Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Theodore Robins Ford

Additional Locations

Phone: (949) 642-0010 View Additional Phone Numbers 2060 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers auto sales.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Theodore Robins Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 2013 Business started: 02/11/1952 in CA Business incorporated 12/20/1966 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 00992.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 18363.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Robins, General Manager Mr. Jim Robins, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Robins, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Jim Robins, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Theodore Robins Ford sells the following brand(s): New Ford's and most all Used Cars and Trucks

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks and all Major Credit Cards
Alternate Business Names
Theodore Robins Inc
Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law

Additional Locations


    2060 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92627 (949) 642-0010 (949) 642-3017 (949) 645-3833 (888) 798-9696 (800) 494-0756


    PO Box 5055

    Costa Mesa, CA 92628


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $1133 for repairs to my truck that were not properly done. I incurred an additional $730 due to this negligence. I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the amount paid for work that I had to have another service repair shop re-do.

Business Response: The truck was towed into our shop from the customer mechanic stating the truck will not start. The other shop said it was a bad PCM. When our technician received the truck the first thing he noticed was the passenger side kick panel that covers the Body Control Module was off. Our technician stated that when the vehicle was towed in and he first looked at it to verify their technicians diagnosis. Our technician verified and diagnosis that there was no communication with or to the PCM. Our technician replaced the PCM. The engine cover was also removed from the engine compartment at the other shop and was laying in the back seat, unfortunately our technician did not see it and did not put it back on. After we completed the repairs the truck was running fine. The customer went on a trip made a stop and the vehicle would not restart. They towed it into Ford in Valencia and they found the Body control module connector was not completely snapped into place. We have asked the customer to talk with their mechanic and the shop in Valencia and have not received any response. If there is any evidence that we did not perform a proper repair then I will reimburse them, but at his time I need more information.    

6/26/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle from ford in 05 / 2014 and since then I have taken my car in 7 times for repairs. I've taken it in twice for leaks, once for electrical, twice for dead battery's, twice in for my heating and air system. It seems I have had nothing but issues with this care since I have bought it.

Desired Settlement: I would like an exchange of vehicle or extended warranty.

Business Response:

I spoke to this consumer and in an effort to help facilitate a repurchase from Ford Motor Company we asked her to call FMC and request from them to open a BBB Autoline case. We believe that she opened the case with you in error. We would ask that you contact the consumer and have her contact FMC at 800-******** and request a BBB Autoline case.

Thank you,

***** *****

Service Director

Theodore Robins Ford

949-******** x***

7/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1999 **** Explorer electronic locks not working. Quoted $140 diagnosis. Dealer called back same day and $600 quote. Added oil and fluid change. Next day dealer called and said car ready $1300. I was shocked but had to pay to pick up car. ***** mgr said he would put the old fluid back in??? I would not have agreed to oil change fluids if I was told it was $700. They never gave me an updated total or quote. I paid with a credit card so I could dispute. Chase card credited my account then ***** gave them false information about the charges so they had to charge my account. I feel the charge was excessive and dishonest to more than double the quote without notifying me. Thank you, ******* *******

Desired Settlement: I would like the 700 refunded without putting the old fluids as ***** suggested back in my car.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

I have spoken to my service advisor ***** ***** who was working with Ms. ******* and here is his recolecction of the experance.

First I would like to appologize to Ms. ******* for this unfortunate situation. I care deeply about customer service and I'm alway concerned to hear about a unhappy customer. I had made serveral attempts to contact Mr. *******, but I never been able to talk to her directly. She did leave a message for me when I was out of town and I couldnt call her back until I returned. Ms. ******* came into our service and said, she had been going to Huntington Beach **** and has had some problems and wanted to start coming to us. ***** told her that we would be happy to take good care of her. She wanted to have her door locks looked at because the door would not open from the inside or outside. The second concern was the keyless door code was not working. The third item was a oil change.  We quoted her a $140 diagnosis fee to check out the concerns and $39.95 for the oil change and tire rotation. ***** called her back and quoted her it was going to be $600.00 for parts and labor plus tax for the door/locks repairs. ***** also told her  we had done a free muliti point inspection and it was noted that all the fuilds look dirty and we would recommend to have them changed. ***** went over the items needed. Powers steering, transmission, brake fluid and coolant. He quoted her $620.00 for those services. She then apporved to have a new keyless remote be programed to the car. ***** told me that knowing she was a first time customer and that she was not happy with the other **** delaer service he wanted to make sure it went smooth. He is very suprised that there is confusing, but needless to say some where, communication broke down or a misunderstand happened in the quote. I don't feel we did anything wrong, but we are in a customer world and would like to come to some resolution. I don't feel that a $700 refund is in order, but will offer a $200.00 refund. The fluids need to be changed if she didn't change them here she would have had to pay for them somehwere else or even worse, she could have had a failure of one of the components. We did not charge her for the remote being programed and not charge for the keyless door code not working. I feel this is a fair offer and will wait for your/her response.

***** ******

******** ****** ****

General Manager



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


******* *******

I paid this balance by credit card so I could dispute.  Chase bank removed $700 until they got a response from ***** with no truth in it but just a copy of the bill and his opinion which he did not witness any of this just making things up.  First I was given 140 estimate on April 2nd by *****.  He called me back to give me the estimate of 600 plus key 69.95.  If I accepted the oil change and the estimate charge was included per *****.  I thought this was high but my mechanic said it had to be done at the dealer.  (keys)  He did say the fluids needed changed.  I said I have a mechanic so no.   This was the 3rd.  On the 4th he called and said the car was ready and the total was 1312.00.  I fell out of my chair I thought he had the wrong customer or car.  I was never given this estimate 700 dollars more than ***** stated.  They said I had to pay it to pick up car.  I had no choice.  I spoke with the manager ***** and he said he would put the old fluids back in REALLY?  I asked for manager and **** several times.  No answer.  If I was give the choice or option to pay 700 more I would have said NO.  I have a mechanic who would do it for $0.   Why would I agree to give that away.  I thought there were laws about giving estimates?    After I went home and YELPED I got a response online but never a call like they said on Yelp.  **** ******* said this treatment of a customer was wrong.  I agree to pay the 669 which was the estimate.  Thank you for you help with this matter.  200 dollars is not even close to acceptable.  Please ask **** ******* to do what is right and teach his employees to notify and document $ estimates.

Thank you,

******* *******

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2008 expedition EL 4WD on 9-12-14 from a sales man named **** ******. on the date of the purchase I inspected the vehicle and before delivery discovered that there was a trim piece missing from the dash just above the steering wheel and below the gauge cluster. I pointed the missing piece out to **** and he told me that they will order the piece right away and send it to me. along with that at the time of delivery he handed me only one key for the car. I asked about the other and he (****) told me that the previous owner must have lost it and that I can buy another. I disagreed and told him that that is not my fault it is missing and that I expect another key and key fob to unlock and lock the car. he agreed and said in a phone conversation at another date that after talking to his manager they will provide the key and key fob. now after repeated phone calls and emails I have not received any of the promised pcs that the car was missing. I cannot get to a manager there they keep diverting my call to whatever sales man they have on staff at the time and now I cannot get any information on the missing parts. I have numerous emails regarding the parts and I have been promised that they are on order and now I cannot get any information. this is a matter of principle and I have never been treated like this at any other dealership I have used in the past.

Desired Settlement: I want the parts that have been promised me and for the manager to call and explain their customer service practices.

Business Response:

Hi Mr. ******,


My name is **** ****** and I was following up to make sure that all of your concerns have been taken care of. I was sorry to hear that we were not communicating with you on what we promised you, but I was told that you have now received all the parts. If this is not true, please let me know immediately. We strive to make sure every customer is completely satisfied, but some times we fall short, which sounds like what happen in your case. I would personally like to apologize for that. Simple communication usually solves a lot of problems. If everything is good I want to thank you for your business. If there are any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.


Thank you,


***** ******

******* *******

************* **** ***

************* ***


12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Theodore Robins Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)