Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto buying services and auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Diego Auto Connection Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Diego Auto Connection Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on San Diego Auto Connection Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1992 in CA Business incorporated 05/19/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 52474.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Hodsdon, CEO Mr. Max Brown, General Manager Mr. Robin Zimmerman, Finance Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Hodsdon, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Robin Zimmerman, Finance Director
Number of Employees

95

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto & Truck Brokers

Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • 1561 Camino Del Rio S

    San Diego, CA 92108 (858) 546-1222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband (**** ***** *****) and I purchased the car with additional warranty. While in the office of ***** **** (finance manager) to finalize the purchase, ***** assured us that warranty coverage he is selling to us will cover Engine, Transmission/Transaxle, Differential Assembly, Cooling System, Fuel System, Timing belt, CV joints and more. At that time I asked ***** if transmission oil can be changed and he replied: "Now, when you agreed on the price, you are asking for additional service? We don't have a shop on premises and will have to take it for a few days". When I suggested I will take a car to service once I have it in my possession, he asked me to wait for at least a month after purchase. Now I understand why - ***** knew about problematic cars they sell and didn't want to have responsibility for fixing it. The car is not used very much - on average is about 300-400 mi per month. Since my husband and I are not specialists in cars, and this one was "new" to us, we didn't pay attention to the noise and a clunk coming from the back of the car, assuming it was normal. When a friend of mine told me that this sound means that something is wrong with transmission, I realized that the car needs "special" attention for repairs. I didn't have time to take the car to the shop for a while (again, the car is used very mildly), but once I did I find out that none of the repairs are covered by the warranty ***** had sold me. ***** never produced full description of the policy, giving me only the declaration page with the policy # and policy name. At this point driving the car is dangerous, the sound that comes from the rear is scary and it feels that something is about to fall out of it. I contacted SD Auto Connections on 2/23 at 11am. At 6 pm a representative called me back, listened to my complaint, and argued that it's hard to decide who is right since the conversation was not documented.

Desired Settlement: I would like everything that's wrong with the car to be fixed by SD Auto Connection, regardless of warranty coverage. I have spent lots of time, energy, emotions and my money for diagnosis of problems with the car. Another option for SD Auto Connection is pay me $6000 in cash to cover repairs. Or, replace the vehicle with the one that is equal in price with Cadillac on the day I have purchased it.

Business Response: As per our conversation I am researching this with The Warranty company. I have Ben contacted by Mr. ***** as well and am in correspondence with him. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The communication is poor and does not result in a satisfactory resolution so far. The repairs must take place ASAP.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: SDAC  has successfully and to the satisfaction Mr. *****, resolved the Warranty coverage issue as per his original complaint.  Currently, Mr. ***** has requested SDAC pay for standard maintenance repair item on his vehicle in order for SDAC receive a favorable mention with BBB.

 Again, the "new" items are standard maintance items that SDAC does not participate.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The repairs that are not related to standard maintenance also need to be done. SDAC should continue working with the auto repair shop where the car is currently located in a disabled state.

Regards,

**** *********



3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I test drove the vehicle on 05NOV14. After I parked the car I could smell oil and the front end was smoking. I was told that they were going to fix the problem and the car would be ready the next week. I was called that the car was ready to be purchased I responded back good get all the paperwork ready because I wanted to purchase the vehicle and get to work. they brought me a auto check and I read that the car was from the East coast I asked was there any rust under the car? They responded no we wouldn't be selling a defective car and to read the Auto check it would say it in there. I go ahead and purchase the car when I am driving away the gas light was on and the car needed gas. I drove to gas station and when I park the whole front end of the car is smoking! I call the dealership and I was told it was residual oil and it was ok. I go to put gas and the hole where you put gas had rust and I was told its just that metal piece. I then told I was going to have my mechanic look at it. On the 19th I brought it back with what my mechanic diagnosed the cars problems which is Jerry Sample at Greenlight. He said the car is a piece of crap return it! Too much rust underneath everything was deteriorating from the rust. They used silicon to stop the car from leaking oil on all the gaskets. I returned it and was told it was "surface rust" and all cars have it. I was then told by a guy working there to take it to Subaru and that would have to follow their diagnostic. I took it there on 21NOV14 and they said the vehicle had heavy rust on all the undercarriage. Right valve cover gasket is leaking. Body ground on right side by valve cover is cut. Oil pan is double gasketed. Oil pan has rtv and gasket. Cabin air filter is dirty. power steering fluid is dirty. Alternator belt is cracked. Intake tube missing part. Still nothing has been repaired and have brought it over there for days and nothing has gotten repaired. I have been renting cars and missing work due to their lies.

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the Subaru back and find me a car that is dependable and not a lemon. I was told by Gabe that they were going to get me in another which was a lie. My job is jeopardy, I have missed court ordered visitation days with my daughter and have been carless and having to pay for rent a cars. They need to reimburse me for car rentals and rent me a car until either of us can find a vehicle for me by my standards.

Business Response: After researching this complaint I found that his concern regarding the engine smoking has been addressed and fixed.  We have not been able to Address  the other items yet because he did not have a picture drivers licence to qualify renting a car. I spoke to ****** and set up a appointment for this Tuesday 12-9 to leave the car with us as he now has a valid picture DL and we are putting him a rental car to address his concerns 

Consumer Response: Most of the problems with the vehicle have been solved. I can't afford $110 due to the holidays to get the car inspected by Subaru and I asked them to take it to Subaru to get inspected and they said no. There integrity is gone with me I have dealt with nothing but lies from them. This company believes selling selling cars that are heavily rusted and need a lot of mechanical work are ok to sell. With all the discrepancies the cars value goes down, it is not not worth 10,9885. I bought it online and the price was 9,000.00 then jumped to 9,9885 and then I had to put down a 1,000 to pay for a "car alarm that would bring down my APR" which was another lie that I caught them in. I am ready to go forward to protect other consumers from this company, I will do whatever it takes to get them out of business. I have documentation from August stating that the car was heavily rusted and that there is rust in the engine along with a several different discrepancies that were never fixed til after I purchased the car. I have taken the car 4 times to get repaired, missed work and court ordered visitation rights with my daughter. 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *******



Business Response: this appears to be a duplicate as we has addressed and repaired all the concerns

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The check engine light is still on. I have a maintenance paperwork from August stating the catalytic converter is shaking, possible rust in the engine and heavy rust throughout the under carriage of the car which still hasn't been addressed. I bought the car in November so they knowingly sold me the car that had all these problems. There still hasn't been anything solved

Regards,

****** *******



Consumer Response: San Diego Auto Connection tried 5 times to get the issues correct in which I had to get a rent a car twice on my own and they were able to provide me with one. I haven't had the chance to bring the car to Subaru to make sure the discrepancies were corrected. I was told by their mechanic at MR. Car that the rust is way too heavy to stop the rattling from the catalytic convertor. When I purchased the vehicle I was told there was no rust and the car had never been in an accident. I was hit by another car and got it fixed but I was told and was shown by Rigo at Qualtech that the whole right side was replaced and had a horrible paint job. The water sprays on the hood were glued on to the hood and there were only 2 clips holding the bumper together. The whole wheel well was full of leaves from the sitting somewhere for a long period of time. They gave me 2 other car reports that were not Carfax. I trusted these guys and they took advantage of my urgency of having a car. I do have pics from the autobody shop and you can feel free to call Rigo to verify it.

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Jeep Liberty from San Diego Auto Connection on June 7th, 2014. The total cost of my purchase, including my own down payment of $7,500.00, was $13,788.96. The Jeep had 80,250 miles on it, when I purchased it. I test drove the Jeep, which seemed to drive fine around the car lot and on the freeway. I purchased a warrantee with the Jeep through Royal Administration, in which I paid in full for the price of $2,495.00 on June 7th, 2014. On October 24th, 2014, the transmission in my Jeep went out after getting off the freeway in San Diego on Balboa Avenue. Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge had my Jeep for 4 weeks with nothing repaired, after extensive communication and disagreement with my warrantee company: Royal Administration. Royal Administration disagreed to pay the hourly cost that Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge quoted for a full transmission replacement (which is what was needed). The communication with myself and Royal Administration was useless and misleading, as every representative that I spoke with, directed me to speak with Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge. After going back and forth for 4 weeks with nothing being done, Royal Administration finally came to an agreement with Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge. After getting the transmission rebuilt, the Jeep continued to have problems. The Jeep continued to be dangerous to drive, after stalling in the middle of the street while I was driving. My experience with San Diego Auto Connection, to say the least, is one of the worst experiences I have had on a customer service and satisfaction level in my life. I do not believe that any car that has been through inspection by a respectable company, should have a complete transmission failure in which I ended up paying money out of my own pocket for, after 4½ months of purchasing the vehicle. All of the time this cost me is worth money; all of the time I had to borrow a car is worth money; all the stress I went through is worth money. I was not sold a "drivable" vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I ended up having to trade the Jeep in on December 19th, 2014. After trading my vehicle in, I have lost $8,794.15 in a matter of 6 months. The $2,495.00 that I spent on a warrantee towards Royal Administration cost me nothing but terrible customer service, and wasted time without a vehicle. This is a situation in which I had absolutely no control over, and no chance of knowing that the vehicle was in poor condition. I expect San Diego Auto Connection to refund the total amount of my warrantee (which was completely useless), as well as the amount in which I financed. This is a total reimbursement of $8,289.15.

Business Response: All of our vehicles are inspected and cleared by an independent repair facility and are required to pass a thorough inspection to include everything mechanically. It appears at the time of sale the vehicle passed this inspection. Since the vehicle has been traded in you are entitled to a pro rated refund on the service contract minus any claims. You can do so through the dealership. 

Consumer Response: PLEASE RE-OPEN COMPLAINT #********. Complaint has not been resolved. I purchased a 2005 Jeep Liberty from San Diego Auto Connection on June 7th, 2014. The total cost of my purchase, including my own down payment of $7,500.00, was $13,788.96. The Jeep had 80,250 miles on it, when I purchased it. I test drove the Jeep, which seemed to drive fine around the car lot and on the freeway. I purchased a warrantee with the Jeep through Royal Administration, in which I paid in full for the price of $2,495.00 on June 7th, 2014. On October 24th, 2014, the transmission in my Jeep went out after getting off the freeway in San Diego on Balboa Avenue. Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge had my Jeep for 4 weeks with nothing repaired, after extensive communication and disagreement with my warrantee company: Royal Administration. Royal Administration disagreed to pay the hourly cost that Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge quoted for a full transmission replacement (which is what was needed). The communication with myself and Royal Administration was useless and misleading, as every representative that I spoke with, directed me to speak with Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge. After going back and forth for 4 weeks with nothing being done, Royal Administration finally came to an agreement with Rancho Chrysler Jeep Dodge. After getting the transmission rebuilt, the Jeep continued to have problems. The Jeep continued to be dangerous to drive, after stalling in the middle of the street while I was driving. My experience with San Diego Auto Connection, to say the least, is one of the worst experiences I have had on a customer service and satisfaction level in my life. I do not believe that any car that has been through inspection by a respectable company, should have a complete transmission failure in which I ended up paying money out of my own pocket for, after 4½ months of purchasing the vehicle. I was not sold a "drivable" vehicle.
 
I ended up having to trade the Jeep in on December 19th, 2014. After trading my vehicle in, I have lost $8,794.15 in a matter of 6 months. The $2,495.00 that I spent on a warrantee towards Royal Administration cost me nothing but terrible customer service, and wasted time without a vehicle. This is a situation in which I had absolutely no control over, and no chance of knowing that the vehicle was in poor condition. I expect San Diego Auto Connection to refund the total amount of my warrantee (which was completely useless), as well as the amount in which I financed. This is a total reimbursement of $8,289.15.



Business Response: As stated in my earlier response the vehicle was in sound mechanical condition at the time of sale. I spoke with *** in regards to her coverage with Royal Administration and her coverage did pay out a claim for her transmission. I also stated if she wants to cancel the remainder of her service contract with royal she is more than welcome to. They will prorate the unused portion less any claims to calculate the refund. I emailed her the form which we received back from her on January 22nd. We are processing her request. Unfortunately with ownership of any vehicle maintenance and repairs are necessary. I'm sorry to hear her experience was not as expected.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[As mentioned previously, the vehicle SEEMED to be running fine prior to my purchase. I took the vehicle in to San Diego Auto Connection the first time my check engine light came on, which was within the first 2 weeks of me having the vehicle. I came in with an Auto Scan code (already given to me from another mechanic with what the problem was). There was a failing O2 sensor failing. The Jeep was sold to me like this, along with any other problems that I was made unaware of. Because the Jeep was covered under San Diego Auto Connection for any maintenance and repairs after the first 30 days of my purchase, I took it there. I told San Diego Auto Connection that I already had it looked at and gave them the code of what was wrong. San Diego Auto Connection then used their Auto Scanner, and told me my conclusion was incorrect. They said the gas cap was not screwed on tight enough, which I told them that I had already checked several times. I persisted in telling them that I had also mentioned the gas cap to the mechanic who scanned my Jeep and found the failing O2 sensor, and he said that was NOT the problem. I told San Diego Auto Connection this, as I had drove 2 hours in traffic just to get this fixed from them. San Diego Auto Connection again told me I was wrong, and insisted that it was the gas cap. They told me that "they were not sure what type of scanner the other mechanic had, but theirs was very basic, so the gas cap was all that it was showing." They did not sound very confident that they were even providing me with the correct conclusion, and more or less just seemed like they wanted me to leave. I asked them once again, "are you sure it is the gas cap? Because a mechanic specifically told me it was not, and gave me a specific code off of his Auto Scanner to bring to San Diego Auto Connection for you to fix the issue." San Diego Auto Connection finally said "If the light comes on again, you can always just come back." This, as a customer who had purchased a Jeep 2 weeks ago and had driven 2 hours to get a problem I had already researched, FIXED, was not what I wanted to hear.

The drive back home from San Diego Auto Connection took me 2 hours that night, and just before I got home, the check engine light came on again. I then contacted ****** the next day (employee at San Diego Auto Connection who did all of my negotiations and paperwork with the Jeep) and he said to come in again when I could. I took the Jeep in 3 days later. San Diego Auto Connection again asked me if the issue was my gas cap, with no regard or empathy for the situation that had been persisting for the entire week. After explaining to them again that this was not the issue, sure enough, the O2 sensor happened to need a replacement.
This is a fraction of the stress I have gone through with San Diego Auto Connection. After having to sell the Jeep, because of continual repairs and lost money, I was given a history report of the Jeep which I had never seen before. The report, printed out from the Honda dealer I bought my current car from, showed a number of issues and failed smog tests stating back years ago from the Jeep. When I purchased the Jeep from San Diego Auto Connection, I was told that there is an inspection and report ran on all of the vehicles before selling them. I had never seen the report which specifically showed me a "Fail" in several smog check instances. If this were the case, as what I consider myself to be a very logical and intelligent person, would have NEVER purchased the Jeep.
A company like San Diego Auto Connection is undoubtably doing this to other customers. In my first 3 weeks of "customer service experience" with San Diego Auto Connection, rather than them standing by their word and trying to fix a repair within the first 30 days of my purchase, I was quickly turned away for the problem to be pushed aside for as long as possible. I was then lied to, about the history and current state of the Jeep, just to experience it breaking down with me behind the wheel, putting me in a life threatening situation. I then was told, after purchasing a new car, and contacting the Better Business Bureau by both ****** and ***** ********* that I "should have taken my Jeep to their shop the moment the transmission went out." Who in their right mind as a customer, would think of this as an immediate solution after being pushed away and lied to by a company. 
My explanations are more than enough proof and evidence that I am entitled to my initial reimbursement stated as $8,289.15.
Thank you. ]

Regards,

*** *****



12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from them on 6-22-2013. I also purchased gap insurance and extended warranty. I was not able to afford the truck any longer and sold the truck my self. I payed off the truck on 6-17-2014 at the same time cancelling my gap insurance and extended warranty. Which i was told by san diego auto connection I would get a refund of the difference. I emailed *** **** of san diego auto connection. The selling date and miles on the vehicle at the time. He informed me that they only send stuff out on the 15th of every month and it would take 45 days from that time. Its now 10-24-2014 and I have not received anything. I have left multiple messages with Ian. I also sent several emails regarding the situation. I have never gotten a call back or a returned email. I have left messages with the reception at san deigo auto connection to ask *** **** to call me back and nothing, When I try to call *** **** cell phone I am sent directly to voice mail. I have tried speaking with *** ***** boss ***** ********* and He will not answer my call or return my call. I left a voice mail and left a message with the receptionists.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on the gap insurance and extended warranty as i was told i would receive. I understand it will not be the full amount but pro rated from time and miles. which *** **** has all the info to do so.

Business Response: In regards to **** ******

We received a call on November 1st from **** in regards to his cancellation for Extended Service Contract. I had my staff Email him the cancellation form (See Attached) on 11-4-2014 as the 1st was a weekend. He got the cancellation back to us on 11-5-2014. We submitted the cancellation on 11-14-2014. It takes approximately 6-8 weeks foe the customer to get there refund from SDAC which is the average time frame for refunds of this nature. 

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not had the car for a year and I been having problems with it. A week after I got the car I called them to let them know that there is leak. So they had the car for 4 or 5 hours before I got the car back. Did not give a receipt. Two weeks later the engine light come is on and it smells let oil burning. They kept the car for 2-3 hours and said everything is fine . A month later or so I called them told them the engine light was on again and that I was smelling oil again. They connected me to a mechanic and he told me my warranty ended and it would cost $65 an hour to get it fixed I don't remember his name. I told him that I want to give the car back,he told me I can't do that .I told him this car don't work and I was given a lemon. I had to take it to another mechanic he fixed and it wasn't $65 an hour. The next that happen was cooling system blew out. I was driving next thing I knew the car was running hot. I got to a gas station and they told a house blew and it is best not to drive so I filled it with when it cooled off and drove home. So I called them again to let them know what happen they connected me with someone and he told me I have extended warranty. He told me to take it to a service place that they deal. I called place and I will be down do you have truck to towed said no. So I had to call a tow truck and paid $103 for the tow. The mechanic told me that he will call me and let know how much it will and it is on the warranty paper. He called and told me on the warranty it is not covered. And said it figures. And how will it cost and he told me $356.00. The only way I was able to pay was I just got paid and let a bill go in order to get my car out the shop. I also had told him about the leak and he said would have check it but I need my transportation. I am tried of paying to get it fixed. Now I don't want the car anymore and what should I do?

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the car and explain to fiance company why the car came back and working for. Now I am on a fixed income I definitely don't want where it will always being in shop

Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint from ******.  We searched our records on the 2004 Mercury Sable she purchased on September 27, 2013.  Each vehicle we sell comes with a 30 day warranty that covers specific components.  Our records do not indicate any issues presented to us that were a part of that warranty.

 
Ms. ***** did purchase an extended warranty for 36 months.  We would be happy to assist her with any communication with the warranty company to see if any of your concerns are covered components to help her with this vehicle.
 
Thank you.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since I have had the vehicle, it has caused me nothing but service repairs in my own pocket. I have, under my contract, a warranty that should last for 3 years or 90,000 miles. Having bought the car on 09/04/2013 I have stated on the repairs that there were certain problems with the car. As promised, the company took the car in hopes to fixing the problems. After having taken the car more than 3 times, SD Auto Connection has failed to repair the important parts of the car. The paint was noticeably different from the rest of the car and the right front passenger headlight wobbles as you drive. I had mentioned it to the service repair personnel and they had just "brushed me off" with the problem. The personnel indicated that it was never in an accident, but they found nothing wrong with the paint or the front passenger headlight. I have also went to have them fix a tire balance or alignment problem. The steering wheel shook as I drove the car. The repair personnel simply shifted the rims, as suggested for a tire balance. I went to a different service plan and checked to see the problem. The service personnel said that one of the tire rims were cracked and the reason for the steering wheel being unstable was because of it. I eventually bought a new rim and replaced the cracked one. Afterwards, I was informed that I was not able to put the new rim into the car until I purchased a set of tires. The establishment stated that the 2 back tires of the vehicle were so worn out that it was dangerous to continue driving on. After purchasing the 2 back tires, the replaced rim was also installed.

Desired Settlement: After all of the hassles, I would like SD Auto Connection to value their initial promise. They handed me a print out stating that the vehicle was a 96 out of 100, prior to purchase. Along with the warranty, the establishment should have honored their written statements or at least have repaired the vehicle prior to selling it. I have invested too much money out of my own pocket for the vehicle to constantly be repaired due to their false advertisement.

Business Response: To the BBB of San Diego,

 
We have had an opportunity to review the vehicle inspection performed on the vehicle sold to ******* *****.  During that thorough inspection, it was identified that the rims were in operating condition (no cracks) and that there were no issues with the tread of the tires.  Please understand that a rim of a vehicle can become cracked by something as simple as hitting a curb when parking.  As such these are not items that are covered under a warranty since they are wearable items.
 
Understanding that Mr. *****, has a concern, could he provide a document from the service center he went to that would document what they found in their inspection, including the condition of the rim, the tread depth of the tires, the date it occurred, and the mileage on the vehicle at that time.
 
Regards,
***** ********
VP, Operations
San Diego Auto Connection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

************

1/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle two weeks ago and purchased a 3 year warranty. The car comes with a 30 day warranty. bumper to bumper…The battery went dead and they refused to replace the battery.

Desired Settlement: I had to replace my battery. I think they should refund my money.

Business Response: Each vehicle our company sells includes a 30 day / 1,000 miles warranty that covers 100% of core powertrain components.  Covered components are listed on a document provided to and signed by the customer during the contracting process.  

Due to the nature of a battery being a wear and tear item, it is not a covered component of either the warranty we provide or extended warranties available for purchase from warranty companies.  Again, this is due to the fact that it is considered a wearable item.

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harassing phone calls. Harassing texts. Promised to pay me $12,000 for my car during their phone call, then changed their offer to $9,000 after I drove 35 minutes to meet.

Desired Settlement: Pay $50 for my lost time.

Business Response: Our protocol to make an offer to purchase a customers vehicle is very consistent.  It is strictly done after a mechanical and cosmetic inspection of the vehicle.  We are then able to make an accurate offer based on the true market value of their vehicle.  We do not make offers on the phone.  Our goal is to offer as much as possible to the customer, again based on the inspection.  I have inputted this customers information in our Do Not Call list, so that he will not receive any calls or texts in the future.

 
Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response: Copies of texts and calls from San Diego Auto Connection:

Hello my name is ***** I work for San Diego Auto Connection and I was wondering if your Pontiac is still for sale?

Hello my name is ***** I work for San Diego Auto Connection and I was wondering if your Pontiac has a clean or Salvage title and has it been in any accidents?

Hi, My name is ****** and I'm calling one San Diego auto connection were corp brought a buying company and we buy used cars all over southern California reason why I'm calling is. I see that you have a Pontiac on craigslist and provided that it is still available. I have Dodge buyer that is. If interested, and taking a look at your caravan provided that it is in good condition and there are no major mechanical issues, we would like to put her offer on the table. So, please, We are interested. I do have a dodge buyer for you, so please give us a call back. At ###-###-#### and please ask for **** Thank you so much and I'm looking forward to hearing back from you.

Hi, My name is ****, I work with San Diego auto connection. I'm calling in regards to your 2008 Pontiac. We were very interested in making an offer on it. If you could please give me a call back. At ###-###-####. Thanks. Have a great day.





1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my vehicle in late August along with the extended warranty. I was told I have 60 days to cancel the warranty if I wish for a full refund. I had decided to do so and contacted SDAC, they told me that I had to do so with Century, the extended warranty provider. I called Century and they had notified me that I needed to go into the dealership and cancel the warranty with them. I went in to the dealership, SDAC, in mid October to cancel the extended warranty. *****, the finance person had me fill out paperwork to cancel my warranty and told me he will fax the information over to Century and I should receive my refund in a few weeks via Century. Its now been 2 months later and I still have no refund. I called Century and they told me they never recieved any paperwork canceling the extended warranty. I tried callin ***** from the finance department on Thursday, December 12 and left a message, then again on Monday, December 16 and Tuesday December 17 and still have not received a return phone call. I want SDAC to give me my full refund on the extended warranty in which I went in to cancel before my 60 days was up. Its very disappointing that this dealership has not followed through with what they were supposed to do. I tried to go about things the right way and now I have to go to this length tp get back the money I deserve.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund of $2295.00

Business Response: This customer did have a conversation over the phone with one of our Finance Contractors, *****.  She originally thought that a refund check would go directly to her, but in reality, it goes to the lender (bank) the customer makes their payments to.  ***** did not choose to cancel at that time.  Mr. *********, our Finance Director, did speak with ***** recently and she stated she would like to cancel her warranty.  He reviewed our registry we have that identifies who has requested to cancel a policy and when the cancellation form was issued to the customer and submitted to the warranty company.  He emailed the cancellation form to ***** and she has confirmed receipt of it and has completed and mailed it to us.  Once we receive it in the mail, we will process the cancellation promptly with the warranty company.  We have advised her that the warranty company will process it, which can take up to 60 days and the funds will be issued on her behalf to the lender by the warranty company.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

The first half of the response is incorrect. I went in to SDAC and filled out a cancellation form with ***** and was told by him that he would fax the paperwork so my extended warranty would be cancelled. I was told it would take 6-8 weeks for my bank to receive the check. I made it clear that I did NOT want to keep after he had asked me numerous times. ***** never turned in the paperwork to Century and my warranty was never cancelled as initially requested.

However, I was contacted by ***** 2 days after I filed my complaint and he did speak with me and is willing to follow through with my request. He emailed me the necessary form and I did mail it back. So far we are on track and once the check is received by the bank this shall be resolved.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern. I'm **** ******* emailing about my 2005 Chevy Suburban. On August 26, 2013, I purchased my truck from San Diego Auto Connection here in San Diego, CA. I've had a tremendous amount of problems with my truck since the very first day of purchase. I took in for service because it turned off on me the same night I purchased it, and did the same thing the next day. The dealer used their own mechanic to look at the truck, however the problem persisted. My interior/exterior lights turns on and off, and again I took my truck in for maintenance. I was told I needed a new battery, which I paid for, because I was outside the 30 day threshold for help from S.D. Auto Connection. (please note, I'm in the US Navy and I was out to sea so I couldn't take my vehicle in again prior to my 30 day warranty expiration) Today, I have a oil error that comes on, a transmission is hot error, I can't go over 30 mph, my lights still flickers on and off and this truck continues to blow hot air. I've lost all confidence in SD Auto Connect fixing my truck and I'm filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, the Legal department on base and with Chevrolet. I'm stressed out enough with my military duties, and the last thing I need is to have paid $10k for a vehicle that I can't even drive after 45 days.

Desired Settlement: Since I've lost confidence in with this company, I request that San Diego Auto Connection purchase this vehicle from me, and pay off my balance in full to the company financing my loan.

Business Response: We sold the vehicle to **** ******* on 8/26/13.  He was provided with a buyers guide warranty that covered specific items on his vehicle for 30 days or 1,000 miles.  We understand that he went out to sea, but has put over 3,000 miles on the vehicle.

 
We have attached a copy of the warranty provided that he signed acknowledging what coverage he had, as well as what was NOT covered.  Further I have included a copy of the Due Bill, which shows that no other things were due to Deon.
 
Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

**** *******


The truck had issues on day one...cutoff on me twice. A thorough inspection should have been done.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

 
We did reply to the BBB complaint again on 11/13/13.  Here is an update on the complaint filed by this consumer.
 
The customer received a buyers guide warranty valid for 30 days or up to 1,000 miles covering specific components of the vehicle at the time of purchase in August.  The day after purchasing the vehicle, he returned to the dealership with some specific concerns of the vehicle, which were checked out and addressed (see attached).
 
The customer came  back 45 days later with a concern about his vehicle starting.  We checked out the vehicle and identified that the vehicle needed a new battery.  Batteries are not a component covered by warranties as they are an item that can be worn out by a consumer.  We offered to replace the battery at our cost.  The customer declined (see attached).
 
The customer contacted our dealership over 60 days after purchasing the vehicle with an issue with the transmission.  At that point the vehicle had over 3,000 miles on it from the date of purchase.  At neither visit to our dealership previously did the customer state they were having an issue / concern with his transmission.
 
We have spoken with the customer a couple of times and attempted to reach him again last week (left a detailed message).  
 
Regards,
***** ********
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
I believe the dealership should have conducted a thorough inspection of the vehicle after I took it back the very next date of purchasing, complaining of the vehicle cutting off on me on the interstate, and again in my drive way. I'm not well versed in a car's operation, so ultimately after having two independent auto shops inspect my car, that it was detailed that I needed a new transmission. I truly believe San Diego Auto Connection new of my transmission problem(or as a pillar dealership in the community), they should have identified this issue...and I believe, with nefarious intent(seemingly not wanting to pay), that they totally ignored this fact. I didn't like going up there for assistance after a while, as I felt I was getting the run around and a cold shoulder from the individuals there. If I'm experiencing these issues as a Naval officer, I'm extremely concerned on what our junior Sailors and Marines is possibly going through. I'm gathering all of the facts and my experience, and will report it through the appropriate channels on base. For me to accept final action on this, I would like for the dealership to pay for the price of my transmission, which I've already paid for, in full.
Regards,

**** *******



Business Response: As previously shared, neither in August or October could our service center identify any issues with the transmission.  In fact, when we purchased the vehicle from its prior owner, our service center checked the vehicle at that time as well and there were no issues identified with the transmission.  When Mr. ******* did have a issue in November, he chose to take it to other service shops.  Again, the vehicle had over 3,000 miles on it when this occurred (not even factoring the time of over 2 1/2 months since the date of purchase), this vehicle was over 2,000 miles over the coverage provided by the buyers guide warranty from our dealership.  Further, Mr. ******* elected not to purchase any extended warranty coverage that may have coverage some or all of the transmission issue he states that he had.  Unfortunately, vehicles are mechanical items that work all the way up until the second they stop working - that is why many consumers from dealerships (even other things such as computers, cameras, etc) choose to purchase extended warranty coverage.  SDAC did its due diligence in having this vehicle checked both times it was brought to our dealership after the date of purchase.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never been treated so poorly in my life by a company. There customer service is terrible and they do not care about there customers. They are all extremely unprofessional and dishonest. I was told they go threw there cars and do a safety check on every car before they put them back on the lot for resale, well not true I took my car to a shop to have it looked at before I purchase car and the mechanic found over $800 in safety issue and this car should not had been put on the lot for resale, got Auto Connection to fix after having to prove this was a safety issue. With that being said it took them over TWO days to replace repairs and not one phone call was made to me to keep me updated on car. In fact was promise three different call backs didn't receive one, They told me my car comes with a 30 warranty to have anything replace NOT TRUE complete lie. I found a issue I wanted fix and warranty did not cover it, after terrible customer service and being lied to dealership still didn't want to fix issue. Managers Gabe and Curtis do not care about there customer service at all or anybody after they purchase there car, I waited for an hour and half waiting for a ride to get my vehicle and not one manger could say I'm sorry nor did I receive a phone again telling me they are going to be late. When they FINALLY arrived and had to wait 5 minutes for me to get my shoes on and lock up my house, they TOOK off and said they waited over 20 minutes, well phone history does not lie and it was a 5 minute wait. Called dealership back and they told me tough find you own ride here. What kind of business does this, CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN.

Desired Settlement: Just wont one simple repair fixed then I will never step foot back on this lot.

Business Response: As the attached documents show, this customer received a buyers guide warranty covering specific items as well as excluding specific items.  Further, there were specific items listed on the Due Bill that were to be addressed by our dealership, which we have done.

 
We have gone above and beyond to try to assist this customer with their concerns and insuring all items covered by the warranty we include are addressed.
 
The customer also purchased an extended warranty that covers them for additional time on specific items that they can utilize for the coverage of future issues.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a used car on August 11, 2013, from San Diego Auto Connection. I was pre-approved for a $20,000 loan with my bank (I had the letter from the bank stating I was approved). I found a car I wanted at San Diego that is titled San Diego Auto Connection. I visited the dealership, test drove the car and negotiated the price I wanted. I used the letter from my bank as proof I’d been approved for over 2/3’s of the cost of the car and paid cash for the remainder. They informed me they would be running a “soft credit check” to insure I was who I said I was. I clarified with them that it was soft, stating I did not need funding, wasn’t interested in exploring other funding and I had been working on repairing my credit, so I didn’t want a credit check run. I even offered to take the paper work to my bank and return with a check for them before taking the car. They re-iterated, it was simply to insure I was who I said I was and that it would not be a recorded credit check I was notified later when I checked my credit report that three hard inquiries were run on my credit with requests for loans, one with Wells Fargo Dealer Services, one with CREDCO and with Capital One Auto Financing. Hard inquiries effect your overall credit score, hence the interest rates you receive, ability to apply for and be approved for credit, etc. I am disputing the inquiries with the credit report agencies. I am someone that has worked very hard to repair my credit over the past few years. This action caused my credit score to be dropped over 40 points, of which I have documented proof of from Experian. I was very clear about asking what they were doing, the response back to me was very clear, they told me they would not be doing it. They obviously did and while in financing to finalize my paperwork, several times the manager offered to get me a lower interest rate than what I had with my bank. I continually told him I wasn't interested and I have financing I'm happy about. They completely lied to my face.

Desired Settlement: I'm not sure what my desired settlement is. I haven't heard back from the credit bureau yet about my disupute, but this has taken me time, effected my credit score negatively and they should be held accountable.

Business Response: The customer came to purchase a vehicle with a contigent pre-approval from their credit union.  Since they are taking delivery of the vehicle, we must secure back up financing for the customer in the case that the credit union who offered the loan did not approve the final purchase.  The customer did acknowledge this credit inquiry in order to see what we could approve them for in the case where their credit union did not ultimately approve the purchase.  They acknowledged this by signing the credit application, the credit report disclosure form that they received a copy of and the optional contract disclosure that they signed as well (which would allow us to fund their loan with the alternative bank if their credit union did not approve the purchase).  What was done was in standard best practices and would not cause for a drop of 40+ points in their credit score.

 
Regards,
***** ********
San Diego Auto Connection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My loan was not contingent upon approval. I was 100% approved I have the letter that I shared with the dealership, it was not contingent upon approval, it was 100% approved and just waiting on the paper work from the dealership to issue the check. Here is the exact language of the letter and I I've attached a copy of it for you.

***** *********
*** ******* ********* **** *
*** ********* ** *****
Re: Auto Loan

Dear **** *********,

Thank you for choosing ************ ******* ****** ***** as your financial partner.
You are approved for a loan in the amount of $20,000.00. This approval is good until
October 4, 2013, but in order to fund your loan, the following conditions must be met:

Proof of auto insurance required

To fund your loan or if you have any questions, please call us at ************.

Sincerely,

Consumer Loans Department

This is the exact letter I showed them and I provided them proof of auto insurance. In addition, I informed them I would get the check prior to taking the car if necessary, they told me that was not necessary. Once again, as my complaint states, they are not being truthful.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: Our staff did not do anything that would cause an adverse affect on this individuals credit score.  All information gathered was authorized by the customer at that time.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have already provided all the details of my complaint and what happened. The statement by San Diego Auto Connection that their unapproved actions with my credit did not effect my credit report and that your staff only took action that was approved by me is completely inaccurate. My credit score dropped 48 points after the 3 inquiries for financing that the dealership submitted that I did not approve. When I was told they would be checking my credit, we had a very detailed discussion about not needing funding, not being interested in any funding that they could get me, and that they would not do a "hard inquiry" on my account. I've already provided all these details and I have a witness that was there for the conversation. San Diego Auto Connection 100% ran credit finance inquiries on my credit without my approval. I had all my funding, all my proof of funding, and was told by them at the time they would not do that.

I am very disappointed by their poor business practices and at this point, I expect retribution for having dropped my credit score 48 points. I wanted to refinance my auto loan with my bank within the first 90 days after making several large payments to it and receive a lower interest rate, I can not do that now because my score is now lower than it was before I was approved for the loan because of those hard inquiries.

San Diego Auto Connection's responses to my complaints are false and incorrect. I have all the proof and provided it in my first complaint.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: We did secure a signed privacy notice, credit score disclosure and optional contract form from **** in case his lending institution could not transfer funds to our dealership within 5 days.

 
The Fair Act & Lending Law states that an inquiry will not drop the credit score due to the type of credit report we run at our dealership (which had to be done in case the credit union he was utilizing could not transfer the funds to our dealership within 5 days).
 
Again, **** was aware of what was transpiring and what we did in no way caused a drop in his credit score.  His payment history (good and bad) with those creditors on his report is what affects his score.
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Correct, and as I stated in my first letter, which you continue to ignore, is that I agreed to a soft inquiry, not a hard inquiry which is what was submitted by your dealership the day I was in there buying my car. You continue to ignore that fact. And yes, your hard inquiries did drop my credit score, and I have the proof to show it through Experian. Below are the alerts of the inquiries:

Hard Inquiry
Reported on 8/12/2013 by Experian

Company: WELLS FARGO DEALER SERVICES
Date: 8/11/2013
Company Phone: 8002898004
Company Address: PO BOX 1697
WINTERVILLE, NC 285901697
Hard Inquiry
Reported on 8/12/2013 by Experian

Company: CAPITAL ONE AUTO FINANCE
Date: 8/11/2013
Company Phone: 8009460332
Company Address: 3905 N DALLAS PKWY
PLANO, TX 750937892
Hard Inquiry
Reported on 8/12/2013 by Experian

Company: CREDCO
Date: 8/11/2013
Company Phone: 8006372422
Company Address: 10277 SCRIPPS RANCH BLVD
SAN DIEGO, CA 921311273

I have not EVER requested or inquired about auto financing through any of these companies. The dates they were requested were on Sunday, 8/11/2013 when I was in your dealership almost the entire day. In addition, as I already provided you, I was GAURANTEED funding by my bank, contingent ONLY on proof of Auto Insurance, which I provided you guys at the time of negotiation and purchase of my car.

5 days after that, with NO OTHER ACTIVITY on my credit report, my credit risk level was increased to high and my score was dropped 48 points by Experian. I have proof of that through Experian as well.

So, my question for you is, are you going to continue to act like you did nothing wrong despite ALL the proof I've showed you that your staff has? I was clear with your staff that I did not need financing. When I was told a credit check would be run, they clarified with me it was NOT a hard inquiry, they simply needed to clarify who I was, it was a soft inquiry. In addition, I offered to get the check from my bank if it was going to be an issue before taking the car and was told it was not an issue and wasn't necessary.

You clearly submitted 3 different hard inquiries on my account and per Experian, dropped my credit score 48 points. The fact you're dismissing the facts in front of you show that your dealership is dishonest.

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: Attached are the documents signed by **** ********* authorizing us to secure his credit information when he was here to purchase a vehicle.  Further, there is a copy of the privacy notice which was provided to **** as well as the Credit Score Disclosure.  Please note that all three of these documents were signed by ****.  SDAC did not do anything without the acknowledgement of the customer.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Employee's from "San Diego Auto Connection" consistently contact me on a weekly basis regarding the purchasing of a vehicle of mine. I have advised them on numerous occasions, that I do not desire to conduct a business transaction with them, and to refrain from contacting me. Their persistent contact is unprofessional in nature, and adverse action should be placed on their permanent BBB record.

Desired Settlement: Adverse markings on their BBB record, for failure to obey/conform with a request to stop contacting.

Business Response: The customer's request and phone number have been noted.  Unfortunately, we cannot verify if he places an ad somewhere to sell his vehicle and "hides" his email address that he won't be contacted again via email as we will not know it is him (such as through Craigslist or AutoTrader.com)


Thank you.
***** ********

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle has frame damage and we talk to Dealer sales Rep. Mr ******** y Manager of Dealer they said if vehicle had frame damage they cut not sale vehicle also we hace Due Bill and never was fix properly

Desired Settlement: They Need to take car back that they sold to us with frame damage and return my money i do not want a frame damage vehicle is unsafe for my family

Business Response: We have been speaking with ****** and have inspected the vehicle.  We have an appointment with him at 5:30pm today (July 18th).

6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday April 6, 2013 I purchased a **** ******* ****** from the dealership. Dealership did a very strange thing in not providing my contact information to the installation company. I could speculate why they performed this unprofessional practice, but in a public posting this would not be appropriate.In any event, I had to track down the contact information for the installation company and learned that the dealer had provided them with the phone number of the dealership sales manager. The installation company attempted to contact me at that phone number several times (I can provide this number if needed). At no point in time did the sales manager attempt to contact me to inform me about the installation company's attempt. Nor did the sales manager contact the installation company to let them know they had the wrong number.I reached the installation company via research and learned more about the product that the dealership company sold me. It is not considered an anti-theft device.

Desired Settlement: Based on the game and the product representation, I am requesting the company cancel the product sales contract, reimburse the funds associated with that product to the bank, and these amounts are deducted from my auto loan balance. In addition, for any future product sales the contact information for the installation company be immediately provided directly to the customers purchasing any product or service, if the dealership is not the direct provider.

Business Response: Our Finance Director, ***** *********, was able to reach *** **** today and shared with her that the credit for the items she wished to cancel would credit to her ***** ***** loan next week.  She stated that this was satisfactory.


This should resolve any concerns of hers.

Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They have made this promise 2 times yet they have not fulfilled it.  Each time they made a specific commitment in terms of action, date, and amounts. Yet, no action has been taken or fulfilled.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: Ms. **** did receive all refunds requested.  Unfortunately we were restricted by the speed by which the bank that funded her loan could process things.  We did respond and address things promptly during each step of the process.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

No refund has been provided and bank will confirm this.

Regards,

*** ****

Business Response: *** **** emailed us over the weekend alerting us that she had received her refund.  See copy of the email below:


*** ********************
8:29 PM (12 hours ago)
to me

Received check yesterday directly to me.  You guys made me whole – and included the interest.

 

I will call BBB tomorrow and close case.

