Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

John Hine Auto & Truck Center

Phone: (619) 297-4251 Fax: (619) 297-6268 1545 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.johnhine.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobile sales and service, collision repair and parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Hine Auto & Truck Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Hine Auto & Truck Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on John Hine Auto & Truck Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1957 Business started: 04/29/1957 in CA Business incorporated 04/29/1957 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
9174 Sky Park Ct #210, San Diego CA 92123
http://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone Number: (619) 688-0124
The number is 2951.

Bureau of Automotive Repair- San Diego
16855 W. Bernardo Dr #112, San Diego CA 92127
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov
Phone Number: (858) 716-1025
Fax Number: 858-716-1136
The number is 4060.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Hine, President Mr. Dave Miller, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Hine, President
Principal: Mr. Dave Miller, Vice President
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

John Hine Auto & Truck Center sells the following brand(s): Certified Pre Owned Mazda's, Mazda

John Hine Auto & Truck Center offers the following product(s): Collision Repair, Lojak, Parts, Service, Service Contracts, Tires, Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
John Hine Mazda
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Leasing a Vehicle Lemon Law Used Car Sales

Additional Locations

  • 1545 Camino Del Rio S

    San Diego, CA 92108 (619) 297-4251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car into John Hine Mazda because of an engine indicator light and engine surging. I played a $115 diagnostic fee and oil change only. I was called later in the day with a diagnosis of need to replace hose that would require $415 worth of labor. I was skeptical but assured by service rep must be done to deal with engine light. I agreed to order parts but was told needed to return following week for repair. Within two days my engine light went off again on its own and I cancelled repair. I was finally called back today and told I would be refunded for ordered parts. When I checked my bill tonight I saw that it stated the hose and another part had been installed on November 13 / although I was told the hose required $415 of labor - which was not authorized by me on Nov 13 and I was to it required removal of intake manifold for $415. I was charged for parts that were not installed.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

 

My name is **** ****** and I am the General Manager here at John Hine Mazda. I truly appologise for how your whole transaction with us was handled. Just this morning, before I saw your complaint to the BBB, it was brought to my attention that the refund amount was not correct. ****** ***** had passed on your voice mail to ****** ******, our Service/Parts Manager. He informed me of the problem. Some of the parts were not special ordered and were mistakenly overlooked when the refund was processed. I was told by ****** that he left you a message today explaining that a refund for those parts will be issued. Please call him back with your credit card information and we will issue the credit right away. His phone # is ************. Again I appologise for the inconvience.

Sincerely,

**** ******

******* *******

John Hine Mazda

************

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I currently lease a 2014 ***** * where I am the lease holder. On Monday the 10th of August 2015 I sent a young lady who uses the ***** into the **** **** ***** service department, in San Diego, CA to get an oil change. There service department noticed the low tire pressure indicator light was illuminated on the driver console panel. What happened next has me at a loss for words. I want to be clear I understand mistakes happen and I am okay with that, I gave **** **** ***** service manager and the service rep an opportunity to correct the issue and what I got were excuses. They were so busy trying to indemnify themselves of any culpability that they didn't even attempt to address my concerns. When the vehicle was being serviced they had a conversation regarding the condition of the driver side rear tire. The young lady was told that the air pressure was low because there was a nail in the tire. I would confirm this conversation took place with the Service Manager when I talked to him on the 12th. Here is the problem the nail in the tire was a wood finishing nail that did not penetrate through the tires radials, as was discovered when I took the tire to fire stone for an assessment. They then proceeded to tell her it's unsafe to drive and tried to sell her a new tire. When she said no they told her they were going to take the tire off the car and put the spare/donut on the car. Remember this is all an assumption the tire was damaged and even if the tire did have a large enough nail there was never an offer presented about plugging the tire. Why is this all an issue because the young lady who came for an oil change is an international student here studying English. She speaks broken English which the **** **** ***** service manager realized as he stated to me he had to tell her the same thing 5 times. The problem is she didn't understand and then drove to Los Angeles on the spare. Not to mention when they put the tire in the trunk the tire damaged some items she had in the trunk. At no time did they attempt to discuss the issue with her in Spanish or attempt to contact me the lease holder which is identified on all the paper work. I believe you can see my concern. The problem is personal property was damaged, the low air pressure indicator light is still on. I was hoping this could be resolved without having to get regulatory involvement. I believe putting a vehicle on the road in a less safe condition then the way it was brought in is a serious matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the businees to reset the low tire presure indicator light, and to contact me directly.

Business Response:

My name is **** ****** and I am The ******* ******* here at **** **** *****. I have read your complaint both when you sent it directly to me and in this BBB complaint. I understand that it would be desirable to just repair the tire with a plug but we would not repair that tire due to the liability. The manufacturer of the tire on your car will not warranty that tire if it is plugged because it is a speed rated tire. I have attached a handout that outlines under what circumstances we will not repair a tire. We did not offer a tire repair because it is not something we would do. As stated on the flyer that we showed the customer... "We will never repair and re-install a tire that has a speed rating voided by the Tire Manufacturer. Using a tire on your vehicle that has a lower speed rating than the vehicle Manufacturer recomends can cause unsafe conditions during steering and braking." I hope you can understand our position on tire repairs due to the liability involved. We would never compromise safety by making an unsafe tire repair. We researched the tire rack website and looked up your tire and it shows that the speed rating is voided if the tire is repaired.

I appologise for the misunderstanding and will reset the tire pressure indicator light at no charge of course. Just know that it can only be reset if the original full size tire is on the vehicle. I am assuming that the tire with the nail or screw in it was repaired by someone that was un aware of the warranty situation or did not need to be repaired.

PLease contact me directly and I'll set a time for you to bring it by or you can just bring it in and ask for ***** ******* our ******* *******. ***** is not the Manager that you spoke with on August 12th.

Thank you,

**** ******

******* *******

**** **** *****

************

***************

9/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car has been in shop about two weeks now waiting for an engine repair. Was initially told car would be ready about a week after was brought in. Wasn't ready when they initially stated but got told last minute the engine that they ordered was being shipped from Japan and would arrive the following Friday. Following Friday comes and still no engine and now are being told the shipment is coming from Texas and will arrive Wednesday. Have been told the engine is on back order which they knew the whole time from when they initially placed the order. But for some reason keep getting told different dates on when it will arrive. Currently am in the middle of traveling to mayport, fl for a change of orders through the military, told the dealership this and it was extremely important I either have this car or at least know when it will be ready but plans keep changing last minute for when it is expected to be worked on and now I have very limited time with no vehicle to get to where I need to be. They have offered to sell me a new vehicle but the price they can sell at is just to much.

Desired Settlement: Either need vehicle shipped to mayport,fl when it is actually repaired since the date keeps getting pushed back or I need a vehicle so I can get there and they can have the old one.

Business Response:

RE: *******

Dear BBB

***** **********’s Mazda 3 was brought into our dealership on August 20, 2013, because of an engine failure that was related to a prior accident.

Mr. **********’s insurance company covered the repair of the engine and provided him with a rental car.  However, Mr. **********, who is a member of the U.S. Navy, was on PCS orders to Mayport, Florida.  He had to report to his new duty station in early September.

On August 21, 2013, the John Hine Collision Center determined that the engine could not be repaired and a new one would have to be ordered from the factory.  This order was placed and the dealership was given August 30th as a tentative delivery date for the engine.  Due to unavailability, this delivery date changed and the dealership did not receive the engine until September 5, 2013.  The engine was installed and Mr. *********’s vehicle was ready for delivery on September 9, 2013.

Mr. **********’s vehicle was damaged in an automobile accident.  The costs of the repairs to Mr. **********’s vehicle were paid by an automobile insurance carrier.  Because of this, we do not believe that we are obligated to absorb any expense related to the delivery of Mr. **********’s vehicle.

It’s unfortunate that Mr. ********** is a victim of circumstances beyond the control of himself or **** Hine Mazda; i.e., the actual time it took to receive the engine from the factory.  Obviously, we cannot control, nor be responsible for the factory delivery schedule.  We do, however, regret that the timing of his repair did not match up with his travel arrangements.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

General Manager

John Hine Mazda

Collision Repair Center

619-297-4251

**@johnhine.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on John Hine Auto & Truck Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart