BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Innova Electronics Corporation

Phone: (800) 544-4124 17352 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92614 http://www.innova.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers test equipment and diagnostics reporting for the automotive aftermarket.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Innova Electronics Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Innova Electronics Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Innova Electronics Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 28, 2013 Business started: 09/13/1990 in CA Business incorporated: 09/13/1990 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fez Eskandari, Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Fez Eskandari, Customer Service Supervisor
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Service - Specialty Parts Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Innova

Additional Locations

  • 17352 Von Karman Ave

    Irvine, CA 92614 (800) 544-4124

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first off i called innova reguardin an 3020 obd2 code reader used to diagnose your vehicle issues when it breaks down i bought this to read my vehicles codes when they break down so u can fix the issue currently hadve a fuel issue with my van not getting fuel and it could be one of three things and the obd2 should tell me the code for the specific problem but only gives a yellow light i explained this to the agent he then proceeds to tell me to run the vehicle and read it because the vehicle is to be running no its not u dont run a car hooked up to the reader instructions strictly not to start the car this is a tool to help solve the issue because the car broke down i cant test my codes and this device diesnt do what it says it does and when i got off the phone and started the report the supervisor called me very arrogant im an upset customer about their product and he wants to laugh at me and not resolve the issue and say hes a the boss no hes a manager with no customer service what so ever i want to fix my vehicle my self but would like to find the issue via the code because i bought this device so that i dont have to have a shop charge me 100 dollars to hook my car to the same machine

Desired Settlement: i believe the manager shoul be repremanded i would fire him for his unprofesionalism with a customer and not addressin the issue properly i have a tool u plug in turn key on not start and it reads the codes well its bs buut do i believe u will resolve this issue and make me happy how bout they buy me all three parts that it could be because the sensor/fuel pump or relay would all pop a code if i take to the shop to have code read i will follow up on this complaint with another requesting repayment of having the shop use the same tool i have when i should beable to doit from home

Business Response: There were miscommunications with our valued customer, ***** R ********* and our representative. Mr. ********* was having a linking issue between our 3020 OBD2 diagnostic tool and his vehicle. He was receiving a yellow light, which indicates the vehicle is currently in Mid-Cycle. To comply with State and Federal regulations, vehicle manufacturers designed a series of special computer programs called "Monitors" that are programmed into the vehicle's computer. Each of these Monitors is specifically designed to run tests and diagnostics on a specific emissions-related component or system (Oxygen Sensor, Catalytic Converter, EGR Valve, Fuel System, etc.) to ensure their proper operation. A blinking monitor will indicate that the test has not been completed, while a solid monitor will indicate a completed test. You can only complete these monitors by finishing a drive cycle. However, Mr. ********* could not complete a drive cycle due to a non-running vehicle. In majority of cases, once a vehicle stops running the vehicle’s computer also shuts off. Most Certified Technician Automotive shops will retrieve the same results as our tool; except for the automotive shops that use Heavy Duty and/or Manufacture specific Scan tools. Manufacture specific tools have the ability to communicate with more control modules than just the Power-train Control Module. We were able to communicate with ***** R ********* at 08/06/2014, 12:37AM (EST) and found a resolution on behalf of the miscommunication. We apologized for his inconvenience and as a token of our appreciation, upgraded Mr. ********* to our latest 3100 model. Mr. ********* satisfied with the results, concluded this conflict. Mr. ********* was very pleasant, and a valued customer. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to call our Technical Support Team at 1-800-544-4124. We are available 7 days a week from 6am - 6pm Pacific Time.

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a CanOBD 2&1 about 2 years ago, and now that we need it, it's not working.On the package it says that it reads passenger cars 1982-1993 and some 1994/1995 models...We talked to the company and they said we should have read the manual, which was in a closed box, and the seller would NOT open it for us to read the manual.So, we think it was FALSE advertisement... what can we do?

Desired Settlement: We spent over $250 and the seller (NAPA) went also with what wrote on the packages as they cannot open the package to read the manual as the manufacturer suggested.

Business Response:

Hello ********* ********* *****r,
 
Thank you for reaching out, and I would sincerely like to apologize for the frustration you have been going through.
 
Our records indicate a gentleman by the name of Hank called and spoke with out technical support department on 05/16/2014; during the call it was stated by Hank that he was sold the tool by the store representative on the premises that it would retrieve codes from a pre-1996 Honda OBD-I vehicle and a pre-1996 Toyota OBD-I vehicle. I am truly sorry to inform you,  if the coverage information was given by the retailer representative and not the manufacturer it may not have been valid; nowhere on our packaging does it show the tool covers OBD-I Honda vehicles. Our tool does cover most Toyota vehicles, however since in 1994-1995 manufacturers were preparing to switch over to the OBD-II system, a portion of their vehicles are neither OBD-I nor OBD-II, thus preventing our tools from connecting with them.
 
 
At this time we unfortunately do not have a tool which will retrieve codes from your pre OBD-II vehicles. Since our company did not collect any funds from you at the time of purchase on 7/6/2012. I would recommend contacting the original retailer, explaining them the situation and asking for a refund from them.
 
 
 
Thank you,
******

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service