4/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently bought a car there. I love the car but asked them to come down on the price like $300, so then it was cool and everything was supposed to be worked into the loan. Then I get a bill for $180 because they only charged me $15 for registration. Which means they were literally off by 1,200% and they said this is ok because it says on the contract that it is an estimate, so you know we can be off by over 11X the amount I was charged and well I guess that's ok. I think he just did this on purpose so he could keep the money for commission and make it look better on paper for the moment. I would never go back. Weren't even williing to do anything about it, honestly this should have come out of the salespersons comission it was his "mistake" (maybe, probably not), not my mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would be satisfied with them to put some money in since it wasn't my mistake. I would understand if it was like maybe even $50 over which is still 3x what my estimated payment was of $15, but $180 with an estimate of $15, honestly is a pretty bad estimate. I would like them to at least split it with, but I would be really satisfied if it was reasonable and they refunded all but $50 and I would (and already have) put in the rest then it would be a true estimate to me. Being off my 1,200% not ok

Business Response: At the time a vehicle is sold, we utilize a tool connected with the DMV to estimate the fees due for registration.  If that vehicles registration happens to be nearing its expiration date during the time between purchasing the vehicle and the vehicle actually getting registered to the customer by the DMV the actual fees may adjust.  This was the case for this consumer.


This situation occurs on a daily basis with dealers and consumers across the country.  Unfortunately the DMV does not have a better system to estimate the fees due to the amount of time it takes for things to process from time of purchase to completion of the registration process.

I understand this individual did meet our General Manger the other day in person to address this matter as well.

Regards,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Ok. so basically they can be off by 1,200% and that's ok it was just an estimate. Even 100% off should be too much. I would think they could have done a better job estimating the cost. I was charged $15 then later had to pay a bill in the correct amount of an ADDITIONAL $180. That doesn't seem like a very correct estimate to me. This was all supposed to be put into the loan. Instead I had to pay about half of a payment for no fault of my own. I am not satisfied with the response. I feel they need to estimate better. Estimates should never be this far off. If you got an estimate on work on your car or house and it was twice as much as estimated, you would reject it right?! Well, they were off by 12 times that amount, with their estimate, bad business practice, probably just to make the #'s look better on paper so I would buy the car.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: We will convey this customers frustration onto the California DMV.  We are equally disappointed that there are discrepancies.  


Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not sure what you need for documentation. Can you please let me know and I can get it to you.

Regards,

***** ******

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PROBLEM DESCRIPTION Regularly receiving e mails from this business--from ******* ******San Diego Auto Connection************ RECEIVED A E MAIL ON 01 13 2013I am advertising for PRIVATE PARTY ONLY TO SELL MY VEHICLE AND SAN DIEGO AUTO CONENCTION E MAILS ME REGULARLY NOT IDENTIFYING THEY ARE A COMPANY. IN MY OPINON IT IS FALSE ADVERTISING AND I REQUEST THEY STOP DOING AND STOP CONTACTING PEOPLE IN CRAIGS LIST WHO ARE LISTING TO SELL ONLY TO A PRIVATE PARTY.San Diego Auto Connection Inc **** ****** *** *** * *** ***** ** *****

Desired Settlement: HAVE THIS COMPANY STOP CONTACTING PRIVATE PARTIES UNLESS THEY IDENTIFY IN THEIR FIRST E MAIL THEY ARE NOT A PRIVATE PERSON AND ARE A COMPANY

Business Response: We are sorry that the customer was not interested in considering an offer to purchase their vehicle from our company.  We will note their contact info and log their phone number as a "do not contact" in our records.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have numberous problems with this dealer with my contract and paperwork.I havent recieved a copy of my title or my license plates after many repeated phone calls they have said they will call me back with an answer and never have. Now they want more money for a fee I shouldnt have to pay before I get my plates, I feel I have been lied to and taken advantage. I been their 2 times at there request to talk to ******* and he is never there.

Desired Settlement: I want a copy of my title and license plates as promised and gas money for 2 wasted trips.

Business Response: There were outstanding registration fees due in the amount of $58 for this vehicle Mr. ****** purchased.  We have contacted him today to advise him that he can come pick up his registration and license plates.  The delay has been due to the fact that there existed $58 in outstanding fees.

9/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was first contacted by phone from customer service regarding a car I listed for sale on Craigslist. I asked several questions about the company and she assured me that they had a buyer for my car and that's why they contacted me. I explained to her that i didn't want to waste my time or theirs if i'm not going to get an offer near my asking price. She said she didn't know but she got a gentlemen on the phone that said he was with sales. I think his name was ***. He took all the info about that car and said as long as its in good condition and looks great when he sees it he could offer me $9700. I said ok but i just want to make sure we are on the same page and when i get there nothing is going to change unless of course my car is a piece of junk. He agreed.When I came in 7/30/2012 ****** helped me. He did the run through with my car, then took me in. While waiting for the offer he kept repeating that military families are always upside down on their loans and thats just how it works out and how he just had a chief come in and he was $7000 upside down when he sold his car. First off we are not Military any more so that discrimination doesn't apply to me and Second why would you want to put our Military personnel out on blast like that, they do deserve allot more respect than that. He also kept telling me that EVERYONE comes in their saying they don't have to sell their car and they all think they know what their car is worth. It was a very uncomfortable situation for me. The things he was saying was making it sound like everything out of my mouth was BS. He then proceeded, after all that, to offer me $7900 and some change. I laughed! He then said let me walk you to your car. No, sorry we couldn't help you or wish we could have come to an agreement. Just very bluntly, let me walk you to your car. It was VERY confusing. I then said to him that i was confused because when i spoke to the sales guy on the phone he said $9700. ****** stated "well that was last week!" It was 4 days before. I emailed customer services with the above complaint and asked it to be forwarded it to the GM and Sales Manager. I received a call from the Brian the VP of operation. He apologized for what happened and said he would be looking into why I was given 2 different numbers. I called 2 days later and left him a message and have never heard back from anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for $9700.00 for my car that i was originally offered.

Business Response: SDAC did contact ***** in an attempt to purchase her Jetta she was selling.  She did request an idea what the vehicle could be worth before coming in.  A figure was shared but contingent upon a mechanical and cosmetic inspection of the vehicle (dent's, scratches, cracks, etc).  Any items found that would need to be factored into the final offer made.  There were some items that did in fact need to be repaired in order for it to be in a condition we could resell it.  As would make sense, the value of a vehicle has a lot based on how it runs mechanically and how the condition of the interior and exterior is, both items that cannot be gauged over the phone with someone. The costs of those repairs were factored into final offer we made of $8,252.  In a good faith gesture, we will honor that amount presuming the condition of the vehicle has not changed (though our purchase offers are only valid for 5 days or 300 miles of additional driving).  ***** may contact me directly to coordinate a time to come in if she would like to do so.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I agree with the fact that the $9700 was contingent on the vehicles condition, that’s what i stated in the original complaint. The interior and exterior is in perfect condition according the ****** the sales guy that looked the car over. He also stated the mechanically everything was exactly what it was supposed to be. The only issue that I told ******, because he didn't recognize it, is that the driver’s side door window button for the passenger side back window sticks when you roll the window up. That was the ONLY issue on my car. As for the price of $8500, that was never offered to me! The only offer that was brought to me was $7900 and some change. So my understanding is that the only thing wrong with my car is worth $1800.00 to fix. That sounds like just as much of a scam as the rest all of this does.

San Diego Auto Connection is a scam. I was first told there was a buyer for my car and is waiting to see it, to telling me a price just to get me into their offices, then giving me the worst low ball offer for my car while putting down our Military Personnel and then pushing me out the door when i said no to $7900. The worst part is that when I told ****** i was told $9700 for my car his response was "that was last week and the numbers change every Friday", not , well you have this issue and that issue with your car that we would have to fix it and that made the offer lower, sounds me like you need to get your story straight. Is it because i have a piece of crap car or is it because that was last week and the numbers changed or is it because we were Military and according to ****** all Military Personnel are upside down on their cars? I would have appreciated dealing with at least one person from SDAC that was honest, but after talking to 4 people and getting 4 different stories, I don't think anyone is.

I will not be recommending them to anyone, especially my Military friends and family.

 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Unfortunately the customer disagrees with the condition and value of their vehicle.  We assist hundreds of customers each month and earnestly do our best to offer the most we possibly can while maintaining some margin of profitability when buying each vehicle.  I would personally be will to inspect and review this customers vehicle myself to provide them with a current and exact offer on their vehicle that is valid for 5 days.  Unfortunately due to the volatility of any commodity (especially one that is being used and mileage is being added to), the value does fluctuate, just as with other similar products.


As for whether we had a buyer our not, we do have buyers that are employed by us to purchase vehicles.

Again, if the customer does wish to deal with one person directly, I would be happy to assist them and evaluate their vehicle myself in person.

Brian Epperson
858-546-1222 x***


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I won't be doing any dealings with SDAC ever. My favorite part of your response was when you said "we do have buyers that are employed by us to purchase vehicles." FYI: those are called employees. Trying to make scam not look like a scam isn't justifiable. You can sugar coat it all you want but SDAC was in the wrong in every manner of how the dealt with my situation.

Regards,

***** *******

8/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the San Diego Auto Connection in Mission Valley to purchase a car. I found a 2008 Nissan Altima, with decent mileage and apparently great shape. The Price was right around where a used Car of that make and model should be, and right around what I expected to pay. I had asked if they had CarFax and the salesman said they had something else and it was verified to never have been in an accident. I took his word for it and bought the car. There were no real problems with the vehicle. We drove it for about 4-5 months and decided we needed a bigger vehicle. We had paid quite a bit on it and decided to trade it in. I limited my budget for a new vehicle, based on what the trade in should have been for the Altima. We found a Brand new Van that we liked and started the trade in process. The numbers I gave them they said sounded good. They ran a car fax report and found out the vehicle HAD been in a major accident. That accident caused over $2,000 worth of negative equity on the car, therefore another 2,000 added on to what I expected to pay for the new car.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the $2,000 I lost on the trade in value. I was told the vehicle had been verified to have never been in an accident, and paid more for the vehicle than I would have if I had been told of the accident. I ended up having $2,000 of negative equity that I had to add in to my new car payment.

Business Response: I met with ******* ****** this past Friday and we resolved his concern.  He stated he would advise of the same.


Thank you,
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  San Diego Auto Connection has absolutely resolved the issue.  If I am in the market for a used car while I am still in the area, I would defininately go there first.  Thank you BBB for the assistance, and Thank You San Diego Auto Connection for taking care of your customers.

Regards,

******* ******

7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car on June 16,2012 from this business. @ weeks later it begin to make a very loud clunking sound coming from the back rear end of car. I had a close friend/mechanic drive the car and he agreed there is something wrong with it. On July 2, 2012 I contacted the dealership and spoke to a George Cova (Sales Manager) and set up an appointment with him on July 6, 2012 to meet with me. It was on a Friday and after we dicussed what they needed to do in order to look at the car we then agreed that I would bring the car back in on Tuesday, June 10, 2012. June 10, 2012 I was at the dealership at 9:00 am and dropped off the car. They DROVE me back to my place of resident in El Cajon and I was to wait to hear back from them. A few hrs went by I gave them a call and this is when the fiasco began. I began hearing that they weren't able to get my car to the mechanic until after 1:00 (remember I made an appointment) and was told at the end of business day Tuesday that the car had not been looked at. June 12, 2012, fiasco began again. Was continued being told I would have the car back within an hour ALL day. Spoke to a **** at 4:30 who said car was looked at and they could NOT find anything wrong and was on its way back. Went to get car at 6:30, car wasn't even there yet. Spoke to a *** ******* who is suppose to be HEAD salesperson told him complaint. When trying to ask what mechanic had the car I NEVER got a straight answer.Asked for paper work on the car and they refused to give me anything as if I was never there. Drove car home it still has the same sound now worse. As of today have left 3 messages as not one has been returned. The warranty on car runs out on Monday, July 16, 2012. They are doing EVERYTHING possible to avoid the repair and waiting for time to run out! I was sold a LEMON and I want something to be DONE!! I can not believe how they have handled this and how I have been mistreated. I will continue to leave messages..

Desired Settlement: I want the car REPAIRED!!!!!

Business Response: We have been working with ****** for the past couple of weeks since she first contacted us that she was hearing a noise from her vehicle.  She did bring the bring the vehicle in and initially the noise was not able to be replicated.  ****** brought the vehicle back and this time we were able to identify the noise and found that the rear differential needed to be worked on.  We did resolve the issue and have delivered the vehicle back to ****** with the repair completed on Tuesday, July 17th.  As a gesture of good faith for her inconvenience, we did install four new tires on her vehicle as well.  Finally, I provided ****** with a copy of the work performed via email today (7/18) and spoke with her to notify her of the email. 


***** ********
Vice President
San Diego Auto Connection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The problem has NOT been resolved and the car is still NOT FIXED. It is stil making the noise which is the differential on the passanger side. I believe they think buying new tires for the car was cheaper than replacing the part. This whole sitution has been nothing but a nightmare and how it has been handled from the very beginning, They sold me a lemon car ... that is the bottomline.  I want the car taken to a CERTIFIED mechanic and get this taken care of as I am already looking into legal action. Attached in the service repair receipt that was given to me a DAY later of what was done on the car. Also they had the car for two days saying they couldn't hear noise which it was making the noise when I pulled the lot that Wed. And beleive me it is VERY loud, you can't miss it.  Took it back on a Saturday and didn't pick it up until Tuesday. They offered a loaner and when requested it never got one. What I got was a still broken dirty car with new tires. I don't even feel safe driving the car now.  I WANT HELP getting this taken care of correctly.  Thank you.

Regards,

****** *****

 

Business Response: We did offer a loaner vehicle to Dot and she stated that it was not necessary unless the vehicle could not be returned to her by a certain time.  We picked her up and brought her to the dealership to pick up her vehicle prior to that time she requested.


I have left a message for her on Friday and emailed her as well to work to identify the noise again (which was not heard by several different personnel who road tested the vehicle).

We are awaiting a reply from *** to see what further assistance we can provide her.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have lost complete faith dealing with this company directly. From the very beginning all they tried to do was drag this issue out so the warrenty would expire and be done with it. They showed sympathy to my needs are request and took the act of GOD to get someone to take a look at the car. It is still making a noise and I want it checked out by a certified mechanic and have them be responsible.  I do NOT want to deal with any of THEIR mechanics from seeing first hand how they operate. I want it up on a rack and inspected by a Ford dealership as they are familar with the car.... and that is all that I will take or I continue with the legal action. Thank you.

[Regards,

****** *****