This business is not BBB accredited.

HPI Racing USA

Phone: (949) 753-1099 Fax: (949) 753-1098 View Additional Phone Numbers 70 Icon, Foothill Ranch, CA 92610 http://www.hpiracing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers racing products.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for HPI Racing USA include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on HPI Racing USA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/11/1990 in CA Business incorporated 04/11/1990 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Potter, Manager of Sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Potter, Manager of Sales
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Hobby Products International Inc Hot Bodies HPI Racing Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    70 Icon

    Foothill Ranch, CA 92610 (949) 753-1099 (888) 349-4474

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To BBB of San Diego and HPI Racing I am trying to remedy a situation for my son (a minor), who was the recipient for a combined Birthday and Christmas gift of a Savage XS Flux remote control vehicle. The approximate total price of all apparatus was $450. He received this during the Christmas holiday of 2014. This vehicle is still under warrantee. The problem is, he only gets 10 minutes of playing time because the gears, slipper clutch, and other drivetrain parts keep breaking. We have had to send this in for 5 repairs and I need to send it in for a 6th repair as of this writing. After we've waited for the vehicle to be returned to us by Hobby Services of Champaign, Illinois...who is the repair company that has accepted responsibility for HPI vehicle repair and gets reimbursed for the warrantee coverage, my son gets another 10 minutes of play before the car breaks down. Let me say that the car does return in operating condition...from Hobby Services, but the repairs do not last. In talking with "Art", the head supervisor at Hobby Services, he states he will not disclose to me "who" is paying them for the repairs. I am afraid that the warrantee will run out on the vehicle and I will have a non functional vehicle. Again, my complaint is not with the repair company solely, but with the manufacturer HPI who has sold a product not capable of a reasonable amount of "playtime" for the cost involved. My son has about 100 minutes of playtime in total with this product. My customer satisfaction will be complete when I am reimbursed for the amount I paid for the vehicle, and I will gladly return the product in whole. ****** *******

Desired Settlement: Refund of purchase amount. Please contact me for details.

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a rc monster truck from one of there online suppliers and after useing the product about 10 times the controller started to act up ( the trigger goes into reverse whenever you touch it) I contacted HPI and they told me to contact there distributor and they told me that they can't help me. And here we are.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to send me a new controller and fix the problem.

Business Response: The Maverick product ***** is referring to is not sold in the US. ***** would have had to purchase that kit outside the US. Unfortunately, we do not sell that brand and are unable to service that product. ***** will need to contact where he purchased the product for assistance. Best regards, **** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *****


Hi, HPI is the same big company that does sell the item overseas , you all did give me the link to the customer service in the UK . after I contacted them they informed me that they would not help me with my issue . Because you are the same company and that is just your UK division and I live in the USA and I am still able to purchase this item from the USA , it is only fair that HPI fix this problem when your UK division won't . Your website says that HPI cares about its customers and has a great customer service but I am finding that to be not so true. There for I'm asking that HPI fix the problem and not try to use a cop out like that and put it off as not your problem when it is still the same company that claims to offer warranties and good customer service. Following through with your companies claims can go a long way when it comes to the products that HPI puts out to customers. I truly believe that HPI has a lot to learn about real customer service .

Business Response: Dear *****, Please give me the part number and I'll see if the UK office has that part in stock. I understand service is important and I'm happy to help do whatever I can. In the future, please understand, we do not carry that brand in the US, we have no inventory, HPI in the US does not have any support for that brand. I will see what I can for you though regarding this instance. Best regards, **** ******

10/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My primary complaint at this moment, I called Hobbico for warranty on 2 vehicles. 1: HPI Wheely King 2: HPI Firestorm 10t nitro The Firestorm 10t has been a money pit from day one with so many parts failures and warranty calls. I've spent hundreds of dollars of my own money to purchase parts without dealing with warranty but the parts failure rate is insanely high & quali. The Wheely King has had only one small issue in the past and was easily fixed by warranty. Today I call to get warranty on 2 parts. 1: SF-20w servo for my Wheely King (part #104109) 2: Clutch spring for my Firestorm 10t (part #86869) These are not high value parts and it costs me a LOT of money to ship anything from Canada to their repair center in the US. They always just sent me the cheap parts to help alleviate the shipping costs but today, they refused to help me with my warranty. I have spent over $3000+ on HPI vehicles alone and that is not including the $2000+ I've spent on parts for replacing HPI low quality faulty parts, for high grade replacements. 1: HPI Baja 5b SS (#112457) 2: HPI Trophy 3.5 nitro (#107012) 3: HPI Firestorm 10t nitro (#105866) 4: HPI Blitz Flux (#109326) 5: HPI Sprint 2 (#109299) 6: HPI Wheely King (#106173) With the amount of financial support I've given HPI by purchasing their products and they not having a Canada repair center, I'd expect more support in return from HPI, especially for all the low quality faulty yet high priced products they keep selling me!!! If the parts were made in North America and not China, I and everyone else who purchases HPI products, would not have to call in for warranty every time we drive our RC vehicles for 5mins, and I do not joke, sometimes I get 2 minutes run time before something fails. I never had issues like this with Team Associated products. HPI has caused me financial and emotional stress & so little fun. The humiliation and ridicule I receive when I take my RC's out, is extremely embarrassing because of the fail rate.

Desired Settlement: I just want those 2 parts replaced and for customer service to stop making me feel like a horrible person because I'm not an American! #104109 #86869

Business Response: Dear ******, I'm sorry you've had issues lately with your HPI products. HPI will cover any defective items under warranty. The servo you need in your Wheely King is actually an SF-10W. We will send you a replacement SF-10W servo and 86869 Clutch shoe/spring set to get your vehicles working again. If you have any further issues, don't hesitate to give us a call.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I would also like to add an apology for mixing up the different servo. After examining the manual after reading the response from HPI, I felt foolish for going from memory which led me to a false answer in the original complaint. I had thought the wheelyking had an SF-20w but the manual lists the correct part as SF-10w. I did not remove the part to verify due to the fact that the entire vehicle must practically be fully dismantled. 

 

Regards,

****** *****

10/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an HPI RS4 SPORT 3 FLUX from the local hobby shop. Only after 3 minutes of using it did I regret buying it, when the spur gear completely rounded out from not being meshed properly at the factory. The box was very deceptive when saying it could reach 70+ MPH but once I reach 30 MPH the car just takes random turns where every it wants due to the massive play the front wheels have (even after tightening everything down). On top of that parts have been falling out of the car and coming loose left and right, including the drive shafts which I was told are on back order, and cant get replacements. My friends have been racing RC cars for 10+ years and agree that I received a defective car. I have called HPI several times in which they are rather rude and the only option they gave me was to send in my car. They now have my car and instead of giving me a car that works are trying to fix the car in which I spent $50 in parts trying to fix already and did not work at all. It is estimated to be done the 10th of October when I was promised a 3-5 day turn around. I don't get why they are wasting my time and their time trying to fix a defective car. I feel like I have been robbed after putting $600 into the car and still have a $40 walmart car that runs a lot nicer. I am very disappointed in the way HPI has dealt with this, next time I will know to stay away from HPI.

Desired Settlement: It would be satisfactory to receive a replacement car. At this point I believe I should receive more than just a replacement car. It is very sad the way I have been treated after spending that kind of money on the car.

Business Response: We are sorry things have not worked out well for *******. HPI's policy is to warranty anything in the box that is defective and replace any item necessary. We do not replace vehicles or complete kits themselves. This is because every item on the kit is replaceable and able to be repaired. Plus cars and trucks such as these are meant to be driven at high speeds and can potentially crash and break. We will get the car back to ******* in working condition. As for the 70 mph speed, we make sure the speed we list on the box is a speed that we have reached ourselves. In this particular kit, we do not include batteries and that has a large influence on the speed. This is the customer's choice at what battery to use. Again, hopefully after ******* gets his kit back, he will have a much better experience moving forward. Thank you HPI Racing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have received my car back, and yet again was very disappointed in my "repair". As nothing was fixed with the car. They installed some replacement parts, but did not fix the main issue I was having with the car. I think my complaint was misunderstood as my battery is not the issue, it is car. I am currently using a Venom 4000Mah 20c 11.1 lipo which would definitely be capable of getting the car to its 70+ mph speed, if only the car would work right. My main issue I have with the car is the massive amount a play in the cars front wheels (which was stated in my previously filed complaint and must have been over looked). When you turn the wheels to the right and release the control the wheels stay slightly to the right, also goes for when your turn them to the left. That does not effect the car much when going at slower rates of speed, but I bought this car for the purpose of getting it up to the 70+ mph it says deceptively that its capable of. When you try getting it up to speed since the wheels never stay straight and have so much play it will hook off to the left of right (which ever way its feels) which makes the car practically uncontrollable. which makes it impossible to reach the speeds of up to 70+ mph the box deceptively said the car could reach. I have been told throughout several very frustrating phone calls by several different customer service representatives that replacement cars are issued only when the car is defective like mine. Essentially I feel as though I have been robbed and spent 319.99 plus tax on a very over priced paper weight.

Below I have attached the previous complaint as I feel as though my complaint was never understood, because of the response I was given.
I bought an HPI RS4 SPORT 3 FLUX from the local hobby shop. Only after 3 minutes of using it did I regret buying it, when the spur gear completely rounded out from not being meshed properly at the factory. The box was very deceptive when saying it could reach 70+ MPH but once I reach 30 MPH the car just takes random turns where every it wants due to the massive play the front wheels have (even after tightening everything down). On top of that parts have been falling out of the car and coming loose left and right, including the drive shafts which I was told are on back order, and cant get replacements. My friends have been racing RC cars for 10+ years and agree that I received a defective car. I have called HPI several times in which they are rather rude and the only option they gave me was to send in my car. They now have my car and instead of giving me a car that works are trying to fix the car in which I spent $50 in parts trying to fix already and did not work at all. It is estimated to be done the 10th of October when I was promised a 3-5 day turn around. I don't get why they are wasting my time and their time trying to fix a defective car. I feel like I have been robbed after putting $600 into the car and still have a $40 walmart car that runs a lot nicer. I am very disappointed in the way HPI has dealt with this, next time I will know to stay away from HPI. 

Regards,

******* *******



Business Response: It sounds like we repaired the defective items on your car. We only responded to the speed because you mentioned you only went 30 mph in your initial complaint. It sounds like the car is in working order, but has some play in the suspension. Please keep in mind that a little play actually makes the car easier to drive. If everything is too tight, it makes a car more difficult to drive. When reaching speeds of 70 mph, it is very difficult to drive. When running at high speed, please make sure you are driving in an open area to avoid any dammage. If you have any issue with a defective part, please let us know and we'll be glad to fix it.

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before our purchase we did some research and we did see a few problems these vehicles had. Many comments pointed too the rear hubs were a weak spot on this vehicle, the plastic shock caps were also a weak point and along with that the steering servo. We decided that we would upgrade these part as time went by not because we had to but because we like upgrades especially when factory parts can cause an issue depending on your driving preference. We went to a local track and ran them for about 4 hours and I am disturbed of the workmanship and lack of quality control these vehicles have gone through. with in the first hour of normally track running (not bashing) my friend **** had a broken rear hub, we managed with zip ties to secure it so we could continue running the cars and this worked well until ****,s servo just stopped working, I had a spare from my **** so we put that in and we were back in business. I decided to check mine over due to his issues and found that the I had several screws which hold the motor mount on missing and others on the second Truggy. I had spares and replaced them and we were back on the track. An hour later ****’s car had no front wheel drive and shortly after I seemed to have a steering issue. The inside front suspension holder on my Truggy had a screw broken in half with one half still stuck in the front differential housing, this caused the suspension holder to crack in half. after returning home and upon closer inspection the screws holding the front hubs are wallowed out giving the suspension sloppy feel and ride. These cars are built with inferior parts and have been over looked by quite control as screws are loose and or missing. After we both spoke to HPI several times the support staff agreed there were known problems as pointed out above. I have received no contact from HPI or Hobico after sending them each the above information.

Desired Settlement: The resolution is a refund as no matter what parts are replaced the results will continue unless upgraded with approximately $*** in upgrades. with that said requiring upgrades do not constitute a ready to run vehicle.

Business Response: I have not received a letter in the mail about the specified complaint. I'm attaching responses to *** ******* from the customer service department. On 12/3/14 - Thank you for your recent email. > > I'm sorry to read about the issues with the trucks. The only place that could > offer a refund would be the shop. We may be able to offer an exchange, but we > would need to look at the trucks in our warranty center for a decision could be > made. We offer a two year warranty on HPI vehicles just for such unfortunate > circumstances. To get your vehicles inspected under the warranty, please send > it to the address below: > > Hobby Services > **** * ****** ** ***** ** > ********** ** ***** > > Also, please include a copy of this message, copy of your receipts and phone > number or email address. On 12/5/14 - Good Afternoon ****, **** forwarded your E-mails to me. I am sorry to tell you that there is no way that we can refund your purchase price for your HPI Trophy Truggy. You did not purchase it from us; you got if from and independent Hobby Shop. If you want to try and work with that shop to return it to them, we will work with that shop to get them a new truck. However, this outcome is totally dependent on them and their policies. We are more than willing to send you a pre-paid label for you to send the truck into us. We will go through it, replace any parts that need it and then run and trim your truck so that when you get it back it will be perfect. Please contact us with your preference. We want you to have a good experience with your HPI Trophy Truggy and will stand behind it so that it runs the way it should.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you for the response. unfortunately no one at HPI has replied to my emails and repairing this vehicle would not make any differences since the problems it has are do to a lack of quality parts, replacing them is not going to solve anything since the factory parts on this vehicle and its design are the cause of the issue. it is all going to have to come down to HPI and customer service doing the right thing. Customer service is the key to any business not its product. Here is an example.
I order from ******* ***** once every two weeks. Last week the delivery took an extended amount of time however I never complained as it was raining and its the holidays. Two days later out of the blue my local ******* store left me a message apologizing I experienced a delay in my order and added a free two topping pizza to my next order. yes its just a pizza and free merchandise or credit its all the same but ******* realizes I can buy a pizza anywhere, its a competitive market so there customer service empowered themselves to assure I was satisfied with my experience and as a customer would continue to use their services.
HPI obviously has no concept of customer service. I shouldn’t have to jump through hoops to have my problem resolved this is something my local Hobby store, the company it was purchased from and HPI should be handling. As I stated without a refund I am holding my complaint with the BBB and selling my car at a loss. Its not a question of the money its a question of standing behind your product and its quality. I have already purchased a **** *** ***** ******** *****, ******** power supply and charger, ***** *** ** ***** ***** *** along with two ***** ** *** **** **** ********* and spent over $**** so as you see its not about the money. As per my previous email **** has never been a disappointment from a quality aspect so that is where my loyalty will stay and never will i do business with HPI in the future. 
Amazing with the money I spend on the sport that the small amount of effort HPI could have made might have saved a customer. “customer service” either you have it or you don’t! 

******* *******

Regards,

******* *******



Business Response: HPI Racing is happy to replace any damaged parts and we'll cover anything under warranty for ** *******. We'll continue to service and replace damaged parts so that *** ********* truck can continue to work properly.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a hpi savage x 4.6 ready to run truck from hobby town on 9/13/14 I read the break in procedures and started the process according to the directions on the third tank of fuel the truck shut off after further inspection I found the engine back plate broken and roto start loose causing the engine to fail I contacted hpi for warranty and they told me to send it in for inspection I called to check the status and they told me they disassembled the engine and found the cylinder and piston score due to temperature and would replace under warranty they never mentioned the back plate they told me the parts were out of stock and they would hopefully get stock in around 10/5/14 a ready to run truck should have had the bolts loctited in from the factory in which this would have never happened I tried to have them ship me a new engine and they told me they were out of stock of those also I even told them I would pay for a new engine with next day shipping just so I could use this 500 dollar rc truck I emailed them again and asked if they had another engine that would fit my truck that I could purchase and got no response I purchased hpi because of what they say online about customer support and warranty I believe a product costing 500 dollars should be built better from the factory and I shouldn't have to wait for a month to use something I already paid for

Desired Settlement: I would like either a new engine (not repaired ) replacement truck or refund

Business Response: I have received the complaint from Mr. ******. Rather than Mr. ****** have to wait longer, I am sending a replacement engine on 10/6/14. I will also look into this particular issue and improve on the service for all our customers. I am sorry this happened to Mr. ******. The engine should arrive in 1-2 days. I am not in the same office that he contacted, if Mr. ****** happens to receive this new engine as well as the original engine back, he can use the original engine as a spare. If you have any issue with the new engine, please contact me at 949-753-1099 ext ***. Best regards **** ****** HPI Racing d******@hpiracing.com

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

I would also like to ensure that the new engine includes the clutch assm and roto start assm those items are at the warranty center with the original engine I really appreciate your help I cannot thank you enough 

7/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a brand new HPI 5B SS car in February 2014. Since I purchased the car with the thought of knowing this brand had a good warranty and good product. HOwever within a month of getting the car put together the steering servo went out and I could not run the car. I contacted the support team and advised I could send it in to be looked at but there would be know guarantee of a replacement. After paying $1,000.00 for the car I was mad and went back to the hobby store I paid for the car and they gladly replaced it because of the defect. Once again a month later I was running my car and the front frame broke. I was advised to send it in once again which I did and was told they would charge me 70.00 to fix it. When I asked for the warranty information I was told there wasnt any. I was told I hit something which is not true. I run my car on an open dirt track which I will gladly provide picture of. There is nothing for me to hit. I am mad at the fact that I have paid so much for a car that claims to have a 2 year warranty and noone can provide me the full warranty, I only have to go by the service tech's word. Additionally, I shouldn't have these problems within 6 months of purchasing the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to honor their product warranty and send me a replacement front frame for my car. This is supposed to be a quality product and it continues to fall apart. I shouldnt have to pay $70.00 to $100.00 for a part that should not have failed to begin with. I have $1300.00 invested in a car that cannot be run.

Business Response:

Response to Mr. ******:

 

HPI Racing has our Customer Service handled by a company named Hobbico.  If you would provide me the name of the person you spoke with, then we can discuss the issue with them.  We do not want you to be unhappy with your purchase.  Please let me know the part number of the part that has been damaged and I will make sure you get one free of charge.  We at HPI Racing expect you to enjoy your Baja 5B SS and should be able to drive it.  Our warranty policy covers any defective parts on your car.  If you ever hit something and a part breaks, we will try to help you out, but this is part of driving high end RC vehicles.  Items can break.  It’s also why we sell every replacement part because accidents can happen.

 

Best regards,

**** ******

HPI Racing

R&D Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Based on the notes in the email the part number requested is 874-77 which is what I wrote down when the Hobbico Representative gave me the $70.00 quote for replacement. I spoke with several people at Hobbico. This has been going on for months and I do not have the names of all of the associates I spoke with. Again, I understand accidents happen but I dont like being told something happened to break the part when it did not. I will look for the replacement part as promised.

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on HPI Racing USA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)