BBB Accredited Business since

Ken Grody Ford

Phone: (714) 521-3110 View Additional Phone Numbers 6211 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90621 http://www.kengrodyford.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken Grody Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken Grody Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Grody Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 01/01/1977 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated: 01/11/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 17469.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Grody, President Mr. Fletcher Jones Mr. Kurt Maletych, Vice President Ms. Deborah Buziecki, Customer Relations Manager Ms. Kimberly Feathers, Customer Service Relations Ms. Jennifer Lopez, Customer Relations Manager Mr. William Raymond, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Grody, President
Principal: Mr. Fletcher Jones
Principal: Mr. Kurt Maletych, Vice President
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Ted Jones Ford Inc
Industry Tips
Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 921-8681(Phone)
  • (714) 521-3305(Phone)
  • (888) 273-6702(Phone)
  • (888) 284-2914(Phone)
  • (888) 287-6935(Phone)
  • (888) 288-7830(Phone)
  • (888) 300-0931(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, October 28, 2014, I made a visit to the Ken Grody Ford-Buena Park dealership (6211 Beach Blvd. Buena Park, CA 90621) with the intent of purchasing a new vehicle using cash as a form of payment. I decided to visit this specific dealership after finding an ad for a 2014 Ford Flex and Ford F150 from two different resources, the Los Angeles Times newspaper and an online ad offer on the dealers website (KenGrody.com) on the Ken Grody advertised specials page. Unfortunately, the sale associates that I came into contact during my experience did not provide me with quality customer service, were unable to help me with my purchase and did not uphold the advertised specials offered. The following outlines my disappointing customer experience at the Ken Grody Ford-Buena Park dealership and poor customer service from ****** ***** (Ken Grody Ford Staff): As I walked into the dealership lobby, I spoke with an attendant at the door and let him know that I was interested in purchasing a vehicle from their online advertisement. The attendant assisted me to the reception desk and asked the receptionist for the next sales representative. She responded that ****** ***** would be assisting me and quickly notified him that a customer was awaiting assistance. After a few minutes he leisurely came out from the back, and was obviously preoccupied with his co-worker, ****** proceeded to dismiss me at which point he ‘passed’ me along to the next sales representative, **** ****** – both associates from the Ken Grody Ford-Buena Park Team B staff. After greeting **** I told him that I had cash was ready to purchase a vehicle. I asked to see the 2014 Ford Flex and Ford F150 and explained that I had found their online specials in both the Los Angeles Times newspaper and on the dealership’s advertised specials page. We walked the lot and I again reminded him that I was interested in seeing the 2014 Flex and Ford F150 from their online advertisement. He went back into the office to confirm the advertisement online, after looking over the special he began to explain how purchasing a vehicle with cash would affect any opportunity to receive rebates and incentives. I asked him what steps I needed to take to ensure that I would receive a good deal on my new vehicle. He then told me that he needed to get his manager for further assistance. After about 10 minutes, **** returned with his manager, ****** *****. ****** proceeded to explain and make clear that he was only there to support **** with his end of month quarterly sales. ****** then asked where I had heard of them and I told them I had seen the dealership’s advertisement in the Los Angeles Times newspaper and also on the Ken Grody Ford-Buena Park advertised specials page. ****** pulled the advertisement and I replied, “Yes! That’s the one”. At that time I had hoped that we would begin to move forward with the buying process now that they had confirmed the advertisement, multiple times, and knew exactly what I was interested in. However, that was not the case, instead ****** told me, “I can’t sell you this car because the dealership is not going to make any money on the deal. I can’t sell you this Flex as advertised because you are going to go around and sell it for more money. Also, the ad for the Flex ends today, October 28, 2014 at 9 p.m.” (Even though I had arrived at the dealership between 1:00 pm – 1:30pm, well before the 9:00 pm deadline). He then proceeded to show me the invoice of how much the dealer paid for the car and the employee discount, saying, “Therefore you can’t buy the car for the advertised price”. Despite the negative feedback and unprofessional remarks made by ****** asserting that I was intending on flipping the vehicle, I was interested in purchasing the Flex as I need a vehicle for my family. ****** made it clear he was running the show telling me he didn’t want to deal with the hassle of negotiation. So since I was such a hassle I asked ****** how much he could sell the Flex for, he noted that he could offer me the vehicle at $25,000, however with tax and license fees the grand total would be set at $27,500 with cash in hand, I was still prepared to purchase the vehicle, so once again, I asked to see both the Flex and F150, which they had yet to let me see. I waited for 15 minutes while ****** and **** left to get the keys. When ****** returned, he noted that **** would not be returning because he was helping another customer. I then asked if he was going to show me the cars in the ad, and he remarked with, “All the cars are the same”(refusing to let me see the vehicles). I responded asking, “So just to be sure, you are saying a fully loaded Flex and basic Flex are the same?” ****** simply responded very matter-of-fact, with “Yes.” Following his response I let ****** know that I would like to purchase the fully loaded Flex for the price of the basic Flex, being that he considered them “the same”. ****** again told me, “No, you can’t buy that car.” At this point it was clear that I was not going to be purchasing a vehicle, ****** was not interested in helping me with my purchase and I was not going to receive quality customer service from the staff at Ken Grody Ford-Buena Park. As I walked out of the lobby, feeling disappointed and disrespected, I noted that ****, who ****** mentioned was with another customer, was in fact just standing alone not helping any customers. I’d like to share that despite ******’s personal attack I have been working hard to purchase another family car since my last SUV was recently totaled in an accident. Also, I am a previous Ford vehicle owner and have a love for the brand, and the excellent customer service and standards that I’ve experience from the company in the past. My search for the perfect vehicle has taken many months and I have considered many vehicles, looking for the right fit for my family. Upon finding the ad, I felt relief and felt that I had found the right vehicle for the right price and knew my wife would be happy knowing it was with our trusted and loved make of choice. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to the problem created by Ford representative ****** *****. Please contact me by email ***********@gmail.com

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate your upholding of the advertisement special at a similar affordable price

Business Response:

We apologize for the actions taken by our representative, ****** *****, also, we will definitely honor the advertised price of the Flex and/or F-150.  Please contact our General Sales Manager, ****** ******* or our VP, **** ******** at (714* *********  They will work directly with ****** on finalizing this transaction for him.

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ken Grody Ford did not have the truck I wanted on their lot so I found one at a dealer in Las Vegas. They told me they could dealer trade and have the vehicle for me by the following week. I did all necessary paperwork and left a check which would be the down payment. During the time in the finance office they constantly kept trying to sell me an additional warranty which I refused. They did however sneak it in. Three days later I decided to call and ask when my truck would arrive and nobody could help me. I then contacted the dealer in Las Vegas and was told that they do not do business with Ken Grody due to past bad business deals and they would not dealer trade the vehicle. I stopped payment on my check and drove to Ken Grody to find out what would now happen. Instead of offering a solution they called my names and put a hold on the truck in Las Vegas so I could not buy it direct from the dealer in Las Vegas. They do not follow ethical business practices and try to gouge their customers for thousands. I have seen numerous complaints and do not understand why they are allowed to do business as they do. Very frustrating to those looking for a honest dealer to purchase a car.

Desired Settlement: A desired outcome would at least be for Ken Grody to accept responsibility and apologize for behaving in such slimey and unethical business practices. It is not fair for a business to operate in the community and not care about the customers who come looking to purchase a car. The least they can do is be honest and deal in an ethical manner instead of lying and trying to cheat their customers.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

first of all I want to apologize to you and I want to take full responsibility for the whole transaction in terms of your dissatisfaction, there is a explanation that defines our steps that were correct but they did not reflect the real effort put into action by our management team, perception is reality and I can see how you would think we really did not do things correctly, but just let the record show that indeed the night you left I believe it was to go eat after negotiating for some time we called team ford and talked with the new car manager and we were authorized by him that indeed they would dealer trade your truck to us,    That is why we proceeded to call you and finalize the transaction that night, we also reported the vehicle sold under your name to ford motor company so it would not get sold between Saturday and Monday which would of been the day we were planning on picking it up for you, most dealer trades finalize on Monday thru Friday because the accounting departments are in office and out of office on the weekends, so we finalized deal with you and team ford so we thought, Monday morning we call team fords new car manager he is off, so we talk with the fleet manager to finalize dealer trade and she said we will not dealer trade with us because the prior week they requested a dealer trade from us on a focus st and we had sold the vehicle and she thought we were just saying it was sold and that we just did not want to dealer trade it, that was not the case however, she denied our dealer trade for that reason, we even explained to her that the dealer trade was already approved by her new car manager her words were again no, being that the truck was very specific with its 3.73 axle and heavy duty trailer tow package and specific on engine and color that made it difficult but doable, being that you have done business with us in the past and we had a working relationship we wanted to make it happen for you, unfortunately it did not go down as planned, we have learned some valuable lessons regarding dealer trades, and this will change my current process, for example in the future I will only take a deposit and I will not do any paperwork until the truck is in our possession, that's just one of many other changes in policy from this event.

To make a long story short we all want to say we are very sorry, we would still love to sell you a truck, if you purchased a truck already we would love to give you something for free like a spray in linex or bedliner for your dissatisfaction we all feel very bad about this and we want to make it right any way we can, if you have not purchased a truck I would love another shot if indeed you would give me personally that opportunity, if you purchased already please except my free offer.

again I am very sorry and we do take full responsibility, please forgive us, please. here is my personal contact information to take my free offer if you purchased if you have not please give me another shot.

Sincerely,

**** ******** ************

VP-Owner

Ken Grody Ford

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

5/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kel Grody's website had a internet sales add that had a clearance price for a 2013 Ford F-150. After rebates the truck came to a specific price. Once you drive down there they tell you they can't sell the vehicle for that price. Add was obviously a way to get people in and try to rip them off. False advertising 100%.

Desired Settlement: Stop printing false advertising!

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

 

My name is **** ********, and on behalf of Ken Grody Ford, want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your attempt to purchase your vehicle. As proud holders of the President’s Award for tenyears, I can assure you your complete customersatisfaction is my number one priority. I will do everything in my power to ensure your completesatisfaction.

 

As the Vice President and Co-Owner, I personally pledge to take care of you and I will honor the advertised price you saw offered on our website. I will be working with you directly from here on out, so I can personally see to it you are completely satisfied. I will honor this for ten days from the receipt of this email for you to communicate with me about your deal. At your convenience please contact me, I have included all my contact information below to finalize the transaction.

 

Looking forward to your response.

 

 ****Signed****

 

 

**** ********

Vice-President & Co-Owner 

Ken Grody Ford Automotive Group

****@kengrodyford.com

************

4/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I seeing a advertisement from *** ***** **** orange county, at buena park ca , in the web page special deals for the president day sales it shows a **** fusion 2014 for a sales price of 21277 and including some discount like military **** bonus and **** rebate it show the vehicle as low as 17777, i call one of the sales rep and ask about this deals and i was told that it was available and they have 3 vehicles at that time. once i arrive to the dealership the sale rep took me to a second sale rep and this one explain me that the vehicles were sold, just to in couple of minutes tell me the advertisement was wrong and that the vehicle were not at that price . after hour of waiting on trying to deal with the situation i left but i was told that they will call me next day first thing to let me know if the deal was good. they never call so i have my wife call and ask for the deal as a different buyer , and once again she was told that deal was available and to come to the dealership. This take me to believe they are doing this just drive people to the dealership which in case is false advertisement. i was left waiting all day for a call even more i call and they never pass me to the sales rep or manager even more i decide to call or chat with a different sales rep which made me wait for over an hour . he also told me he will call me today around 1100 but he never did . they are just giving me the run around and dont want to honor there advertise deal. further more i told them that i will report them to the bbb the ftc andt he local office for customer issue on the state and they broach it up and told me that nothing will happen to then. i hope this is not true and something can be done .

Desired Settlement: settle the case and recomend a civil laws sue .

Business Response: Re: BBB Complaint ID#*******, 2014 Fusion advertised on Presidents' Day web page

Dear ****,

First I would like to apologize for the belated response to your concern. The email from the Better
Business Bureau (BBB) went directly into the spam folder in our system, and was just brought to our
attention by a phone call from the BBB recently. They were calling because it was clear to the BBB in the
system the issue had not been addressed by our organization, which was not indicative of our past
history of handling complaints. I could sense your frustration on the phone, and want to apologize for
any inconvenience dealing with our dealership may have caused.

I take great pride in how we treat our customers as evidenced by our numerous customer service
awards with **** Motor Company. If you are not happy and feel strongly you were misled, I offer you to
you the opportunity to purchase a new 2014 Fusion SE equipped exactly like the one advertised during
the President's Day Sell-a-than for $17,777. I extend this offer to you, and only you, to be accepted
within 30 days of the date at the top of this letter. I value my customers, and respect the passion you
have on this issue. I want your expectation to be met, which was to come in and purchase a 2014 Fusion
for $17,777. Please contact me on my cell phone at (************ to discuss. I look forward to hearing
from you.


Sincerely,


**** ********
Vice-President/ General Manager

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We feel that Ken Grody Ford is taking advantage of senior citizens. On February 25, 2014, we purchased a car from Grody. They kept us in the finance office until almost 11 p.m. and got us as tired as possible so that they could more easily take advantage of us.We purchased a 2014 Ford Flex.

 During the process of negotiation, we agreed to $1,600 for an extended warranty. After signing the contract I noticed it was written up for $1,800. When I called him on it, ***** *****, the Finance Manager, said we had agreed on that amount. I reached for the papers in front of him and showed him where he had written the $1,600. He still refused to change it.After we got home, I noticed that they gave us only $2,000 for our trade in vehicle.

 We had agreed to $2,500. We called the dealership the next day and the Sales Manager, ***** ***** agreed that he had told us $2,500, but told ***** to write it up for $2,000. He said he would reimburse us the $500. It has been a week and were getting one excuse after another as to why our check is not ready for us to pick up. We have paid the vehicle off in full.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $200 they overcharged us for the extended warranty and the $500 they underpaid us for our trade in vehicle.