BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

EZ 2 Rent-A-Car

Phone: (714) 991-5500 519 W Chapman Ave , Anaheim, CA 92802

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto leasing and renting services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that EZ 2 Rent-A-Car meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for EZ 2 Rent-A-Car include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for EZ 2 Rent-A-Car include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on EZ 2 Rent-A-Car
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 12/30/2009 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Teresa Yacoub, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Teresa Yacoub, Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Renting & Leasing

Alternate Business Names
EZ 2 Rent A Car

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yesterday afternoon ez2rentacar's manager **** sent thugs to a residence I was at to help my 19 year old daughter get a tow truck there for her car that overheated and blew a hose. She works for southern california gas company and was at that residential complex meter reading. My daughter who is 16 had her purse with her asthma inhaler in their car I have been paying good money to drive since feb of 2014, 6 months of my business..I had asked for an extra 2 days to get them the week of payment from last wed to now, i already have paid by the week this month for three of the weeks at 173.00, i only found out it could be paid by the month after four months of paying by the week, the girl said something to me, but that **** wanted me to believe i had to pay her by the week to get that extra money, she also downgraded us from the kia soul we paid that rate on to a little beat up kia rio, she did it by telling us she needed to give me another car for a week so the soul could get an oil change but never did return the soul when we came the next week and wouldnt lower the cost of the weekly rental for the other car that was falling apart, the mirror on the left side fell off twice and the handles to the doors fell of daily it didnt have an electronic locking system or anything the other car had. I told **** in a letter i left at her business saturday morning after going there and finding out they werent open for an hour and a half, i would appreciate if she would re-extend the same courtesy she had done 2 months before now and allow us to pay for the week this wed, tomorrow and i would pay the week and then for a month. I asked her to please email me with her answer because i was losing my phone so much and dealing with a family tragedy. I told her in a voice mail and in the letter and a text to her employees email to let me know if it was not ok and we would make sure to bring the car back saturday night and drop it off for them. I did not hear a word from her. They wouldnt give us the inhaler or $410+

Desired Settlement: We need them to immediately bring our medication my childs inhaler my blood pressure medication my $380 in cash that was in the glove compartment in a us bank envelope and my daughter purse with her $30 she has for her uniform for her new part time first job she was hired for yesterday morning before this happened. We want it brought to us because yesterday they left me begging for them to stop and give us her inhaler the thug denied her of having ive requested it we walked 15miles home in heat

Business Response:

A complaint, ID # ******** was submitted to Better Business Bureau on 7/29/2014 @ 11:21:33 AM by our customer ****** *******. 
 
In her complaint the customer sites that she asked us for “2 extra days to get them the week of payment from last wed to now, I already have paid by the week this month for three of the weeks at $ 173.00…”. This information is not accurate. When a customer rents with us, they can rent by the day, week or 4 week period.  Payment is rendered at the time the contact is written with the length of the contact determined at the time the vehicle is checked out or renewed. There is no option to convert 3 individual weekly contracts into a 4 week contact with a discounted rate at the end of the third week.  Our customer selected 1 week renewals during the month of July. 
 

The customer states in her complaint that she asked us for a 2 day grace period to get the payment to us. This timeline is not accurate.  As the customer indicated, the attached  (attachment # 1 & 2) letter was dropped in our office on Saturday July 26, 2014. The car was already past due on Wednesday July 23, 2014 at 9:15 am. At the time of her letter to us, she was already 3 days late.  We were not able to contact her by phone. We emailed her, at her written request,  Saturday 7/26/14 and she still did not respond to us. We also attempted to contact her by phone each additional day the car was late. Attachment # 1 & 2, the handwritten note that she specified in her complaint that she dropped in our office on Saturday July 26, 2014. In it she stated that she “should have paid a month, like **** suggested, I thought my Expedition would be fixed”.   In this letter, she asked if she could come in on Wednesday (7/30/2014) because “my money is low today”. She also indicated in her letter that if we could not allow her a late payment until the following Wednesday she was “going to find a way to get the car dropped off to you then tonight”.   We responded by email (attachment # 6), as she requested on Saturday July 26, 2014 @ 12:36 pm stating that if she could not pay today, she would need to bring the car back until she can pay. She chose not to respond to our email. We made continued and repeated attempts to contact her by phone and she would not respond to our calls. Two days later, On July 28, 2014 at the time the car 5 days late,  we picked up the vehicle. Please note, on the attached 4 week contract written on 5/14/14 we made an exception and allowed the customer to pay one week late. This is not our normal practice; however when our customers keep in contact with us and keep their commitments to pay when agreed we do our best to make the situation work for both parties. In this instance in July, our customer did not keep in regular contact and as per her letter stated she would return the car if we could not approve her extension request. 

Our customers complaint cites that she “only found out it could be paid by the month after four months of paying by the week…but that **** wanted me to believe I had to pay her by the week to get that extra money”. This is completely inaccurate. Our notes indicate that we provided her the rate for a 4 week rental during her rental contract from 3/26/14 through 4/2/14 and 13 weeks into her relationship with us she took advantage of the reduced rate we offer for a 4 week rental (Attachment # 3). We have attached copies of the previously mentioned 4 week rentals in May & June (Attachment 3 & 4), signed by our customer. She was aware that she could rent on a 4 week basis at a lower cost a month and a half into our relationship.  This does not correspond with her complaint that she “only found out it could be paid by the month after four months of paying by the week”. Our customer was aware of the ability to rent on a 4 week basis, as two of her renewal contracts were for 4 week term on 5/14/14 & 6/11/14. When she renewed the rental on 7/9/14 (Attachment # 5) she chose a one week term. We require payment at the time the rental is checked out so a rental term is determined at the time the auto is checked out.  ****** chose to only renew for 1 week on 7/9/14 and each subsequent renewal period.  There is no option to rewrite the length of the contract after the contract has been finalized.
 
Our customer did ori****lly start out by renting a Kia Soul. When the required oil change was due we would have offered the option to go to one of our approved mechanics at our expense or the option of changing the vehicle. She chose to switch the vehicles. An oil change takes less than one day. Had the customer ever indicated that she wanted to exchange back to the Kia Soul, we would have been happy to accommodate that request. She also cited that she had trouble with the mirrors and door handles.  She never cited these issues during the reoccurring weekly extensions of the rental. Had we been aware of any defects we would have exchanged the car for something functional and made the required repairs. 
 
Our customers complaint seems to have many inconsistencies starting with the age of her daughter ranging to the fact that she never heard from Ez2Rent A Car. We made repeated attempts to contact her and resolve her situation. After our rental was picked up for 5 days of non payment and no ability to reach our customer, she contacted us immediately. At that time she stated that we had her and her adult daughters medicine. We let her know by both phone and email on Wednesday July 30, 2014, that we had no intention of keeping their items including medication, that they could come in at any time to pick them up. We also requested that they come in and return the key. On July 30, 2014 at 11:25 am the customer retrieved all of their items that were in the car at the time of pick up . They still have an outstanding balance with us for $63.15. 
 
Please also note in the attachment of the handwritten letter we received on Saturday July 26, 2014 our customer stated "I do Love the car + your way of customer service. I recommend your place to everyone."  These are not words from a person who has been dissatisfied with our vehicle or rental services. It seems that the problem began at the time that she failed to keep in contact with us, thereby resulting in the pick up of an auto that the customer failed to pay to keep a current contract. 

Consumer Response:

The company has such a complicated answer for the simple matter that they had no right to charge another 400 deposit when they took it already and refunded it months before
The money was no longer mine, it is my childs money from her dads survivor benefits and if they had not allowed me to wait a week as they sometimes did and pay the month I
would have left them the car the week before, they took alot of money from me and all along i had a downgrade fro the same cost of a good upgraded regular car. These people
are ruthless and lie. I did believe they were awesome people at one time, but as you can tell now they have made my childs money a negative 400$ they wont show you the way
they allowed the exact same deal i thought was the same that week as the month before they change paperwork and even give the customers the wrong persons receipts. i want the
refund and wont accept them taking my childs only survivor benefits she needs for school and much more. It created havoc and extreme depression in our lives, they are cold and
calculating. Donot use them ever they will burn you one way or another. ****** *******
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

Our customer is stating that we charged her "another 400 deposit when they took it already and refunded it months before" and she is asking that we refund $400.00. At the time our customers rent with us they are required to place a deposit for the rental. They can use cash, debit or credit card. When credit or debit cards are used we placed an authorized hold on the card for the required amount. We only charge against the hold amount if there are additional charges at the close of rental bushiness with us. As sited in the previous response, this customer did not pay to extend on her rental vehicle, nor did she return the car on time. The customer did not respond to us in a timely manner during her delinquency. We were forced to pick up the vehicle into the 6th day of delinquency. The final bill for this customer is $463.15, of which we were able to collect $400.00 from the initial deposit hold we secured at the beginning of the rental services. This customer still has an outstanding balance with us for our rental services in the amount $63.15. We can not be responsible for the types of funds that were on deposit in the account that the customer chose to use for her required deposit to rent the vehicle from us. 

The customer has expressed dissatisfaction with the car she was driving however our customers always have the option to switch vehicles if they are unhappy with the car they have. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[It is clear to see that ez2rentacar is not concerned in any manner with my complaint and the reason for this complaint. This company had my trust and loyalty until the day they decided by getting the car they had known I was accepting without complaint was a downgrade.and they knew I had spent more money than I should have ongoing. Not only did they treat the matter as a month to month lease, then they had it reposed as if it were a leased monthly contract. If it would have been a weekly on going car rental they then would have had to call police and charge me with theft. They did not deal fairly with my multiple months of giving them my business. There was not a hold on my master car for the money as it was a debit card given to us by social security. My child had turned 16 and my 1555.00 monthly had stopped by this time. It was survivor benefits from a minor that they took and would not even try to see that in that month they had already received more than 600.00 for the car. I had thought they would have been able to work with this and if it is a good company they would not try to avoid the complaint, they could have dealt with my family situation with good customer service and known that I always did what ever I could to help them in all matters eben taking my own time to drive to get insurance estimate s for them for the fixing of the front in which a car backed into me. I made sure to get all the information at that scene and they also had me take the car for oil changes myself instead of trading the car back in for the upgrade I had been paying the same prie on without making a problem. The lady **** is has a bad temper and speaks down to her employees and talks behind customers backs. I knew it by observation while being in the office to pay for the car. She had no reason to pick up the car with my belongings and my daughters purse and inhaler in it as we were on pur way to go in but had to stop at the place my older daughters car had overheated to give her the AAA card. She is a meter reader for so calif gas company we wete waiting with her until the AAA truck arrived it was hot and our family had just had a death in our family. She was new at the job only age 20 anf in an atra unknown to her. When i ran to beg for our money and purses the young guy humiliated us and me by shputing obsenities and saying you should learn how to psy your bills lady and sped off leaving us in tears. It was almost 100 degrees that day and i called asking them to bring my daughters inhaler and i had the cash for the car to pay in an envelope right between the seats where it could be clearly seen. They kept that cash and claimed they did not take anything. I made an online police report and spoke with anahiem pd they told me to come to the station to make a police report that day but i had no transportation or money to taje a bus. I have beeen declared severely disabled by the social security medical evaluator and it is due to emotional stress and panic disorder bringing on revurring shingles which walking home that day increased and my skin that has an immunoglobulin disorder was not to be in the sun i had to walk from  santa ana area all the way to midway city in heat with no water. It not only was inhumane they stole my childs money she needed for school and health reasons. They did this to us after faithfully paying them for approx 6 months thousands of dollars and when i needed them to help me they not only refused but made me think they would help with it s alreafy paying three weeks in that month they had bent the rules once before and knew it was in good faith. I have never dealt with a company so cruel. It was a waste of money dping any kind of business with them. They are untrustworty in my experience and very selfisly cruel. Knowing she won't take it all back..the manipulation of her to get in a fight for her exiting game plan cuts like a knife but its never going to be admitted, she has pride and ego like her dad. I'm okay then I'm hurt and that is what this story is about. Journey now with me through it, and see how it all works out.erd a]Knowing she won't take it all back..the manipulation of her to get in a fight for her exiting game plan cuts like a knife but its never going to be admitted, she has pride and ego like her dad. I'm okay then I'm hurt and that is what this story is about. Journey now with me through it, and see how it all works out.

Regards,

****** *******