BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Portfolio

Find a Location

Phone: (949) 789-6220 Fax: (949) 727-0393 View Additional Phone Numbers 11 Vanderbilt, Irvine, CA 92618 http://portfolioco.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers protection products, such as extended warranties and service contracts for automobiles, motorcycles, RV's, and travel trailers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Portfolio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Portfolio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Portfolio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 04/19/1994 in CA Business started locally: 04/19/1994 Business incorporated: 04/19/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is 0F84414.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Burke, CEO Ms. Brenda Griffith, Director of Operations Ms. Tanya Stevenson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Burke, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Brenda Griffith, Director of Operations
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Equipment & Parts Auto Service - Specialty Parts Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts Auto Warranty Service Auto Warranty Plans

Alternate Business Names
Express Systems Inc Portfolio Protection

Additional Locations

  • 11 Vanderbilt

    Irvine, CA 92618 (800) 705-4001 (949) 789-6220

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 705-4001(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had express Auto gap insurance. In my definitions on my contract it say " Actual cash value means the retail value of the covered vehicle at the date of loss AS DETERMINED BY YOUR INSURANCE CARRIER." this company did not pay my difference fully because they said that they are not responsible for the difference of the cash value of what it should be an what my ins. carrier determined cash value was after taking into consideration of normal wear an tear. I don't get it that is what gap insurance is for. I was very disappointed by this company an am trying to fight to get this off my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want it paid off, an off my credit as stated in my contract. Everyone I talk to about this other then them said its ridiculous. They straight up said it doesn't say that in your contract but that is what it means. ??? "contract"!!!

Business Response: This is a summary regarding the complaint made against our company by customer Jennifer *** *****.
She contacted us via phone on 7/2/14 to inquire about an approximate $400 amount she discovered on
her credit report that WFDS stated was due to her loan not being paid in full. She was provided an
explanation of the amount waived at the time of the loss which included a condition adjustment amount
that was not covered under the GAP contract. She appeared to be unhappy with the explanation and
became irate. Our contract administrator contacted her and also offered an explanation of how the
amount waived was determined. WFDS was notified in August of 2010 of the amount that could be
waived under the GAP contract.

She contacted us via email again on 8/12/14 regarding her complaint. We responded to her email on
8/12/14 and she was informed that her complaint was being reviewed by management. We contacted
our contract administrator and inquired if an accommodation can be made on this claim to satisfy the
customer. The claim was reviewed and an adjustment has been made. The $480 balance the customer
has with WFDS will be cleared.

We have requested that Ms. ***** contact you once she has been informed that here balance with
WFDS has been cleared to close the complaint and confirm that she is satisfied with the resolution. If
you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

******* *********
Operations Manager

6/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Portofolio is one of Express systems sister companies, I purchased an extended warranty back in 2010 when I bought my wifes car new from Newby GMC of St. George Utah. I have had to make two claims since then, both times it seems to take forever for their people to approve or disapprove a claim. the first time a claim was made it took 5 business days plus the weekend before an approval was made, this was also after the dealer made over 8 calls and I with 4. Currently my vehicle is at the dealer awaiting their response, it has been there for 3 days now. the dealership told me they have made 4 attempts to expediate this, with typical answer that the person that is working this claim isnt at their desk. My wife and I have both called once with the same response. I have called the dealer that sold me this plan and also expressed my frustration, I have also called their main number to lodge a complaint but the supervisor they gave me had nothing to do with this division, when I asked for a supervisor of Portfolio she tried to give me their regular 800 number. The problem with warranty is you only need it if something brakes, and when it does its usually right before a scheduled family road trip for spring break! I dont want to tell my kids we cant go to Magic Mt. because of Portfolio.

Desired Settlement: I just dont want anyone else to have these same issues!

Business Response: The customer purchased an Extended Service Agreement from a Dealer in St. George,
UT on 3/22/10. Our records indicate they have filed 3 claims, all at another Repair
Facility in Las Vegas, NV. If a claim totals less than $500.00, the claims adjuster gives
approval immediately. Additional review and approval is needed for all claims that occur
at a Repair Facility that exceed $500.00. We make every attempt to obtain approval as
quickly as possible from the time the information and estimate is reported by the Repair
Facility. Once each repair was approved and completed, we issued payment for all
covered items directly to the Repair Facility.
Here are the times and dates for the 3 claims reported. All times are CST.
7/29/2013 11:23 am Received call from Repair Facility
8/01/2013 4:28pm Repair Facility was contacted with the approval
8/02/2013 1:18pm Payment was made for completed repairs = $1,058.88

8/08/2013 9:46am Received call from Repair Facility
8/08/2013 1:47pm Repair Facility was contacted with the approval
8/09/2013 8:48am Payment was made for completed repairs = $1,141.90

4/09/2014 5:18pm Received call from Repair Facility
4/11/2014 3:42pm Repair Facility was contacted with the approval
4/14/2014 8:40pm Payment was made for completed repairs = $1,196.35


It is not our intent to inconvenience the customer with long approval times. We make
every attempt to respond as promptly as possible to all consumers.

Regards

**** *****
Portfolio

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After experiencing a total lose of my vehicle in November of 2013, my GAP claim still has not been processed. I have made numerous attempts to contact my Claim Administrator and she will not return my calls or emails. Earlier this month the website made adjustments to my claim status stating that more information was needed, but there have not been any attempts to contact me since the date logged on the site and any attempts I have made to contact them have gone unanswered. In the meantime, I have since paid of the balance of my loan and the company owes me the balance of my loan from the date of the accident.

Desired Settlement: Release of payment in the amount of the balance due on the auto loan after insurance premiums were applied back dated to the date of loss.

Business Response: This is a summary regarding a complaint made against our company by customer **** *******. She
was unsatisfied with the lack of communication by her GAP claim administrator and with the length of
time the processing of her total loss claim was taking.

The processing of her claim took longer than the 30 business days that we typically quote due to our
underwriter requiring additional information that was contingent on the selling dealership providing this
to us. We made repeated requests to them, to no avail. We then made a request to our underwriter to
make an exception and proceed with processing the claim without the additional information required,
which they agreed to do. There appears to have been confusion that hindered Ms. *******'s
notification that her claim processing was being delayed.

After receiving and researching the complaint, I reached out to Ms. ******* and spoke to her via
telephone on 5/27/14. I advised her that our company wanted to rectify the situation and confirmed
with her that she paid $2,000 out-of-pocket to pay off her loan. I then received authorization from
higher authority in our company for us to pay this amount to her. I called Ms. ******* again to advise
her that we would issue and mail a check in the amount of $2,000 directly to her, once she provided us
a copy of a paid in full letter from her lienholder. She agreed and we were able to come to a complaint
resolution. I received the payoff letter via e-mail from her today, 5/27/14, and the check has been
mailed to her.

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me at
(877) 705-4001, ext.***.

Sincerely,

******** ******
GAP Claims Supervisor
Portfolio

Consumer Response:

Please update this complaint to be shown as resolved.
 
On 5/22 I was contacted by the company and arrangements were made for the amount owed to me to be released.  The payment was received on 6/2.
 
Thanks,
 
**** *******

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service