BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

UFB Direct, a division of BofI Federal Bank

Phone: (877) 472-9200 4350 La Jolla Village Dr #140, San Diego, CA 92122 http://www.ufbdirect.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers checking and savings accounts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that UFB Direct, a division of BofI Federal Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UFB Direct, a division of BofI Federal Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on UFB Direct, a division of BofI Federal Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 2011 Business started: 09/27/1999 in CA Business incorporated: 09/27/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adriaan Van Zyl, EVP & Chief Operating Officer, Office of the COO
Related Businesses
Bank of Internet USA, a division of BofI Federal Bank
Number of Employees

300

Business Category

Banks

Alternate Business Names
BofI Holding Inc
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) 15 Rockdale Street, Braintree MA 02184-0172 http://www.fdic.gov/

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau P.O. Box 4503, Iowa City IA 52244 Phone Number: 855-411-2372 Fax Number: 855-237-2392 http://www.consumerfinance.gov info@consumerfinance.gov

Industry Tips
Credit Card Promotions Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Fair Credit Reporting Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 4350 La Jolla Village Dr #140

    San Diego, CA 92122 (877) 472-9200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 3, 2014, I attempted to open a Joint ******** ******** ******* checking account with my wife, and I have failed every time I apply. The first time I applied, we went through the entire process only to be denied a checking account based off the information found in my *********** report. I have NEVER had a problem opening any kind of account (checking, savings, credit, loan, etc...). I monitor mine and my wife's credit report and there is nothing derogatory that would prevent us from opening a checking account. We currently have 6-7 checking\savings accounts with other financial institutions. I feared that I may have entered something incorrectly on the first application so, I attempted to apply again, this time carefully checking my responses in the ID verification section where you need to answer identify questions. I again, received a denial based off my *********** report. It is my understanding that a *********** report is a bank reporting system that many banks use, to report derogatory banking information. I can assure you that, my wife and I, have an excellent banking record. Thinking that there may be an ID verification failure with either me or my wife, I attempt to apply for a single account for both my wife and myself (rather than joint accounts). Every time I apply now, I receive and message after I submit application that there was an ID verification failure and to contact your customer service if I have further questions. I have tried calling customer service and they all seem to very unwilling to help me with my situation. They are unwilling to escalate to a supervisor\manager and they will not provide me a phone number to anyone higher up. I feel that I have no other place to turn than the BBB to help get my issue to someone higher up that can actually help me.

Desired Settlement: I feel that my wife and I were denied an account for no legitimate reason and would love to get an ******** ******** ******* checking account opened with UFB. I feel that there must have been some kind of ID verification that prevented us from getting approved. I would be more than happy to fax\email any proof of ID, address, citizenship, etc... that is needed to get an account open.

Business Response: October 16, 2014
Mr. ***** *******
**** * **** ***** ***
Herriman, UT 84096
************@********

 RE: Complaint to the BBB (ID - ********)

 Dear Mr. *******,

 Please allow this letter to serve as a response to the complaint that you lodged against Bofl Federal Bank with the
Better Business Bureau (BBB). In your complaint you mentioned that your request to open an account with Bofl
was denied because of information derived from a *********** report. This, in fact, is not the case.

 I apologize that you did not have a satisfactory experience in the application process for an account. However, the
decision to decline your account application was because you attempted to submit several applications within a
short tlmeframe. Our system is set to decline them If they exceed our criteria, as this is sometimes an Indication of
suspicious or fraudulent activity.

 Because of the difficulty that you have had submitting an application, I understand that ***** has reached out to
you to assist you with re-applying for your account. She will work with you to ensure that we receive your
application and that it is properly reviewed.

 Again, we apologize for the difficult experience you had in applying for an account with us. We are grateful for
your desire to bank with us.

 Please feel free to contact us if you have any other questions.

Sincerely,

***** ****
FVP, Deposit Compliance

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I would like to let UFB Direct know that I appreciate their willingness to help resolve my issue with not being able to open an account; ***** has been awesome to work with and she was able to get an account open for me.  I feel bad that I had to open a BBB complaint against them however, there was no other way to get ahold of anyone at the company that could help me.  The Customer service representatives would not tell me why I was denied an account and they were VERY unwilling to escalate to someone higher up.  They would also not provide me with contact information to get ahold of anyone higher up either.  I apologize for submitting BBB complaint however, thank you for resolving my issue.  I really think that UFB would benefit for having a means for customers to reach out to someone higher up; I am willing to bet that I am not the only person this has happened to.

Regards,

***** *******

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 3rd, I submitted an online application for a Airline Rewards Checking account (Application ID #*****). Within a few days I received a distressing email saying that my application was denied and this was due to information found in my Chexsystems consumer file. I knew this to be incorrect because, in addition to having an excellent credit score and consumer profile, I viewed a copy of my ChexSystems report a few months ago and found nothing. Concerned, I immediately ordered another copy of this report which UFB stated had information that was the basis of my denial. I recieved it a few days later only to find it had absolutely no derogatory information whatsoever in it. But it does show that Bank Of Internet made six (6) inquiries all on Nov 5th. I am not sure if this was a computer error or what but seeing as there is nothing in my file that could be remotely considered as negative and there were 5 inquiries in one day I called customer service to inquire about this. The representative was unhelpful and would not allow me to speak with a supervisor or anyone empowered to find out what was going on. I dont know where else to turn because UFB Direct does not have an effective way for customers (or would be customers) to get in contact with the departments needed to sort this type of thing out. You are put on hold while a customer service rep contacts them and relays your message. Then they come back and relays their message back to you. This back and forth can go on for quite a while and is not very productive when you are trying to problem solve.

Desired Settlement: The denial email I received reads: Application ID #***** ..... We regret to advise that we cannot open the Airline Rewards Checking account you requested due to information received from ChexSystems, a consumer reporting agency. ChexSystems did not make the decision to decline your request and is unable to provide you with specific reasons why the decision was made. You have rights under state and federal laws. Included in these rights are.... Again this is not correct. I have a copy of my ChexSystems report dated Nov. 5th which shows that there is absolutely adverse information within it. I will gladly provide UFB Direct a copy if they request it Simply send my a fax or email address you would like it sent to. I am asking that I be allowed to open an Airline Rewards Checking account as I believe there is no legitimate reason why I should not have one. I also monitor my credit reports and have no derogatory information within them either. Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Business Response:

Please see attached for the letter BofI Federal Bank sent to Mr. ******* in response to his complaint.

 

Consumer Response:

Dear Ms. ****** & the BBB of San Diego,

Thank you so very much for the prompt and professional resolution of this issue.  ***** was a pleasure to work with and did her research thoroughly.

I my account was opened and I recieved new account packet in an expedited manner.  I regret I had to file a complaint with the BBB but your customer service/complaint flow is setup in such a way that customers (or potential customers) cannot get in contact with the next level to resolve issues that aren't part of a script.  If you are able to find the representative I spoke with (via logs) I'd love for him to receive more training on this matter.  Hopefully that can be resolved.  I am sure I am not the first applicant to run into this problem but I hope I am the last.

 

Best Regards and Happy Holidays,

******* *******

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is over a $10 fee charged to my money market account that they would not reverse. When i first setup the account it initially had a $0 balance. While my first deposit of $5,000 was processing i was charged a $10 fee because it was under their $5,000 minimum balance to avoid fees. So that brought my balance to $-10. Then once my $5,000 deposit processed the account withdrew the $10 fee and set my amount at $4,900 which caused another $10 fee. after numerous phone calls the bank corrected this error. so after some time i decided to withdrawal all my money and close this account. i attempted to transfer all $5,000 in my account to another bank just like i did with other accounts at different banks. however i was unable to do so because they set me at a $2,000 limit to do so. when i called in for help move out all my money they said i just need to make multiple withdrawals. in doing so i was again charged a $10 fee and this time UFB said they would not reverse the charge because they had done so previously. their customer was of little to no help and i ended up getting ripped off by this bank for a measly $10. UFB has an unethical collection practice and should not get away with stealing their ex-customers money. i welcome a phone discussion to explain this complaint in more detail. thank you.

Desired Settlement: $10 refunded in fees

Business Response: Please allow this letter to serve as a written summary of Bofl Federal Bank's a/k/a UFB Direct's
(the "Bank's") response to ***** *******' complaint against the Bank.

Per Mr. *******' request as stated within his complaint, on November 7, 2013 in or around 11:20
AM, I attempted   to  call him  at  the  number  he  provided.    I was  unable  to  reach  him, 
and subsequently left him a message asking him to return my call. On the same day, the Bank mailed 
a check in the amount of $10.00 to Mr. *******, which is the desired settlement  amount indicated 
by Mr. ******* in his complaint.

Sincerely,
******* ******
Compliance Officer

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you have internet banking account or want to open such account, please pay attention with bank service fees and charges. I had bad experiences with UFB direct bank/Bank of Internet USA, I then decided to close my account. Unfortunately, I did not receive the remaining account balance three weeks after my request. The bank personal told me "the check might be lost by USPS and an investigation request would be filed, and it could take up to 90 days for me to receive the new issue check". The bank's service and policy are terrible.

Desired Settlement: The bank should send me a replacement check while investigating the lost mail. I can't want for 3 months or even 1 month for the check (around $100,000).

Business Response:

Response to ********* *** Complaint ID ******* 

Mr. ***** 

There was no error on our part.  The check was issued for the combined closure of the customer’s UFB Checking, Savings, and Money Market accounts on 01/17/2013.  It was issued for the correct amount to the address on file.  

The customer called multiple times since the issuance claiming to have never received the check.  Per our disclosures: 

Any exceptions to this policy must be made by Operations Management.

Thanks, 

****** ********

SVP, Chief Deposit Officer

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Based on bank's response, check is missing likely due to Poster office's error and can't be re-issued until 90 days later.   Should the bank re-issue a check to me ASAP istead of 90 days?  

Regards,

********* ***

Business Response:

We have only made exceptions, if the bank caused the error and the customer had funds in another account we were able to hold.

Ms. *** no longer holds any funds with our bank and the check was sent to the address on file, which was verified with the customer

 

If we issue another check before the 90 days we are liable for both- we are following our written disclosures and will reissue after 90 days.

 

****** ********