Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial business banking and personal banking services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bank of Southern California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bank of Southern California include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bank of Southern California
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 2007 Business started: 12/18/2001 in CA Business incorporated 07/08/2013 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony DiVita, Senior Vice President Director of Sales & Marketing Ms. Pamela C Isaacson, EVP and Chief Administrative Officer Mr. Nathan L Rogge, President & Chief Executive Officer Mr. Robert Marshall , EVP & Chief Credit Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony DiVita, Senior Vice President Director of Sales & Marketing
Principal: Ms. Pamela C Isaacson, EVP and Chief Administrative Officer
Principal: Mr. Nathan L Rogge, President & Chief Executive Officer
Number of Employees

48

Business Category

Banks

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 12265 El Camino Real #100

    San Diego , CA 92130 (858) 847-4700 (858) 847-4780 (855) 532-4889

  • 1315 Main St

    Ramona, CA 92065 (760) 788-8788

  • 1620 5th Ave #120

    San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 849-5741

  • 3142 Tiger Run Ct #107

    Carlsbad, CA 92009 (760) 599-7044

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42005 Cook St #310

    Palm Desert, CA 92211 (760) 346-6139

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    47-000 Washington

    La Quinta, CA 92253 (760) 771-0654

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Bank solicited a loan from while they were going door to door. It was predatory. Then after they approved the credit line which I told them on three separate occasions that I didn't want it they never gave me a copy of the contract thus violating the truth in lending actBusiness went very slow in 2008 as the economy slowed and I had trouble making payments. They got a judgement against me and their attorney threatened me with loss of my business.I now am not in a position to pay again and they have tried to get me to pay which I can't afford and a high interest rateI have never received a statement from them telling how much I owe and I have never received any tax documents from them showing interest I have paid

Desired Settlement: I can borrow some money and I want them to take a lower settlement amount then they say I owe

Business Response:

 

There are several misstated facts in Mr. ****** complaint statement.

 

·         The referenced loan was a business loan made to complainant’s closely-held corporation.

·         Door-to-door solicitations for business banking services are not considered predatory.

·         The loan was made in 2007 and the client was sent an approval letter, dated 12/27/07, which discloses the general terms of the loan.  Concurrent with the approval letter, the Complainant was also provided with a copy of the Express Business Loan Agreement, which fully discloses all terms and details of the loan approval.

·         In December 2009, the bank was forced to initiate a lawsuit for breach of contract due to payment default.

·         In July 2010, the Borrower and Guarantor (Complainant) agreed to settle the matter and agreed to make payments over time.

·         As a result of the legal settlement, the bank is under no obligation to provide the Complainant with periodic statements or tax documents indicating interest paid.

To remian in compliance with regulations pertaining to client confidentiality, we are unable to provide any other details related to this client.   However, the bank has entered into a settlment agreement prior to the submission of Mr. ****** complaint. The mutually agreed upon terms fulfill Mr. ****** desire settlement as stated in his complaint.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****