Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ocean Auto Sales

Phone: (949) 361-5100 Fax: (949) 366-5419 1650 N El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672 http://www.oceanautosalesinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ocean Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ocean Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ocean Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 11/06/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 35715.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Wallace L Hart Jr Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wallace L Hart Jr Jr., Owner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • 1650 N El Camino Real

    San Clemente, CA 92672 (949) 361-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is *********. Two days after days leaving Ocean Auto, on 8/10/14, I found that I had adverse marks shown on my credit, from the credit checks that were done in order to see if I qualified for financing. I called Ocean Auto and stated that I noticed the background checks were returned negatively and that I can see I was not eligible for financing. I stated that I would like to bring the car back to the lot. I was told I could only take care of that with ******* Hart. I asked when I could bring the car back. I was told to come on Sunday in order to speak with Wallace, as he was not available sooner. I received a phone call from one of the salesmen, it was the young man who sat down and did most of the contract with me. Over the phone, he said that in fact I could be eligible for financing and that I just needed to come to the lot so they could put a GPS monitoring device under the hood, as a “condition for financing.” I expressed clearly that I do not agree to those terms of financing. And I do not wish to be financed. The contract dated 8/10/14 states that “after the contract is signed, seller may not alter the financing terms unless agreed to in writing.” Another provision states that the only way the contract can be changed is by a writing with both signatures, seller and buyer. I was told to speak to Wallace. I was under the clear full impression that I was to return the car if I was not eligible for financing. I was told to come in on Sunday 17th as I did. And I expected that I was returning the car at that time. However, ******* seemed to have a nervous breakdown. He said no and he was intimidating. He kept saying he didn’t have time for this, and it was difficult to speak to him because he kept getting up and leaving and ignoring me. He demanded that I give the keys over because he had a man there waiting to install the GPS monitoring device. There was a man there with a tool box. Although I am single, I regret going alone. I did not anticipate I would be confronted with the situation that took place. I was told by ******* that if I didn’t allow the GPS monitoring device put on the car, then he would finance me in his own books right there in the office and deliberately ruin my credit if I was ever one second late on a payment. His demeanor was volatile. I have been feeling concerned ever since because it was a threatening experience. It was clear to certain people, family members, whom I spoke with at the time this took place that I was shaken up by these events. And I did not feel I had a choice. I feel the original contract was broken as I protested the subsequent terms of financing, which I had never heard of before. A monitoring device was never contemplated nor discussed at any time. I did not consent. No signed agreement between myself or either parties (dealer or financer) exists regarding the financing terms /conditions. I feel that on 8/10/14, things were not presented to me clearly, nor was there time to be free and alone absent pressure in the process. I was told to sign a decline to the purchase of optional cancellation, as I was told by the younger man it didn’t apply to this. However, I later discovered that I was able to buy such option, and was entitled to have it offered to me. However, I signed the provision on the contract which gives seller the right to cancel if it turned out that I was not eligible for financing. Therefore, I knew that returning the car was correct procedure in the event of not qualifying for financing. The vehicle has been inoperable ever since a few weeks after these incidents took place. While driving, the gas pedal disengaged and the wheel locked and the car motor died in the middle of the road causing a near collision. It was towed on 9/27/14, to a local auto center. I was told by the mechanic who ran diagnostics that the engine will never run again because the entire car seized. The overall contract seems incomplete because the remainder of the down payment was not made because I was frightened by the personal experience and have not since had contact with the auto dealership. The terms of finance were unwillingly placed on me. I can show that I have been making consistent payments on the vehicle. However, the finance company has always been consistently me, sending me text messages day and night. I cancelled my car insurance several months ago and declared the vehicle inoperable as instructed by the DMV. The finance company has since then forced insurance upon me and has raised the monthly rate while continuing to harass me frequently. I must pay them extra each month now because they assigned themselves as my insurance carrier. The original contract with Ocean Auto shows a payment for Optional Gap Insurance of $599. I don’t know how that was paid for as I did not separately pay for that, however, when I asked the finance company if that Gap Insurance applied, they said it did not. I have not at any time been eligible to make these payments, nor these current higher payments, which have been forced upon me. The continual harassment has led me to finally seek help regarding these matters. I feel the original issues concerning this contract were unfair and have continued to harm me as a result.

Desired Settlement: I would like this contract to be cancelled and be free from harassment.

Business Response: we did everything by the book customer was informed on everything thank you

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2013, I purchased a used vehicle from Ocean Auto Sales and traded in our old car. ******* ****, the owner of Ocean Auto Sales, signed a contract, the "Vehicle/Vessel Transfer and Reassignment Form", in which Ocean Auto Sales was appointed as my power of attorney "to complete all necessary documents, as needed, to transfer ownership as required by law." Several months later, my wife and I discovered that Ocean Auto Sales failed to "complete all necessary documents" when we received letters from the *** about parking tickets that our old car had accumulated after we had traded it in. We sent paperwork to the *** showing when we had sold the car, but the car was towed by authorization of the ***. Since we were the last owners of record, the car was sold at a lien sale and the towing company, ****** ******* placed my wife and I in collections for the remaining towing, storage, and lien fees. On March 5, we received a letter from **** *********** ***. informing us that we were being charged $596 plus interest. On the morning of March 6, I stopped into Ocean Auto Sales to discuss the collection letter from **** ************ ***. ******* **** said the collection letter was "just the towing company trying to scare up some money. They send those letters out to the last three owners just trying to scare you into giving them money." He also said "They don't have your ****** ******** number, they can't do anything to your credit." Both of his statements are provably false. He suggested that I ignore their attempts to collect, advice that was rejected by an attorney that I consulted by phone. On March 7, I spoke to a customer service representative named **** at **** ************ ***. who accepted a settlement of 75% of the balance as sufficient to satisfy our obligation without damaging our credit. The final cost was $447.77.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this matter resolved financially by Ocean Auto Sales, specifically: 1. Reimbursement of the financial costs: $447.77, and 2. An additional payment of $300 for the stress, time, and hassle this situation created. For the total amount of $747.77 I will consider this situation resolved and abstain from bringing litigation.

Business Response: Ocean Auto has told Mr ***** that we would give him the necessary paper work which is form reg 262 2/2007 *** vehicle/vessel transferand reassignment which will show the transfer of ownership and he could have mail to *** and or to the tow company per

Consumer Response: ****** ******** *******

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As stated in my original complaint, my wife and I were held liable by ****** ****** as the owners of record according to *** records at the time the car was towed. This is entirely due to the failure of Ocean Auto "to complete all necessary documents, as needed, to transfer ownership as required by law." In addition to the monetary costs, the ongoing process of dealing with the ***, ****** ******* **** *********** ***., and now the ****** ******** ****** has been enormously stressful and time-consuming. I have no wish to take on the additional burden of resolving this dispute through the legal system, but if Ocean Auto continues to show no interest in bearing their rightful responsibility in this matter, I will have no further recourse but to file a claim in small claims court.


Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: ?In regards to Mr. *****, Ocean Auto Sales offered up all necessary paperwork so that Mr* ***** would be able to solve this issue without any problems. But chose to not accept this paperwork which is his perogative.

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable