Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of CarMD.com?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CarMD.com

Phone: (888) 692-2763 17352 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92614 http://www.carmd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Handheld Automotive Diagnostic Tool and Software for auto repair and car maintenance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CarMD.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CarMD.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CarMD.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 12/06/2004 in CA Business started locally: 12/06/2004 Business incorporated: 12/06/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Beard, COO Mr. Fez Eskandari, Customer Support Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Beard, COO
Customer Contact: Mr. Fez Eskandari, Customer Support Supervisor
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Service - Specialty Parts

Alternate Business Names
Car MD Carmd.com Corp

Additional Locations

  • 17352 Von Karman Ave

    Irvine, CA 92614 (888) 692-2763

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few years ago I gave my husband a CarMD to help with his auto work. Had to use it the other day. We tried it twice and did NOT find what was wrong with his truck. It said the truck had NO problems! The turn single and break light still go out when the break Is applied. I have been trying to get a hole of their tech. service and all I get is recordings. This is ridicules for a co. that is suppose to have 24/7 call service.

Desired Settlement: If this is the way they do business we do not need this kind of problem. We are Senior Citizens on a fixed income and can not afford to lose $119.99 pluss shipping. I bought this product on there ease of operation and the fact that they had 24/7 Tech. service. Thank you; ****** C. ******* For ****** L. *******

Business Response:

Mr. ******* was not able to diagnose why his turn signal and the brake lights both go out when the brake is applied. Mr. ******* tried to use our Car MD device to diagnose this issue but was not able to get any trouble codes from the vehicle. We contacted Mr. ******* and spoke to his wife.

We contacted Mrs. ******* on 12/29/2014 at 10:29 a.m. PST. At this point we were trying to explain to Mrs. ******* how the tool functions and retrieves information from the vehicle. We explained to the customer that a vehicle stores fault codes when the check engine light is on and that our tool then retrieves those faults codes to provide a diagnosis. As we began to explain to Mrs. ******* that the issue with the turn signal and brake light did not trigger an error code the call was dropped.

We were able to return the call to Mrs. ******* at 10:33 a.m. PST because we were under the impression that the call was dropped. Shortly after introducing ourselves and explain that the call may have been dropped Mrs. ******* only responded I don’t want to talk to you anymore and hung up. We did not get a chance to explain to Mrs. ******* that our technical support was not 24/7 nor provide further details regarding the present issues with the vehicle. Our customer service and technical support department is available from 9a.m. to 5p.m PST Monday through Saturday. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

The product is NOT as advertised All I want is my money back and they can have the CarMD  back

at their expence.


Regards,

****** *******



Business Response:

We have reviewed the response made by ****** ******* and have done research to determine where the miscommunication occurred between our products advertising and Mr. *******. We have researched our authorized retailers and concluded that the product is advertised as “diagnose dashboard warning lights.” Our Amazon listing states “find out why your car’s check engine light is on.” Two of our HSN listings have similar wording in their product description “never get stumped by a check engine light again” and “checks your engine for hidden problems within seconds.”  

Based on the two reports that were created by Mr. ******* on 12/19/2014 and 12/21/2014 there was no check engine light or any trouble codes stored in the vehicles computer.  We did attempt to communicate with Mrs. ******* but she refused to speak with us. This took away the opportunity for us to inform Mr. and Mrs. ******* that the Car MD may also provide helpful information about possible TSB’s. After reviewing our campaign we found that our normal business hours are only advertised and not 24 hour service. We are available Monday through Saturday from 9a.m. to 5p.m at ###-###-####. We encourage that Mr. or Mrs. ******* contacts us if there are any further confusion regarding this issue. Our team of representatives will be glad to clarify and seek alternatives for the present issues. Please reference this number CSR #****** at the time of the call.

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The CarMD claims to be able to
1. "Find out why your check engine light is on",
2. provide you with information on "what needs to be fixed and what it should cost before seeing a mechanic".

 I used this product on a 2003 Audi when the check engine light was on. The device read the code and I uploaded the code to the PC where a report was generated. But the report indicated that they could not provide an answer as to what was wrong or what needed to be fixed. There was no explanation as to why my check engine light came on. The report specifically said that they could not provide an explanation for the engine check light. I then posted various email message to the on-line customer/tech support. They further claimed that an answer would be forthcoming within a few days. Weeks later I have yet to receive an effective answer. The product has failed to satisfy any of the product functional claims including helping the consumer 1. "Find out why your check engine light is on", or 2. provide the consumer with information on "what needs to be fixed and what it should cost before seeing a mechanic".

 It fails to perform. In order to return the product CarMD stipulates that the consumer must:   Call the CarMD Customer Service Center to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) Number. WARNING: Products shipped without a valid RMA number may be refused, not returned, and/or incur additional processing charges. 1-888-MyCarMD (1.888.692.2763) Mon - Sat / 6 AM - 6 PM (Pacific Time).

 I have called this number, where you hear an automated message that they are 'Here to help'. Unfortunately there is no one there to help. The number is for an automated telephone system that does not provide an option for obtaining an RMA nor does the automated system allow you to reach a consumer representative. Once you have navigated through a maze of questions you end up in cue waiting for a customer representative. But the customer representative never comes on line and the system hangs up on the consumer.

Product_Or_Service: CarMD Vehicle Health System

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response:

Hello ***,

 

Customer returned our calls yesterday. I explained I would issue him a full refund and to look at his email for confirmation. I have attached prepaid label I sent to the customer. Once the unit is in route a refund for the full amount, including his original shipping cost will be issued to his ***** Customer accepted this.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else you require.

 

 

Thank you,

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to get in touch with a company called "CarMd" located at17352 Von Karman Ave. Irvine, Ca 92614.I joined them in 2011 and have used them a couple of times with great success however I am how having trouble signing on to have my unit read out what the problem may be with my car. I sent them a "E"Mail over a week ago and have heard from them yet.Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.Thank You,*** ***************************

Desired Settlement: I just want to be able to get help. I followed there instruction but no success.I would love to speak to a person and not a machine.

Business Response: Dear ****** ******,

 
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for the years you have been a CarMD customer, and would like to apologize on behalf of CarMD for your inconvenience.

We have used all the tools at our disposal to locate the E-mail you sent us as you previously stated, but we have no records of it. We tried contacting you via the number you provided on January 30th 2014 at 14:05, but the calls kept getting disconnected. We also attempted contact via E-mail, but have not received a reply from you.

We checked your CarMD account, and noticed you were able to create a diagnostic report for your 2003 Chevrolet Malibu on January 29th 2014. Should you require any assistance please feel free to contact us directly at the information provided to you through the E-mail we sent you. However, should you decide to call the 888-692-2763 number, press 1 on the first prompt for English, 9 on the second prompt, and 9 again on the third prompt to be transferred directly to a customer service technician.

 

Thank you again for your time.

****** **

Consumer Response:

From: <*********************>
Date: Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 5:00 AM
Subject: Compliant ID *******
To: info@sandiego.bbb.org


Regarding the above listed complaint.
The problem has been corrected, I believe it may have been
my equipment or my problem logging in.
Sorry for the problems I may have caused.
 
Thank you for your time.
 
*** ******

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service