This business is not BBB accredited.

Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 444-5303 View Additional Phone Numbers 2524 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 http://www.ocauto.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/30/2001 in CA Business incorporated 07/21/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 48940.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 265903.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 271392. On 3/10/2015 BBB confirmed that the license from Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego expired.

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 80076. On 3/10/2015 BBB confirmed that the license from DMV Occupational Licensing expired.

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 48475.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Gray, Owner Ms. Armina Mgerian, CFO Mr. Jeff Peters, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Gray, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Armina Mgerian, CFO
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Costa Arancione LLC Costa Mesa Fiat Fiat of Costa Mesa Orange Coast Auto Group Orange Coast Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge of San Juan Capistrano Orange Coast Dodge Orange Coast Fiat Orange Coast FIAT of Costa Mesa Orange Coast Jeep Orange Coast Jeep Chrysler Orange Coast Motorsports Orange Coast Preowned Store Talon Automotive Group LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2524 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2929 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (714) 549-8023 (866) 421-1295 (877) 330-6387 (714) 444-5303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    32881 Camino Capistrano

    San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1980

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had one of their employees helping me replace a lemon car that I got from the Chrysler Company. ******* had told me that he sent the trade information to our finance company to the trade but never sent anything to the finance company. Apperently he just got demoted from his position and no longer can help me with my trade. He referred me to another employee named *****. I contacted ***** at the same dealership and they just told me that they can no longer help me with trade in. ******* made me wait almost two months, thinking everything was coming through but it was all a lie. I contacted my case manager about the situation and he is sending me to another dealership. What I don't like is that these dealerships have the guts to lie to us for two months and then screw us over. It really was nothing but false information. You guys need to keep these dealerships on check

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

 

At Orange Coast, our Lemon Law Buyback policy stands to serve our customers who have originally purchased their vehicles at Orange Coast.  Unfortunately, it appears this guideline was not clearly communicate upfront.  For that inconvenience, we here at Orange Coast sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we’ve caused. 

 

Our mission at Orange Coast is to provide an easy and convenient car buying experience.  We are constantly training our employees on our policy and procedures; therefore we will use your experience to continually educate our sales team on our guiding principles.

 

If you would like to discuss, further please don’t hesitate to contact me.  

 

Thanks,

*** ******

Director, Operations & Strategy

Orange Coast Auto Group

Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge/Ram

Fiat/Alfa Romeo/OC Motorsports

******************

C (**** ********

3/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OC FIAT has ads posted for their 500e. $129 + tax per month. 12 free rental car days. $2500 back from the state of California. No where is it mentioned Drive off fees, terms, or that you need a current lease in order to receive that deal. As a consumer it looks like 129 a month to me for 10,000 miles a year and that's it. The same goes for their other ads. "An advertisement that failed to disclose all conditions required to take advantage of an offer"

Desired Settlement: Fix your advertising. It's misleading and a poor business practice.

Business Response:

Dear *********

 

I could not reply to this complain directly thru BBB. We had advertising company upload a banner to our site and due to the size it cutoff the bottom of the banner where 1 line of the  disclosures is pertaining to drive offs.

Customers did receive email from us disclosing drive offs at $1499.00.

It is currently being fixed and actually ***** **** is working for a competitior dealer Bob Baker FIAT and claiming to be a customer.

Please close the file as he is aware of the mistake.

 

 

 

****** *******

CFO

Talon Automotive Group

Orange Coast Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge

Orange Coast Alfa Romeo and FIAT

***** *** ****
*******************

***************************  ****

 

This email and any attachments contain information from Orange Coast Auto Group and are intended solely for the use of the named recipient or recipients. This email may contain privileged customer/client communications or work product. Any dissemination of this email by anyone other than an intended recipient is strictly prohibited. If you are not a named recipient, you are prohibited from any further viewing of the email or any attachments or from making any use of the email or attachments. If you believe you have received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and permanently delete the email, any attachments, and all copies thereof from any drives or storage media and destroy any printouts of the email or attachments.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2014 Ram 1500 truck and it was missing the fender flairs. I noticed when I got home and checked the vehicle for all listed options on the window sticker. When I brought it to the dealership's attention they made me bring in the vehicle because a photograph was not sufficient. When I brought it in on a Saturday they explained that the service department was closed and I had to come back when it was open. I returned on a weekday and they told me they'd order the part to get it installed. Once it was installed there were huge gouges in all four fender flairs, but they couldn't do anything since they had to clear it with the manager. I was told to come back again during a weekday when the manager was on site. The manager authorized the repair of all four fender flairs so I left the truck with them a second time. When I returned to pickup the truck again the damage was still present to a lesser extent. The manager agreed this was still unacceptable and wanted to order to flairs to be installed again. He called to report the new flairs were also damaged and were not fit to be installed. He asked if there were any options I would accept and I wanted to be reimbursed for all my time and costs to get the vehicle in the condition of a new vehicle. Since I had to take time off of work (3 hours per trip) and fuel costs to drive the 60 miles round trip each time, I wanted to be compensated since this is their issue and I had to make five trips so far and the problem is still there. They are no longer returning my calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I gave them several options: 1. Continue to attempt to repair the fenders at their cost and reimburse me for my time and fuel costs (currently $1000 based on 3 hours per trip and 60 miles driven per trip (5 trips so far)). 2. I will take my truck to a body shop of my choice to get the fenders fixed and they will reimburse me for the work plus my time as stated above. 3. Replace my wheels and tires (including spare) at no additional cost to me. 4. Take back my truck and refund my full purchase price including all interest and fees paid. 5. Exchange my truck for another new truck with the same options I have on my current truck at no additional cost to me.

Business Response:

On January 6th,  Orange Coast CJDR’s offered *** ****** four new wheel flares provided directly from Chrysler at no cost to him (approx. $700.00 value) and Orange Coast would reimburse *** ****** the labor and supplies to have the flares installed at a body shop of his choice.  Orange Coast also offered to have the Orange Coast Parts Department ship *** ****** the flares directly to his home, so he would not have to drive to the dealership.  In addition, we offered to have OC Motorsports (a division of the Orange Coast Auto Group) sell him the wheels of his choice at our discounted rate and pay to have the OC Motorsports technicians install the wheels at no expense to him.  Lastly, Orange Coast offered to fill up *** ****** truck due to the one extra trip he had to make to Orange Coast for the second set of flares our body shop put on.

On January 7th, Orange Coast’s Service Director **** ****** followed up with an email to *** ****** asking him how he would like to proceed with our offer.  

As of 1/21, *** ****** has not replied.

 

 

 

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I went in to the OC Fiat studio in order to lease a 2015 Fiat 500e. We had very stringent budgetary constraints; so we had a clear outline of our cost and mileage limits. After much negotiating, we finally settled on a deal that worked for our budget with a reasonable monthly payment, down payment, and 12k miles per year provision for the lease. The yearly mileage allowance for the lease was critical as this car was intended to be a commuter. So once our desired terms were met, we stepped into the finance office and very carefully read the contract including all the fine print. Then, we signed the papers and left with our newly leased Fiat 500e. However, only a few days later, the finance office called me informing me that THEY had made a mistake in signing the contract. They were fine with the down, monthly, and all other costs; but they didn't want to uphold the contract at the signed 12k mile allowance. Over the phone they explained that we would need to pay the difference in the amount of mileage allowance. Of course the contract was signed and we politely declined but they insisted and said they would submit the paperwork to the bank with the mileage being listed at 10k instead of the 12k (even though the signed contract said 12k). They basically told us; although we signed the contract for 12k miles, we will turn in falsified paperwork to the bank showing 10k miles and it would be left to us to pay the difference and deal with the bank. I responded by saying that this is unacceptable and unethical and I mentioned that I planned on writing a Yelp review of the service. At this point, the finance office replied that they would write a Yelp review of me personally and threatened to call my current employer as a means of coercing me to change the terms of the contract. This is completely out of line, unnecessary, unethical and does not represent the dealerships own "bill of customer rights" which are posted on the wall.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for OC Fiat to either remove their customer bill of rights from the wall because they do not adhere to them, or to remove the "core value" of integrity from their website. The website lists Integrity as being a core value as they seek to " Maintain the highest moral standards by demonstrating honesty and fairness in every action we take". Yet their actions, verbal threats, their telling me they would submit the paperwork to the bank at a different mileage than the contract stated, and the ir desire to change a lease contract all speak in stark contrast to their core value. In addition, they hung up the phone on me, and when they finally decided to void the contract all together and make a complete refund; they stalled in returning the money, and claimed to have sent the check when they hadn't. The honesty and integrity of this studio is on par with our lease contract: it is void.

Business Response:

Dear *******

I sincerely apologize for my teams mistake of contracting you in 12k per year miles as all the numbers that were negotiated with you back and forth were for 10k miles per year. Like I said in my email thru Yelp I was not aware of the situation and will ensure my team receives additional training how to prevent mistakes like this in the future.

One of our core values are to have Happy customers and while I understand we can not make everyone happy we can ensure they have a positive buying experience. In your case the sales person went back and forth few times to get the payments reduced and the miles were left at original terms not what your desired payment would allow. I was also told you found another studio with better terms and wanted to lease from them.

Again I thank you for your feedback and will ensure my team gets me involved in the future.

Thank you

 

****** *******

General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle with a strict contingency - that the vehicle is to be used for Livery purpose and REQUIRES commerical registration. I made this clear to the salesperson, the sales manager and finance associate - each on several occasions. On each occasion, the respective party assured me they would register the the car as a commerical registration. At one point the salesperson went to "double check" and confirmed we were okay to move forward with the contingency. I confirmed again with the finance associate, because I did not see any documentation to reflect this and he assured me that because we were listing "No Worries Transit Inc" As the lienholder then it would be registered as a commerial registration and that the proper process was in place. The sales team had a duty to deliver their side of the deal but instead they mislead me, in full knowledge they were simply registering the vehicle in a traditional fashion. Once I received the registration and determined that it was not accurate the dealership has been trying, still until this day to correct the registration. I understand they have now (3 months later) corrected the registration but have still not sent me the registration or stickers for the plates. As a direct result of this gross negligence, I have been unable to provide necessary doucmentation (commerical registration) to the California Public Utilities Commssion. The PUC allows 90 days to submit all documentation to them or you do forfeit all fees. In this case I lost $1000 to the PUC, $165 to drug screening, $20 to adverstising, and $1148 in human resource costs, and $1000 in intangible losses. The DMV rep at OC Dodge has been helpful to hte best of her ability but the Management has done nothing to reimburse me for the damages they have created as a result of their sales team's behavior. Management has not replied to my email. OC Dodge is violation of the CA Civil Code 1770 and 15 U.S. Code § 45.

Desired Settlement: Unwind the sale of the vehicle and reimburse for all losses.

Business Response:

Customer did not notify in writing how he needs his vehicle to be registered. We completed registration in 2 days and discovered that he needed it to be commercial. We contacted his bank which took time to release the title to the dealership so we can correct.

Once customers bank released the title and we received that dealership corrected the issue and registered vehicle as a commercial.

When a customer purchases a new car Dealership has 30 days to complete registration so if a business owner decided to hire the driver by taking a chance and not having a registration especially when he purchased a new vehicle we as a dealership cannot control his process and should not be responsible to reimburse him for hiring personnel prior to finalizing paperwork for his new purchase.

He did not write anywhere it is commercial and states that communicated verbally. He also signed a document stating no verbal promises are made to him that everything is in writing. Once he notified us of a problem we expedited and cured the issue to his satisfaction.

 

THANK YOU

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is not accurate. It is NOT to my satisfaction. Your staff advised me that I could not write on the contract or it would be voided. I did not notify you after the fact. I notified your staff several times in advance.  Your dishonesty is right in line with the experience I have had with the rest of the team there. I will now proceed file a complaint with the Ftc and California attorney general in light of such diabolical behavior

Regards,

****** ********



12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently bought a 2012 Dodge Durango from this dealership. They insisted that I could take the car home and the only money needed down was $300. My paperwork was signed on Oct. 4th. 2 weeks went by...no word on any issues. I was ensured on multiple occasions by 2 different people that my deal was 'approved' and had nothing to worry about, they were just waiting on funding from the bank. 12 days after the contract was signed I received a voicemail stating that I would be receiving a letter asking me to bring the car back, to disregard because this is something that ALL customers are sent while waiting for their deal to fund. WHAT?? I have purchased several cars in my lifetime and have never had a deal take this long nor have I ever been sent a letter stating that I would have to bring back a car. This letter was postmarked the 14th...exactly 11 days from the date the contract was signed. Hmmmm...per my father (an attorney) and several other attorneys I consulted with, this is a binding contract as it was written and signed (when it is outside the 10 day Seller Right to Cancel window). I spoke to ****** the Finance Manager stating that I didnt need to bring back the car and that he would call me once the loan funded Monday, the 20th. I received a 'text message' today stating that my deal had funded, but there was one more thing....???....they needed an additional $350 plus interest since the pay-off written on the contract was wrong and they have taken so long to get the transaction done. I'm Confused. Isn't it the responsibility of the dealer and/or bank to obtain correct information prior to deal being funded? Apparently not...apparently it is very common for dealers to use the 'bait and switch' tactic on customers with less than perfect credit to have them take the car home, tell them they are approved, and then search for financing. Seems backwards to me. I am now being asked to sign a new contract.

Desired Settlement: Honor the contract as it was written and signed as of Oct. 4th, 2014 being that all changes made outside the (10 day Seller right to cancel) be null and void as they had ample time to secure the required information and notify me accordingly.

Business Response:

Dear customer

 

Bank was having difficulty getting hold of you per their funder and we had by law to send out 10 day cancellation letter, while trying to obtain other finance options for you. Your vehicle financing was completed on 10/20/14 and finalized. We apologize for inconvenience that this may cause and thank you for your feedback.

Happy Thanksgiving and hope you are enjoying your vehicle.

 

Thank you

 

****** *******

CFO

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OC Fiat lists new cars on a site called Cargurus.com with cars listed at almost half off, the site allows you to send an email to have the dealer contact you. On 8/10/14, I was contacted by ******* Ahmadpour, Internet Sales Manager, and he denied having such an ad placed with those prices. I went back on the site and the cars were pulled off the site. However, they reappeared on Tues 8/12/14-Thur 8/14/14, so I contacted the salesperson I initially dealt with when I went to OC Fiat in July but she was busy with a customer so I left a message and did not receive a call back. I emailed ******* regarding the ad, no response and emailed again via Cargurus.com and no response. Yesterday I called again and was put in touch with ***** ******, Customer Relations and was told the price included discounts/rebates which total $10k; however, he was not aware of the ad and could not explain the additional price difference. Then he went to the Fiat USA site (Company website) and said there is a $3k rebate for San Joaquin residents, which might make up the difference. This company is based in Orange County, CA nowhere near San Joaquin! Basically, when I said I'd report OC Fiat to the BBB for Bait & Switch tactics and that they have laws against this practice to protect consumers especially in the car industry, he asked what I wanted and I said the car at the price advertised, which he couldn't do. I've copied one of the ads from the Carsguru site below. Thank you for your help in investigating this dealership. 2015 FIAT 500e Base - $17,014 Dealer's Price: $17,014 MSRP: $33,150 Location: Costa Mesa, CA Transmission: 6-Speed Automatic Exterior Color: Electric Orange Tri-coat Pearlcoat Exterior Colour Interior Color: Black Interior Colour Nero (Black) Nero (Black) Ne Seller: Dealer VIN: ***************** Condition: New

Desired Settlement: They've had as many as three cars listed on the Cargurus site with similar pricing. I have found by watching the site, the low priced cars appear, disappear and then reappear. I would like to be able to purchase one of the 2015 Fiat 500e at the listed price of $17k without a hassle.

Business Response: Dear customer

We do not advertise with car gurus.
As you know the MSRP on those vehicles is apx 33000 plus not 17000.00.
I myself cannot purchase nor lease one for that price.
Please let me know what is the best number and we can find out the exact issue.
Again we do not have any advertising with car gurus and if there is any of our cars advertised I will open investigation with them unless the name of advertiser is incorrect.
Thank you
****** *******
General Manager
 

8/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2011, I bought a 2012 Fiat 500 Sport. I clearly remember at the time that I felt uneasy with the Sales Manager, *** *********. I had done a lot of research prior to going to the dealership... most important of which was calculating my possible payment options with trading in a 2003 4Runner V8 Sport in very good condition with lower than average mileage. I also had great credit. That being said, I was quoted a monthly lease rate almost triple to my calculations so I walked. Of course, he came and got me and continued negotiating with me for another hour. He told me he was going to "play with the numbers"until he could get it to a price that worked for me. I left not thrilled with the experience but I had a car. Three years later, the end of my lease is coming. I've been satisfied with the car and figured my purchasing price would be pretty low considering that my 4Runner was valued at well over $10,000 per KBB at the time of trade in. It was even quoted as such by the dealership. I pulled the lease and low and behold my purchasing price (residual value) is over $12,000. The MSRP was not even $22,000 (thinking $10,000+ for the trade in plus $12,000+ for purchase now) at the time that I signed the lease. Additionally, a 2012 Fiat 500 Sport is not currently worth over $12,000 according to KBB. So how is it that my residual value/purchasing price is so high? At closer inspection of the lease, the Sales Manager did indeed "play with the numbers." He played with them so much that he lowered the originally quoted trade-in value from well over $10,000 to $3,200. If I still owned that car today (taking into account additional annual mileage), it would be worth over double that according to KBB. I kick myself for 1) not continuing to walk out of the dealership when I had the chance 3 years ago and 2) not reading all the final details on the lease I signed to insure what the Manager said to me was the same as he wrote on the lease.

Desired Settlement: I had intended to purchase the car at the end of my lease and I would still like to but only if my original trade in value is adjusted. Otherwise, the car has no worth to me unless I pay another $12,000+ for a car that is currently worth less. Additionally, I am out a substantial investment ($10,000+ trade in plus 3 years of $190+ per month lease payments)... All for a car that's purchasing price was $17,230 at time of lease. Something is very wrong with this math or I've been paying 65% interest on a 36 month lease.

Business Response:

Dear ****
 
I reviewed your email and complaint with BBB. Claim id ********.
The msrp of the vehicle you purchased was 21400.00. *** ********* gave you the best possible price that you could find and leased the vehicle to you for $16301.40 per your contract. That is about $5098.60 in savings. Regarding trade in vehicle it had 131145 mils and he did again his best and gave you retail value on your vehicle that was wholesaled unit per miles. We do not retail vehicles over 100000 miles and over 6 years old. Appraised value on your vehicle 3 years ago was $3000.00 he gave you $3200.05 for your vehicle with 131145 miles.
Looking at your contract your purchase price at the end of the lease shows $9844.00 plus disposition fees and of course I am not sure if there is a mile charge or not.

We do not have control over residual value but we have control over the price that you leased  for and you received huge discount when you leased the vehicle in 2011.

Per your complaint you think that you owe more maybe you are given wrong information? Your contract stated $9844.00 plus disposition fee. I think you are given wrong information or you are reading your lease contract wrong.
 
Thank you
 

****** *******
CFO

8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My biggest complaint is around their honesty in presenting offers and assembling payment packages. Both the sales team and the finance promised that a warranty package was included in the purchase of the car, but when I received my first loan statement, they had included the cost $4k on top of the purchase price. When I explained the situation to them their response was "I understand how you could get confused but there is nothing we can do". I think this is the essence of slimy, deceitful and misleading car sales process. Of course I was confused because this was their intent by not being truthful with me. This dealership is the reason why stereotypes exist around the car buying process. We were looking at several dealerships and chose this one based on this compelling offer of the warranty, but come to find out it is not compelling at all, they just lied about how it was included in the purchase price. Both my wife and I were shocked when we received the paperwork. I worked with sales guy name ****** and ***** in finance. They obviously have this process down of promising you the warranty in the purchase, but adding it in on later. Truly a terrible practice and I can't believe I was duped.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of promised deal at the time of sales agreement with ****** ******.

Business Response: We refunded customer $4000.00 and he was suppose to remove the complain

 

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I drove from Bakersfield to Orange County to look at an 2005 Ford Mustang GT that was offered for sale by Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge. Upon arrival we looked at the vehicle and went on an test drive. We decided that we liked the vehicle and considered making an offer. We made our offer after viewing the CARFAX vehicle report. The CARFAX showed no liens or damage on the vehicle. The sales transaction was on 01/29/2011 (date of purchase). On 06/09/2014 my wife and I decided to purchase another used car from Bill Wright Toyota in Bakersfield, CA. I was using my 2005 Ford Mustang GT as a trade in for the vehicle we bought in Bakersfield. The dealership in Bakersfield requested a CARFAX vehicle report on my 2005 Mustang GT. The CARFAX came back and showed that the vehicle was in a collision, which was reported to CARFAX on: 10/02/2010. The CARFAX that Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge as mentioned above showed no accidents or liens. I have been in contact with **** **** owner of (dba) Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge. Mr. **** explained this sometimes happens and they did not know the vehicle had been into an accident. I explained that the CARFAX vehicle report that was given to me at the time of sale was over a month old. Mr. **** states that the only thing they have to rely on is the CARFAX report as being accurate. My problem with that whole idea is: the CARFAX was outdated by over a month. Why did the dealership (not) run another CARFAX at the time of sale, when I purchased the vehicle on 01/29/2011. If the dealership would have requested the CARFAX on 01/29/2011 the accident very well could have shown on the report then. I ended up accepting $8,000.00 as the trade-in value from Bill Wright Toyota, in Bakersfield. The Mustangs Kelly Blue Book value for dealer trade-in is in the mid $13,000.00 in (good condition) range, with 48k mi. At the minimum I have lost $5,000.00 due to Orange Coast. This seems very shady to say the least to me. According to CARFAX Orange Coast Chrysler Jeep Dodge had the vehicle in inventory from: 11/28/2010 to 01/29/2011.

Desired Settlement: I am asking to be reimbursed $5,000.00 for the deficiency in the Trade-In value due to lack of disclosure of the accident. I should have been given an updated CARFAX upon purchase.

Business Response: We contacted customer to do inspection of the vehicle. He stated that traded the vehicle 2 days prior to sending the letter.

We also contacted carfax to find out when was the report of the accident posted on carfax and received letter from them that it was on March 2011.
Based on those facts we did notify customer that we did not fail to disclose as we had no knowledge in January of 2011.
We contacted prior owner and he stated there were no accidents in his car prior to trading to us.
Not having the vehicle to inspect we find customers dispute amount to have no bases and especially on our end.
I responded to the email address that was attached to the original letter already with attachment from Carfax.
Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 The dealership could have very well provided an updated CARFAX vehicle report at time of purchase. Moreover; Orange Coast did not provide any such documentation. The CARFAX vehicle history report was out dated by more than one month. The General Manager of Orange Coast had said she would inspect the vehicle here in Bakersfield, CA as I had informed her that the vehicle was still at the car lot we used to buy our new vehicle. The 2005 Mustang was used as a trade-in and to this day is still on the Bakersfield lot. The Manager at the dealership here in Bakersfield had no problem with the inspection being performed, but never transpired. Orange Coast took no action to inspect the 2005 Ford Mustang. It seems to be one untruth after another with this company and the owner *** ****. The General Manager had the nerve to insinuate that I may have done some damage to the vehicle. I did not own the vehicle when CARFAX received information the vehicle had been in an collision. The owner (*** ****) and GSM know my intentions and I will be happy to oblige.
Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

Dealership was advised about the issue via email and letter dated 6/13/14. We immediately contacted customer to have him bring the vehicle for inspection and contacted Carfax and mailed consumer a letter from Carfax stating that they were first aware of the issue in March of 2011.

Dealership did run the Carfax report on the day it took the car in trade. even if we were to run an new one Per Carfax it was not on the Carfax report. Consumer choose to sell the vehicle and then ask for reimbursement. Consumer is stating dealership failed to disclose the issue.

Dealership has good proof that there was no known issues with the vehicle at the time of the sale and dealership did not provide false information to customer. there are no bases for the disputed amount and therefore we find customers claims have no bases especially when he does not own the car anymore.

Thank you

****** *******

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed app]

Trading in the 2005 Ford Mustang here in Bakersfield has no bearing on Orange Coast Costa Mesa  selling previously wrecked vehicles and not exhausting every avenue to disclose information to the consumer. Would have notifying your dealership changed your financial stance / reimbursement? Your note makes me and others beleive you would have reimbursed if I had informed you of the CARFAX vehicle report that was given to me in June 2014, if the trade in did not take place? We were offered $8000.00 toward our new car for the 05 Ford Mustang as trade in value. The vehicle has structural and covered up body damage. The Mustang was not worth the $8000.00 we received, the reason the Bakersfield dealership accepted the trade in was because we were purchasing an much more expensive vehicle. The 05 Ford Mustang GT (Kelly Blue booked) for 13k plus with 48k miles on it in good condition. It was (not) in good condition due to the damage discovered on the CARFAX report. The interstate report states the vehicle should fall under a salvage title. Mr. *** **** has no ethnics and is concerned with company damage control as viewed on the website Yelp. This is known pubic fact.

Regards,

****** *******



6/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bait and switch visited dealer and. drove car confirmed price. Back to dealer as confirmed went in to purchas and showen new third car with added items and told new price. would not honor agreement of sale from car that was shown.

Desired Settlement: Would like to purchase car that was driven and confirmed as the one for sale.

Business Response:

On February 9th, 2014, our Orange Coast FIAT dealership received an inquiry from ***** ******** via our ocfiat.com website regarding a 2013 FIAT 500 Pop. Our salesperson, ******* ********* contacted Mr. ******** and scheduled a test drive for the following day (2/10/14) at 3pm.  On 2/10, our Customer Relations Manager, ***** ****** contacted Mr. ******** to confirm his appointment.  He informed us that he was too busy at work and could not make it into the dealership. We followed up with Mr. ******** the following day and he said he would tentatively plan on coming into the dealership on 2/14, but he did not show up.  During the week, the car Mr. ******** originally inquired about was sold to a paying customer.  On 2/16, Mr. ******** did come into the dealership, where ******* informed him that the car sold and proceeded to show him another newer model FIAT, but Mr. ******** did not like the price and left the dealership.  We followed up with Mr. ******** on 2/22 via phone and 2/23 via e-mail to see if we could show him another vehicle, but we did not receive a response.  On 5/27, we sent another correspondence via mail, but we have not heard back from Mr. ********.

 

Thanks,

***

 

*** ******

Director, Operations & Strategy

Orange Coast Auto Group

Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge/Ram/Fiat

***@orangecoastauto.com

(**** ********

(**** ********

5/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their service department sold men oil change package which includes 4 oil change for $80. I used on of the old changes and then sold my car and bought a different car from a different dealership. I have contacted them for refund, was told no, they dont issue refunds? So we paid for a service and did not use and no refund? No where on sales rec. does it say no refund , i will file bbb complaint, any one who will listen, until i resolve this.

Desired Settlement: Need my $60 refund.

Business Response: the customers has been contacted for a refund.

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car to have an oil change at the service department in this dealership last Saturday (12/21/2013). I brought my own engine oil called Royal Purple and the oil itself is purple colored. I asked them to put my engine oil instead of using theirs. This is a very high-end engine oil which costs me $15 per quart. I brought in 4 quarts for my car. Before I left the dealership, I checked my oil to make sure they have put in my oil. I found that the engine oil was yellow-ish color. I questioned the people at the service department. They kept saying they had put in my purple oil and showed me the empty bottles. I left and went to the other mechanic and have the other mechanic to check. The engine oil in my engine is only regular engine oil, not my high-end purple oil.

Desired Settlement: I just want the money back for the purple oil which is $60 total, and a formal written apology for the improper activity the service people they've done.

Business Response:

Mr. ** just needs to get me **** ****** service Mgr. the receipt for oil purchased and i would be happy to refund him his money. scan and email would be ok with a correct address to sent the check. *******@ocauto.com.

11/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service