This business is not BBB accredited.

Steve Millen Sportparts Inc

Phone: (714) 540-5566 Fax: (714) 540-5784 View Additional Phone Numbers 3176 Airway Ave, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 http://www.stillen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of auto parts and supplies.  


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Steve Millen Sportparts Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steve Millen Sportparts Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/22/1986 in CA Business incorporated 09/22/1986 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Claytor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Claytor
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Ricciardi , Sales Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Equipment & Parts Auto Service - Specialty Parts Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts

Alternate Business Names
The Stillen Outlet

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3176 Airway Ave

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (800) 576-2144 (714) 540-9154 (800) 891-1058 (866) 250-5542 (714) 540-5566

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased an automotive part from Stillen. It was invoiced and shipped to me with exactly $9.95 shown and charged for shipping and handling. I was not satisfied with the quality of the part. I requested to return the new unused uninstalled part. Stillen informed me that $66 in original shipping will be deducted from any refund. They refuse to honor the original shipping charge amount of $9.95 that was shown in my shopping cart at time of transaction and also on the invoice I received at time of purchase.

Desired Settlement: Refund my entire purchase price less $9.95 in original shipping. And Stillen issue a call tag to have part shipped back to them at their expense due to the aggravation.

Business Response:

The customer ordered a part on our website. This particular part is a skid plate, designed to cover the bottom of the front  part of the vehicle and take scrapes and groundings to protect the vehicle. It is not a cosmetic part and is exactly as described and pictured on our website. The customer does not indicate that it is any way defective.

The 9.95 the customer paid was not for shipping, it was for insurance and handling. The actual amount of shipping that we paid is shown on the customer invoice, $66.

Per our terms on the website, the customer may return the product, but is responsible for the shipping we paid to ship it to them and they must ship it back to us, shipping charges paid by them. We had agreed to waive our usual restock fee for this gentlemen.

He was previously issued an authorization to return the product on 12/21/15. Our return authorizations are good for 30 days. We will extend this for an additional 30 days and he may still return this to us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As for Stillens statement that I did not indicate that the "part is in any way defective"-- I DID IN FACT tell them that I was not satisfied with the quality of the part. Here is my exact statement to them copied from an email from 12/23/2015:

"I didnt like the quality of your manufactured part-- its a little bulky, some of the holes weren't cut cleanly and I didn't like how it was going to be attached to the car.  It is brand new in the unharmed original box."

As for Stillens statement that the $9.95 I paid was "not for shipping"-- Both the shopping cart at time of transaction and also an emailed Order Confirmation from Stillen CLEARLY shows $9.95 was paid for "Shipping & Handling".  I have attached images of printouts of both of these documents.  It wasn't until I actually received the part that another document was included on the box which had a comment line mentioning that Stillen claims to have "saved [me] $66 in shipping cost".  This amount was NEVER disclosed in any way at TIME OF PURCHASE.  Stillen told me that there would be NO restocking fee associated with this transaction so that is a moot point.  I am aware that Stillen would deduct original shipping charges from a refund and on this transaction, that amount is CLEARLY $9.95.

These are the honest and true facts.  Stillen should stand behind its pledge of "maximum savings and excellent customer service". I again ask that Stillen please resolve this matter by honoring my original request: "Refund my entire purchase price less $9.95 in original shipping. And Stillen issue a call tag to have part shipped back to them at their expense due to the aggravation."



Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

Regarding this complaint -

The customer states that he is not satisfied with the quality of the part. This part is a sacrificial part, meant to be a barrier protecting the vehicle's frame from groundings. It is not cosmetic. This is adequately described on our web site and the images on the site are accurate. He does not say that the part is defective or misrepresented in any way. These parts are on hundreds of cars without complaint. They all come from the same mold and are virtually identical.

As a gesture of goodwill, we will agree not to deduct our actual cost of shipping the item to the customer. If he pays shipping back, we will refund the entire cost of the item. The RA (return authorization) number is ******. Mark this on the outside of the box and send it to **** ****** **** ***** ***** ** *****

 

 

4/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 26, 2014, I purchased a sway bar through *******'s company website for my 2007 Nissan Altima 2.5 S sedan, to be picked up. After picking up the item I installed it with the help of **** ******, who is an auto expert at Auto Hub Supply in Costa Mesa, CA, using all the proper tools and to the exact specification that was listed in the manual. It wasn't anything complicated, just nuts and bolts mostly. After assuring that everything was securely fastened I began driving with my new sway bar. About four months later the M-links on both sides of the sway bar broke. The M-link on the driver side was slightly bent and ripped away from the sway bar, but still attached to where it was secured to my vehicle. The M-link on the passenger side broke in two pieces. One piece that was fastened to the car broken off and ending up somewhere in the street as I drove away, unaware of what had happened, and the second piece was still attached to the sway bar. According to *******'s website I had a one-year warranty on the part that I had purchased so I called to get the M-links replaced. I began a three month process of going back and forth with Ivan Paredes, who works in parts for *******, giving him information and pictures of the damages by email and phone. After not hearing back from anyone for several weeks I called back only to be told that they would not honor the warranty, claiming "installation error." They said that the problem was that the nuts were not put on correctly, causing the part to slip off. One problem with this claim is that would not result in the M-link breaking into two pieces, which they know and so they ultimately denied that it had broke in such a way despite my photo evidence proving that it had. A second problem is that there is no way that they can absolutely say that the part slipping off had to do with incorrect installation and not faulty parts (nuts, bolts, etc.).

Desired Settlement: As my desired outcome I would simply like ******* to honor their warranty policy and give me the replacement M-links that had broke, or refund my money of $214.69. (Additional sources contact info) **** ****** - auto expert at *** **** ****** ***** ******** **** ****** **** ***** ***** ** *****

Business Response: We have not seen this happen with sales of a great number of these bars. At our request, the customer supplied pictures that showed the pieces had not been properly installed. Detailed installation instructions with pictures were included with the part. The end link hardware (not "M link") is available separately and we have offered to furnish this to the customer at our cost, approximately $25.00. There is nothing wrong with the product.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

According to the warranty agreement at the time of purchase I should be entitled to a replacement of the item free of cost to me for the damages that were beyond my control. Their counter offer to sell me new end links to replace the ones that broke is a violation of the contractual agreement of the warranty and is downright insulting. Their denial of my photo evidence of the damages further demonstrates their negligence to provide a legitimate and ethical service to public consumers.

Regards,

**** *****




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Steve Millen Sportparts Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart