This business is not BBB accredited.

Selman Chevrolet Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 879-5485 View Additional Phone Numbers 1800 E Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92867 http://www.selmanchevy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new vehicles for retail.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Selman Chevrolet Company include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Selman Chevrolet Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 03/08/1960 in CA Business incorporated 05/04/1962 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 00494.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 3847.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Selman Jr., Owner Mr. Mike Schaffer, Collision Center Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Schaffer, Collision Center Manager
Principal: Mr. Bill Selman Jr., Owner
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Mobile Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1800 E Chapman Ave

    Orange, CA 92867 (714) 633-3521 (888) 879-5485

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 31

    Orange, CA 92856

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2007 GMC Acadia in for a new headlight on the driver side. After 3 hours **** in service called to advise me that the headlamp could not simply be replaced because the internal casing that holds the headlamp was broken and could not be fixed. I asked him how that could be broken without any external damage and he said he didn't know, that it could only be broken internally and it was strange for it to be broken. The only way to fix it would be to replace the entire headlamp casing. The cost to repair it would be $605.63. I refused this service. Now my left blinker is also no longer operating. ****** Chevrolet obviously broke the casing during the instillation of the headlamp but refuses to take liability. I called and explained he situation to Rich in management and after looking into the claim, he explained that **** the tech that worked on my arcadia claims it was broken when he went in there, and ****** will not take liability at this time. Strange that after taking my truck in more is broken than before. Yet no one can explain how something was broken internally.

Desired Settlement: I would like Selman Chevrolet to pay for the repair of the front left headlamp assembly to be done at Connell Chevrolet in Costa Mesa because I do not trust Selman to do the repair themselves.

Business Response:

Unfortunately Mr. ****** headlamp was not able to be repaired by simply changing the bulb. The headlamp housing was indeed damaged prior to our inspection as was communicated to Mr. ******. 

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car been hit from behind while I was stopped in traffic back in February 2013, it went through Mercury Insurance and the party that hit me accepted 100% liability, I had my car repaired at Selman Chevrolets Body Shop in Orange Ca. So far everything has been fixed except the passenger front door which I am writing this complaint about. After the accident it didn't close properly, requiring more force to close then it should. The result is every front passenger getting out of my car fails to close the door the first time and has to walk back to re-close it. This was never the case before the accident. I expect my car to be repaired to the condition it was in before the accident and that means having a properly functioning passenger door. This body shop has messed up on so many other items that have subsequently been resolved. When my car was finally fixed after 3 months I noticed many things where not fixed. For starters the first time they called me to pick it up I couldn't because when I got there and turned the engine on it ran extremely rough. I complained to them that the engine vibrations have not been fixed so they kept it for another week or two until they replaced the blown out transmission mount they failed to do originally. Then once I actually got the car back I noticed my alignment was off and Selman Chevrolets body shop denied the alignment being off and kept insisting that it was just the roads slant. I knew it wasn't and so I took it into another shop and they did an alignment on it and the problem was solved. Ever since I got the car back they have left a plastic trim piece from the trunk (claiming they couldn't find one) and I called back for months to check if they found one and the answer always came back negative. I complained to Selman Chevrolets Body Shop Manager on Monday and they where able to find the trim piece by Tuesday, in the next state over. This was July 29 Product_Or_Service: Car repair Account_Number: ****************

Desired Settlement:  I would like Selman Chevrolets Body Shop to fix my passenger door to the condition it was in before the person rear ended my car while it was stopped in traffic. I want it fully functioning (not requiring the passenger to come back and close it again every time.

Business Response: This is **** ********, I am the Collision Center Manager for Selman Chevrolet. I am responding to **** ******'s Repair Issue on Case #********.

The passenger front door condition that Mr ****** is complaining about is not related to the repair we completed. This was also confimed via re-inspection by Mercury Insurance when Mr ****** brought his car back for the trim peice.

We will be taking no further action on this matter.

Thank you

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the Selam Chevrolet to have my car fixed. The issue was a piece of sticky rubber lining coming out of the gear shift. The lining needed to be replaced to secure the gear shift correctly. The dealership said they fixed this and replaced it, yet you can see the lining was simply cut out and not replaced. I also needed to have my keyless entry serviced (my dash alert screen said it needed to be). The dealership also said this didn't need to be serviced that it was looked at and it was fine. The next day the light came on again for the service keyless entry. I also called GM to complain about these issues not being fixed correctly and my car is still under warranty. I also paid for the GM Protection Plan that covers additional items the warranty does not cover. I was told my issue would be submitted to the representative for my area and my car would be fixed. I have yet to hear back from them and it has been over a month. This is a violation of my service contract not only on the specific dealerships part but also on GM Motors.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car fixed ASAP and or a refund for the purchase of my additional warranty since it is not being honored.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Selman Chevrolet Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart