Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Aamco Transmissions of El Cajon

Phone: (619) 592-8385 View Additional Phone Numbers 355 N Johnson Ave, El Cajon, CA 92020 http://www.aamcoelcajon.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive diagnostic and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aamco Transmissions of El Cajon meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aamco Transmissions of El Cajon include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmissions of El Cajon
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2004 Business started: 09/02/2003 in CA Business under new ownership as of: 11/20/2008 Business incorporated 09/23/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 256687.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Walter Fabian Vereda, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Fabian Vereda, President
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Prestige Automotive Services Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 355 N Johnson Ave

    El Cajon, CA 92020 (619) 442-0404 (619) 592-8385

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately for the past 4 years, I have had (currently now 10-30-13) 4 problems to include a complete rebuilt transmission that AAMCO has done. The first problem I have encountered with is I took my truck to an AAMCO store in San Diego on Convey St. They repaired my truck with a 3 year, 50,000 mile warranty along with a letter I received saying I have a lifetime warranty. Throughout the past 3 years, I have had to return back to AAMCO in El Cajon 3 times because the store on Convey St has closed down. I turned my truck into the store in El Cajon on Oct 28, 2013. The person I am working with is ****, 619.442.0404. On Oct 30, 2013, Todd informed me that the AAMCO headquarters department said they will NOT honor the lifetime warranty and it would cost me $1,800.00 to repair my truck.

Desired Settlement: To honor this lifetime warranty that I have received from AAMCO and do the appropriate repairs in 24 hours that Todd quoted me on Oct 30, 2013.

Business Response: Mr. *****,

I understand that you are upset.
Aamco head quarters has decided to honor your warranty one more time. They have instructed us to let you know this is the last time they will do the repair at not cost to you.
Each shop in this chain is independently owned. Aamco Transmission of El Cajon did not perform the initial repair nor issue the life time warranty. It was issued by an unscrupulous man that not longer belongs to our chain. You can contact Aamco Head Quarters for more information in this matter.
Again, all we have been trying to do is to help you get your transmission repaired at a low or not cost to you, but ultimately is was not our call to perform such repair until we had authorization from Aamco Head quarters.
A regular retail cost for a transmission repair including parts and labor for a unit  like the one you have in your truck is between $ 2,200 and $ 2,600.00. Todd have given you the option to get yours repaired at a considerable discount as an option, Aamco head quarters finally decided to cover this repair.
 
Sincerely
 
****** ******
 
 

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Aamco in Friday August 16th for a Transmission "flush"for a 2004 Jeep Wrangler with 140k miles, transmission worked fine just wanted the maintenance done, called 1st and was quoted 140.00 +or- , After I dropped of the vehicle I then returned about an hour later and was told of course that I needed a new transmission and the vehicle wasn't even going to make it home (pretty much what you would expect from a tranny shop, always a dollar) I told them that the transmission was OK, and just wanted to get a flush because it will sometimes go into limp mode when overheats and the only way the cooler can get clean is with a flush machine (which was why I brought the vehicle here in the first place, the dealer in my area does not have a flush machine) they said it would be a waste of time to flush the transmission because it is ready to break down and leave me along side the road, **** said we should just change the fluid and filter and forget the flush because the transmission is going to break down anyway, At this point I could see where he was going and was just pushing me for a new transmission which I feel I don't need, I asked him if it would be cheaper to just change the filter ect. and he said yes so I agreed because I just wanted to get out of there. After about an hour **** tells me the Jeep is ready and shows me an invoice for 140+ dollars, I ask why it's 140+ when he did not flush the system like I wanted in the first place. He then tells me the fluid/filter change was around 60 bucks but there is a 86 dollar charge for a future transmission which will be credited when I come back for a new transmission. I tell him I don't want a new transmission so why am I being charged 86 dollars. (taking money ahead of time without asking and holding me ransom for something I don't even want in unbelievable) He says, well it's Company policy and I told him it was a rip off, but I just wanted out of there so I paid the 86 dollar robbery and file this claim

Desired Settlement: 86 dollar check to: ***** ********* PO Box *** ****** Ca, *****

Business Response: Dear ****,

we tried to contact *****, left messages but he never call us back.
I want to explain you now my side of the story.
***** came in and told us that the vehicle had a check engine light on and that the transmission was going into limp mode.
On his complaint he is saying that the transmission was working fine but that it would go into limp mode ( another term for fail safe mode) because it overheats. So, the transmission was not working fine.
He asked us to remove the transmission pan to see if we could determine why the transmission was acting up.
Our standard procedure includes a check for codes in every computer controlled vehicle, a thorough external visual inspection, including checking  the transmission fluid level and condition, and a test drive to duplicate the customer concern.
All those steps provide us with 2 engine codes and 2 transmission codes. The transmission codes were P0700: Transmission fault detected and P1776: Solenoid Valve Latched in LR Position. Also during our test drive the transmission went into fail safe mode, which is an estate where only one gear is commanded on without upshifts nor downshifts available. The fluid was dark and contaminated.
Based on our experience and the facts we had on hand, our Service advisor explained ***** that a flush was not going to have the effect he was expecting.  
We did perform a transmission fluid, filter and gasket exchange as the less expensive and less intrusive attempt to repair, the problem. The regular price for that service is way over $140,00. Our service advisor gave ***** Credit to meet the $ 140,00 quoted.  $ 54.30 were for the cost of parts and $ 85.65 for labor. 
Our Service advisor told ***** that in case he decided to get the transmission repaired properly in the future, we would credit the labor charged at that moment. We never charged ***** in advance for future repairs. We charged him the labor for the particular service performed at the time. 
We do not know what happen after he left the shop. 
Sincerely
****** ******
Aamco Transmissions of El Cajon

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond in this space ONLY]

Regards,

***** *********

Dear ****,

we tried to contact *****, left messages but he never call us back. No Call
I want to explain you now my side of the story.
***** came in and told us that the vehicle had a check engine light on and that the transmission was going into limp mode. Correct
 
On his complaint he is saying that the transmission was working fine but that it would go into limp mode ( another term for fail safe mode) because it overheats. So, the transmission was not working fine. Correct
He asked us to remove the transmission pan to see if we could determine why the transmission was acting up. No, Called ahead and asked for a flush with a flush machine to clean out the torque converter internal components,Transmission cooler,ect which will help the transmission run cooler,and was quoted 140.00 for the flush machine service (only reason I went there was for the flush machine service)
Our standard procedure includes a check for codes in every computer controlled vehicle, a thorough external visual inspection, including checking  the transmission fluid level and condition, and a test drive to duplicate the customer concern. Right
 
All those steps provide us with 2 engine codes and 2 transmission codes. The transmission codes were P0700: Transmission fault detected and P1776: Solenoid Valve Latched in LR Position. Also during our test drive the transmission went into fail safe mode, which is an estate where only one gear is commanded on without upshifts nor downshifts available. The fluid was dark and contaminated. Which is why I needed a flush Machine service, This is what a flush machine is for
 
Based on our experience and the facts we had on hand, our Service advisor explained ***** that a flush was not going to have the effect he was expecting. Tried to scare me into a new transmission at 2,700.00 and said I would not even make it home, Transmission is still working fine now, this is my everyday driver, Said he would just put the pan back on and top off the transmission, also said it would be way less than 140.00, I was done with the scare tactics and just wanted to leave
We did perform a transmission fluid, filter and gasket exchange as the less expensive and less intrusive attempt to repair, the problem. The regular price for that service is way over $140,00. Lie, How can this be when the flush machine is 140.00???
 
Our service advisor gave ***** Credit to meet the $ 140,00 What???(140.00 was for the flush machine service I did not receive) quoted.  $ 54.30 were for the cost of parts and $ 85.65 for labor. Said the top off and filter would be way less, I would had insisted on the flush if the price is the same
Our Service advisor told ***** that in case he decided to get the transmission repaired properly in the future, we would credit the labor charged at that moment.After the fact and written on Invoice by hand when I complained (SEE ATTACHMENT) We never charged ***** in advance for future repairs. We charged him the labor for the particular service performed at the time. Inflated rate,Why would a filter change cost more than a Machine Flush??
We do not know what happen after he left the shop. Transmission is still fine because it doesnt need rebuilt, just a machine flush
Sincerely
 
****** ******
Aamco Transmissions of El Cajon


Business Response:  The customer requested a transmission cooler flush. The vehicle check revealed internal transmission wear/ damage evidenced by contaminated fluid, the presence of diagnostic trouble codes and a malfunction i.e. stopped shifting on road test .  The customer was advised that the service he requested would not correct his problem. A transmission flush and/or transmission service is NOT A REPAIR! It is preventive maintenance and not intended to correct any problem or malfunction.

Never the less the customer declined the recommended repair and purchased a transmission service. The customer’s complaint is unwarranted, unjustified and unsubstantiated. I regret that the customer is less than satisfied and  I will reimburse him the amount requested. I am happy for him that he believes his transmission to be working correctly and hope it continues to do so, however, I believe that to be unlikely.
Sincerely
****** ******
  

Consumer Response: OK

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable