed in question and also a picture of the leg which had broken and email them to him, which I immediately did. As requested, on December 2, 2013, I called *** and set up an appointment for December 5, 2013. *** came out on December 5th and replaced the broken leg with a new one which he said the manufacturer provided to him free of charge. While he was working on the bed I also mentioned a problem I recently notice which involved difficult in raising the "head" portion of the bed. He examined the upper portion of the bed and found that one of the hinges had broken and this was what was causing the problem. He placed a call to the manufacturer and asked to have a replacement hinge sent out however he was told that he would need to purchase an entire set of new hinges for the bed (4 hinges) at a cost of $20 for the set. I authorized him to order the hinges and he stated he would call me when they were delivered and we could schedule an appointment for the installation. He did mention that due to the Christmas Holiday in December it might take a little longer than usual to receive the hinges but did not give me a ballpark time frame. *** presented me with a statement in the amount of $142. which included his time involved with replacing the broken leg on the bed, the $20 cost of the new set of hinges, and also covered the cost to have someone come out and install the new hinge on the bed when it was received. I called *** the second week in January, 2014, to inquire about the status of the hinge delivery and his only comment was that the manufacturer had been busy with the holidays and were behind schedule in shipping the hinges. He assured me he would call when he received them. On Feb. 10, 2014, I sent an e-mail to *** again requesting a status of the hinge delivery. Also, I explained in the email that I had just been diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my neck and back and it would be very helpful to my condition if I could raise up the head of my bed. Today is February 26th and I have had no further communication from ***. I paid for the hinges on December 5th and also paid for them to be installed and I have nothing to show for it. Ideally I would like to have the hinge installed, but in the event that cannot be accomplished I would like my money back for the hinge and also the cost of its installation.

Desired Settlement: Either provide the product I paid for along with the installation or refund my money.

Business Response: We will look into this matter

The bed they purchased was an adjustable bed with remote control
and no massage
We delivered that set
We will call the customer
thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am contacting you regarding the above complaint I filed on February 26, 2014.   I received a refund check in the amount of $80 on Monday, April 26th, 2014 in full satisfaction of the amount I requested.  Thank you for your assistance with the matter.

Regards,

**** *****



1/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 27, I mailed a check of $1,795.00 for the purchase of a Firm Full XL mattress described as "Organic Nature Latex Collection", with a vague expected delivery from 3-4 weeks. Unfortunately, after numerous telephone calls leaving messages on their answering machine requesting they contact me, I was confronted with absolute silence. No calls were returned, a behavior I consider very rude. I can only guess Electropedic is or nearly is bankrupt. I would like to add I relied upon the excellent rating dispensed by the BBB, and the fact they were in business since 1964.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the item purchased as described above, or preferably a refund for the amount of $1795 they have since April 2, 2012, the date my check cleared the bank

Business Response:

BBB
This letter is to provide you information concerning the order for Mr. *******
We delivered Mr ******* his mattress to his residence. in *****. We did have a delay in the
delivery due to Mr. *******'s mattress being delivered to another customer by mistake from our Factory.
We did expedite the second order with good care and did send Mr. ******* his
proper mattress.
Mr. ******* had ordered a custom 100% Natural mattress in the Full XL size and
because of that, the mattress took longer to produce than normal.

We explained this to Mr. *******.  We also sent him some Custom 100% Cotton
sheet sets at no charge for his inconvenience.
thank you
Electropedic

6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After locating the business online I contacted them by telephone. This was on Tuesday, April 10, 2012. I placed an order for 1 set of wheels (4) for my electropedic bed. The price was $32.00 + $12.00 shipping for a total of $44.00. I gave them my VISA card information. My VISA care was charged on April 12, 2012. After 3 weeks I had not received my order and I called the store. The gentleman I talked to advised that he would check into the order and telephone me back. I never heard from him. Since then I have placed telephone calls on 05/03, 05/07, 05/10 and 05/11. I left a message on their recorded answering service requesting that someone please contact me regarding the order. I have never received any response to my calls. Concerned that they have my credit card information I talked today to my credit card company to notify them of the problem and my concern about any future charges to my card. I was informed that I would be within my rights to challenge the $44.00 claims that had already been filed. This I am doing. In addition I feel that I must also file with your company. Any assistance you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the merchandise ordered since the items are specialized wheels for an electropedic bed and I have not been able to find another company who supplies these items. However if that is not possible then I most definitely want my money refunded in full.

Consumer Response:

Complaint ID #*******

On May 11, 2012 I submitted a complaint against Comfort Touch Mattress Electropedic located at 8055 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, Suite 101, San Diego, California 92111.  Their telephone number is 858-560-6446.

This is to notify you that I have finally received the order merchandise from the company.

I greatly appreciate your assistance in this matter.

Thank You,

***** ***** **** **** ***** *** **** ******* ******* ***** *****  ************ *******  ***************