This business is not BBB accredited.

Auto Republic

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 525-0550 Fax: (714) 525-0549 View Additional Phone Numbers 1890 W Commonwealth Ave, Fullerton, CA 92833 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers used auto sales and auto repair service.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Auto Republic include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Auto Republic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 05/07/2007 in CA Business incorporated 05/07/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 69704.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 265725.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Wang, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Wang, President/CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Cypress Motors Fullerton Auto Square SW Corp
Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations


    1890 W Commonwealth Ave

    Fullerton, CA 92833 (714) 348-1123 (714) 525-0550


    4902 Lincoln Ave

    Cypress, CA 90630 (714) 828-0555


    525 S Harbor Blvd

    Santa Ana, CA 92704 (714) 276-6060


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are writing to complain about the company Auto Rebublic that has 3 locations in Fullerton, Cypress, and Santa Ana, CA. On January 18, 2016 we purchased a 2010 Toyota Tacoma that has a serious fault. The traction control comes on when driving on windy roads and turns which then pulls the vehicle into oncoming traffic. When the computer senses traction control is needed it locks the wheels of the vehicle up making it very dangerous. There are three lives at risk ***** ******, ********* ****** and our unborn child in the womb. This happens when going well under the speed limit or posted recommended speed limit signs. I informed Auto Republic, **** **** of the problem originally approximately 4 days after the purchase. Not one call or message was returned. Before the traction control issue I had not driven the truck on the freeway. **** told me that there was some steering wheel shaking and rubbing and that it was normal for the rims and tires that were on there. I had yet to take the vehicle on the freeway and those 4 days later when I did it was shaking so violently that I knew something was terribly wrong. I showed photos to *** *******, owner of JK Motorsports who works with custom wheels and tires and he said there were two different sized tires, which is unsafe on a 4 wheel drive, there were missing lug nuts and caps and the whole thing was set up very unsafe, additionally the tread was more than 50% gone on the tires. Again I tried calling the dealership and there was no response or call back. I have written documentation (see attached) on Wednesday February 3, 2016 at approximately 4:50 PM of **** **** offering a full refund and to return the truck and give us our Toyota 4Runner back. I asked if they could help us get the vehicle ‘fixed’. Somehow I got rerouted to the manager of a different location in Cypress. ****** ***** who pushed us off to their ‘tire’ guy or mechanic to ‘help’ us who wanted to charge thousands more which we were in no position to do. We went ahead and did what we could afford to do to try to make the vehicle safer, however there was no guarantee. ****** ***** then agreed to reimburse us for the balancing, alignment, tires and parts we put into it to try to make the vehicle safer and to avoid the traction control from coming on. However, that week the traction control continued to come on. We notified ****** ***** again that this wasn’t safe and we could not risk our lives every day in this vehicle. ****** ***** said he would try to unwind the loan and give us our 4Runnner back but of course we would have to pay a price for what they lost. When we arrived to make this happen on February 27, 2016 ****** said he would need to talk to the bank. That first week of March ****** called to tell us that the loan could not be undone due to a payment already posting. The next day I called the bank Wells Fargo and talked to three different people including managers which all stated they had no record or notes of any discussion of unwinding our loan every happening. ****** ***** lied and I asked to speak with his boss which he refused and stated would never be allowed to happen. He then sent us to a mechanic in Toyota and claimed to pay out of his pocket to help us. They put used stock rims and tires on the truck in hopes that traction control would not come on but they too said there was no guarantee. The dealership dragged the issues on for so long for whatever reasons that we are now stuck with an unsafe truck due to their negligence and extremely poor customer service. I hold Auto Republic fully liable for any injuries or death that may ever occur while we have this truck. The dealership refused to give us our old car back and take responsibility for their actions of not properly inspecting a vehicle and even refusing to take care of minor items such as proper balance, alignment, wheels and tires initially. This business should not be operating and putting lives in danger.

Desired Settlement: Refund and undo contract and provide correct and safe replacement vehicle

Business Response: Dear BBB:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to this customer complaint. Per your request and in order to protect privacies when posted online, we will refer to them as "customer" and designate husband & wife moving forward. 
The customer (wife) came to our lot initially in hopes of trading in her Toyota 4Runner, and found a truck that suited her needs. Once she found a truck (Toyota Tacoma) that was to her liking, she requested to make the trade for her current vehicle and subsequently purchase the vehicle from us shortly thereafter. The customer purchased the vehicle "As-Is" and signed an "As-Is" agreement stating they were purchasing the vehicle exactly as-is, with no further modification, mechanical or aesthetics, etc... it was extremely clear and most (if not all buyers understand what an As-Is Contract is).
The customer (wife) did not leave their down payment with us in the initial meeting/purchase, and so when we called them in order to collect the agreed upon down payment, the customer *at that point* claimed that there were "some issues" with the truck and that they had paid about $400 dollars in order to correct them. While there were no issues with the truck during the purchase and the test drive during the initial purchase, ****** ( who is The GM at Auto Republic -- which is why they were 'routed' to him directly) got the 'OK' from ownership in order to have the $400 covered. Normally, we would not do this after a sale (or without an extended warranty when a vehicle is purchased as-is), however ****** spoke directly with the couple and wanted to make sure they were taken care of, especially because of the pregnancy. Again, we'd like to point out, that we did this because we wanted them to be happy as our customers. We take pride in making sure our customers are repeat customers, and although they purchased the vehicle As-Is, we still wanted to make sure that they were happy at the end of day.
When the customer showed up, the $400 dollars in receipts actually ended up being closer to $800 dollars, which we still took care of and compensated them for in full. The customers went home and then we received another call from the customers (this time it was the wife). She called in and spoke with **** as mentioned in their complaint, and **** had our GM, ******, call the customer back. When ****** spoke with the customer (husband), he declined and claimed he did not want to return the truck or unwind the deal -- he wanted to keep it. ****** then asked what he could do (further) in order to make them happy (as again, we had covered $800 in unapproved expenses at this point already, which taking into consideration the thin profit margin on vehicles is not something any dealership would normally do for their customers -- but we did).
The customer (husband) said he was encountering issues with the tires and wheels, and so ******, again, as a courtesy and after seeing the wife was pregnant (and knowing that he was unable to get anymore discounts approved -- again we are weeks after the initial sale of the vehicle), offered to have a Certified Toyota Mechanic at a Toyota Dealership look at the truck and see if he could diagnose any problems or issues. The customer claimed they had already taken the truck to someone else and that a new set of wheels and tires should fix the problem that they were experiencing.
At this point, ****** said he would purchase wheels and tires for the customer out of his own pocket, but yes, being that good wheels are very expensive (and could easily cost thousands, especially for a truck), ****** did purchase the wheels second-hand. The tires however, were brand new as he did not want to skimp on safety, especially for a family. The customer (husband) agreed and the truck was also taken to Toyota of San Clemente, where it could be looked at diagnosed for any issues by a Certified Toyota Mechanic at a Toyota Dealership.
The Certified Toyota Mechanic at the Toyota Dealership inspected the truck thoroughly and ran it through a series of tests -- both on the road and on the lift, as well as using the Toyota Computer Diagnostic Tool. All readouts tests came back normal as did the road tests at highway speeds, stop & go, as well as in reverse, turns, etc. The Toyota Certified Mechanic came back and let us know that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle, and at this point, we as a dealership and ****** the GM (as an individual) had already allocated thousands of dollars in getting this truck diagnosed, re-tired and re-wheeled to specs and even had a Certified Toyota Mechanic inspect the vehicle. 
We're really disappointed that we received a message/review like this, especially after we worked so hard -- both as a company as well as individuals in order to appease the customers both before and after the purchase of their vehicle. If you take a look at the timelines of their purchase on January 18th as to when they came back on February 27th, it had been more than a month and after we offered to take care of them as well as reimbursed them -- both from the deal/purchase, as well as ******, out of pocket -- and we feel that we went above and beyond what ANY dealership would do, given the same circumstances -- especially when a pre-owned vehicle is purchased and the customer purchases that vehicle As-Is. We understand that sometimes a two partners may be on different pages and have different goals/desires. As mentioned, we offered to return/unwind the deal with the customer (husband) and he declined, claiming that he was confident that new wheels and tires would fix the problem. Unfortunately it seems that after we did this and appeased them, they could not come to an agreement as to whether or not this would be enough to make them happy.
Between the initial working the deal to terms that suited their liking/budget, offering them a great deal on their trade, to refunding/reimbursing the customers and then our GM paying out of pocket in order to replace the wheels and put on brand new tires on their vehicle -- weeks after the purchase and even after they purchased the vehicle As-Is, we feel we have done our share of work and then some; we have gone above and beyond what any dealership would do post-sale and tried extremely hard to please the customers and understand that we're unable to please everyone, but we tried extremely hard, even when it meant losing money, in order to ensure safety and a happy customer experience, especially given the circumstances. Thank you.

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The vehicle was purchased with the sole intention of towing a fifth-wheeler RV. Two weeks after purchase of a vehicle, fist time towing the RV on a Christmas family trip, about 50 miles from the house, the vehicle started to indicate "Filter cleaning", "reduce engine speed" and the engine temperature sky rocket it. We had to stop multiple time just to get ourselves to a gas station. We turned around and headed back home. Due to Christmas break, we took the vehicle in for a diagnostic to **** dealership (located in ******** **** ******). Through the diagnostic, we were informed that the Oil cooler was clogged and that it needed to be replaced. I asked my daughter to ask the service personnel at the **** dealer if this could have been done by driving/towing 200 miles. He said it could not. He also asked how long we had the vehicle and if we had warranty. After verifying, he said the car was too newly purchased to utilize the warranty. He suggested that we take the vehicle right back to the dealer and inform them of the situation and have it repaired. I requested my daughter to contact the dealer because my English isn’t very good. She spoke to Ivan and also e-mailed him the diagnostic report par his request to his e-mail; ************************. He never called back for update. Three days later, on 12/30/15, she called back to ask about the result and Ivan informed that they can only pay 50% of the part, labor and all other fees that may generate for the repair, and that we have to go to their designated auto shop. Then she complained that the vehicle was sold to me in bad condition and that I was not going to pay any part of the repair, and he then yelled at her that he was trying to help me, yet she had bad attitude toward his assistance, and that he will not not help us and not repair the vehicle in any way. Then he hung-up the phone.

Desired Settlement: We have already placed the vehicle to be repaired, thus Refund the Total amount of the Cost of the Repair and make documented, formal apology letter, addressing both myself and my daughter.

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car at this dealership Cypress Motors a BMW 2008 in September 2014 for $17, 480.00 for my 18 years son for school, did a trade in with my son's car, and paid $9,000.00 cash to pay-off the car. After all the paperwork was sign, we road test the car and notice the navigation system in the car the cd was missing, so we mention it to the sales guy **** and he said he will take care of it don't worry, he said that the car came with a cd but gave it to another person who bought a Bmw from them and he promise no big deal he will replace it, and so we took his word for it, after months we call him he said we will get you one but never did, I spoke to his manager **** , and several managers and they promise they will take care of it but never did, so last week 2/11/2015 @ 10:40am I went back to the dealership and ask for the Cd, **** the manager ask **** did he promise to give us a CD he said yes, so he had **** order the CD on ebay, which **** the manager showed me on his phone, the CD will come to my address and in my name, but the CD never came to me or in my name , it went to **** home address, then he called my son and said I have the CD, my son went to the dealership to pick up the CD get to find out it was a bad and cheap CD, that never worked , **** tried it and **** tried it and it doesn't work, I have the CD, I called him after he told my son to tried it for two week and if it doesn't work then he figured out what else to do , up to this date from 9/11/2014 to this date we have not gotten a replacement, CD or say anything to us, actually they have been avoiding our calls, to the point I told him if this is not resolved I will take him to court, Please investigate this case, as this is terrible for a Car Dealership to treat their customers like this and to promise and not deliver..

Desired Settlement: I need a genuine CD from the dealership , I told him how much it cost and I will not trust them to order it from any other source, I want to order it from the dealership myself and he paid for it.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Auto Republic
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart