BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen

Phone: (619) 644-3320 8632 La Mesa Blvd, La Mesa, CA 91942 http://www.arbathandkitchen.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers remodeling services, specializing in kitchens and baths.  

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 13, 2001 Business started: 09/16/1998 in CA Business started locally: 09/16/1998 Business incorporated: 05/16/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 771419.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. G Tyler Marsh, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. G Tyler Marsh, President
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Table Tops Bathroom Accessories Shower Doors & Enclosures Real Estate Office Furniture & Equipment - Repair & Refinishing Elderly/Senior Specialty Services Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Paint Removing Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Cabinet Refinishers Handyman Services Property Maintenance

Products & Services

A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen offers the following product(s): Bathroom and Kitchen cabinets, Bathroom Sinks, Cabinet Hardware, Cabinet Hinges, Cabinet knobs, Cabinet Pulls, Cabinet Refacing, Cabinets, Countertop repair, Countertop Specialists, Countertops, Fiberglass shower repair, Frameless Glass Shower Doors, Frameless shower doors, Granite Countertop Repairs, Granite Countertops, Kitchen Countertops, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen Sinks, Laminate Countertops, New Bathroom Cabinets, New Bathroom Vanities, New Cabinets, New Kitchen Cabinets, New Vanities, Therapy tubs, Vanity Rebuilding

Method(s) of Payment
A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen accepts Cash and Checks.  We also extend a payment plan to qualified customers. We accept all Credit Cards.
Refund and Exchange Policy
5 Year Limited Warranty on Resurfacing Projects
Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
West Coast DBI Inc

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen

DISCOUNT: Free in-home estimate for any kitchen or bathroom remodeling and/or refinishing; home and commercial projects.

This company offers bathroom and kitchen remodeling and refinishing.

To receive discount, contact (619) 644-3320 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you.

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in conjunction with any other discount, offer, special or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date.
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Revitalizing B&K project manager, **** ******, gave my husband and I a catalogue from CAL Doors to select the color and style bathroom cabinets for our bathroom remodel. We made the selection and placed the order. However, the cabinets delivered and installed in my home were not from CAL Doors and they were very, very, cheap and the hardware mounted on the drawers and doors did not work properly. When I contacted **** about this he basically threaten me and lied about the cabinets being switched but later said I should have known the cabinets were not from CAL Doors . Yet **** never communicated one time that the cabinets would be different from the sample he originally showed to us. He refused to make any adjustments of any kind. He was very, very rude and insulting and threatening. We do not know the manufacturer of the cabinets installed in my bathroom, nor do we have any literature on the cabinets as we did have from CAL Doors. We know the cabinet wood is plywood which is not material the CAL Door cabinets are made of. We have no recourse when these cabinets fall apart. This is definitely a case of bait and switch, and to be exact FRAUD.

Desired Settlement: An adjustment on the price for the cabinets or total refund.

Business Response:

Dear ***** Family,

My sincere apology that you are so unhappy and for any part we may have played in this.  I tried to reach you both by phone this week but was directed to voicemails.  Mr. ***** tried to call me back, but reached my voicemail.  
After receiving your email I immediately took action with an investigation of my own because your email in no way reflects how we do business nor what any of our other customers have experienced since 1998.  I am not used to dealing with this type of issue, because it does not happen, so forgive me if you feel I could handle this better.  We are a small family business that really wants to take care of people more than any thing else, and this is reflected in our record.  We have always placed customer satisfaction above profits, and have always provided the best products in the market at a fair price.  It extremely disturbs me that you felt it necessary to respond in the way that you did and trying to hurt our company in this world where social media and reputation can permanently hurt a company and put many good people out of work.  
 
My first call was to **** ****** about this.  His response was sincere, full of detail, and full of regret.  He knew our conversation was coming.  He is sorry for responding to your call the way he did which was not acceptable by himself, me, and you.  I wrote him up for the way he handled the call.
 
My determination is that **** had a lapse of good judgement and loss of self control coming from his frustrations and at the point when you threatened not to pay for our work after all of our efforts to make the corrections you requested.  I do not know what was exactly said by both of you, first hand, but I know that **** is a 30 year professional in this industry, and "everyone" who works with **** has enjoyed the experience and felt he was full of integrity and good character, and this is definitely a first time situation like this since I have known him for many years now.  I know after talking to **** that you have been very unhappy with other work by others you hired and we hope that you can delineate us from their quality of workmanship and service that you received by others.  You need to know that this project, for us, made no profit after all the trips and changes even if you paid the agreed upon invoice amount.  Part of this is our mistake with not having the softclose hardware which should have been installed from the beginning at install day #1 and all the adjustments the men should have made before leaving your home.  We have corrected these issues unless you tell me we have not.  I believe we went above what many contractors would do regarding the color variations that to a large extent are normal problems when dealing with wood products that are stained.  Many contractors make you sign off on accepting and acknowledging about color variations and will not go the extra step that we did to address your being unhappy with this issue.  We replaced the face frames of your cabinets so that we had a better match and continuity with them.  If there is anything else we can do to make your cabinets better match your expectations please let me know.  
 
My review of our timelines has also been done.  Normally we promise 3-4 weeks with the option you chose at your May meeting with ****, and we actually delivered them quicker than promised which I hope you acknowledge in our good performance relating to the installation date promised vs the earlier actual installation date.  In addition, I reviewed our response times to your complaints about the issues we fixed, and I feel that our response times were great, and we did not make you wait many weeks for return trips like many other contractors do, if they return at all.  We tried to address your concerns promptly and give you great service in response to you being an unhappy customer.  Even if it cost us any profit, trying to make an unhappy customer feel better is what we demand and take pride in.  If you sleuth our reputation, you will find that we mostly have very happy customers, and when we have an isolated incident we do everything we can to make it right.  Everyone I talked to about your project thought you were now happy with the corrections until your last phone call with ****.  Again, please let me know if there is any other corrections that need to be made with what you chose versus what you were delivered.
 
With regard to your slanderous accusations regarding "fraud", and bait and switch, I ask you to reconsider your position without the anger and desire to hurt us.  
On or about March 3, 2014, we had **** meet at your office with your husband about your big project and during part of this visit he showed you the CalDoor catalog to help illustrate what we could do in a custom cabinet, and doors from CalDoor.  At this time you did not contract with us.  We currently use CalDoor cabinet doors with our custom made cabinets, which he then quoted for you as part of the big project bid.  
 
After a considerable time later you contacted **** letting him know that you were using other contractors for the other parts of the project and that you only wanted our company to do the cabinets but that you did not like our price on this part of the project.  He then agreed to meet with you to discuss other more cost effective options within your budget, and made a new appointment to discuss this with you.
 
On or about May 9, 2014, **** met with your family and discussed alternatives that we could subcontract out for a little bit less money, and you also met with ***** later from Y9 as part of this new option and drawings were done, and redone, to your specifications, and approved by Mr. ***** for Y9 to complete.  **** showed you new samples and my attachment shown above is the door and color he showed you both on that day, and that your family approved.  **** was in no way, and has never been accused of bait and switch, ever.  This is evidenced with his reputation that you are attempting to destroy.  He was simply giving you another option, which you approved, which was "Y9 Pecan Rope".  I have seen pictures of the cabinets that you have and this is what you received unless you tell me I am wrong about this.  Your cabinets are beautiful in my opinion, and you made a good choice.  
 
All "cabinets" that we sell are either MDF or plywood construction which are the most common materials used in the industry.  Plywood construction is the better of the two which is what you received.  You accused us in your complaint of not using CalDoor "cabinets" which you are claiming were better made than what you received, and that CalDoor is not made of plywood like what you received.  My response to this is that I do not know what you are talking about here.  CalDoor only makes "doors" (not cabinets) for contractors who are making custom cabinets.  CalDoor fabricates wood doors to custom specifications and thermofoil doors too.  We sell both.  You received wood doors which is what you selected.  CalDoor option was in your original March 2014 considerations.  The visit in May was your option that was a little bit less expensive alternative option with one of our subcontractors which is also a quality material provider that we showed your family and was approved.  This sample was shown to you both and approved.
 
Your complaint refers to having no recourse when the cabinets fall apart.  I do not understand why you would say this.  Your cabinets are not falling apart.  We have been taking care of people since 1998 and will be around for you too as we have stood the test of time as a successful company with a proven track record of taking care of people.  Your cabinets are great and you will have many years of enjoyment out of them, which any independent qualified objective source would agree.  You also accused us of FRAUD in a public forum with absolutely no basis in my opinion and that is slanderous.  Please reconsider your position.  I understand that you are completely unhappy with how your bathroom remodel went and wish we could have been your guys on all the project so you would not have had to deal with some of the issues that **** shared with me regarding workmanship and service that we would have done better than the other contractors you selected.  
 
Based on all the factual information and the investigation that I have personally made, I am requesting that you pay the amount agreed upon and I additionally want to request that you withdraw your defamation and slanderous complaint toward our company that does not deserve this treatment unless you can justify your position and provide me further proof of your accusations beyond your angry feelings.  We do not make any profit on this project if you pay the invoiced amount, and in fact we have taken a loss to try to make you happier.  I take business personally, I see this is a personal attack on **** and my business, and feel that you are trying to hurt us with your filed complaint and/or trying to get something for free.

As a family man and small business owner with 16 employees, I request that you do the right thing.  If there is anything else you feel that I should do, please do not hesitate to ask.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
***** *****
Owner/Manager
President
A Revitalized Bath and Kitchen
C#******
************ Cell 
619-644-3320 Office