This business is not BBB accredited.

Surf City Nissan

Phone: (714) 500-6010 View Additional Phone Numbers 17331 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647 http://www.surfcitynissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive dealership services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Surf City Nissan include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Surf City Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Surf City Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/10/2008 in CA Business incorporated 04/10/2008 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 41488.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 255087.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Garff, Owner Mr. Steve Nicholson Mr. Gary Barr, Service Manager Ms. Denise Beasca, Owner Loyalty Manager Ms. Suzie Medina, Manager Mr. Tom Mellor, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Garff, Owner
Principal: Mr. Steve Nicholson
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Huntington Beach Nissan LLC
Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17331 Beach Blvd

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647 (714) 842-8784 (800) 615-9640 (714) 842-6666 (714) 500-6000 (714) 500-6010 (714) 500-6030 (714) 500-6040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fear of MORE retaliation from ***** ******, finance manager. he was very upset over my nissan survey I had to cancel my service appt I made for the next day. Fearing he will do more damage to my car, over a Nissan survey!!! Love my Roque 2015 I came in for a free car wash 1 20 2015 and a tank of gas I was promised in writing, on back of ***** ****** business card. I was there 2 and half hours! (not worth it) ***** actually printed out my Nissan survey, took me outside (yes I was unaware) proceeded to threaten me; on 2 items I did not give him/them a 10 rating-- I thought he was going to HIT me. After a few minutes of this abusive treatment he went inside and I ran to my car. Only to find it was on - - - for gas- ( not even 1 mile left) I had 22 miles to go, when I arrived. THEY TOOK ALL MY GAS OUT!!! Just how LOW can they GO???? Im sure this treatment comes from the upper level, ***** gets abused by his employers and so he can verbally abuse the buyers. He is insane, I will never go back there and I recommend other people to see other Nissan dealers. Yeah all that for $25.00 If I see him near my car or me I will call the police! I will keep reposting this-when they take it down.

Desired Settlement: ***** ******, fear of retaliation he should be fired. Will not return and want my warranty from their dealership transferred to a dealership that they don't own--surf city, nissan of Orange or Costa mesa are all owned by same family.

Business Response: ****, we are sorry that you are unhappy with your experience. Customer service is very important to us. We’d like to discuss what occurred during your visit to determine what more we can do to help. Please contact *** ******** at ***** *********

2/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Harassment. I have asked now verbally 5 times, even as high up as the Sales Manager to 'Please Remove me from your list' and I still get constant phone calls, emails after I have unsubscribed multiple times, and even mail correspondence trying to get me to come in and trade in my car. I was once a customer (I did a refinance with this business) and now they will not leave me alone. I deal with many businesses in my normal life, but none that has exceeded my tolerance like Surf City Nissan. They call at all hours of the day and leave messages, and frankly, I am tired of it. I will never do business with this company, so there should be no reason that I have to be constantly harassed by their sales people. I feel I have a right to be permanently removed from their 'badgering' list. Each time I called to tell them to stop harassing me, they assured me that I would not be contacted again. This was not the case and continues. I just received another unsolicited call and a letter this past week.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me. Stop emailing me (I have unsubscribed each time I get an email) and stop sending me personal letters.

Business Response: ****, we're very sorry for the unwanted contact from our dealership. You were marked as "Do not contact" in our system, but a few communications must have slipped through. To avoid this in the future, we have deleted all of your information from our system completely. We apologize for the hassle. 

1/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family were loyal customers of this dealership for 5 years. During that time we purchased 4 cars. In January of 2014, I purchased a GMC Acadia from the resale division. Initially I was very happy with the experience. In June I let my daughter use the car to drive to New Mexico with her 2 children to visit family. While driving through the California desert she was pulled over by the CHP. The officer had her exit the vehicle and then began to question her extensively. He informed her that the plates on the car had been reported stolen and that he could take her into custody. Luckily I had placed my purchase contract in the glove box of the car, and the officer believed her to not be involved in the theft. He did however confiscate the plates from the car. She immediately informed me of the situation and I called the dealership. Their response? Was that " it happens" WHAT??? It happens that you sell cars with STOLEN LICENSE PLATES??? Not once did they apologize for what could have potentially been a disastrous situation for our family. If my daughter had been arrested her children would have also been taken into custody- my 4 year old grandson is autistic and this would have been a terrifying ordeal for him. It also took months for them to fix the problem with the DMV and that was after I hired an attorney to help me. And all along not 1 word of apology or remorse. They have been snarky and snide and dismissive- at times extremely rude. They have zero respect for their customers. All they care about is the sale. SHAME ON THEM.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I deserve financial compensation for hiring an attorney and the months of stress related to resolving the DMV and CHP issues. I would also like to see that they have changed how they handle making sure the cars they sell are legal.

12/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came in made a down payment of $1300 for the 2013 sonata. They said financing was fine at 14.99% which is high but someone hit my parked car and totaled it. I took the car home...Two weeks later they tell me to come in and bring $500 and they will drop the monthly payment to $260 I went in again and they lied to me. Now they said the loan fell through and I had to give them an additional $1900 or lose the car. They held me there for 5 hours. They made me try to find a co signer in short notice...I was calling everywhere. Now im a single mom stuck with $378 monthly payment and 22% apr

Desired Settlement: i just want a fair deal. i want a car that will be dependable for me to drive my child to school and for me to go to work. that's not asking for much.

Business Response:

    • We’re very sorry that you’ve had so much trouble with your car. We understand how frustrated you must be. We’d like a chance to discuss this with you. Please contact *** ******** at ***** ********.

7/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I purchased a 2011 Toyota Prius on 3/14/14 from Surf City Nissan. Upon delivery and after paying/signing for the vehicle,I noted that the window tinting on the passenger side front door window was fogged and slightly obstructed my view of the side view mirror. This defect was not made apparent to me upon my pre-inspection of the vehicle. While reading the owners manual,I learned that the correct oil required in the vehicle is a 0/20 motor oil.I called Surf City Nissan's service department,and inquired about which motor oil they used in the vehicle on their recent service.I was informed by their service advisor that a 5/30 motor oil was used. When I purchased the vehicle I was informed that the car only came with one key/remote. After doing some research I learned a replacement key was very expensive $247.00.I called the salesmen at Surf City regarding the key. He stated he would attempt to retrieve the key from the previous owner. After a weeks time,I was told the owner had the 2nd key and would return it. After some time,I then was informed that the owner couldn't locate the key after all. I purchased a replacement key, had the correct oil installed into the vehicle,and had the window tinting corrected.I then called the dealership back and spoke with *** D'******. Mr.D'****** informed me that it is their policy to sell vehicles with at least two keys. Mr.D'****** requested the invoices for my expenditures.I sent Mr.D'****** the invoices via email. After several phone calls to Mr.D'****** over the course of two weeks,I was informed that I would not be reimbursed. Mr.D'******'s reasoning was that the correct oil was used in the vehicle,and that I had been previously informed I would not be receiving a second key. Mr.D'****** would not discuss the window tinting issue. In all, I have spent $339.00 to correct issues to a vehicle that I paid the full retail price for.During the sale, I was informed that the vehicle was it top notch shape with a current service that had just been performed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for my expenditures toward correcting the incorrect oil used in the vehicle, the foggy window tinting, and the missing key/remote.

Business Response: ****, thank you for taking the time to speak with us and resolve your concerns. Should you need anything further, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hello, I have spoken with both *** D'****** and ***** ***** on several occasions over the course of approximately two weeks, regarding my issues. I provided both parties with documentation regarding my expenses toward the vehicle I purchased on March 14, 2014. Both Mr. Smith and Mr. D'****** have denied that my concerns are valid, and they have both refused to offer any type of compensation toward my expenditures. Expenditures that were necessary to make the vehicle I purchased from the dealership safe, and in good working order. I am very frustrated with the fact that during my initial telephone conversation with Mr. D'******, he stated that is was the dealership's policy to provide their customers with two keys to the vehicles they sold. Mr. D'****** has since denied stating this to me.

I had expected a higher level of customer service from a long standing accredited Better Business Bureau member.


Regards,

**** *********

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/4/13 I purchased a new Nissan Frontier. The truck cost $27,729.42. I wrote a check for $20,000 and traded in my 2001 Xterra and financed the rest at 3.99%. I was told my complete satisfaction was guaranteed. Returned the vehicle 10/8/13 because it had problems. The service dept denied the problems. My salesman told me they would rescind the truck purchase and get me into a vehicle that made me happy. I found a used Xterra for roughly $20,000. My salesman went to start the paperwork, but was told by the sales manager that I would have to come back tomorrow because a different sales manager was the only one who could deal with that used vehicle. This made no sense to me and I later found out if was not true. After waiting all day without food or water, the first document I had to sign was transferring the truck back to the dealer. The contract was the very last document after signing about 25 other docs. The contract was confusing and not properly explained. The 7 year warranty shown on the sticker was not honored and I had to pay $2195 extra for it. They changed my interest rate to 4.89% without telling me and charged me twice for the step rails that could've been transferred from the truck to the used Xterra. The Xterra had a door dent they failed to disclose on the Certified Inspection Report and said I would have to pay for repairs. I complained about everything but they stood firm. If I didn't sign, I wouldn't have a car to get home. Then to realize they didn't rescind the truck purchase, they transferred the truck loan amount plus charged an additional $4000 on top of that. My used 2011, dented Xterra that was $20,050.00 just cost me $31,729.54 plus interest @4.89%. I've tried numerous times to resolve this issue with the dealer, but they said their word doesn't matter...only the customer's signature on the contact matters. They lied and took advantage of me. This is not the right way to treat a loyal Nissan customer of 35 years. I'm very stressed and can't sleep...this is not right. Product_Or_Service: 2013 Nissan Frontier Order_Number: R.O.S. #******** Account_Number: Contract #*****, Sto

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They need to honor what they promised me-to rescind the truck purchase. The contract is not fair. I trusted them! I gave them $20,000 and my old Xterra - my only car and all my savings! I shouldn't have to pay for a vehicle I don't own. The Frontier truck only has 212 miles on it...they will be able to sell it close to sticker price. My second choice would be for them to take back the used 2011, dented Xterra and give me a NEW Xterra and main

Business Response: *****, we value that trust you put in our dealership, and hope to resolve your complaint so that you can feel that trust again. Please contact our General Manager, ***** *****, at 714-500-6001.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you for responding.  I had hoped that since someone at Surf City Nissan finally responded to the BBB that they decided to do the right thing.  It appears this is not the case.  I've left several phone messages on Mr. ***** *****'s voicemail, but he won't respond.   It appears they have no intention of making things right or even contacting me to discuss their illegal behavior.

Regards,

***** ****** *********

6/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Surf City Nissan in 2011 and while I haven't had the vehicle in several years I continue to get calls, emails and text messages from Surf City Nissan. I have gotten calls from the sales department and the service center. I have requested in writing and verbally with numerous people (at all levels) and finally a month or two ago stated verbally to someone that if I received another call I was going to contact the BBB. In two days I have received two calls and voicemails and atext mmessage from Surf City Nissan.

Desired Settlement: I want Surf City Nissan to stop contacting me.

Business Response: We are so sorry for all of the calls. We have removed you from our system, so you should no longer receive communication from our dealership. Thank you for your patience. 

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested cancellation of my extended warranty, the finance manager agreed to cancel my extended warranty. I signed the paper to have it cancelled and six months later, Im still waiting for my refund. I've gone multiple times to the dealership and left several multiple voice mails with the finance manager, still waiting for that return call. Even Nissan finance never received the paper work to have the warranty removed and credit back my account. Ill never by a car again from this dealership, customer service is very poor and thats being nice. Product_Or_Service: **** ****** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to get my extended warranty credited and a check mailed to me.

Business Response: ******, we’re sorry to hear that you’ve had such a negative experience with our dealership. Our goal is to always give our customers unsurpassable customer service, and the fact that you feel we have fallen short of that is something that we take very seriously. We would like to discuss your situation in more detail and come to a resolution. Please contact our General Manager,  ***** ****** at *************

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Arizona and purchased my truck from Surf City in Huntington Beach, CA. They drove the truck out to me in AZ with a temporary registration made out to my Arizona home address. Then they charged me $297 and registered the truck in CA incorrectly. I have made countless calls and sent a number of emails that have gone mostly unanswered. When I asked to be reimbursed for the improper registration, *** ******** the sales manager finally agreed to send me a check. That was over 3 weeks ago and it has not arrived yet. He said to call in 10 days if it doesnt arrive. When I call and ask for *** he is always on the phone and will never call me back. Its too bad Nissan allows this kind of lack of service to go on. By the way today is November 8, 2013 and I purchased the truck July 30th. Product_Or_Service: **** ****** ****** **

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my $297 back that the charged me for improper registration.

Business Response: ****, we appreciate your review of our dealership as it allows us to ensure that we offer the best customer service possible, and resolve any issues that we may be unaware of. We hope that you have received the promised check. If not, please contact our General Manager, ***** *****, at *************

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised me the car I was lease was the model of the advertised offer, now they say that is not the car I got. I live in SD and Nissan has a leased special on 20113 model *****. No dealer in SD had one in stock so I looked in Orange Counts and found 3 dealers that did. I spoke to **** at Surf City Nissan via their chat and asked if the 20113 they had in stock were still there and that I would drive up the next day (weekday)and get it. **** assured me it would be there and we touched base the next day when I was heading up there. When I got there, (2 hours later)**** was not there and either where the cars so everyone scrambled around to locate them. Another sales associate went to pick on up at their sister dealership and I said to him to make sure it was the correct car because I wasn't paying more. ( I am very aware of these sales tactics). He assured me that I would be getting the lease deal I drove all that way for. When they got back with the car there was no mention of it not being the one advertised (which they have several listed with model number 20113 to date (with same lease offer) nor did they discuss that there was a change in price, so no negotiating was done and they sent me strait to finance. In Finance Flavio did not mention it either. we quickly went over the contracts no amounts were pointed out and I am not a math-magician anyway so I wouldn't have noticed that I was not getting the lease special advertised. I have gone round and round with them and they are saying I didn't get the car that I went up there for. And will not rewrite my lease to reflect what was promised. Accusing me for having buyers remorse and so on.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the lease they promised me and rewrite and refund the difference. It is not my fault if the sales associate brought back the wrong car. I was led to believe it was model 20113 and was the car I drove there for and I was getting that lease.

Business Response:

******, thank you for sharing your experience with us. It certainly sounds like there has been some miscommunication, and we would like to take the opportunity to clarify what occurred to see if there is anything more we can do for you. Please contact our General Manager, ***** *****, at ************* We look forward to hearing from you.

 

4/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For a period of time Surf City contacted me to come into their center for servicing. I declined once and stated I would be seeking service from another center (Garden Grove). I continued to receive annoying phone calls from Surf City directly, including my sales person to get me in to use their services. ...I am now receiving out of country calls and nasty, aggressive calls from other in country calling centers. This level of harrasment is not right and I believe that Surf City sold my information to a vehicle warranty company with a less than stellar reputation. I find it distrubing that my information can be handed off in such a manor and cause me such a great incovience to receive over 6 calls in a 24 hour period at all times in the day. These calls specifically reference the car that I purchased from Surf City Nissan and is the main reason why I am filing a complaint against them specifically.

Desired Settlement: I would like all calls to cease regarding vehicle warrantys that are not solicited by myself specifically. If this can be done, then I am willing to over the look the cost in phone charges which are beginning to add up. If nothing is done regarding these calls, then I will review my bill to account for the minutes used, and provide an amount of compensation that will be required for replayment by Surf City Nissan as they have been the crux of all of this.

Business Response: *****, we can understand the frustration that comes from receiving unwanted calls. We will remove you from our system so that you will cease to receive calls from our dealership. Please know that we  never sold, nor will we ever, any of our customers’ information, including yours. If other companies have accessed your information, it is by other means than through our dealership. We value and respect our customers’ privacy. If you would like to discuss this in further detail, please contact our General Manager, ***** *****, at ************.

5/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues